8 comment(s). Last comment by omightycap 2017-09-08 19:34

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-09-08 11:33 | Report Abuse

Lap sap article

ABCnewbie

92 posts

Posted by ABCnewbie > 2017-09-08 12:07 | Report Abuse

Not sure why Singapore Dollar currency is used instead of US Dollar. Look at these facts (from April-Sept 2017):
1. On 20 April 2017 Ron95 was RM2.27 (highest price). The brent price was US$55.89 and S$1 was RM 3.1555.
2. On 29 June 2017 Ron95 was RM1.89 (lowest price). The brent price was US$45.22 and S$1 was RM 3.0833.
3. Now Ron95 RM 2.2 while brent price is US$52.38 and S$1 is RM 3.1487 (Estimated RON95 should be only RM 2.05).
As long as the government not being transparent about the calculation, I will suspect the price being rigged.

Posted by omightycap > 2017-09-08 13:48 | Report Abuse

Because over here in SEA we use the pricing from Tapis which is denominated in SGD under the Mean of Platts Singapore

Posted by omightycap > 2017-09-08 13:50 | Report Abuse

ABCnewbie we realize you cannot just take point to point on currency or Brent price because they use average

ABCnewbie

92 posts

Posted by ABCnewbie > 2017-09-08 16:16 | Report Abuse

omightycap: Noted. However I used conjecture (believe you also the same) when calculating the price since we do not have the "correct" equation. We will continue arguing and cannot get it right.
P.S: I support government policy that the petrol price should not be subsidized but it should be liberalized instead of "fixed". Let the oil companies determined their own selling price daily.

Posted by omightycap > 2017-09-08 17:17 | Report Abuse

ya indeed we lack a few variables like margins, crack spreads, etc. But this was meant to prove that we arent being taken for a ride

ABCnewbie

92 posts

Posted by ABCnewbie > 2017-09-08 17:37 | Report Abuse

Based on my data for August and compare it with April to July, clearly the manipulation occurs (statistically not possible to justify increase). Not sure about yours.. Why only August? And guess what, the worst increase is in first week of Sept. See below my data:
3 Aug - RM 2.03 (Actual RM 2.07)
10 Aug - RM 2.05 (Actual RM 2.12)
17 Aug - RM 2.06 (Actual RM 2.15)
24 Aug - RM 2.03 (Actual RM 2.15)
31 Aug - RM 2.06 (Actual RM 2.16)
7 Sept - RM 2.06 (Actual RM 2.20)
Coincidence with 1MDB perhaps?

Posted by omightycap > 2017-09-08 19:34 | Report Abuse

We felt that there were manipulation during the 2 Raya weeks when people balik kampung. In our data, we recorded a rise but it did not. The weeks following Raya sees it rising when our expected says it shouldn't. Another period was during by election where again it shouldn't rise.

Our FB used to draw out estimates up till one stage the prices went haywire and we stopped. It was working fine until one of the by election.