20 comment(s). Last comment by Jon Choivo 2018-07-03 01:14

Jhau65

66 posts

Posted by Jhau65 > 2018-06-30 20:58 | Report Abuse

Why not buy lion and masteel, si fu otb top pick?

Albukhary

2,719 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2018-06-30 21:03 | Report Abuse

Choivo, thanks for the detail update. I think your stock pick are not bad, is just now the market is bad, many good fundamental stock are being ignore by market.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-30 21:17 | Report Abuse

2 stocks making 50% of portfolio.....what would your outsiders say to that?

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-06-30 22:12 | Report Abuse

2 stock make up of 50%, the others spread into 23 stocks..very imbalance, it make the portfolio look lack of direction...just my 2 cent.

Posted by cheoky > 2018-06-30 22:52 | Report Abuse

All the best Chivo. I earn mine you earn yours

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-30 23:01 | Report Abuse

Times are bad

I would not want to manage anyone's money except my own.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2018-07-01 00:06 | Report Abuse

Why are you posting this here? Shouldnt you be sending this to your fund's investors by email instead?

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-07-01 00:49 | Report Abuse

I considered some lion, but not masteel. Too long to write, but feel free to read my article "The Art of Gambling in Speculative Stocks", i wrote something on Masteel there.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/PilosopoCapital/145619.jsp

===================================================================================
Jhau65 Why not buy lion and masteel, si fu otb top pick?
30/06/2018 20:58

Given the nature of my fund, i'm quite happy that fundamental stocks are being sold down and ignored. I also happen to a stable income, low living expenses, zero debt, and no commitments. I can buy as long as they sell them cheap!
===================================================================================
Albukhary Choivo, thanks for the detail update. I think your stock pick are not bad, is just now the market is bad, many good fundamental stock are being ignore by market.
30/06/2018 21:03

qqq3, They chose me as their manager and they know what they are signing up for, if you do not understand my investing method, or trust me or the method makes no sense to you. They are free and highly encouraged to take their money out.

lizi, i wrote something on diversification versus concentration below. Feel free to take a read.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/PilosopoCapital/163383.jsp

qqq3 2 stocks making 50% of portfolio.....what would your outsiders say to that?
30/06/2018 21:17

lizi 2 stock make up of 50%, the others spread into 23 stocks..very imbalance, it make the portfolio look lack of direction...just my 2 cent.
30/06/2018 22:12

Gee, wish i thought of that, i mean i even have a whatsapp group with them, i could actually even just put it there! Haha

I'm not sure if you're being passive aggressive or your tone is just coming off wrong over the internet.

Outliar Why are you posting this here? Shouldnt you be sending this to your fund's investors by email instead?
01/07/2018 00:06

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2018-07-01 02:35 | Report Abuse

I mean, why are you posting this here? The purpose of your fund is to your investors, not to this forum, you're sharing your entire investment with this forum when your priority should be to your investors. One could easily obtain better results than your investors by copying your entire investment portfolio without giving you a cut.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-07-01 03:37 | Report Abuse

Some of my investors come from here as well. After reading my writings.

I generally redact what i consider to be extremely key information, out from the letter, for example, my entire research on RCE, all the good and the bad.

Most of the companies or insight in there is common knowledge, the question is whether one would even buy it given that most here is prone to short-term-ism and require earnings visibility, seeming to forget that when earnings visibility exist, one pays more.

OSK, DAIMAN, PLENITUDE, INSAS etc are very easy to understand and buy, but most won't.

My favorite kind of investor is one who has read most of my writings, thus saving me the time of explaining myself and my philosophy over several hours to ensure the person really knows what he or she is getting into.

In any event, even in extremely mature markets like the US, people are still prone to emotions, euphoria and depression. To dive into short-termism.

Everyone knows PBBANK is a good investment since 1990, but how many have held since 1990, or even since 2010 etc etc. Instead of selling it for some hot stock that just seems to keep going up?

I'll always have things to eat.

12,777 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-07-01 15:02 | Report Abuse

It is always amusing to see people in Rolls Royce getting investment advice from those who ride the subway trains.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-07-02 11:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > Jul 1, 2018 03:02 PM | Report Abuse

It is always amusing to see people in Rolls Royce getting investment advice from those who ride the subway trains.
====================================

that is how it is ....that people in subway trains can also dream big.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-07-02 11:50 | Report Abuse

26 years old Jho Low can convince Najib that he can solve all his problems......

Whey Whey

1,839 posts

Posted by Whey Whey > 2018-07-02 15:59 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-07-02 19:25 | Report Abuse

3iii It is always amusing to see people in Rolls Royce getting investment advice from those who ride the subway trains.
01/07/2018 15:02

I drive proton wor.

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-07-02 19:29 | Report Abuse

U may have to drive Proton for a while...

Unless u can copycat Harry's biz model...

Harry made much money from teaching people how to invest than investing/ trading in Bursa

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-07-02 19:30 | Report Abuse

And Harry is not the only one...infact a lot of them are doing so...even CPTeh tried to do so for years......

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-07-02 19:31 | Report Abuse

Anyway I kepochi a bit....is yr current fund size more than RM50K?

abangadik

2,305 posts

Posted by abangadik > 2018-07-02 21:02 | Report Abuse

lolz... Hairy.. I pity those that spent money to learn from all these sohai. My advise, best way to learn is do it in real. If you lose, probarly this is not for you and just put in FD.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-07-03 01:14 | Report Abuse

Haha of course :)

If i drive proton so long still cannot hit more than 6 figures at 26, something is wrong.

If warren buffet can drive his first car till he made 30 million in 1970. I can drive my proton till i make 50 million.

Walmart boss drive 30 year old truck until he die.

I don't intend to teach beyond my articles. Which are written not so much for teaching, but to crystallize my own thinking and thought process, and self filter potential investors.

Investing is actually really simple, but hard. Just read like 5-6 books, and you will have all the investing skill you need. The rest comes from life experience, and perspective, which can be continually forged and sharpened till the day to you die.

Its the only career where you only get better and more in demand as you get older. Assuming you're actually good.

In any event, if a six sigma event happens where for 30 years the price of all my stock buys do not move up, but only down.

So be it, i know the value of what i bought. When you have enough money, money is just numbers on a screen. And i can always keep buying more.

CharlesT Anyway I kepochi a bit....is yr current fund size more than RM50K?
02/07/2018 19:31

CharlesT U may have to drive Proton for a while...

Unless u can copycat Harry's biz model...

Harry made much money from teaching people how to invest than investing/ trading in Bursa
02/07/2018 19:29