53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 11:05 | Report Abuse

THUMBS UP!!!

BEST POST OF THE MONTH!!!!

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 11:06 | Report Abuse

I like no. 2

2. It's futile to predict the macro economy, we're much better off spending time researching mispriced stocks.

MISPRICED STOCKS are my favourites!!!

Posted by InvertInvestment > 2018-09-08 11:32 | Report Abuse

Glad you like it.

Yes, Mispriced stocks are everyone's favourites except for TA traders who buy high and sell higher :)

Posted by calvintaneng > Sep 8, 2018 11:05 AM | Report Abuse

THUMBS UP!!!

BEST POST OF THE MONTH!!!!

Posted by calvintaneng > Sep 8, 2018 11:06 AM | Report Abuse

I like no. 2

2. It's futile to predict the macro economy, we're much better off spending time researching mispriced stocks.

MISPRICED STOCKS are my favourites!!!

bluebiznet

1,174 posts

Posted by bluebiznet > 2018-09-08 13:46 | Report Abuse

Yes. I dont know much people in i3 but i guess i can name one who constantly ask people to buy when the price is high and the stupid TA UP formed, and to sell when the stock is mouth watering cheap. Guess who?..... Bingo. The now hit hit buttock running dog from i3. Whoever against his TA he will call running dog. Yet, now, who run.. ? No refund for the rm 1000 for those who suffers disastrous losses by using his abcde rubbish TA formula? Haha 拍拍屁股走人,还走得这么理直气壮, 明明是不懂怎么投资,乱买乱亏,结果怪罪i3的投资人逼走他。。 投资世界里什么人都有。希望一些新投资者可以借此镜而从此避开这类金融骗子。 he always say karma will hit hard, maybe he is referring to himself..

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 14:28 |

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 14:29 | Report Abuse

Blue Chip at OVER INFLATED PRICES TURN INTO "BLUE CHEAT" LOH!

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 14:37 | Report Abuse

According to Howard, there're two concepts we can hold to confidently:

• Rule number one: most things will prove to be cyclical.
• Rule number two: some of the greatest opportunities for gain and loss come when other people forget rule number one.

EXAMPLE IS JAKS & LONG STEEL STOCKS

THESE CYCLICALS SHOULD ONLY BE BOUGHT AT BOTTOM WHEN:

1) BUSINESS IS BAD
2) NOBODY WANTS THEM
3) BEST BUY FOR JAKS WAS 40 SEN. BEST BUY FOR LIONIND WAS 30 SEN. BUY WHEN NOBODY WANT THEM

4) BUT HOW TO BUY WHEN PRICES WERE DOWN & OUT?
ONLY CONTRARIAN PEOPLE WITH ANTI - HUMAN FEELING WILL DARE TO BUY

5) THEN PRICES GONE UP AND THE BIG CROWD CHEERS THEM UPWARD?
MANY MANY START TO CHASE.
THEY SAY< "SAFETY IN NUMBERS"

YES SAFETY IN DYING TOGETHER LIKE LEMMINGS

SEE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOOs8MaR1YM

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-08 14:46 | Report Abuse

As Howard often says, trees don't grow to the sky and extreme market behaviour will eventually reverse. What goes up will come down and what goes down will come back up. The current bull market has lasted for more than 10 years. Today the Shiller PE Ratio* stands at around 33 and historically there's only been once it was higher than this, i.e. the 2000 Internet Bubble when it peaked 44. The bull market is due for a correction, but it's not tomorrow, next month or next year, that we can never know because as cliche as it may sound, overpriced isn't synonymous as "going down tomorrow". What we do know and have to accept is that risk is higher and prospective returns are lowers now than that of 10 years ago.

* Shiller PE Ratio: a valuation measure usually applied to the US S&P 500 equity market. It is defined as price divided by the average of ten years of earnings, adjusted for inflation

In view of this I think there're few things we can do:
1. Increase cash holdings.
2. Invest cautiously, only invest in bargains. That being said, you should be worrying more about losing money than missing opportunity.
3. Special situation investments like acquisitions, disposals, etc. (They're super tasty)

HOWARD VERY SMART

HE SAID

In view of this I think there're few things we can do:
1. Increase cash holdings.
2. Invest cautiously, only invest in bargains. That being said, you should be worrying more about losing money than missing opportunity.
3. Special situation investments like acquisitions, disposals, etc. (They're super tasty)

IN DEFLATION KEEP MORE CASH AS CASH IS KING IN CRASHING MARKETS

BUT IF GOT BARGAINS? THEN JUST BUY SOME!!

AND SPECIAL INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES THAT POP UP

okdoke

279 posts

Posted by okdoke > 2018-09-09 22:46 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvin, Any opinion on Gadang at RM0.69? bargain price at 69 sen? thanks

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-09 22:56 | Report Abuse

Posted by okdoke > Sep 9, 2018 10:46 PM | Report Abuse

Hi Calvin, Any opinion on Gadang at RM0.69? bargain price at 69 sen? thanks

Okdoke,

Gadang should be ok as TRX is still ongoing & not cancelled

Longer term i think must watch what PH Govt is up to

Now it will be

Citizen-centric. Last time was Government-centric

So look out for stocks that will benefit from New PH Govt

Examples are:

1) New Golden Triangle of Langkwi/Kedah/Penang

2) Proton City of Tg Malim

3) Sabah banning log export will benefit plywood

4) Govt still need Petronas Oil Revenue. So watch for Pengerang RAPID

5) Latest is Govt banning conversion of forest reserve lands to Oil Palms. Those Companies that already own Oil Palm lands will now be in focus slowly.

Just watch as more new policies will come

okdoke

279 posts

Posted by okdoke > 2018-09-09 23:16 | Report Abuse

any opinion on TDM? they received land ( small premium for the land) from Trengganu state and with PH policy to ban forest reserve lands to Oil Palms, expect no more forest land to TDM and TDM will not increase their land bank.

53,498 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-09-09 23:37 | Report Abuse

it's ok. TDM is ok on these factors:

1. Price already fallen to all time low.
2. Supported by 2 industries. a) Oil palm. b) Health care which is recession proof.
3. I think this one not affected like FGV when dishonest hands have siphoned out monies.
4. Almost free lands from Tganu Govt is bonus.

Above all Insiders are quite honest. Last time they requested for extra pay. If they wanted to steal they could have manipulated the accounts.

So i think at this low price TDM can buy.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-09-09 23:44 | Report Abuse

ken no low meh?