19 comment(s). Last comment by ksng0307 2018-10-14 20:35

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-13 14:48 | Report Abuse

yes, you can

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-13 14:54 | Report Abuse

Thanks KS. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. :-)

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2018-10-13 15:21 | Report Abuse

This is like asking can I break 100m world record of 9.58s.
Is not impossible but the amount of hard work to achieve that is simply overwhelming.
Don't do it.

ABSBOSS

904 posts

Posted by ABSBOSS > 2018-10-13 15:32 | Report Abuse

Can make money in day trade but need to scroll every minute for 8 hours lor...

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2018-10-13 15:52 | Report Abuse

In order to succeed in this business and in fact, any businesses, is the need to commit, FULL TIME and RESOURCES, into it..

Trading part time can only be a means to hone your skills..

Don't do day trading in the strict sense of the word ie close all positions by the day... Time is your friend, try to learn setups for momentum trading within a 2 week time frame for market makers or syndicates have a plethora of skills to shake, rattle and roll your positions..

Try to make sense on how to spot inherent weakness (distribution) in a stock itself or is it falling in sympathy with market conditions?

You have to find your own edge in your trading style

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-13 16:27 | Report Abuse

TrippleZ, well noted and tq.
ABSBOSS, that's very time consuming. In a month time, I will sure put on weight. :-)
Ayoyo, thanks for your advice. Will take a year time to find my edge. :-)

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-13 21:00 | Report Abuse

set up your trading plan, trade with dicipline, manage your losses, as you gain experience, making profit is not a question. Its only how much you make that matters, your selection of stocks and timing is vital in order to be successful.

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-13 21:14 | Report Abuse

start small, do not overtrade initially

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-14 13:36 | Report Abuse

Thanks ksng. Can you recommend any good trading books for beginner?

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 15:21 | Report Abuse

Books by Alexander Elder, Marcel Link, Brent Penfold and Vadym Graifer, go and have a look

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 15:22 | Report Abuse

I am assuming you use technical analysis to trade, these books are worth to read

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-14 15:44 | Report Abuse

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 16:01 | Report Abuse

Focus more on risk management first rather than the methodology/strategy, in this way, you will remain in this business for a long time. Slowly use your experience to improve your trading system.

Posted by VenFx > 2018-10-14 16:18 | Report Abuse

" Can I Make Money Day Trading Part-Time? ",
Maybe should ask 1 question first, does u acquired the neccesary skill and experience first?
Before thinking of the results.

That, will remind u ... Risks to be take care of at every trade decision.
In another word, increase your winning probability over a longer term.
Learn to accept manageable lost .

In market sentiment like this, what best and worst can offer ???

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 16:26 | Report Abuse

Bro Venfx, you are right, learn to be a good loser.

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-14 16:31 | Report Abuse

Thank you to the many SIFUs here. What is the recommended % to risk in every trade?

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 16:41 | Report Abuse

tulip, preferably < 1% of your capital. I've used 2% before, quite risky. Now reduce to 0.75% - 1%.

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-14 17:55 | Report Abuse

Thank you again guys for sharing your invaluable experience. My first trade was done last Friday. Bought MyEg at 1.49 and I don't think to hold it for long. Market is a bit jittery of late.

ksng0307

1,038 posts

Posted by ksng0307 > 2018-10-14 20:35 | Report Abuse

agreed