16 comment(s). Last comment by samk 2019-08-17 13:23

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2019-07-21 22:04 | Report Abuse

my collegue's investment in unit trust using epf is still under water...losing money...he quite regretted it...

Posted by paperplane > 2019-07-21 23:26 | Report Abuse

hehe....6% isnt it beating half fund mgrs outside there alredi?? kaka.somemore u no need to pay anything.

3% fees for what advise?? got advise meh

Posted by Shinyi Tai > 2019-07-22 09:16 | Report Abuse

@Paperplane yes .. I do look at my clients' portfolio regularly, updating and suggestion on movement of their funds when necessary.

25,000 posts

Posted by speakup > 2019-07-22 09:41 | Report Abuse

most ppl i know use their epf for unit trust is losing! no need to bull-shit

Posted by Reena Kong > 2019-07-22 10:55 | Report Abuse

Unit trust investors must understand the concept of investment and have the right mindset. There is no magic and do not expect to invest one time a few thousand to make millions. Investors must also commit to invest/save regularly in the unit trust for at least 3-5 years to achieve positive results. Unit trust investors have to understand the power of compounding and the average cost per unit strategy.

Posted by tradezignals > 2019-07-22 11:05 | Report Abuse

buy when the underlying stocks of the UT funds are undervalue and sell when it is overvalue...dont know how...ask me..i have been in the fund management business and stock picking for the last 10 years. Some of the UT funds cannot use EPF scheme..so be aware..

News38

24 posts

Posted by News38 > 2019-07-22 11:58 | Report Abuse

Just pull out from unit trust after invest for 5 year.
Didnt earn money.keep money in Epf the best and unbeatable

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2019-07-22 12:47 | Report Abuse

paperplane hehe....6% isnt it beating half fund mgrs outside there alredi?? kaka.somemore u no need to pay anything.

3% fees for what advise?? got advise meh
21/07/2019 11:26 PM

Agree with paperplane totally !

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2019-07-22 12:48 | Report Abuse

Afterall it depends on which funds you're invested. I regret i didn't kept my unit trust investment from Prudential at 0.515sen more than 10 years ago........now the funds already at 4.xx which is 8 times worth it was 10 years ago. Imagine 5k become 40k.

So go for the right funds and not any funds that don't show good returns.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-22 18:52 | Report Abuse

DCA will be effective and good in making profit if the unit trust fund you bought price go up

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-07-22 18:53 | Report Abuse

how about if the unit trust fund continue to fall and fall and you buy and buy

u will get more deeper into loss

Posted by Sahamtrooper > 2019-07-22 21:55 | Report Abuse

EPF all the way... My returns were negative in unit trust

Posted by Elaine Liew > 2019-07-23 05:38 | Report Abuse

Please find out the difference between “whom” and “who” and the proper way to use these two words.

samk

170 posts

Posted by samk > 2019-08-17 13:17 | Report Abuse

EPF giving above 5.5-6.9% these few years...pls dont mislead the retiree ..its their hard earn money...u have to pay fees for unit trust...3-5 percent !!!!

samk

170 posts

Posted by samk > 2019-08-17 13:19 | Report Abuse

u can have a peace of mind putting all your money in EPF... thats the best part for retiree to enjoy life without worrying too much...

samk

170 posts

Posted by samk > 2019-08-17 13:23 | Report Abuse

for those who have assets like condo or shoplot...u can get a loan from bank and put more money into EPF .. cos property yield is not good and have a lot of hidden expenses in malaysia.. i really pity those retiree who lost money in unit trust ..