68 comment(s). Last comment by DickyMe 2021-05-30 21:42

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 14:12 | Report Abuse

if a country of more than a billion population can do it...its a shame for 30 million country with such a developed condition, lesser density..admit they cant

truly a shame

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 14:13 | Report Abuse

Vietnam with 98m people can do it....

2,954 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2021-05-13 14:20 | Report Abuse

Pfizer and Moderna vaccine, which is based on mRNA technology, should have no problem countering new variants. mRNA technology vaccine is very easy to tweak as long as the spike protein of the virus do not change completely.

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 14:22 | Report Abuse

yes Pfizer i have a lot of confidence from Israel results...we can clearly see cases and death has gone down tremendously

bear in mind they have no restriction there now...and crowded as hell with all the religous gatherings

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 14:25 | Report Abuse

We tried 3 mths in end of march 2020....& the impact drastic economic collapse & make msia very much poorer loh!
It reflect panicky action with no orderly proper sense mah!

The answer drastic Simply shoot is not the best answer mah!

Just like football U cannot prevent your opponent from attacking loh!

U need to do it intelligently, with properly target strategy with offensive & defensive action loh..!!

Offensive is your vaccine & targeted SOP and advance testing & defensive is your immunity and Covid 19 medical health centre and quarantine centre and specific targeted lockdown mah!!

The strategies are plain simple, just speed up the vaccination of the mass population loh!

Pls expedite & approve move vaccine quickly like sinopharm, sinnovac, cansino, sputnik in order to speed up the vaccination loh!

Also to allow the private sector to privately source the vaccine, so that it can be made available to the privately paying customer in order to supplement the govt slow effort loh!

Also to allow private sector, to set up temporary covid treatment hospital & centre to enhance & supplement treatment of govt hospital loh!!

The private sector should be allowed to explore TMC or traditionally treatment as for covid 19 mah!.

Also to allow hotels close down to restart as a covid quarantine centre & treatment centre loh!

Pls invite & allow China to come here to set up covid medical yreatment centre in msia loh!

If u do this well, we will be in the road to recovery very much sooner loh!

icecool

4,805 posts

Posted by icecool > 2021-05-13 16:29 | Report Abuse

the world is currently in a dark tunnel and moving into the light at the end of the tunnel, upon exiting this tunnel a new world awaits all.
be ready and be excited for it.

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 16:31 | Report Abuse

Seychelles

China expected its Sinopharm vaccines to be the lynchpin of the country’s vaccine diplomacy programme – an easily transported dose that would protect not just Chinese citizens but also much of the developing world. In a bid to win goodwill, China has donated 13.3 million Sinopharm doses to other countries, according to Bridge Beijing, a consultancy that tracks China’s impact on global health.

Instead, the company, which has made two varieties of coronavirus vaccines, is facing mounting questions about the inoculations. First, there was the lack of transparency with its late-stage trial data. Now, Seychelles, the world’s most vaccinated nation, has had a surge in cases despite much of its population being inoculated with Sinopharm.

For the 56 countries counting on the Sinopharm shot to help them halt the pandemic, the news is a setback. For months, public health experts had focused on trying to close the access gap between rich and poorer nations. Now, scientists are warning that developing nations that choose to use the Chinese vaccines, with their relatively weaker efficacy rates, could end up lagging behind countries that choose vaccines made by Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna. That gap could allow the pandemic to continue in countries that have fewer resources to fight it.

Economic benefit

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre, who heads the biosecurity programme at the Kirby Institute of the University of New South Wales in Sydney. “The choice of vaccine matters.”

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:11 | Report Abuse

Ask yourself if without the sinopharm vaccine, could the situation in Seychelles would be even worse leh ??

Do not let the western media manipulate us loh!

If the western country so concern, why they did not donate pfizer & moderna vaccine to Seychelles in the 1st place leh ?

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:03 PM | Report Abuse

Seychelles

China expected its Sinopharm vaccines to be the lynchpin of the country’s vaccine diplomacy programme – an easily transported dose that would protect not just Chinese citizens but also much of the developing world. In a bid to win goodwill, China has donated 13.3 million Sinopharm doses to other countries, according to Bridge Beijing, a consultancy that tracks China’s impact on global health.

Instead, the company, which has made two varieties of coronavirus vaccines, is facing mounting questions about the inoculations. First, there was the lack of transparency with its late-stage trial data. Now, Seychelles, the world’s most vaccinated nation, has had a surge in cases despite much of its population being inoculated with Sinopharm.

For the 56 countries counting on the Sinopharm shot to help them halt the pandemic, the news is a setback. For months, public health experts had focused on trying to close the access gap between rich and poorer nations. Now, scientists are warning that developing nations that choose to use the Chinese vaccines, with their relatively weaker efficacy rates, could end up lagging behind countries that choose vaccines made by Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna. That gap could allow the pandemic to continue in countries that have fewer resources to fight it.

Economic benefit

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre, who heads the biosecurity programme at the Kirby Institute of the University of New South Wales in Sydney. “The choice of vaccine matters.”

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:15 | Report Abuse

Ya high efficacy so what leh ??

It was never make available to all the 3rd world country like Seychelles mah!

If the western country so concern, why they did not donate pfizer & moderna vaccine to Seychelles in the 1st place leh ?

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:11 PM | Report Abuse

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre,

you dont want to end up as breeding ground for new variants...

do it right when you have choice - Malaysia should go all out for Pfizer , else they are wasting resources and letting them self be experimented

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 17:16 | Report Abuse

raider i am not comparing china with west / U.S...i am telling what Malaysia should be doing...

you can keep your ego boosting to yourself

14,391 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-05-13 17:29 | Report Abuse

It is going to be intense and temperature may come to boiling point in this 70 days.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:29 | Report Abuse

I thought this figure is something like 20k infection & 2k death loh!

To my surprise the death rate of 28 is even less than USA in term of % mah!

Must interpret the figure properly lah!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:23 PM | Report Abuse

Numbers dont lie...

Seychelles

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/seychelles/

compare Israel with Pfizer

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/israel/

2,954 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2021-05-13 17:39 | Report Abuse

Coronavirus

-no quick fix
-always wash hands
-dont touch face
-stay home
-social distancing
-cutting sugar

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 17:43 | Report Abuse

dont let Malaysia suffer another 2 years...or even longer

get all vaccinated with Pfizer

else it will be a breeding ground for new variants which are more resistant to the vaccine

the best way to make it stronger is to challenge but not eliminating it

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:48 | Report Abuse

Big dream lah!

U think pfizer will give so many allocations to msia meh ?

Msia should get their hand into any vaccine that are available & start vaccination quickly loh!

Having vaccinated is much better than not having vaccinated at all mah!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:43 PM | Report Abuse

dont let Malaysia suffer another 2 years...or even longer

get all vaccinated with Pfizer

else it will be a breeding ground for new variants which are more resistant to the vaccine

the best way to make it stronger is to challenge but not eliminating it

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:04 |

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:05 | Report Abuse

raider & uncle Koon, i suggest you all go for China's vaccine (due to your blood patriotism & ego)...and give chance for others in Malaysia for Pfizer

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:09 | Report Abuse

now that the data is available, it would be pure stup**ty to go for china vaccines

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 18:22 | Report Abuse

Stop being idealistic & let be practical mah!

can u get 64m dose of pfizer or not for msia or not leh ?

Even europe they r still scrambling for pfizer vaccine mah!

Are msia prepare to wait until 2024 to be fully vaccinated meh ?

Be practical lah, take up whatever vaccine available 1st...u may think off...how to chose the best vaccine in 2 to 3 yrs time...when u r prepare to pay for your own vaccine loh!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:03 PM | Report Abuse

malaysia with such a small population, can afford and should not compromise...

they should for get about pleasing china for diplomatic ties

Israel can procure for the whole nation, Malaysia should f**king damn do it

they should stop prostituting them self

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:06 PM | Report Abuse

raider & uncle Koon, i suggest you all go for China's vaccine (due to your blood patriotism & ego)...and give chance for others in Malaysia for Pfizer

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:08 PM | Report Abuse

now that the data is available, it would be pure stup**ty to go for china vaccines

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:14 PM | Report Abuse

or even astrazeneca or any other having lesser efficacy...avoid it...

every drop of efficacy matters a lot on this battle

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:24 | Report Abuse

let us not waste time leh...you are wasting another year

what Israel has Malaysia cannot afford? you can buy 10m but you cannot another 20M?

stop wasting people's time and make a mess

Stockisnotfun

5,143 posts

Posted by Stockisnotfun > 2021-05-13 18:24 | Report Abuse

Pandemic will end on tomorrow

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 18:29 | Report Abuse

It just like great concert limited ticket mah!

Sometime have monies also cannot buy mah!

Pfizer or USA can chose anybody they like to sell to mah, since demand way far exceed their capacity mah!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:24 PM | Report Abuse

let us not waste time leh...you are wasting another year

what Israel has Malaysia cannot afford? you can buy 10m but you cannot another 20M?

stop wasting people's time and make a mess

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:31 | Report Abuse

Malaysia have the money to buy leh....they can afford to pay higher.. the more they pay, the faster the vaccine will arrive..manufacturer will prioritize..

but chose to compromise....and this is ultimate stup**ty

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:10 | Report Abuse

Lets be fair there are also down side in pfizer as in all other vaccine mah!

Do u want the truth or not ah ?

Posted by probability > May 14, 2021 12:04 PM | Report Abuse

people like you discouraging people with unfounded fear lor...the odds are very small... you can see israel a nation with 10million, deaths counts is very small lor....

Posted by GrowingRich > May 14, 2021 12:02 PM | Report Abuse

Israel probing link between Pfizer jab & heart problem in men under 30

https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-said-probing-link-between-pfizer-...

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:12 | Report Abuse

i see you have issues western vaccine superior than china lor...that looks like the main issue here....LOL!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:15 |

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:19 |

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:23 | Report Abuse

dont say something i never say lor..i repeatedly said..take whatever you have...but game is not over till you get pfizer equivalent ma...

Posted by stockraider > May 14, 2021 12:18 PM | Report Abuse

For 1% advantage u wait 2 to 3 years like a so0hai...is it not silly leh ?

Posted by probability > May 14, 2021 12:16 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:31 |

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:33 | Report Abuse

good..my whole advocation is about govn needing to procure pfizer now fir the whole nation, knowing that full economic & social recovery is not possible with astrazeneca & chinese vaccines..

nothing more - if you are not against above then no need to promote anything here lor..

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:37 | Report Abuse

Good Let me summarise the whole thing understanding here loh...!!

Quickly procure all vaccine required but giving preference to pfizer as the 1st choice loh! .

Posted by probability > May 14, 2021 12:33 PM | Report Abuse

good..my whole advocation is about govn needing to procure pfizer now fir the whole nation, knowing that full economic & social recovery is not possible with astrazeneca & chinese vaccines..

nothing more - if you are not against above then no need to promote anything here lor..

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:37 | Report Abuse

ok agree...

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2021-05-14 12:47 | Report Abuse

Although the Sinovac vaccines is reported to have 50 % efficacy, it prevent death and serious complications if the 50 % do get infected. This is based on Results from Brazil and Chile. The other vaccinated 50% when infected will get no symtoms ,mild symptoms or moderate symptoms . Those with.mild symptoms like just a fever will recover within a few days . Moderate symtoms like cough and body ache might take longer. However these infected can spread to others. Sinovac vaccines do help in preventing 50 % of those vaccinated from getting infected and the other 50 % if do get infected, you do not need to go to hosiptal . You will recover.

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:54 | Report Abuse

agree and aware of the above pjseow..

concern is will economy and social activity fully recover and be like pre-pandemic level when these 50% are still getting infected (though not severe at all)?

even at 10% level....there is a huge risk of delay in social recovery

to avoid these, i see govn must prcure pfizer for the whole nation while they continue with other vaccine vaccination based on availability..

my objective is to have full pre-pandemic recovery

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 16:31 | Report Abuse

The most succesful virus is spanish flu that killed 20% of the world population mah!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 16:33 | Report Abuse

It ended after 3 yrs after surviving world population get the natural herd immunity loh!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 16:38 | Report Abuse

In this world there always be a natural race between living being immunity v the virus mutation mah!

posted by i3lurker > May 14, 2021 4:35 PM | Report Abuse

its not finished yet loh

vaccines accelerate virus mutation

6,069 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2021-05-14 16:43 | Report Abuse

I stay at home, no go out n see no light yet outside.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 16:49 | Report Abuse

Common sense will tell u that india covid cases & death rate will most likely to exceed USA loh!

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-05-14 18:21 | Report Abuse

Viruses generally have to follow certain rules if they want to get ahead. Stealth is critical, because these pathogens are unable to thrive and reproduce alone. Instead, they invade host cells and rely on them to, first, decode their genetic information to produce components for new virus particles, next, assemble those components, and finally, release new viruses to infect more cells. If this process causes tissue damage that leads to organ failure, the virus risks perishing along with its host.

That’s why “nightmare” viruses – like those with 90% mortality – thankfully aren’t always very successful. To survive and thrive, a virus must operate like a spy in enemy territory, skilled at passing its genetic material from cell to cell without alerting the host’s immune response.

As we now know only too well, Sars-Cov-2 is far more of a menace, because it can cause severe acute respiratory syndrome in some patients, which may lead to between 1% and 7% mortality.

A successful spy must be a master of disguise, and so it is with viruses: if they want to evade recognition by immune cells, they must change their protein coat frequently. This is achieved via tiny alterations in their genetic material called mutations. The Goldilocks principle applies here: if the mutations are too subtle, the viral coat will be easily identified by existing antibodies, whereas if they are too drastic they might simply inactivate the virus. The mutations that allow viruses to fly under the radar fall somewhere in between. Influenza viruses, which use rapidly evolving ribonucleic acid (RNA) as their genetic material, are experts at this game.

Coronaviruses have RNA genomes too, but they are very large. That means that there are many more opportunities for mutations to go wrong – from the virus’s point of view. As a result, they have developed a sort of “proof-reading” mechanism that edits out mutations – meaning that they change a lot less rapidly than flu does. This is good news for us, and for vaccine development. But we still need more information to determine just how long a vaccine might be effective for.

How does a virus go on to achieve world domination? Getting from A to B is of the essence. Sars-Cov-2 rides droplets propelled by coughs and sneezes to board a new host. This is a more effective route of transmission than that used by non-respiratory viruses like Ebola, and its efficiency is increased if the virus particles are more stable and can survive on surfaces outside the body. This is why keeping a safe distance from each other and isolating patients is so useful in preventing new infections. Sars-Cov-2 also has a lipid-containing coat, so thorough handwashing with soap, which breaks down fats, can stop it in its tracks.

Posted by AlsvinChangan > 2021-05-14 18:53 | Report Abuse

Chemist how good also useless, IF cannot synthesize chemicals to kill COVID-19 virus

Better use CO1+CO2+CO3 formula to speculate shares

14,391 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-05-14 21:11 | Report Abuse

I guess cyanide vaccine will work excellently!

4,902 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-05-14 21:48 | Report Abuse

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/donald-trump/trump-suggests-injection-disinfectant-beat-coronavirus-clean-lungs-n1191216

Haha if only the world listen to Trump, covid pandemic already end long ago.
Trump suggests 'injection' of disinfectant to beat coronavirus and 'clean' the lungs

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-15 11:32 | Report Abuse

The most succesful virus is spanish flu that killed 20% of the world population mah!

It ended after 3 yrs after surviving world population get the natural herd immunity loh!

I think Covid 19 will be the same situation without Vaccine, hopefully with vaccine we can overcome it within 2 years loh!

scenery

2,361 posts

Posted by scenery > 2021-05-15 12:55 |

14,391 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-05-19 11:42 | Report Abuse

We may be FREE from PANDEMIC in 2023, probably month of August

There is talk of third wave too.

However, the impact or severity will begin to reduce, gradually.

Wear your mask, observe distance, reduce social gathering.

No place is safe including home.

6,069 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2021-05-30 21:38 | Report Abuse

Khairy said that it is hoped that the initiative will ramp up the government's vaccination programme for the public.

The death of the pandemic is in the hand of our Abang Besar onli.

The faster he can speed up the vaccinatio programme, the faster the pandemic will end.

Abang Besar, please speed up the vaccination programme to top gear. Thank you.

14,391 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-05-30 21:42 | Report Abuse

Buaya nak bolot semua.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/576765

Mana boleh faster...