10 people like this.

13 comment(s). Last comment by beinvested 2023-09-07 23:46

OnTime

2,074 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-09-06 12:59 | Report Abuse

good reminder that life is short and impermanent.

4,721 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-09-06 13:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by OnTime > Sep 6, 2023 12:59 PM | Report Abuse
good reminder that life is short and impermanent.

Hence please leave the world a better place than you found it.

Posted by BursaVulture > 2023-09-07 09:42 | Report Abuse

91 and still can trade and write blog... amazing. my 60 years old parents in law refuses to use a smartphone, have to buy a dumbphone for them. goes to show, we need to always learn, never stop learning.

beinvested

2,389 posts

Posted by beinvested > 2023-09-07 10:45 | Report Abuse

By right Adam should lived until 1,000 years old but 70 years were given to the person whom the Messiah shall come from his descendants. So, Adam lived until 930 years old only.

The destruction of the 2nd Temple was caused by baseless hatred. Meaning, the were infightings within the community and betrayals plus back-stabbings each other. Similarly, a nation/country can be destroyed traitors.

How long a country can last? Take a look at the Babylonians, Greeks, Romans, Mongols, Portuguese, Spanish, British Empire...

beinvested

2,389 posts

Posted by beinvested > 2023-09-07 11:06 | Report Abuse

It is a bonus from the Lord if ever can live until more than 70 years old.

Nowadays, the life is until more than 100 years old with the advance in the medical field. However, everyone is dying and even the newly born babies are dying, will died in 100 years to come. Simply, this world is a dying one and not permanent. It is a temporary and a transit to the Eternal one.

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-09-07 16:56 | Report Abuse

All politicians must remember that we were all the same humans in Malaysia until RELIGION separated us, POLITICS divided us, WEALTH classified us, RACE disconnected us and CORRUPTION destroyed Malaysia.

Answer : Unity starts with one language! Local chinese must respect bahasa as national language! We no longer afford the polemic of pushing other languages such as english, mandarin or tamil as 2nd or 3rd language! Those days are gone! Politicians are politicians! They play sentiment of the day! They can't play race or religion card if majority reject them! Hence, it's the rakyat who set the tone!
Unless we the rakyat speak the same language, unite against immoral and corrupted politicians, we will forever be played by them!
As Grandpa Koon said, he was schooled in English medium school! Like myself! But we need to accept that the British came to exploit Malaysia! Few trillion worth of natural resources were extracted and those wealth brought back to England! Malaysia didn't get a taste of it's own natural resources in fact some natural resources were completed extracted before Merdeka!
As for Grandpa Koon meritocracy goal, let's face it, it's a very unfair playing ground! If we implement meritocracy, only the elites forever dominant the scene! Only the elites afford to send their children to the very best school or universities! Most of world politicians are in their 2nd or 3rd generation! It's no brainer! They are privy to the best! While the bottom rut remain poor even if how smart, talented or intelligent! This is facts of life! Unless we practice fairness! Where even the poor able to climb social ladder!

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-09-07 17:00 | Report Abuse

Few days ago, Mahathir retorted that local chinese and indians are pendatang! Unbeknown to Mahathir, he is half pendatang too! His father was indian from Kerala who married local malay! So we had indian PM for 22 years and 22 months!
Actually, the genuine malays said to be only around 22% now! Most of majority malays are mixed of chinese, indian, arab and so forth! The recent 'malays' like rohingya, banglas and so forth will only reduce the number of genuine malays!
So the term 'pendatang' is quite funny! Mahathir should know better! He issued genuine malaysian identity cards to millions of new 'pendatang' during his time!

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-07 17:03 | Report Abuse

That's the pathetic thing about knowing bit but ignorant to a lot. If they are knowledgeable enough - or if (pre)history is stretched far enough, we all migrated out of Africa!!!!!!!!!

Posted by FortuneBull777 > 2023-09-07 17:05 | Report Abuse

Posted by BursaVulture > Sep 7, 2023 9:42 AM | Report Abuse

91 and still can trade and write blog... amazing. my 60 years old parents in law refuses to use a smartphone, have to buy a dumbphone for them. goes to show, we need to always learn, never stop learning.

Answer : Indeed! Overwelming malaysians above 70 don't know how to use smartphone! Even if you buy them the old Nokia phone, they don't know how to use them! Fortunately, you can buy this Artfone from Lazada or shopee specifically for senior citizens! Strangely, there's no awareness that those 70s are been ignored as technology advances! Likewise, as AI takes over, most of us too will not be able to catch up to super fast changes in technology!
In fact, even those in their 40s dont even know how to do online shopping! Imagine that!

enning22

2,869 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2023-09-07 17:08 | Report Abuse

those are wise words, but unwise one always see things differently. for eg, people like old mamak

25,088 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-09-07 21:27 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/09/952238/sc-issues-guidelines-stockbrokers-offer-fractional-share-trading-services
what a silly idea.
now you can invest in Gpacket for only 4.5sen! If Gpacket price double, you earn 4.5sen! WOWWWWW!!! untung 4.5sen!
disclaimer - Gpacket is just an example. just to show how silly this idea is

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2023-09-07 23:00 | Report Abuse

For the B40 bilis to have the opportunity to come in and try to swim with sharks and make profit$ lah

beinvested

2,389 posts

Posted by beinvested > 2023-09-07 23:46 | Report Abuse

At a blink of an eye, another year will be over.

Time passed very fast and usually most peoples live for 70years old, like king David. King David did not kill King Saul even though he had the opportunity to do so but only cutting a portion of the robe (1 Samuel 24:5-6).

It was deemed disrespectful to King Saul, in the sight of the Lord, for simply cut his robe, when he was the anointed King. The Lord caused feeling extremely cool bodily toward the last days of his life, for cutting the robe of King Saul. >>>1 Kings 1:1

New International Version

1 When King David was very old, he could not keep warm even when they put covers over him.

During the time for the staff share scheme, the entitlement was 20 shares only ( a fraction) because of the salary amount. However, each unit cost USD50 then.

The board lot now is at 100 shares when it was 1,000 shares. The public will buy 50 shares or lesser for shares like Nestle, HL Bank...