It's good to form investment clubs like in the US for learning purposes. But the problem is most of the time the information provided is blown out of proportion. Member will get too excited and in the end will hype it up to the euphoric stage. A lot of innocent investor get caught at the late stage of the bull because they don't know when to sell. Finally when the market crashes most investment clubs will go belly up. I have seen many of them.
A good example is the information provided by iluminati (no offense just for illustration purposes). If you look at the chart of Mlab. Back in 11/08/17 Mlab went through a funding exercise of rights issue of 2 for 1 @ 0.15 and warrants 1 for 1. On 11/08/17 mother share Mlab closed at 0.17. It shot to a high of 0.27 on 24/08/17 which was about 13 days later. What we want to know is what happened to Mlab share price after 24/08/17. It dive down to 0.09 on 26/09//27 or about 1 month later. A staggering loss of 66% and it never went back anywhere near the original 0.17. As of Friday's close it was trading at 0.04. And i reckon those who bought during that period can kiss goodbye to their investments.
Similarly with Eduspec it was trading at 0.35 in 2016 but it slide all the way down to 0.03 last week. So if this time there is really a solid corporate development (some kind of Google online education stuff) the share price will no doubt shoot up. But how many investors know how to get off the bus? I bet many will still be "building CASTLES in the air".They will be counting how much more profit to earn if they hold on for another 3,6,9,12,24 and 36 months. Voila !! no need to work for the rest of his life already if Eduspec share price keep moving up like that.
The problem is when each time Eduspec's share price corrects they don't know whether it is a correction or market top. Investor in the club will of course comfort themselves saying these are just corrections and the market will turn up again. What happen in the end you investors will know better.
I am not against joining clubs. The problem is investors tend to form the herd mentality which is disastrous in market investing. Herds when euphoric cannot differentiate when the market is on the edge. They will listen to rumours and comforting news from other members. Thus will not know the reality out there. Do a bit of research, the best investors in the world normally acts solo. Look at these investors, Warren Buffet (Berkshire), George Soros (Soros Fund), Peter Lynch (Fidelity Magellan), John Templeton (Tiger Fund) and John Bogle (Vanguard fund).
If you want to win consistently in the market you need to be a contrarian.
Yes very good point cksam. There is a word for that its Greed. Greed is the must dificult emotional aspect to over come. It cannot be taught its within the person's principle and discipline. So try to discipline yourself, don't let greed control you. Happy trading.
@cksam. To each his own. You are clearly a trader and you would have, without a doubt, done very well with your TAs etc. That’s pretty obvious.
However, Koon Yew Yin, (KYY), one of the most successful and respected local stock investors (he recently donated RM50M to charity...with due respect, how much did you donate, I wonder?) eschews matured counters and dividend income. In his view, matured counters have too high PEs and in Malaysia, dividend income is often low, although a declaration of a dividend payout can drive a stock.
He doesn’t care about the price of the stocks he buys and he has just 2 simple Golden Rules for Stockpicking: He’d buy if the co has 2 consecutive quarters of profits & it has a PE below 10. Edu fits KYY’s criteria. The last 2 consecutive QRs for Edu showed profit and the PE is minus 14!
The counters he buys normally shoot up beyond recognition. If Edu comes to his attention...with the high volume I’m sure he’s studying it.
KYY has such a huge war chest that no syndicate would ever dare short when they find out that he’s buying, coz he’s known to throw RM150M on a stock!
He usually ends up being the 2nd largest shareholder after his buys.
For instance he became the 2nd largest shareholder in V S Industry and the price shot up from 30 sen in June 2014 to Rm 1.70 in Dec 2016, an increase of 550 % within 18 months.
He also became the 2nd largest shareholder in Lii Hen and the counter shot up from 40 sen in mid 2013 to Rm 3.00 in Oct 2015, an increase of 750% within 2,5 years.
In Latitude he became the 4th largest shareholder and the price went up from Rm 1.00 to Rm 8.00, an increase of 800 % within 2.5 years.
Notice, unlike you traders @cksam, KYY is a long term holder and he doesn’t dive in and take profit periodically like you traders do. Pl observe that KYY’s average holding time was 2.17 years for each share. He hadn’t done too badly, has he?
Stockade, yes agreed with you. Likely Edu will get KYY attention. I have been following him. On coming Tue onward , we will wait for free warrants ex-date. That will be first new to propel the price higher. Those who attended AGM and EGM I understand said the meeting is very good with good prospect.
After that we have a few more announcement coming. May takes 3 months from now First will be new on thier impending trip to Ubezkistan as they have been invited to meeting with Ubezkisran education ministry. Highlight INVITED to discuss. So we wait
We wait when they will go .
End of year likely Dec 2019 will be award of MOE school project for Google classroom projects. Remember the SHARP and EDU partnership
So we have 3 impending new above
Exiting right.
That I believe will catch KYY attention His investment skill is remarkable I had been following him too
Hi Calvincheebursa , pls include me to yr Whatsapp group +60164597828. I strongly believe Eduspec has very bright prospect led by a dedicated CEO. Any price below 10sen is still super cheap if prepared to hold longer term. Do not worry too much about a small pullback when price is overbought. Also ignore the noises and negative comments by contra players. Just stay Cool like Atarah and some team leaders here. Cheers!
What happened to KYY's earlier call for JTiasa, Jaks (massive losses due to margin force selling), MudaJaya, HengYuan (second round), Sendai and the latest Dayang?
He even have the guts to blame the three broking house namely Kenanga, Public Bank and Hong Leong Bank for conspiring to bring down Dayang's share price.
"The company must report profit growth for 2 consecutive quarters before I decide to buy it. Moreover, it must be selling below PE 10."
I REPEAT the rule only works some time and only on some shares. It is not a holy grail of investment where
1+ 1 = 2. In stock market, there is no holy grail to connect any event to stock prices. There are a lot of shares have the above characteristics but did move much. Some even reverse course. One of the methods that i encountered during my 35 years of investing is by a guy named Jim Simons. I am sure you people never heard of this guys as he is media shy and doesn't give interviews. One of the rare interview that he gave in Ted talk. Titled "The Mathematician who cracked Wall Street". See below.
Basically he uses Big Data. Key in thousands of data regarding the economy, financial, politics, weather (commodities trading) and so on to formulate his model. Then he uses a method called "The Monte Carlo Method/Simulation" to simulate the data to produce the true Mean for every financial instruments. Markets always revert to the mean. So when the price of an asset is above the mean they his computer algorithm will short that asset. If the price of the asset is below then vice versa.
The Monte Carlo method is used in many scientific applications such as prospecting oil, aircraft maintenance, financial market modelling and timing, nuclear fusion, traffic lights synchronization and so on.
So, you see there are a lot of successful investors out there but there are living a low profile life. They don't brag. For example this Jim Simons fellow trade mark is wearing a pair of loafer without socks and almost never wear a suit. So don't judge a book by it's cover.
Oh really? It’s often said that the loudest boos usually come from the cheapest seats!
Find out first why admin kept removing my posts before you shoot off your mouth, k? The posts removed were part of my campaign to prevent innocent investors from being scammed by certain counters that were scams. That won’t stop me from carrying on my campaign against these counters. Beats me why admin keeps removing the posts? You would think admin would consider it their duty to prevent innocent investors from being scammed too, right? Suffice it to say that tons of investors, including those who were trapped, have thanked me for the warnings and for saving their bacon.
As far as CKSAM is concerned, his pontificating really grates and grinds my gears! Heck, he even knows more than KYY, LOL! I’ve never had time for arrogant “Johnny knows it alls!”
Education is a multi-billion dollar industry this is the next best thing to oil and gold. Its good that the Frog thingy is out the name itself sounds a bit degrading, Google classroom is the future it will be one that will change our education system and prepare our children for the new challenges ahead.
If Eduspec will get Government Educatiom contract, usually will announce around Nov -Dec. So Sept -Oct will got a lot of big movement on this stock. So mean this month is good time to pickup this stock .
Important section to note in the overview- Keep and strengthen hard earned customer relationship.
Here it states, Google for Education Partners maintain full ownership of the customer and billing relationships, including pricing, support, professional services and communications.
This is most likely why the word Eduspec appears as part of an inquiry email address, in a widely publicised MOE memo regarding Google Classroom, sourced frm the official MOE site.
2233 Indication: Notice of Meeting Indication: Outcome of Meeting Date of Meeting: 09/08/2019 Time of Meeting: 11:20 AM Venue: Greens II, Main Wing,Tropicana Golf & Country Resort,Jalan KelabTropicana,47410 Petaling Jaya,Selangor Darul Ehsan.
Outcome of Meeting: The Board of Directors of Eduspec Holdings Berhad ("EHB" or"Company") wishes to announce that all the resolutions as set out in the Noticeof the Extraordinary General Meeting ("EGM") dated 18 July 2019 were dulypassed by the shareholders of the Company present at the EGM held on Friday, 9August 2019. All the resolutions were approved by way of voting by poll andthe results were validated by Scrutineer Solutions Sdn Bhd, the IndependentScrutineer appointed by the Company. Append below are details of the pollingresults. This announcement is dated 9 August 2019.
If KYY buys Edu, the syndicate’s will never dream of selling. They’re not bodoh, you know? Why clash heads and come away battered and bruised? They’d join in the buying too!
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
cksam
752 posts
Posted by cksam > 2019-08-10 18:57 | Report Abuse
It's good to form investment clubs like in the US for learning purposes. But the problem is most of the time the information provided is blown out of proportion. Member will get too excited and in the end will hype it up to the euphoric stage. A lot of innocent investor get caught at the late stage of the bull because they don't know when to sell. Finally when the market crashes most investment clubs will go belly up. I have seen many of them.
A good example is the information provided by iluminati (no offense just for illustration purposes). If you look at the chart of Mlab. Back in 11/08/17 Mlab went through a funding exercise of rights issue of 2 for 1 @
0.15 and warrants 1 for 1. On 11/08/17 mother share Mlab closed at 0.17. It shot to a high of 0.27 on 24/08/17 which was about 13 days later. What we want to know is what happened to Mlab share price after 24/08/17. It dive down to 0.09 on 26/09//27 or about 1 month later. A staggering loss of 66% and it never went back anywhere near the original 0.17. As of Friday's close it was trading at 0.04. And i reckon those who bought during that period can kiss goodbye to their investments.
Similarly with Eduspec it was trading at 0.35 in 2016 but it slide all the way down to 0.03 last week. So if this time there is really a solid corporate development (some kind of Google online education stuff) the share price will no doubt shoot up. But how many investors know how to get off the bus? I bet many will still be "building CASTLES in the air".They will be counting how much more profit to earn if they hold on for another 3,6,9,12,24 and 36 months. Voila !! no need to work for the rest of his life already if Eduspec share price keep moving up like that.
The problem is when each time Eduspec's share price corrects they don't know whether it is a correction or market top. Investor in the club will of course comfort themselves saying these are just corrections and the market will turn up again. What happen in the end you investors will know better.
I am not against joining clubs. The problem is investors tend to form the herd mentality which is disastrous in market investing. Herds when euphoric cannot differentiate when the market is on the edge. They will listen to rumours and comforting news from other members. Thus will not know the reality out there. Do a bit of research, the best investors in the world normally acts solo. Look at these investors, Warren Buffet (Berkshire), George Soros (Soros Fund), Peter Lynch (Fidelity Magellan), John Templeton (Tiger Fund) and John Bogle (Vanguard fund).
If you want to win consistently in the market you need to be a contrarian.