KECK SENG (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): KSENG (3476)

+0.14 (2.42%)

5.82 - 5.92

8 people like this.

3,452 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 14 hours ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-24 15:37 | Report Abuse

leslieroycarter, Karex's face value is 25 sen and its NTA is only 50 sen. How much is Keck Seng's NTA? Karex's IPO price was only RM 1.85. Its price has more than doubled in just a few months. Many companies start to lose money soon after listing. I hope Karex is not one of them. Dsonic's share price has already gone up by almost 10 fold over the past one year. Holland isn't a nice place to go

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2013-12-24 15:58 | Report Abuse

Looks like many have given up on this counter due to its current weaknesses. For me , I'll continue to collect whenever I've additional funding. Cheers!!!

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-24 15:59 | Report Abuse

prudentinvestor: I m agreed what u said...

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-24 16:09 | Report Abuse

Look at volume today more than 50% enquiry from Market, Still have investor more look further and forward what has does for keck Seng co.

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2013-12-24 16:11 | Report Abuse

I would like to wish all fellow forummers a very blissful X'mas and New Year 2014 celebrations. Cheers!!!

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-24 23:01 | Report Abuse

eht6769 , the stated news dated 1st Nov 2013 which was long outdated . This counter has lost its appeal though its assets were undervalued for such a long long time. The fault lies with the poor and insensitive management for never taking care of the minority shareholders when the gains in company were considered the monopoly of the major shareholders only . Do not talk on assets and assets but give a thought to the returns to shareholders as well. I agreed that if you can hold for long term, you may get some returns in the end . Things may not work out this way because the co may opt to privatise and the minority shareholders may become the main losers in the end. 2cts advice.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-26 10:30 | Report Abuse

leslieroycarter, I believe that as of today, Keck Seng's directors, major share holders and their associates still control just over 61% of its paid up capital. This means that about 39% or around 140 million Keck Seng shares are still held by the public. In order to have a successful privatization of Keck Seng, the directors, major share holders and their associates would have to control at least 90% of Keck Seng's paid up capital. This means they have to accumulate at least another 100 million Keck Seng shares. With such an illiquid stock like Keck Seng, this can't be done without a massive spike in Keck Seng's share price. I think Keck Seng's small share holders are savvy and mostly long term investors. The small volume of Keck Seng shares being transacted daily is an indication.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-26 14:47 | Report Abuse

Just think about it that 10% buy back will cost the co around 250 mi @6.90 price . The co is holding liquid cash more than 900 mi. with this amount of cash , the co may easily bought over the stake to 90 % by various means or proxies . In market , anything may happen , so the options are wide open to interpretations . Unless various rules and regulations in Bursa are observed and enforced , things may turn out not in our minority favour !

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-26 15:43 | Report Abuse

privatise is impposible,,,,,

Wowalk

110 posts

Posted by Wowalk > 2013-12-26 15:59 | Report Abuse

6769 why?

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-26 16:19 | Report Abuse

impossible deal..dont worry it

Posted by greatfunds > 2013-12-26 17:31 | Report Abuse

The Ho Family has only less than 40% in control stake ; This is the major obstacle to their rationalization plan !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-26 17:35 | Report Abuse

You are assuming that small share holders are willing to sell a total of 36 million Keck Seng shares all at RM 6.90 per share. This won't happen. Keck Seng shares would move up once buying starts. How often has the total volume of Keck Seng shares transacted in a single day exceeded 0,5 million shares over the past one year? Even on occasions that the transacted volume exceeded 0.5 million shares, how much was fictitious volume?

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-26 21:24 | Report Abuse

Stochastic and RSI charts show positive ...good times are coming !

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-27 10:38 | Report Abuse

coming soon...price offer

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-27 10:38 | Report Abuse

3 days more

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2013-12-27 10:42 | Report Abuse

More sale transactions valuing land in Danga Bay exceeding RM900 per sq ft even higher than the one concluded by the Sultan with a Chinese property Giant. All these augurs well for land owners in southern Johor. Cheers!!!

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-27 10:50 | Report Abuse

At RM 1/share , so at 10 cts par only equate to 68-69 cts. What do you call this ?"penny stocks" Yes , kseng is considered a penny stock when it commands only 68-69 cts ! what say u , my frenz?

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-27 11:07 | Report Abuse

This should be the way to handle AGM in MPCORP . I think Kseng also need forensic checking on its account because it has far too much cash but no money to refund the money back ? This is a very pertinent question that all shareholders should ask the said management.

27/12/2013 11:06

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-27 15:50 | Report Abuse

If you are so worried about the authenticity of Keck Seng's account, the most logical thing for you to do is to dispose of your Keck Seng shares.

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-27 17:29 | Report Abuse

agreed it..

limayseng

2,076 posts

Posted by limayseng > 2013-12-28 16:43 | Report Abuse

Had sold some , so the balance will be put to sell at 7.50 or higher . No harm to wait a little bit longer coz the share has touched the bottom, may go up soon . Only time will tell. Do not be misled that It may even touch 8 ? It will be a very tall order!

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-30 08:00 | Report Abuse

2 days

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-12-30 12:59 | Report Abuse

no for sell....need to buy

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-30 14:36 | Report Abuse

2 days to Keck Seng directors receiving Tan Sri titles.

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-12-30 15:21 | Report Abuse

bro wake up ... no more special dividend.

thteh

106 posts

Posted by thteh > 2013-12-30 15:56 | Report Abuse

Don't think the major shareholders who are businessmen would be so silly to forgo over 300m to IRB. Have patient and see what is up their sleeve.

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2013-12-30 16:33 | Report Abuse

@thteh, wah you still talking about this - it is gone already. Many other forumers have explained why these "major shareholders", these "businessmen" are so smart (not so silly) that's why they rather forgo the 300m you mentioned to IRA than declare dividends for shareholders ! tsk tsk tsk - no more hope already for small shareholders as today is 30 Dec 13, left one more day and it all expires tomorrow.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-30 16:38 | Report Abuse

The major share holders are all rich people with incomes exceeding millions of Ringgit yearly. These people won't get a single sen of refund from the Inland Revenue and they are not bothered. Only poor small investors are longing for a special dividend from which they might be able to claim back part or all of the tax that has been deducted.

thteh

106 posts

Posted by thteh > 2013-12-30 17:05 | Report Abuse

You all very sure by tomorrow nite the IRB would sapu all the over 300m ? That special dividends must be paid by 31st or else is all gone ???

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-30 20:30 | Report Abuse

It is a pity that many people still have no clue about the Financial Act 2007. I suggest those who are still not clear log on Keck Seng's Annual Report 2012 and look for Clause 31 on Retained Earnings. That may give you some insight into the said Act. Keck Seng can still pay franked dividends up to a maximum of RM 330,277,000.00 by 31/12/13 if the company chooses to. Keck Seng had already paid the corporate tax for the balance of RM 330,277,000.00 which it can pay as franked dividend. This amount of money belongs to Keck Seng's share holders and nobody else.

thteh

106 posts

Posted by thteh > 2013-12-30 23:27 | Report Abuse

The Act we are clear, there can always be appeal if there are valid reasons. I can still cannot believe that the BOD can be so silly as to forgo RM 330 M. The major shareholders owned 60 percent of that sum. No matter how rich you are it defies logic for them to just surrender it all to the Goverment. Anyway it's only 24 hours let us see what happen. Happy New Year to all. Cheers

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-31 08:49 | Report Abuse

You said you were clear about the Act. Did the Act say that companies which did not pay franked dividends from their 108 balance have to surrender their money to the Government? You also did not understand what I wrote.

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-12-31 16:30 | Report Abuse

Hihi .. bye bye 2013 and bye bye RM 300 M dividend ...

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-01-01 10:08 | Report Abuse

New Year 2014 and new beginning for Keck Seng's holders. Cheers!!!

ryei

555 posts

Posted by ryei > 2014-01-02 11:48 | Report Abuse

with all the hope went into drain, will the price back to RM4.xx?

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-01-02 12:18 | Report Abuse

hope it will come back to RM 4.00 soon ...you just need to be patient .as the stochastic chart says not good .

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-01-02 13:57 | Report Abuse

if you guys are hoping to see Keck Seng back to where it was, perhaps this one-year old marker for you to set your sights on :
on 17 Dec 2012 : the low was 3.83 !

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-01-02 15:04 | Report Abuse

impossible..guy

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-01-02 15:04 | Report Abuse

this is sleeping dream...

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-01-02 15:18 | Report Abuse

Net cash per share is around RM 2.45. Including its investment in listed shares, this will come up to around RM 3.60 per share. If it falls to RM 3.83, you are more or less getting Keck Seng's other huge assets for free. I doubt it will even fall below RM 6.50 per share.

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-01-02 15:38 | Report Abuse

Totally agreed with prudeninvestor. Buy on weakness is the strategy now.Cheers!!!

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-01-02 15:51 | Report Abuse

guys, please don't get me wrong ! just a marker meant for leslieroycarter & ryei to go take a look the the chart and you will see that it is true that barely one year ago i.e last 18 December 2012, with NTA standing at same RM5.23 Keck Seng it was traded at a paltry RM3.83 low only ! I would say that in stock market, never say never ! I agree with prudentinvestor; and right now it seems unlikely. However, if it does, then it means the "whole house" comes crashing down,huge market crash worldwide, not just our puny Bursa market ! no difference then - because all stocks etc also "mati" leow !

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-01-02 16:00 | Report Abuse

Keck Seng (Malaysia) Berhad wishes to announce that it has received a notification dated 27 December 2013 from the Company Director, Ms. Lee Hwee Leng in respect of shares disposed by Messrs. Ecoblooms Sdn. Bhd., a company in which Ms. Lee has deemed interest.

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-01-02 16:03 | Report Abuse

only a small amount sold, as well as small total amount held by this Ms Lee HL and her Ecoblooms Sdn Bhd, so I personally don't think the disposal by this director of the company is significant at all !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-01-02 17:15 | Report Abuse

The director who sold her shares isn't related to the Ho family. She holds only around 150,000 Keck Seng shares. I am surprised that she sold her Keck Seng shares. The situation has changed. Due to the red hot property market in Johor Bahru, investors have started to re-rate counters with land for development and Keck Seng has plenty in Johor Bahru, though not at the best locations. Moreover other property developers like Mah Sing and EcoWorld have bought development land adjacent to Keck Seng's plantation land. Keck Seng has also sharply built up its cash reserve, from RM 681 million at end 2010 to over RM 920 million at end Sept. 2013. Of course if the stock market falls sharply, Keck Seng's shares would also fall.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-01-02 17:33 | Report Abuse

on paper it may be so but on the reality , kseng has not much to offer except its landed assets which is more or less in Agric tenure and definitely fetched a lower price compared with others which has gone the process of property conversion. Its cash may amount to 900 + million but what is the use ? The co is putting the money in current acc or FD which earned minimal and negligible returns ? So far all monies earned were kept in co chest so that the management may got the chance to access the acc by increasing yearly directors emolument in AGM as if is the rightful to do so year in and year out. So far as investors , we are getting a paltry of 10-10 cts returns amounting less than 2 % ? What so great about the 2% returns anyway ? So at RM 4 , it only returns more than more than 2+ % and by investors point of view , its investment is so so ? Imagine the co mgt can forfeit 320 + million at the expense of all shareholders ? I really can't imagine the logic behind the move. So my TP for this price has changed from RM8 to 6.50 and lower than RM 4.00 is more appropriate. Just 2 cts

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-01-02 19:56 | Report Abuse

Daiman has recently bought some land in Sedenak which is over 55 km from Johor Bahru for RM 100,000/- per acre or about RM 2.50/sq. ft. Keck Seng's plantation land is just 10 km from the Pasir Gudang Industrial Estate and just north of Tanjung Langsat Industrial Park. How much do you think Keck Seng's land is worth per acre? When did the company forfeit its RM 320/- million? You can check its financial report when it is released at the end of next month to find out if there is a disappearance of RM 320 million from its account. I also pray that Keck Seng's share price can drop to RM 4. Good opportunity to buy but it is a pipe dream.

babu

326 posts

Posted by babu > 2014-01-02 22:42 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, thank you for sharing with us your knowledge of land prices especially those recent done deals you factually quoted. These are useful "comparative markers" for us to assess the current and future "true value" of Keck Seng's plantation and other land value. You are very up to date, my admiration ! However, on a light-hearted note may I add that if your prayer is answered and Keck Seng's share price really touch RM 4.00, it would be quite frightening and a "bad, bad opportunity" to buy as everyone else (including me) busy 'running road" already - Bursa and entire Worldwide stock market all would be "dead" by then !