MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES

KLSE (MYR): MPI (3867)

+0.12 (0.37%)

32.60 - 32.72

4,024 comment(s). Last comment by newbie2y 17 hours ago

monetary

4,365 posts

Posted by monetary > 2022-01-13 16:07 | Report Abuse

glove takes yrs to recover. tech only takes less than 6months

monetary

4,365 posts

Posted by monetary > 2022-01-13 16:09 | Report Abuse

glove will never get back to where it was. tech will get higher after correction.

monetary

4,365 posts

Posted by monetary > 2022-01-13 16:47 | Report Abuse

this 1 has sign of reversal. look at their capex for 2021. next 2 yrs should have good results.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-01-13 17:06 | Report Abuse

Do u all know the meaning over goreng ? That s worst than over value ! Common sense lah look at many tech stocks eps n net profits , do u think they really worth the price over rm 2 ??? Simply chase high without common sense will bring u permenant free hold President VIP room !

treasurehunt

1,809 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-01-14 10:15 | Report Abuse

Low volume dropping. Funds doesn't want to support and abandon ship?

sten_still

380 posts

Posted by sten_still > 2022-01-14 10:22 | Report Abuse

rm20 come to papa

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2022-01-14 11:28 | Report Abuse

It is a good time to buy semiconductor stocks. Nothing has changed fundamentally.

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-14 15:35 | Report Abuse

MPI ... another kind of "glove stocks" on the decline" ?

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-14 15:37 | Report Abuse

Better run first n protect our hard earn moni ?

Posted by value_seeker > 2022-01-14 15:39 | Report Abuse

Stay also ok sell also ok the way. This is a good stock and remember EV.

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-14 15:45 | Report Abuse

Thanks.

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-14 15:48 | Report Abuse

Buy glove at peak during 2020 may have to wait for 100 years to escape

Buy tech at peak during 2021 may have to wait for 10 years to escape

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-14 15:49 | Report Abuse

I remember MPI was ard RM80 in 2000 Y2k

even after 20 years also cannot recover

Posted by investmalaysia618 > 2022-01-14 15:51 | Report Abuse

endgame

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-14 16:02 | Report Abuse

Oldies now pass down 2 decades of stk mkt wisdom to newbies. Please learn

FOC from them.

Newbie_123

274 posts

Posted by Newbie_123 > 2022-01-14 17:30 | Report Abuse

choppy water ahead now it touched rm40 range. brace for impact

James Ng

2,681 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2022-01-14 20:54 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/general/2022-01-14-story-h1597359437.jsp
[转贴] [Video:浅谈MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES BHD, MPI, 3867] - James的股票投资James Share Investing

treasurehunt

1,809 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-01-14 21:03 | Report Abuse

Just saw an old price chart in Google picture of MPI between 1999 to 2003. The peak was about RM 51.

The_JQuestion

1,523 posts

Posted by The_JQuestion > 2022-01-14 22:00 | Report Abuse

nvr expected this...the king has fallen

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-14 22:10 | Report Abuse

What are we to do now, please ?

PureBULL ...

2,413 posts

Posted by PureBULL ... > 2022-01-15 10:19 | Report Abuse

I believe too much in EV.TECH theme as the best global biz to own.
I overstayed on d&o n mpi, thinking all is well after a regular PT.
In just 3 mkt days, both ended crashing badly.

I spend too much time looking for the next great stock.
n slept on my wheel for not identifying the best exit pt i.e. 1st LH then LL.
If members r kind enough to shout out this pt, am so glad to listen 1st.

BuLLRam

1,104 posts

Posted by BuLLRam > 2022-01-15 16:37 | Report Abuse

Purebull,
Don't beat yourself up .
You were correct in the EV stocks chosen.
It had a fantastic run up over 2021.
You only didn't TP , at least some of it.
As they say,, go in TA , get out TA..
If go in by FA , what is there to worry about,
Unless the FA has changed...

Annetan

843 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2022-01-15 17:02 | Report Abuse

In my opinion,it's dangerous to keep justifying fundamentals when a sector has a steep rally.I don't have huge appetite for high risk.It's advisable to sell on possible rally next week since the sector is technically oversold and almost reaching the mthly chart's 20 ema/center bollinger band around the 79 level happens to be 38.2 percent between 23.6 and 38.2 percent retracement from the low of 23 to 101.Just my opinion,I could be dead wrong.

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-15 20:42 | Report Abuse

PHLX Semiconductor Index still stong, chips shotage still no end in sight:

Friday 2.33%
5 Day 2.75%
1 Month 3.71%
3 Month 17.69%
YTD -1.15%
1 Year 30.33%

https://www.marketwatch.com/investing/index/sox

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-15 20:47 | Report Abuse

PE as of 14 Jan 2022 price

Inari : PE 34.07
MPI : PE 27.23
Unisem : PE 24.36
Vitrox : PE 51.65
Greatech : PE 44.54
D&O : PE 56.90
KESM : PE 36.27
UWC : PE 59.83

Technology affects almost every aspect of 21st century life, from transport efficiency and safety, to access to food and healthcare, socialization and productivity.

I only like MPI....

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-15 21:11 | Report Abuse

U can buy more MPI if U like it after all it is onli your moni lah.

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-15 21:17 | Report Abuse

Posted by NatsukoMishima > Jan 11, 2022 9:42 PM | Report Abuse

" Dont fight with the trend !

This is same pattern like glove stock when it started to downtrend but nobody believed !

At the end all big 4 dropped to nearly 5 years lowest price ! Many bilis burnt their hands ! "

What is the trend now, please ?

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-15 21:26 | Report Abuse

Malacca Securities Sdn Bhd senior analyst Kenneth Leong concurred with Wan and said the downtrend of Bursa technology stocks was due to the weakness in Nasdaq.

“Based on the current situation, the downtrend is expected to continue. Technology sector had a good run in 2021, I think investors are using this as an excuse to take profit,” he said.

However, in the long term, he opined that technology stocks' fundamentals remain intact, supported by their earnings growth.

“Now the technology [sector] is still under downward pressure. Investors could wait for the market sentiment to stabilise then to start bargain hunting,” he said.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2022-01-15 23:45 | Report Abuse

Hello, glover here. I don't know much about the tech sector, so I won't comment much. But whatever you do, please do not panic. Before making any decision, ask yourselves whether if you're (1) a short-term trader or (2) a long-term investor. Ideally you should have a goal/strategy before putting money in any counters.

(1) If you're a short term investor, you have to figure out the market trend in the coming weeks or months. Do investor expect the downtrend to continue, or a technical rebound next week following yesterday's sell-off? If a downtrend is expected to continue, try to make an exit when prices rebound. If you believe the sector will recover soon, then look for opportunities to buy when prices are low (and take profit when it rebounds)

(2) If you're a long-term investor, figure out whether there is a future in the tech industry. If you believe this sector fundamental is intact, don't be too concerned with occasional downturns, look at them as an opportunity to accumulate. If you think this sector has a pretty dim outlook, you should've had an exit plan (take profit or cut loss). Prices have increased several folds in 2021, will it continue to increase in 2022? I don't know.

It is also very important to diversify your portfolio. Even if you strongly believe in the semiconductor and the EV sector, it is not advisable to put everything into the tech sector. Diversify into other sectors: banking, plantation, retails...etc. Look out for companies with high cash flows and a reasonable debt. While I am strongly biased toward glove counters, I try to maintain a maximum of 30% in the glove sector. Occasionally I've exceed my quota (at one point ~60%), but I look for opportunities to sell off and reached my 30% target. My portfolio took a beating in 2021, but I did not lose too much sleep over it because I did not go all in into gloves.

How much you want to diversify is up to you. You are free to put it all into the tech sector if you have a high risk tolerance.

To me MPI is a solid counter, but yesterday's movement could easily cause people to panic. First know your goals (short-term trader or a long-term investor). Second make your buy/sell decisions based on your investment goals. Diversify your portfolio based on your risk appetite and most important of all: Don't Panic!

donald770

244 posts

Posted by donald770 > 2022-01-16 07:01 | Report Abuse

Very healthy discussion here, as healthy as mpi. We acquire skills of investment as time progresses.l take medium term investment strategy.l will buy slowly from my perceived low , since it is a good stock with future growth prospect.

11,115 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-01-16 12:49 |

11,115 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-01-16 15:33 |

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 15:47 | Report Abuse

Mpi still not so crazy but i think MPI used to trade at PE 10+ prior to this

Kobay,UWC,D&O, Frontken r still higher than 50 despite recent plunge

Greatec n Penta at PE 40+

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 15:48 | Report Abuse

Anyway MPI is never yr cup of tea lah

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-16 15:51 | Report Abuse

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/nasdaq-hides-deeper-pain-over-161954247.html

More than 36% of the stocks in the index are down at least 50% from their 52-week highs
However, Semicon index only dropped 2.5% from the top...still very strong.
Mega cap like Apple dropped about 5% from the top.

In Msia context
Msia big cap tech i would say MPI and Inari
Small cap tech Greatech, D&O, UWC, KESM may have more room to drop....

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 15:52 | Report Abuse

TSMC only at PE 30+

TSMC also traded at historical high PE...if i m not mistaken it used to trade at single digit PE few years ago....feel free to correct me if i m wrong

11,115 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-01-16 15:52 | Report Abuse

I will buy MPI in next cycle when buy signal appears.

I bought MPI at 27.00 in 2021, sold at 29.00.
I regret that I did not hold on to MPI in 2021 to sell at 50.00.
I have very high confidence on MPI.

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 15:53 | Report Abuse

Diu...i saw it was RM7+ or Rm8+ during Mac 2020 n very tempted to buy but never buy....lol

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 15:54 | Report Abuse

Lets c when Nasdaq started to correct what will be our local tech co prices then.....

Albukhary

2,745 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2022-01-16 15:59 | Report Abuse

Let put it this way :-

Back to 2019, MPI is earning around RM150mil per annum, and share price is RM10.
At that time, market PE is around 10x only

Now 2021-2022, MPI is earning around RM300mil per annum, and share price is RM40.
At this moment, market PE is around 30x, some other tech stock can even have 40x, 50x, 60x

During this two year, how much capacity MPI has increase?

Although technology demand has increase, but I believe supplier will increase also.

When the profit is good, other country will setup factory to provide the similar services, same like Glove, when the profit is thin, whole world don't want to produce, so Malaysia can take up 60% of world supply. But when profit is good, all country try to setup factory produce themselves, and our market share starting to drop from 60%, 50%, 40%...., until a level where it no longer profitable, then other country will give up the production, then our market share will back to 60% again.

To sustain at this price, it is either MPI can continue to growth from RM300mil to RM600mil or RM900mil, or else PE will start drop from 30x to 25x to 20x to 15x. The drop will be faster if the profit is no longer growing, or when it start to reduce.

By that time, the share price will back to RM15 or RM20 like this.

Above is just my personal thought, I am try to learn from Glove Mistake and see whether it can apply to other sector and to help me to avoid big loss again.

14,587 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-16 16:22 | Report Abuse

Anyway my personal free advice to u...Eddie Ong is an assholx...difficult to make money fm his stocks

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2022-01-16 16:29 |

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-16 16:29 | Report Abuse

gloves can increase the production in 6 months and capitalised on one off even ie covid.

Tech is same as gloves?

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2022-01-16 16:31 | Report Abuse

Wether same or not is not important. Corection tumble is for sure

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-16 16:32 | Report Abuse

Technology affects almost every aspect of 21st century life, from handphone to EV, from communication to logistic and e-commerce, from transport efficiency and safety, to access to food and healthcare, socialization and productivity....

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2022-01-16 16:33 |

Posted by BlessedInvestor > 2022-01-16 16:34 | Report Abuse

certain poor tech stocks will correct more... good one will come back fast.

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2022-01-16 16:37 |

treasurehunt

1,809 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-01-16 20:04 | Report Abuse

As usual, Mr Market will not be rational during superbull run and bear attacking.