Proton's latest car model named 'Preve'

Publish date: Wed, 04 Apr 2012, 05:45 PM
Proton Holdings Bhd has chosen to name its latest car model, "PREVE", to grab the attention of both the local and global markets.

Previously codenamed P3-21A, Group Managing Director, Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir said the new name means proof, or had proven to the world that Proton can produce cars which met every stringent global specification.

"We want to be a global car maker with a global appearance, global thinking and obviously need a name that signifies where the company is today and where we want to go globally.

"So, we have come up with PREVE, to also showcase the company after 27 years in the automotive industry," he told a press conference here today.

The media were given an opportunity to test-drive the new car over 156 kilometres.

Syed Zainal Abidin said the PREVE can garner a higher profit margin for the company with its price range of RM62,000-RM75,000 depending on the version.

He said the PREVE is scheduled to be officially launched this month by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Proton has given importance to the styling of the car to attract a global audience, while previous models, were more tailor-made for the domestic environment.

Syed Zainal is also optimistic of monthly sales of 4,000-4,500 units for the new global car.

He is also confident that the PREVE will prove an attraction for overseas buyers and Proton is undertaking testing of the car at present for sale in South East Asia, Australia and the Middle East.

Proton has paid much attention to safety features, including body strength improvement, speed and fuel consumption, accessories as well as handling system in creating the global car. -- BERNAMA

Labels: PROTON

Be the first to like this. Showing 26 of 26 comments

Fat Cat Tim Buddy

preve.. sound like weewee -.-

2012-04-04 19:28

bachok alwee

Sayang kereta sudah lama ujud tapi tidak dirasmikan, masa terbuang begitu saja. Dalam perniagaan masa lebih mahal dari emas. Tempahan pula dibuka tanpa wajah kereta yang nyata. Tidak wajar bukan! Yang lagi pelik nama tidak dirancang dari awal?

2012-04-04 21:43

jc_ooi

i still remember last time when Proton launched Savy, they also show bit by bit. They should have learnt, hai...

2012-04-04 22:41

ayub

macam savvy agaknya,.,,..,tak laku.

2012-04-04 23:10

jaafar daud

proton kata kereta ni jimat minyak. Mana angkanya?

2012-04-05 10:34

tptan45

I wonder how many stars will that car get in a standard, non biased, non corrupt crash test.

2012-04-05 10:57

dknycom

I hope not ANOTHER FAILURE CAR of MALAYSIA. MALU LAGI?

2012-04-05 11:27

Darren Kho

Seriously I won't spend RM 80k to buy a PROTON !!! Paling lama tahan 5 tahun saja...

2012-04-05 11:51

ijanto

i have been using proton since i started my work... next year will be my 3rd proton car(exora) even i can buy estima or alphard.... no problem for me.... lucky me....

2012-04-05 11:56

Darren Kho

You're the lucky one lol ;-)

2012-04-05 11:59

dknycom

PROTON'S CAR getting worse in QUALITY. NICE OUTSIDE but BAD ENGINE. PERODUA'S CAR is BETTER in QUALITY AND PRICE. MORE VALUE BUY.

2012-04-05 12:00

Darren Kho

Yeah! I prefer Perodua also ;-) Cheers!!

2012-04-05 12:02

jacklew

lucky only one in a million. I bought iswara 6 years ago at RM38k. Now want to sale...guess how much??? less than RM6k. OMG.

2012-04-05 12:03

dknycom

PERODUA'S KANCIL, KENARI & MYVI is good for most malaysian. CHEAP, LOW MAINTAINANCE AND FUEL SAVING.

2012-04-05 12:04

dknycom

PROTON'S SAGA, ISWARA & WIRA only the better one in PROTON'S FAMILY.
WAJA, GEN2, SAVVY & PERSONA!!! OMG. MANY PROBLEMS!!!!

2012-04-05 12:06

jacklew

yeah, happy with my perodua VIVA. Proton, forget about it.

2012-04-05 12:07

dknycom

PERODUA VIVA & ALZA also not bad. KURANG PROBLEM. MINYAK SAVE & SPARE PART MURAH AND MUDAH DAPAT.
PROTON WAJA, GEN2 & PERSONA, BANYAK PROBLEM, KUAT MAKAN MINYAK, SPARE PART MAHAL!! POCKET BERLUBANG!

2012-04-05 12:11

dknycom

TOYOTA VIOS also good. KUAT, TAHAN & GOOD SECOND HAND VALUE!!!

2012-04-05 12:24

Jake

Jangan beli kereta baru, especially not Proton...takde re-sale value. Better look for 2nd hand good imported car.

2012-04-05 12:33

hamdaa

your buy you regret

2012-04-05 13:34

hamdaa

buy merz powerful + strong

2012-04-05 13:35

dknycom

Buy Toyota Car like Vios and Altis. MORE RE SALE VALUE.
If buy proton GEN2, NEW SAGA, PERSONA.... RUGI TERUK!!!

2012-04-05 16:04

ijanto

i bought waja RM62k.. now market value RM16k... in 8 years depreciate about RM 44k.... if bought Civic RM113k... sell now around RM60k after 6 years... RM53k depreciate... not including all the interest you pay ... but yes proton car is not that good but if you think about it... it is not the problem with the car... it is you.... once you go for high end car... you can never go back to the low end car... that is why i threat my body the same all the time... so i will always satisfied with all i have.... if you satisfied it doesn't matter what you drive or where you live..... i put my money where i its worth... property, good stock, education, travelling.

2012-04-06 08:43

wanapit

already use 2 kancil - having bad experience with both kancil...mmm, 1 proton saga - very lasak and got "interior sound" package included, 1 wira - the best, with factory spec on highway can beat merz lol..., currently exora - easily 7 adult + 4 children, but have to accept the rule - more weight more fuel consumption.....happy to be Malaysian and patriotic a bit. hoping to get inspira later on...hopefully invesment can go well...God Willing...

2012-04-06 09:05

Fat Cat Tim Buddy

patriotic by buying tin kosong car?

2012-04-06 09:15

dknycom

When buy a new car, please seek advise from some foreman before made a decision. What i can say is nowadays car may looks nice, but not durable as we think. More expensive in maintainance if compare in old car ( before yr 2000 )

2012-04-06 09:54