Malaysia can attain 6pc growth

Publish date: Fri, 22 Mar 2013, 06:39 PM
BUTTERWORTH: The government is confident of achieving six per cent gross domestic product (GDP) growth this year, spurred by the vibrant economy and the momentum derived from projects implemented last year.

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop said the goverment was very happy with the achievements made last year.

"Initially, many parties did not expect we will attain 5.6 per cent growth last year. If we look at early last year, many parties predicted that our economy will only grow at around four per cent.

"Actually, the momentum is even higher this year. For instance, the mass rapid transit (MRT) project is one element that will lead to a high growth rate.

"If we look at the MRT project, we only implemented a small portion of it last year, the bulk of the massive project will be carried out this year," he told reporters after launching "My Wanita" portal at the Tasek Gelugor parliamentay constituency level here today.

Nor Mohamed is the Tasek Gelugor Member of Parliament.

Bank Negara Governor Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz said on Wednesday the country's economy is expected to post strong economic growth this year, growing between five and six per cent, largely driven by domestic demand, gradual increase in the external sector and active investments.

Nor Mohamed said the 1Malaysia People's Aid (BR1M) and investments inflow were the main contributors to the high economic growth last year.

"Previously, investments were only about 10 per cent. Now, investments are high, reaching double-digit. Investments are coming in a big way. Investments are very good, consumption is very good and inflation is very low.

"All these contributory factors point to a healthy economic growth. We have the potential to achieve up to six per cent economic growth this year, added Nor Mohamed, who is also in-charge of the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Minister's Department.

Earlier, in his speech, Nor Mohamed said the openness approach practised by the government by providing equal opportunities to women has propelled the nation to attain maximum success and
prosperity.

He said the government's move to utilise 100 per cent of its human resource by engaging men and women can effectively contribute to initiatives to transform Malaysia into an advanced nation by 2020.

"If the government utilises only 50 per cent of its human resource, that is, engaging only the men, how are we going to achieve maximum progress?" he asked.

The minister urged women to upgrade their skills and enrich their knowledge, including learning information technology, to seek opportunities in the vast business world.-- Bernama
Be the first to like this. Showing 1 of 1 comments

bangbang123

boleh?

2013-03-22 20:01