KL shares fall on weaker buying support

Publish date: Mon, 28 Apr 2014, 06:41 PM
Share prices on Bursa Malaysia ended the day lower on weaker buying support due to ongoing geopolitical risk in Ukraine, with the FTSE Bursa Malaysia KLCI (FBM KLCI) 5.24 points easier at 1,855.74 points.
The benchmark index hovered between 1,855.74 points and 1,862.97 points throughout today's trading.
Kenanga Research said the FBM KLCI was expected to continue to be trapped in the sideway consolidation mode, at between the 1,840 and 1,869-point range,
before the conclusion of the US Federal Open Market Committee meeting, scheduled on April 29-30.
"The local market experienced another tight range trading as the broader market continued to favour rotational plays on the small-cap and penny stocks rather than the big-cap counters," it said in a research note.
However, Alliance Research said the analysis of overall market action last week revealed that buying power was stronger than selling pressure.
"As such, the weekly FBM KLCI Index would likely trade above the 1,870.89 level in the week ending May 2, 2014," the research house said in a separate note.
On heavyweights, Maybank was flat at RM9.95, Axiata added 2.0 sen to RM6.67, Public Bank and TNB shed 10 sen each to RM20.16 and RM11.84, respectively, and CIMB lost 2.0 sen to RM7.49.
Among actives, PDZ remained unchanged at 15.5 sen while 1 Utopia and Karambunai Corp eased half-a-sen each to 7.0 sen and 9.5 sen, respectively.
Market breadth was negative as losers led gainers 647 to 235 while 259 counters were unchanged, 488 untraded and 30 others suspended.
Turnover was higher at 2.16 billion shares worth RM1.74 billion from 1.93 billion shares worth RM1.89 billion, recorded on Friday.
On the scoreboard, the Industrial Index lost 5.27 points to 3,141.71 points, the Finance Index slipped 55.54 points to 17,018.04 points and the Plantation Index fell 31.08 points to 8,964.65 points.
The FBM Emas Index shed 38.52 points to 12,879.82 points, the FBMT100 Index was 32.86 points lower at 12,517.12 points, the FBM 70 fell 27.3 points to
14,116.41 points and the Ace Index lost 156.01 points at 6,754.15 points.
Main Market volume was higher at 1.53 billion units worth RM1.63 billion from last week's 1.44 billion units worth RM1.75 billion.
Turnover on the ACE market rose to 565.57 million shares valued at RM94.35 million from 443.37 million shares valued at RM122.55 million, recorded on
Friday.
Warrants narrowed to 33.51 million units worth RM4.72 million from 40.04 million units worth RM5.45 million on Friday.
Consumer products accounted for 176.19 million shares traded on the Main Market, industrial products 248.12 million, construction 94.89 million, trade and services 485.51 million, technology 55.86 million, infrastructure 15.22 million, SPAC 28.81 million, finance 47.65 million, hotels 5.26 million, properties 348.8 million, plantations 23.65 million, mining 792,900, REITs 2.88 million and closed/fund 70,400.-- Bernama
Be the first to like this. Showing 15 of 15 comments

fortunebullz

Tomorrow many counters will rebound! Poke some for fun! No shorting futures tomorrow, too many jumping into futures tomorrow!

2014-04-28 22:09

fortunebullz

Tomorrow plenty of punters still in fear, may open lower and best to hantam!

2014-04-28 22:14

fortunebullz

Cant wait to poke few counters tomorrow! Plenty of upside!

2014-04-28 22:24

miracle4faith

fb, which counter u planning to hantam?? share la....i wan to follo oso worr....huhuhu

2014-04-28 22:26

bonus

Fortunebullz, how u see hevea? Any possible upside?

2014-04-28 22:27

fortunebullz

Miracle! I rather not tell! I will be hantam by you and others if I tell!
Bonus! Hevea wait for next bull run! Upside potential very huge! Only time and tide will tell when is wanna run!

2014-04-28 22:30

bonus

Very slow hevea now... Hope will be moving fast!!!!
U have any news of hevea? When the private placement will be done?

2014-04-28 22:34

miracle4faith

fb, im gentleman one...never i hantam people one...nape, tak cayer ker?? u can check all my posting...inexperience newbie like me need morale and tips support from old timer like fb....

2014-04-28 22:35

fortunebullz

Bonus! Honestly I don't keep up with Hevea at the moment! Only check the chart once a week! Don't see any upside at the moment!

2014-04-28 22:36

fortunebullz

Miracle! If you are newbie then invest long term! Don't try to play like senior or pro! Buy Asiapac and hold till end of year! No regret!

2014-04-28 22:37

miracle4faith

fb, which stock would u invest for 1 to 2 months wait and gain??

2014-04-28 22:39

fortunebullz

Cancel punting stocks tomorrow! US markets still dropping like dead bull! Tomorrow continue short futures!

2014-04-29 01:38

fortunebullz

Miracle! You asking me to become fortune teller! Please, I don't know what will happen in 1 or 2 months time! I can only assess markets as I see it!

2014-04-29 01:39

bonus

Fb, how u see tmrw market? Today alot counter red ler...

2014-04-29 22:32

fortunebullz

Hahahaha! Bonus! Today was a wonderful day for fishing! Tomorrow is wonderful day to sell fish!

2014-04-29 22:36