1MDB repays US$975m loan, says Arul Kanda

Publish date: Mon, 08 Jun 2015, 03:20 AM

KUALA LUMPUR: 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) has repaid a US$975 million (RM3.6 billion) loan to a syndicate of international banks, in line with the rationalisation plan approved by cabinet.

In a statement today, 1MDB's president/group executive director, Arul Kanda Kandasamy, said the repayment reflected the company's commitment to reduce the debt levels.

"On May 29, the Ministry of Finance announced 1MDB's plan to repay a US$975 million loan to a syndicate of international banks.

"Today, we are pleased to confirm that the loan has been fully repaid," he said. --BERNAMA

Be the first to like this. Showing 14 of 14 comments

Fosterrrr

How many times u keep saying 20 points up and all based on several news u deemed positive. What happened now zzzz. Better u don't post anything no one will say u deaf / mute la.

2015-06-08 21:12

Who paid the loan? 1 MDB has no money.....

2015-06-08 21:15

ktrader

hahaha..I'm thrilled !!!

2015-06-08 21:29

izoklse

2015-06-08 21:48

kingcobra

nowadays all sort of unbelievable news cropping up...see with own eyes 2 believe!

2015-06-08 21:55

BorneobinMalaya

ARUN PUNDEK KANDANG BABI.

2015-06-09 18:59

Ny036

KS55, I intend to change all local cash into foreign currency. In your opinion and with your vast experience what is your forecast the best currency that worth to invest for long term. I only ask your advise for second opinion n final decision is still will made myself. I m looking at china yuan, New Zealand, Singapore dollar , usd. Thanks in advance if you can assist.

2015-06-09 20:42

andychucky28

Ny036, yes it is a good move. If MYR drop to 5.00, you will earn a 25%, if only you change it back to MYR.

2015-06-09 20:45

Ny036

Andy, my intention is to withdrawn partly my epf n keep in foreign currency. Hope the foreign currency will appreciate against ringgit and also the foreign currency is with interest rate but it will not as high as 6%. Maybe around 2.7% to 4.5% per annum. Thanks.

2015-06-09 21:00

andychucky28

Anyway, EPF 6% is not attractive anymore. Some of your local banks are giving 7% FD per annum for 6 months. Please check.

2015-06-09 21:07

Ny036

My prediction is within 5 year china yuan will 1:1 with RM. Currently they give 2.7% interest. Just lost confidence with RM. Around a year ago is 1:2 with china yuan.

2015-06-09 21:18

andychucky28

Not only Yuan my friend. MYR is the worst performer in the region. Just compare to Singapore $, Thai bath, Peso, or even Vietnam Dong is better if compare to 10 years ago.

2015-06-09 21:21

Ny036

I invested in Singapore few year back but the interest is very low. Now my target is china yuan. Moreover G7 will include yuan as a reserve currency.

2015-06-09 21:24

Ny036

I think invest in share quite risky especially short term unless you are really expert n quick with firm heart. Probility of losing is very high. However if there a a crash the it is a opportunity. Miss the 2008 chance. Invest in foreign currency n property (plantation) is my other choice.

2015-06-09 21:31