Ringgit opens higher at 4.17 against USD

Publish date: Thu, 29 Dec 2016, 06:59 PM

KUALA LUMPUR: The ringgit opened higher against the US dollar today as the United States yields reached a two-week low on overnight decline amid better demand for the local note, said dealers.

At 9.08 am, the ringgit was quoted at 4.1785/1835 against the greenback from 4.1860/1900 on Wednesday.

A dealer said the weaker-than-anticipated pending home sales data and an encouraging debt auction caused Treasury yields to deteriorate.

Meanwhile on the local front, there was renewed optimism as forex traders would want to end the year on a higher note, he said.

The ringgit was traded mostly higher against a basket of major currencies.

The ringgit fell against the Singapore dollar to 3.0877/0916 from 3.0867/0901 on Wednesday and weakened versus the yen to 3.8302/8351 from 3.8069/8113.

It appreciated against the British pound to 5.4760/4844 from 5.4862/4929 and rose against the euro to 4.6698/6773 from 4.6758/6808.--BERNAMA

Be the first to like this. Showing 12 of 12 comments

pharker

Wow...4.17..is it a typo error or real case

2016-12-29 12:05

pharker

It gave some traders heart attack

2016-12-29 12:07

abangadik

Hahaha.. duitkor.. always willing to share good insight.. If only the world has more people like you. :D

2016-12-29 12:23

Pierre-Simon Laplace

I like non sense saje...

don't hantam me bro

2016-12-29 12:23

beso

it is 4.47 don't dream for ringgit going stronger

2016-12-29 12:25

Pierre-Simon Laplace

since U say like that... best luck to you beso.

2016-12-29 12:26

steveooikp

ringgit fall like that... you all don't feel the pinch and upset??

2016-12-29 12:29

pharker

its not I aim or miss or like or dislike....how the Ringgit trend is so many factors beyond me such as Fundamentals of the country, supply, demand, BNM measures, US Trump policy, Feds rates hike, oil price, China inflow, outflow to US, coming election, fx speculators....etc etc etc

2016-12-29 12:29

skyhawk

Hope I am wrong about my waves count, it shld easily above 5.17 in the 1st quarter of 2017 >>>>>>> http://invst.ly/2-gy7

2016-12-29 14:36

resilient911

i3 management didnt verify before post……
haizz

2016-12-29 18:17

pengembaraalam

terkezutt aiii...haha

2016-12-29 22:51

Adam Loh Wei Chia

this really typo error...i was happy for a while. after checking...typing error

2016-12-30 10:12