RCEP no go if deal not right for people: Mahathir

Publish date: Thu, 15 Nov 2018, 03:59 PM
SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad reiterated his stand that Malaysia will not agree to lopsided trade deals.

“Sometimes, international relations are received differently by different segments of our population. We can’t just accept something that sounds reasonable for other countries but may not sound reasonable for many people in our country.

“We want to avoid conflicts in our country resulting in our acceding to foreign ideas,” he said on the sidelines of the 33th ASEAN Summit in the Island City which ends today.

He was asked to comment on Bernama’s earlier report that Putrajaya will not sign the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) if it does not constitute a fair deal.

Launched in 2012, the RCEP is the world’s largest economic pact, covering nearly half the global economy.

It involves 16 nations, the 10 ASEAN-member countries, plus six Asia Pacific states, namely Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.

- BERNAMA

Be the first to like this. Showing 18 of 18 comments

Dr M is right. sometimes, no deal is much better than lopsided deal. Same with US-Sino trade war. I believe China is ok with no deal, won't budge with any US's unreasonable threat. Same with BREXIT, no deal is much better than too much concession to Euro for the sake of an unfair deal.

2018-11-17 14:03

I have no idea which are the controversial clauses in the RCEP.....somebody should high light it.......

2018-11-17 14:23

Let me make a big guess. It must have to do with protectionist measures on our national cars. Dr M sure reject free competition in this area since 3rd national car in plan.

2018-11-17 14:28

Among all participants in the RCEP, one nation which stands in stark contrast is India. India with the highest import tariff, local protectionist measures in everything join free trade??? You must be kidding. wakaka

2018-11-17 14:33

How many local MY corp. si kiao kiao in India?? Mudajaya is one of the victims...wakaka

2018-11-17 14:34

Look at India's tariff on our palm oil. Everyone only condemn US but over-look India's crazy tariff...Now, palm oil ind. also almost dying already. wakaka

2018-11-17 14:36

Europe always talk about free trade but do otherwise. Look at his super subsidy on local rapeseed oil by condemning our palm oil substainability. All these US, Europe...cakap tak serupa bikin one. wakaka

2018-11-17 14:40

well...this RCEP got no USA.....even better because USA cannot be trusted......they change every thing each time they change President......

2018-11-17 14:48

If India sign, can all palm oil enter with zero tariff? very unlikely as India use tariff to tackle slump of INR. we can bet India will pull out at the end. wakaka

2018-11-17 14:52

so if nobody wants free trade....no need RCEP talks la.......

2018-11-17 14:53

AU is taking legal action against India due to latter's subsidy for cane growers causing worldwide slump in sugar price. wakaka

2018-11-17 15:00

I think Malaysia should sign FTA with China....forget about the rest.....

2018-11-17 15:14

After demonise China, small potato nation now want to befriend again? muka tebal. wakaka

2018-11-17 15:16

China Malaysia friend friend....no problem

2018-11-17 15:19

China Malaysia friend friend....no problem

but not Najib style which is corruption and 2 useless pipelines and useless ECR......

2018-11-17 15:20

Anyway, must teach this small potato a lesson. quoted Sin PM, Lee Hsien Loong; Come to certain stage, one may have to make a difficult choice btn USA and China. Wish nation all the best taking side with US. wakaka

2018-11-17 15:27

singapore will go with USA...
Malaysia can go with China.

2018-11-17 15:29

Below my personal view: Bullish on RMB long term, Bearish on USD long term (OVER PRINTING LIKE BANANA TREE money).....if small potato choose wrong side, we're looking for death. wakaka

2018-11-17 15:31