1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-01-29 13:35 | Report Abuse

Mas is not too big too fail Like Citibank or merrill lynch or bank of America
In local context it's not maybank , cimb , tenaga , pbbank , or Telekom
Reason : we have airasia , and all the other airlines
So if it banruptcy just let it be ,, gov shldnt rescue it
But I like the hospitality of Mas they are better than any
Airasia is cheap but low on the people factor
I don't get it how Mas can lose money vs airasia unless their expenses or fuel cost is poorly manage

jenabchen123

1,172 posts

Posted by jenabchen123 > 2014-01-31 10:21 | Report Abuse

Agreed. I will miss its superb hospitality if it really close shop. None other airlines that I know can serve better than MAS. Its cabin crew hospitality is the best.

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-01-31 10:30 | Report Abuse

Some years ago I read from Edge MAS average employee remuneration is RM100K a year, a heavy burden for MAS to face to compete with airline like Air Asia and Malindo. Some people like low cost travel which Air Asia can offer.

jenabchen123

1,172 posts

Posted by jenabchen123 > 2014-01-31 10:43 | Report Abuse

Mas dont have to go that low to compete. Their specialty is in full service long haul airlines. Pelangi should take charge to compete with airasia.

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-02-01 22:52 | Report Abuse

MAS is a public listed company, but behaves like a govt department. MAS is full of dead-wood staff. In MAS, 3 workers doing the job of 1 worker in AirAsia! How to compete?

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-02-01 22:53 | Report Abuse

MAS needs to cut 1/3 to 1/2 its staff to hit the efficiency of AirAsia. But MAS is unable to do it because it operates like a govt dept.

jenabchen123

1,172 posts

Posted by jenabchen123 > 2014-02-02 00:14 | Report Abuse

Where gor same flying with Mas and Airasia. One time flying Airasia macam naik bas sangkut sangkut. Orang berebut tempat duduk. We cannot equate Mas with Airasia.

5,743 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2014-02-02 00:34 | Report Abuse

Bottom line still $$$.,

Posted by Gordon Gecko > 2014-02-02 01:30 | Report Abuse

airasia will die.. airasia x will die first.. will see

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-02-03 00:24 | Report Abuse

MAS wont die because your tax money used to keep it afloat forever.

iswara

896 posts

Posted by iswara > 2014-02-03 15:32 | Report Abuse

why airasia x (AAX) will die first ? I would like to hear your point.

532 posts

Posted by 1901 > 2014-02-04 09:54 | Report Abuse

AA - tagline should be 'now everyone is late

KhoCL

Posted by KhoCL > 2014-02-06 00:15 | Report Abuse

Jaya Tiasa has experienced tremendous growth in its FFB production. However, the Oil Extraction Rate (OER) has been unimpressive hovering around 9-10% for the past few years, compared against industry average range of 18-22%. Improvement in OER will surely drive its profitability. Can someone with industry knowledge educate us on why Jaya Tiasa's OER is so low? Is it due to lack of palm oil mills or is it due to the fact that the fruit trees are relatively young?

Hk Wong

420 posts

Posted by Hk Wong > 2014-02-06 06:19 | Report Abuse

Land issue