31 comment(s). Last comment by stockraider 2017-06-03 14:42

Posted by scn12345678 > 2015-02-13 21:03 | Report Abuse

So shall we but the stock that EPF is buying????

limko1

281 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2015-02-13 21:46 | Report Abuse

Yes,unless u can get a return of more than 10% a year investing on your own, why bother to take the risk and trouble.

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2015-02-13 22:00 | Report Abuse

Do not take your EPF money to invest in unit trust because their average return is about the same as EPF and you have to bear all the risks and may even get negative return in bad years. EPF is the biggest investor in the market and can kill off even the largest unit trust fund. Your unit trust agent may tell you otherwise but he or she is only interested in the commissions. Remember it is you who have to bear the loss, while they go on their annual incentive trips to overseas destinations.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-02-13 22:04 | Report Abuse

stick to EPF no matter what ppls tell u,

guaranteed return of 6-7% everyyear compounding whether bull or bear mkt or world mkt collapse.

its the best fund in the world. (dont ask me how they manage to do it)

in other funds, one bad year will kill off the compounding flow.

hsteoh56

50 posts

Posted by hsteoh56 > 2015-02-13 22:24 | Report Abuse

if you can withdraw all the money then just do it, money in hand/bank is your 'chance capital'.

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2015-02-13 22:26 | Report Abuse

no "chance capital" is better than compounding 7% for the next 35 years assuming you are early 20s.

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2015-02-13 23:03 | Report Abuse

Most people overestimate their investment ability and pay a heavy price for it by losing all their EPF money.

chloe_ts

229 posts

Posted by chloe_ts > 2015-02-14 13:00 | Report Abuse

how about taking EPF money account 2 out to settle part of the housing loan principal?

Posted by dapbohong > 2015-02-14 13:33 | Report Abuse

Opposition has been telling Penang folks to draw they EPF money as according to this poorly informed opposition, Bolehland is going bankrupt. However what they don't tell you is that EPF consistently issue dividend better than CPF of Singapore that only issue 2.5% dividend. Now singaporeans are crying foul that PAP is committing day light robbery against singaporeans. Now, would you choose EPF with gurantee 6-7% annual dividend or 2.5% annual dividend in CPF. And talk about how advanced and great Singapore is, 2.5% is truly day light robbery

Posted by dapbohong > 2015-02-14 13:39 | Report Abuse

While Malaysians complaining they cant afford to buy bungalow anymore, and consider buying flat only fit for low class bangla, in Singapore owning a flat is a dream come true akin to owning a porche. And mind you, even after paying off your Singapore flat, government of PAP conveniently tell you off to evict making way for luxury condos for newly citizens, PAP would rather see newly citizens from China thriving on expense of genuine citizens. Now, if you think Bolehland(insulting the land that gave too much) is not for you, you are most welcome in Singapore if you have millions and you shall find a small shoe box flat and public transportation you kind of vip status.

Posted by Wong Heam Kiew > 2015-02-14 14:48 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2015/02/10/Overseas-boost-for-EPF/?style=biz

dapbohong, please refer to the above and understand the following paragragh:

“This is because the EPF only declares dividends on our realised income. We do not recognise unrealised income,” he said. This means that the EPF only regards as income on investments that it has liquidated and not based on revaluation or mark-to-market gains.

What worry me is how much unrealized profit or loss in EPF, why cant EPF just tell us the NAV per every one ringgit of our money? Is it more than RM1.00 or less than that?

Also please dun confuse people with "guarantee 6-7% annual dividend". In reality, EPF guarantee only 2.5%.

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2015-02-14 16:14 | Report Abuse

if your housing loan interest is more than 6.75%, it is better to withdraw from EPF account 2 and pay down the loan. you will save on the interest differential.

Posted by dapbohong > 2015-02-14 16:36 | Report Abuse

Three days ago, the Malaysian Employees Provident Fund (EPF) declared a 6.75% dividend rate for 2014. This is the highest rate since 1999.

In Singapore, the CPF Board will be using the same template “All CPF members will continue to receive at least 2.5 per cent interest on their Ordinary Account, and 4 per cent interest on their Special and MediSave Accounts from Jan 1 to Mar 31, 2015 Apr 1 to Jun 30”. This has been the same rate also since 1999.

Instead of addressing the retirement shortfall issue, the PAP appointed the CPF Advisory Panel to ‘wayang’ and further complicate the CPF scheme. Many are right to suspect heavy investment losses by GIC and therefore the need to trap more money in our CPF. But PAP’s inability to offer a higher returngoes beyond that.

Suppose a miracle happens tomorrow and CPF says it doesn’t want to lose face to our neighbour and increases our rate to 7%. What will happen to the existing $40 billion plus HDB housing loans? Their rate which is pegged to CPF’s will of course be adjusted to 7.1%. (0.1% extra for the CPF to cover administration costs and a little profit, nothing is free from PAP) But rest assured there then be no more new HDB loans since bank loans are cheaper. Real estate will collapse.

Even a slightly lower figure of, say 5% CPF rate will increase HDB loan rate to 5.1%, resulting in a free fall in housing prices.

The PAP has been abusing our CPF to create high inflation (high GDP) through housing and has been addicted to such a shortcut to GDP ‘growth’ since more the 2 decades ago. The current CPF situation is likened to a grave which the PAP has dug for themselves, awaiting voters to bury them.

The PAP will continue to force CPF members to accept low rates because it does not have any choice. The PAP would of course want to increase the CPF rate to win the support of hundreds of thousands of CPF members; it simply cannot because HDB housing loans are tied to CPF rates.

For decades, PAP’s mandated CPF rates have resulted in CPF members collectively losing tens of billion$ to the PAP. Let’s just take a look at the past decade.

If a CPF member had $100,000 earning EPF rate of return since 2005, the profit generated would be$74,296. With CPF rate, he has earned only $41,059. The PAP would have effectively shortchanged the member by $33,000. Multiply this bywith at least 1 million CPF members, the PAP would have gotten $33 billion free money from CPF members over a 10 year period.

Posted by dapbohong > 2015-02-14 16:39 | Report Abuse

Should CPF members not expect GIC to perform even better when our fund managers are paid million$ more than EPF’s?

Some comparisons between the EPF and our CPF scheme will convince members that something is actually not quite right.

EPF – In 2014, the EPF recorded a RM39.08 billion gross investment income.
CPF – When our CPF was used to finance infrastructure through Temasek, gross investment incomewas not reported. Likewise when CPF was invested by GIC.

EPF – standalone fund declaring an average dividend rate of 5.71 % for the last 10 years.
CPF – PAP says must commingle with reserves in order to achieve pay a meagre rate of 3.5% for the last 10 years.

When other standalone pension funds are able to achieve a higher rate than GIC, why does the PAP keep insisting on funds to be commingled? Who is the CPF Board serving – CPF members or the PAP?

We, CPF members, have been shortchanged by the PAP for decades with many considering this as daylight robbery. If a less developed country could be more transparent in its dealings with citizens and consistently provide better returns for 4 decades, what does that say about our CPF scheme? Is this not a disgrace?

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-02-14 19:59 | Report Abuse

Be happy that you have epf in msia and cpf in spore, in msia bank interest rate is over 3.5% while in spore it is less than 1%.

Both spore and Usa have very low interest rates to spur economic activities. They are good for businesses and stock markets but very bad for pensioners and savers.

So it is in the Best Interest of all Singapore retirees to shift to Iskandar.

Iskandar is the Salvation for all Singaporeans - both for individuals and businesses.

Iskandar is Also The Best Kept Secret in Malaysia and The Whole World.

Move your move this year - uproot from where you are and migrate to Booming Iskandar - this will be the best decision for you and your loved ones for the future

orlandooil

4,754 posts

Posted by orlandooil > 2015-02-14 20:11 | Report Abuse

When 1MDB has exhausted AK n turned to EPF to assist to tolong tolong to pay a couple of billions of its overdue loan instalments.. tat is d sign u shd take out your EPF

LATO' SELI

394 posts

Posted by LATO' SELI > 2015-02-14 21:49 | Report Abuse

EPF strategy to borrow "Rakyat" money for this time around ??

hsteoh56

50 posts

Posted by hsteoh56 > 2015-02-14 21:59 | Report Abuse

why choose Iskandar???? there are a lot of small towns here with relative cheap cost of living.

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-02-14 22:25 | Report Abuse

Why Choose Iskandar?

Macro & Micro Reasons

1) Macro Reason

Jim Rogers Said

Move to London in 1807 (The Century for British Empire)
Move to New York in 1907 (The US Century)
Move to Singapore in 2007 (The Asian Pacific Century)

We Are Now In The Asian Pacific Century & Malaysia is Very Central (Heart of China, India & Indonesia). But why Iskandar?

2) Iskandar the Micro Picture

In 1980 to 1990 Singapore was the Fastest Growing Nation For The Decade! About the same time Deng Xio Peng opened up Shenzhen. Shenzhen grew for 30 years.

In 1990 to 2000 KL Started to Grow Till Now.

But Iskandar is Now Growing by Leaps & Bounds like Singapore from 1980 to 1990 decade. Even the Chinese SEE great opportunities & are very positive in Iskandar.

Only the people of Malaysia & some in Iskandar Cannot See What The Chinese ARE NOW SEEING.

ISKANDAR WILL BE THE FASTEST GROWING ECONOMIC REGION IN THE WORLD FOR THE NEXT 30 YEARS! AND MORE.

What is Iskandar?

It came from the word "Alexander" - Alexander The Great Captured The World in his time - So Iskandar Will Be the Focus.

Singaporeans call Iskandar "GREATER SINGAPORE" just like KL Called Selangor, Puchong & Klang "Greater KL"

SO IN THE MACRO & MICRO PICTURE THERE IS NO BETTER PLACE ON PLANET EARTH THAN ISKANDAR.

Do you SEE anything?

Forget London, New York or Tokyo. JUST BUY UP ANY AVAILABLE LANDS, HOUSES, SHOPS, OFFICES & INDUSTRIAL FACTORIES IN BOOMING ISKANDAR & HOLD THEM FOR "FOREVER".

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2015-02-15 11:31 | Report Abuse

Please make SWOT analysis on EPF vs PRS, you will find PRS is totally unreliable. Never trust big name like Public Mutual or Manulife for your retirement planning. In EPF you should trust.
Withdrawal from EPF is now so easy, you can make withdrawal every month as you like. You can also make 'contribution' every month to enjoy high 'interest rate' so declared. Just make a visit to EPF office and you will be surprised to see the efficiency and the friendly environment that Public Mutual and Manulife can't offer.

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2015-02-15 11:49 | Report Abuse

EPF vs withdrawal for early settlement of housing loan. I personally do not favor this idea. Why?
1. EPF is meant for minimum 'social security' for your golden years. Many found they have not contributed enough to become dependable on EPF money. What more if you have make premature withdrawal? You will then have less when you really need it the most when you are old.
2. If you keep on paying your mortgage without thinking of settlement with EPF money, you have to strive harder and for self-improvement so as to get better income. And you will also more likely to live within your means. Are you discipline enough not to spend the 'extra' money in your bank?
3. How good is your investment skill? Can generate 8% consistently over next 20 years before you retire? If not, why to trouble yourself. Better concentrate on your work.
4. To convert your EPF into PRS? Never ever have that type of impression PRS can perform better than EPF. Just check how many PRS approved funds were delisted by the commission. Check with Hongkong PRS scheme how many are successful. Don't risk your hard earn money. Don't risk your future living when old.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-02-15 11:59 | Report Abuse

Don't meddle with your EPF account. Go and assume you have NO EPF ... DON'T EVER THINK THAT YOU HAVE EPF AND WITHDRAW IT FOR YOUR PURPOSE....

EPF IS FOR YOUR BASIC RETIREMENT, NOT "COMFORTABLE" RETIREMENT. Once you lost your EPF , you have NO RETIREMENT. - for the majority

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2015-02-15 12:00 | Report Abuse

EPF vs CPF.
EPF is more to secure for bare minimum for retirement.
CPF is more to help its member to own a house. In Singapore, you will have more to spend when you buy a flat. Why, using CPF money ma. Otherwise you have to pay rent through your nose. So at the end of the day, CPF members are asset rich, cash poor.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-02-15 12:09 | Report Abuse

To me, EPF is just like your pacemaker for your heart... you don't mess with it ... Don't mess with it until you need to beg atropine from others.

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2015-02-15 12:10 | Report Abuse

Iskandar vs Singapore.
Right now Iskandar to Singapore is just like Shengzhen to Hongkong in 1990's.
20 years later (in 2035), Iskandar will be present day Shengzhen vs present day Hongkong, regardless whether you like it or not. It is just a natural phenomenon for business to strive.

Posted by mohammedAbdul > 2016-10-06 05:01 | Report Abuse

Do you need personal loan? Does your firm,company or industry need financial assistance? Do you need finance to start your business? Do you need finance to expand your business? We give out loan to interested individuals who are seeking loan with good faith. Are you seriously in need of an urgent loan contact us at Email:arabcreditefirm@gmail.com
APPLICATION DETAILS
Your Full Details:
Full Name:
Loan Amount Need:
Loan Duration:
Phone Number:
Applied before?
State:
Monthly Income:
You are to send this to our Company Email;arabcreditefirm@gmail.com

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2016-10-06 09:40 | Report Abuse

Need to be cautious of lenders.

Posted by Mirasa Sarami > 2017-06-03 13:26 | Report Abuse

I want to share a true story here. I have been investing in unit trust for the past few years, and when I checked my statement lately, I found out that I am actually making a loss compared to EPF.

How can that be when the unit trust consultant showed me the graphs beating EPF returns last time? I ask another friend of mine which is an investor himself and he explain to me that each time you buy unit trust, there is a initial sales charge of a few % which eats up your performance eg. 2% - 5%. Assuming the return of the unit trust in that year is 6%, you don't get that 6%. You have to deduct the initial sales charge. And calculate yourself when the economy is bad and the return is negative.

If I could turn back time, I would stick to EPF despite what the majority said.

Posted by Mirasa Sarami > 2017-06-03 13:42 | Report Abuse

Example:

Bought unit trust at RM0.64 3 years ago. Last month price is RM0.67.

Annual Profit = (RM0.67 - RM0.64) / 0.64 / 3 years = 1.5% (worst than FD or EPF)

The price of unit trust did fluctuate up and down, and return showed on the prospectus is assuming you sell every year to locked in the gains at the right time without including the sales charge of buying again. And every time there is a dividend, I notice the unit trust price (NAV) drop also. It is like it is trying to fool the investor so that we believe the return is high.

Hope the authorities will regulate the accuracy of facts/returns published by unit trust companies annually.

If you don't believe me, try to look at the NAV price of some unit trust few years ago and compared the price today. Not much difference unless you are very lucky to buy when the unit trust price drop due to a downturn/bad economy, but it will be pure luck and not consistent.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-06-03 14:35 | Report Abuse

1)If u r personally financial savvy & good in investment, then better takeout and invest yourself. If u rely on other people to invest for u, then better don takeout....leave it at EPF.

2) If u have mortgage debts, better takeout settle your loan loh...!!

3) For big spending & consumption don simply use ur EPF....always when use EPF monies try spreading the principal consumption, like it over 20 years loh...!!

4) If your only wealth is savings in EPF, if u want to use it for your children oversea education, raider says don't loh....!! Let ur children study locally, sending them oversea are waste of monies and time loh...!!
U suppose to keep this chunked of reserve for yourself, u cannot count on your children financial support in the future, when u r at old age bcos they have their own family commitment in the future mah....!!

Posted by stockraider > 2017-06-03 14:42 | Report Abuse

Should CPF members not expect GIC to perform even better when our fund managers are paid million$ more than EPF’s?

Some comparisons between the EPF and our CPF scheme will convince members that something is actually not quite right.

EPF – In 2014, the EPF recorded a RM39.08 billion gross investment income.
CPF – When our CPF was used to finance infrastructure through Temasek, gross investment incomewas not reported. Likewise when CPF was invested by GIC.

EPF – standalone fund declaring an average dividend rate of 5.71 % for the last 10 years.
CPF – PAP says must commingle with reserves in order to achieve pay a meagre rate of 3.5% for the last 10 years.

When other standalone pension funds are able to achieve a higher rate than GIC, why does the PAP keep insisting on funds to be commingled? Who is the CPF Board serving – CPF members or the PAP?

We, CPF members, have been shortchanged by the PAP for decades with many considering this as daylight robbery. If a less developed country could be more transparent in its dealings with citizens and consistently provide better returns for 4 decades, what does that say about our CPF scheme? Is this not a disgrace?

U NEED TO UNDERSTAND CPF MEASURE ITS PERFORMANCE IN SGD, WHILE EPF MEASURE ITS PERFORMANCE IN RINGGIT LOH....!!
OVER THE PAST 5 YEARS THE RINGGIT HAS DEPRECIATED 30% AGAINST SGD LOH....!!

THUS CPF IS DOING A REASONABLY GOOD JOB TOO LOH....!!

IF U R SPOREAN RETIREE, U WILL FIND HARD PRESS TO FIND ANY GOOD INVESTMENT WITH RELATIVE RISK FREE WITH A DECENT YIELD TO INVEST LOH...!!