12 comment(s). Last comment by mykasih99 2015-08-13 15:13

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2015-08-13 06:57 | Report Abuse

Devaluing currency lowers future debts. If you have a strong currency, we tend to spend and spend and never stop spending. Now, the devaluing currency is helping us to stop our spending habit, whether we like it or not. The bad news is life may become tougher for some people to cope without spending money, but the good news is, we are going to get a better quality debts servicing ability in the future. That is all, don't tie the devaluing currency to politics or what, this is reality, it has to happen before you spend more than what we are able to make in our whole life in a single big gamble. This is the new reality we have to face, have confidence in yourself,if you are not that heavily borrowed or are not so much in debts. Now, if some companies with low debts or borrowings are also taken a hit from the current stock market slide, this is a good time to buy this type of companies, those with low debts. They are not going to sink because they have low debts, whether devalued currency or not. But productivity is going to increase for them because of the devalued currency making their products more competitive. Or, this forces some companies to be more efficent in their operations, and there are fewer company failures in the future. This is new reality, don't worry about it! Devalued currency spend less, inflation won't go up lah!

paper

54 posts

Posted by paper > 2015-08-13 08:38 | Report Abuse

then can we say our current ringgit depreciation is blessing in disguise, or we shall view it at different perspective?

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2015-08-13 08:52 | Report Abuse

paper, you want my answer you have to give me your answer first, you want to save yourself you also must save other people, you must do the things to save yourself and to save others. The things that are beneficial for you and others. You have no contribution you have no blessings, this has nothing to do with whether current ringgit depreciation or not? No money no talk what, simple logic, whether the ringgit depreciate or appreciate, it does not make a difference to people who has no money or no contribution. Right, what is your contribution to people for today, you want blessing, you want to drink teh talih, you pay for it what, what has your blessing got to do with the current ringgit depreciation, you have to start contributing yourself for the good of other people now and yourself later on, this is nature's law.

alibabacoming

3,466 posts

Posted by alibabacoming > 2015-08-13 08:54 | Report Abuse

its time to show satu malaysia,don't be selfish!

gnailmihk

17 posts

Posted by gnailmihk > 2015-08-13 09:28 | Report Abuse

someone is smoking something here...devalued currency won't cause inflation ! LOL.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2015-08-13 10:27 | Report Abuse

Supply and Demand, if demand drops price also drops due to weakening consumer power, we have deflation instead of inflation. This is what is happening to Japan before and the US not long ago. By the way, somebody has a smoking mouth. People also has the choice to adjust their spending habits to less expensive goods.

The good news: There is a difference between the quality of life and the quantity of life, now that we have a devalued currency, our quality of life might even become better but the quantity of life will have to be cut down.

More money to spend is the same as more money to eat, you are not going to become more healthy by eating more food than you need. By being more healthy we will be more happy in the future. This is how Warren Buffett predicts that the stock market index will be even higher in the future for the US stock market.

Dude, do you get it? When you are more healthy, you have more strength to run faster and move higher in life. Have less money to spend or eating less temporary is not always a bad thing after all!!!! Cut down excess spending or slags is to be more efficient in the future do you get it!!!! The local market will become more thin and more efficient in the future, this is not a bad thing after all. For a person, you want him to grow thin and grow tall, not fat and plump, do you understand my analogy for you or not?

Posted by GoodCompanies > 2015-08-13 12:21 | Report Abuse

Wrong statement at the opening. Currencies are not valued based on other currencies!
Currency is issued according to assets that were produced.
These assets exists and continue to generate value and wealth, and the circulating money is backed by the value of the continuously generated wealth. If the asset evaporate and generate less new wealth, the circulating money will devalue.
That's about it!
ref from 259trillionvs5trillion.com

JeevS

411 posts

Posted by JeevS > 2015-08-13 12:23 | Report Abuse

@Kian Depreciation of Ringgit is widening the gap of expenditure in relative to the inflation in our country. How is this a good thing when your purchasing power is exponentially reducing? Why is bank negara not coming out with any plans to save the currency? Or are they aiming for lower future debts?

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2015-08-13 13:02 | Report Abuse

JeevS: there is a good and bad together, the bad is to help you to make improvement or to become more productive. The good is supporting you so you don't fall down while you make changes for improvement. The reality is the devaluing currency, it is better for the bank negara to not to do anything to try to change the reality. I would be scared if the bank negara tries to do something. We have to be fair to everyone, that is why there is always a good and bad together. In short, the devaluing currency is reality, you can not change in a short time. There are two things you can change: your performance and contribution.

If your performance attained through changing yourself such as lowering your debts and cost of operation to become more productive, this is your own responsibility. The contribution is your task you need to do for other people for you to be worthy of enjoying your lives. Don't you think it will be funny when you can keep on taking on debts forever so you get to enjoy your lives forever without even have to think about your contribution (what is more valuable or more important)to the society. Don't you even think that this is funny?

The devaluing currency is God's hands to make you more productive and contribute more to society. You don't have to worry if you abide by God's rule and live marginally. Spend only after you are sure you are going to have that much money for sure in the future, remember this, before you spend your money next time, you will be fine.

Focus on your strength for the things you want to do for other people your contribution so that you will not get poor results or poor reception from people. Use simple way to solve difficult problem, you don't have to spend RM5 million on a house just to use it for you and your girl friend to live in it, this is wasteful and unproductive. I hope you see what I mean, but think for yourself also.

Posted by TECHfullyBREWED > 2015-08-13 14:30 | Report Abuse

Goodcompanies, the key word in the opening statement is "relative'.

For example,consider a currency of particular nation whose assets continue to generate value and grow wealth positively but not as greatly as another nations relative growth.

Posted by TECHfullyBREWED > 2015-08-13 14:54 | Report Abuse

Fractional Banking system is another factor that distorts the basic theories of currency valuation.

This system allows banks to give out loans that are only fractionally backed.

Consider the valuation outcome, if these loans are used to purchase foreign currency.

mykasih99

238 posts

Posted by mykasih99 > 2015-08-13 15:13 | Report Abuse

he steep decline in the value of the ringgit is not bad news for everyone.

Winners and losers from weaker ringgit:
WINNER:
Export-oriented sectors such as:
rubber product manufacturers+
semiconductor firms +
furniture producers+

are prime beneficiaries because their production costs are mainly in ringgit while sales are in US dollars.

Nevertheless, analysts cautioned investors because the benefits of the weak ringgit for rubber sector had been priced in.

LOSSER:
The losers of the weaker ringgit are companies which import their raw materials in US dollars but sell the products in ringgit, and those with exposure to US dollar debt.

Auto-
The stronger US dollar will have a negative impact on certain players, such as UMW Holdings Bhd and Tan Chong Motor Holdings Bhd.

Aviation-
players are at risk because of the borrowings in US dollars to fund the aircraft and parts.
AirAsia Bhd, 80% of its debt is exposed to the greenback.

Telecommunication-
About 22% of Telekom Malaysia Bhd’s borrowings as of the first quarter were in US dollars, while Maxis Bhd’s and Axiata Group Bhd’s exposure to US dollar debt was at 32% and 44%, respectively

TV-
Weaker ringgit is also negative for Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd, as about 70% of its content cost is in US dollars, while the receipts are in ringgit