27 people like this.

80 comment(s). Last comment by ykloh 2015-10-16 00:32

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2015-09-27 12:23 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, a big thank you to you for your kindness and generosity. A lot of poor students will benefit.

Posted by benjaminye > 2015-09-27 13:08 | Report Abuse

Truly practicing the principal of "穷则独善其身,富则兼济天下。” Mr. Koon has Shown us the example. Thumb Up!

smartly

6,382 posts

Posted by smartly > 2015-09-27 13:10 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, any chance of doing the same for Selangor state ?

tealeaf

196 posts

Posted by tealeaf > 2015-09-27 13:14 | Report Abuse

salute to Mr KYY...

Tee Tom

167 posts

Posted by Tee Tom > 2015-09-27 13:29 | Report Abuse

I am learning. Learning the ability to invest, learning also the ability to do charity from you, Mr Koon. You inspring me. Salute to you, from head to toe. I wish I could do same like you, to donate large portion of our wealth to society. Thank you Mr Koon.

chinhoe

286 posts

Posted by chinhoe > 2015-09-27 16:14 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon, you make my day ! Whenever I feel down and helpless reading so many bad news, I will think of you as a guiding light..I know somewhere in the corner there's a kind generous man who not only donated RM50 M to help poor students but is also kind enough to share his expertise in stock investing...

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2015-09-27 16:44 | Report Abuse

Mr KOON 实实在在 做好事 , 适当的 Publishing 是 希望 传播善行。 更何况 $50mil 是个大数码有必要让 大众知道和受益。

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 16:53 | Report Abuse

Must support when somebody do good things with noble intentions

saufi74

804 posts

Posted by saufi74 > 2015-09-27 17:22 |

hissyu2

868 posts

Posted by hissyu2 > 2015-09-27 17:28 | Report Abuse

Those who critics, I guess your whole life donation to charity is and will never exceed 50k...

Jal 贾彬得

1,563 posts

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > 2015-09-27 17:32 | Report Abuse

hissyu donation doesnt come in a form of cash only , there are other ways .... what mother theresa and oskar schindler did cannot be bought with cash (1 trillion also not enough), people who use cash stating they doing something good are just scums for me

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 18:05 | Report Abuse

Saufi74,saiful can help u for that...but must get approval fm ajib first...enjoy

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 18:08 | Report Abuse

Jal...whoever donates cash is scam ah?must only go india to help the poor n sick ah?

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 18:31 | Report Abuse

So now u want koon koon to rescue the world?rm50 million donation is too little?

hissyu2

868 posts

Posted by hissyu2 > 2015-09-27 19:04 | Report Abuse

Jal, I don't think donation can be come in a form of cash alone... But, guess what? Does any of the criticism here help any poor or needy? At least, Kyy's donation helps a lot... do note that kyy first target was Utar but obviously someone or some parties DID NOT WANT TO HAVE THE DONATION. Donating 50millions cash to get reputation only? Okay, whatever and however you think, at least I do think it helps and benefits a lot...
and please remember, regardless of this donation has any motive behind, you could never deny its contribution... At least, reputation and those "good job, bravo" are the only thing he could get from this 50m(very bad deal)... (Unless, this donation is meant for money laundry)
Ask yourself, how many rich in Malaysia who have much more than kyy do the same thing to BUILD HIS REPUTATION? And if you have more assets than kyy, will you ever do the same things? He might not be the best or kindest, but his acts help...

Jal 贾彬得

1,563 posts

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > 2015-09-27 19:18 | Report Abuse

yes murali why not help the real people that need it doesnt matter if they are from middle east , africa , india , china and lets take a look on our country malaysia instead of running so far

smetrader

97 posts

Posted by smetrader > 2015-09-27 19:26 | Report Abuse

agree with hissyu2. One can have lots of monies but still a miser.Whether he wants a tablet in name or otherwise. The place will still be named after him even if he does not suggest it. Not all RICH people are GENEROUS.Wish there are more Koons' in Malaysia

Jal 贾彬得

1,563 posts

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > 2015-09-27 19:27 | Report Abuse

Good questions and i will answer you ...... Most rich people like mrkoon , lets give an example , such as tony fernandez : without tony there wont be airasia and without airasia would there be jobs? i ask you , if mr koon can guarantee the students that graduate can 100% get jobs in all the fields, can he? The answer is NO: HE JUST CANT !!!
Can u just imagine what 50 million can do ,u can build small schools all over the country where people have to take boat everyday and build a school with student hostel, can u imagine just how many can u build lol probably 50-100 instead of building 1 pathethic building !!!...!!! And yes if i was as rich as koon i wouldn"t do what he did but i would definately do what i just said. I too donate those who in need even though i am not rich.

Jal 贾彬得

1,563 posts

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > 2015-09-27 19:27 | Report Abuse

Julius Caesar said that people believe only want they want to believe.

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 19:47 | Report Abuse

Aiyo, it's his money and he decides to use it for the poor students and you keep asking why he never go to India to follow Mother Terease's way or to follow Oscar's way to help the Jewish..

Then u ask why he never help those in East Msia or East Coast...and i wouldnt surprise if you may even ask why he never help the dogs or cats or orang utan or why he never donates blood or sperm..U think Koon Koon is God or Superman ah?

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 19:51 | Report Abuse

U can always find excuses or reasons for not happy with his RM50 million donation...

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 19:53 | Report Abuse

Anyway, still a very noble act of Koon Koon as compare to his biz in I3. Keep it up!!! Do more donation and do less goreng activities in I3.

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 19:55 | Report Abuse

U can go donate sperm or blood and I will never ask you why u never go to India to help the dying folks there...Do whatever u are comfortable and capable of...no worries

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 19:56 | Report Abuse

I will still respect u for that...

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 20:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > Sep 27, 2015 07:27 PM
And yes if i was as rich as koon i wouldn"t do what he did but i would definately do what i just said. I too donate those who in need even though i am not rich.

Good. Do your best in moving towards your goal. As long as your intention is noble, whatever charitable activities u pursued are respectable.

lenglui

163 posts

Posted by lenglui > 2015-09-27 20:36 | Report Abuse

Dear Murali.. this should be your first time to praise KYY. that's great.. hahaha.. Please pity KYY.. cause either he donate or not.. hater will still blame him..

Posted by murali > 2015-09-27 20:39 | Report Abuse

Not really the first time lah...just never prasie him when he goreng shares here...lol..

chinhoe

286 posts

Posted by chinhoe > 2015-09-27 20:40 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon, no words can describe my gratitude and respect for you...As a fellow Malaysian Chinese you have shown that charity encompasses beyond the boundary of race, religion and creed....A shining example of a true blue freedom fighter (Note: USM Penang is mostly made up of 80% Malays)
The federal govt shld be made to aware that a Chinese philanthropist is helping the govt to help the poor Malays...!!

aaron8

Posted by aaron8 > 2015-09-27 21:04 | Report Abuse

Hi Murali. My name is Aaron. I would like to get in touch with you pertaining to Koon Yew Yin. Can you kindly drop me an email at theinvestah@gmail.com? Many thanks. Looking to hear from you soon.

charlie82

350 posts

Posted by charlie82 > 2015-09-28 06:56 | Report Abuse

my utmost respect to Mr Koon Y Y what a great philanthropist!
for many you should know that the way he set up this is to continuously generate (passive) income for future charitable disbursement
888 likes from me

Posted by Jolly Mypet > 2015-09-28 08:43 | Report Abuse

I salute you Uncle Koon -" I am awake " I am sure there are lots of people who knows who said that .You are a very wise person who practice detachment !

fireball

111 posts

Posted by fireball > 2015-09-28 09:55 | Report Abuse

May god bless you KYY with a long n peaceful life for your kind deeds...

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2015-09-28 09:57 |

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2015-09-28 10:01 |

Thian VN

103 posts

Posted by Thian VN > 2015-09-28 10:35 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon Y Y what a great philanthropist!
Mr Koon Y Y, I really appreciate what in your mind especially when we grow older.

pushparaj

205 posts

Posted by pushparaj > 2015-09-28 16:35 | Report Abuse

MR.KOON, FIRST MY SALUTATIONS TO YOU. NOT EVERY HUMAN BEING, WILL HAVE
THE GENEROUS HEART LIKE YOU. I PRAY TO GOD FOR A LONG,PEACEFUL,HAPPY & PROSPEROUS LIFE FOR YOU. LONG LIVE & GOD BLESS YOU.

Posted by gsshotline > 2015-09-28 17:10 | Report Abuse

Salute to Mr. Koon Yew Yin, you have made a difference in helping the poor. I learned a lot from you on the perspective of how to make our life fulfilled by helping poor people accomplished higher education. This will change the destiny of the poor, whom in turn will join you for the same vision and charity drive. You are a man with both insight and foresight. The more you gave the more you get it back. Wishing you good health & longevity to continue the leadership in helping the poor.

25,085 posts

Posted by speakup > 2015-09-28 17:12 | Report Abuse

MR KOON, you're the MAN!!!!
if we have more people giving instead of taking (like BN), malaysia will be a far better place.

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-09-28 20:27 | Report Abuse

Don't forget to thank CM Lim ( on behalf of Penang Govt.) for donating valuable land fronting USM. He could very well have provided land miles away.

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2015-09-28 22:03 |

soon9913

2,485 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2015-09-28 23:28 | Report Abuse

Salute KYY.!
Those incompetent ppl always like to say negative word.. Pity them!

topseeker

222 posts

Posted by topseeker > 2015-09-29 09:42 | Report Abuse

Salute you, true Malaysia Hero... RM50 million is damn alot!!!!

2meWin

46 posts

Posted by 2meWin > 2015-09-29 11:32 | Report Abuse

uncle koon,pls give some kind advise or comment for xinquan5155.....once that you recommended.

Posted by wallstreetdude > 2015-10-01 10:59 | Report Abuse

well done, Mr Koon.

Posted by LabuanLiew > 2015-10-03 14:57 | Report Abuse

Mr. Khoo, along the same line as you, I too have envision to use the fortune that I would have made in the forex market to help the very poor in some backward villages in the state of Sabah...e.g better & safer hostels, further education for the deserving and aspirating students, small start-up businesses for the really poor, etc...BUT through some very bad miscalculations and mistakes I lost my entire investment funds when Putin defies the Western countries & the US over the Ukraine. The fast depreciation of the Russian Rubles killed off not only my entire investment funds but my vision.
So, it is most heartening to know that other Malaysians like you too are willing to use their fortune to help upgrade our less fortunate people.

Posted by Antalismy > 2015-10-03 21:27 | Report Abuse

God bless you in your sunset years. To those who don't have millions to donate, you can offer you service and expertise = Volunteerism, to make the society a better place for the less fortunate and disadvantaged.

steveooikp

4,689 posts

Posted by steveooikp > 2015-10-04 11:42 | Report Abuse

Mudajaya ..... corny

Peter Lee

347 posts

Posted by Peter Lee > 2015-10-07 11:15 | Report Abuse

you r a great man ,if our leader like you,malaysia will be in first world,tq

6182al

305 posts

Posted by 6182al > 2015-10-15 12:32 | Report Abuse

TQ Mr Koon for your great generosity for the well being of others. May YOU be Blessed

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2015-10-16 00:32 | Report Abuse

celebrate when the money is on the table.