12 people like this.

102 comment(s). Last comment by paperplane2 2015-10-26 21:17

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 16:33 | Report Abuse

There are actually quite a few US companies that have performed as well as Berkshire in the long run, for example Leucadia and Markel

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2015-10-25 16:37 | Report Abuse

Anyone know which stock cheaper than Xinghe give dividend?

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 16:43 |

pisanggoreng

1,065 posts

Posted by pisanggoreng > 2015-10-25 16:52 | Report Abuse

KC, I like this statement you had shared here

"During the bear market, Apollo share may go down to RM2.00, but you would not feel too scare as the dividend yield then is 12.5%. In other words, it can provide a “floor” for share price when bear stampedes, and you won’t get too worried and still be able to sleep well"

a 'head I win and tail I don't lose much" style of investment

I always follow this principle to invest because I don't like to run and do not know how to escape during the market price crashes

so I play safe, the company I invested in must have (i) yield at least better than bank SA can give you,(ii) foreseeable growth for the coming year 1 or 2 years , (iii) buy in at a reasonable price based on the valuation techniques I had learnt from your article and (iv) wait patiently for your turn to enjoy your harvest.

you must know, every investment needs some luck. God need time to decide who should take the money. it is definitely not those who can't wait.

do not tell me , how smart you are to have made 100%, 200% or 300%,..
just refresh the history of datasonic or prestariang, there are buses of people making that score including me.

conclusion:

SAFE money is always better than FAST money. sometimes SAFE can be fast also

LUCK IS UNPREDICTABLE. Stay safe and sleep well and keep good health to enjoy your winning

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 16:56 | Report Abuse

when big names in Bursa Market talks..
such as DreamPredator and KCChongnz ...

the market pays attention ..

while AyamTua at it, lemme have the honor to peddle my horses to eyeballs .. for next week races..

AAX - airlines.
PUC - photovoltaic, solar etc.
Glotec - CBM Gas Indonesia
Xinghe - Minyak Kachang
Flonic - Maintenance and Engineering

ya la la.. ya la la.. ha ha haaaaaaaa!

Posted by kcchongnz > Oct 25, 2015 03:50 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by DreamPredator > Oct 25, 2015 01:54 PM | Report Abuse
5 years time, KCChongNZ? I invested 200k in a penny stock in October - November 2013. And it wasn't even the Mother stock, but a newly issued Warrants. By mid-August 2014, it was worth 565k. Now why wud I want to bother with a strong-fundamentals 3rd liner, mid-cap or 2nd liner giving roti-canai dividends & then hv to wait for 5 years for it to double. That is, IF it does ever double.

Wonderful. When are you going to write a book to teach us your strategy

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 16:57 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-25 17:17 | Report Abuse

Wise words from a wise man

Posted by pisanggoreng > Oct 25, 2015 04:52 PM | Report Abuse

'head I win and tail I don't lose much" style of investment

I always follow this principle to invest because I don't like to run and do not know how to escape during the market price crashes

so I play safe, the company I invested in must have (i) yield at least better than bank SA can give you,(ii) foreseeable growth for the coming year 1 or 2 years , (iii) buy in at a reasonable price based on the valuation techniques I had learnt from your article and (iv) wait patiently for your turn to enjoy your harvest.

you must know, every investment needs some luck. God need time to decide who should take the money. it is definitely not those who can't wait.

do not tell me , how smart you are to have made 100%, 200% or 300%,..
just refresh the history of datasonic or prestariang, there are buses of people making that score including me.

conclusion:

SAFE money is always better than FAST money. sometimes SAFE can be fast also

LUCK IS UNPREDICTABLE. Stay safe and sleep well and keep good health to enjoy your winning

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 17:25 |

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 17:25 | Report Abuse

in a rare public display .
two names, namely DreamPredator and KCChongnz
in one forum .

both command majorities ..

respect.

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 17:30 | Report Abuse

The point that has to be made is that, many dudes make the assumption, quite mistakenly to DP's mind, that business & wealth-building has to be something dead serious, completely devoid of fun. Now that is one big mistake that has to be corrected. Big time.

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 17:36 |

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 17:41 | Report Abuse

ya la la..
wa ... haaa.. biiiii
ya.. laaaa... laaaa

ha ha ha..

i believed in Arabs 2.6b donations ?!

ha ha ha
have fun people...

all the best nothing but wishes to see you huat..
joy and happiness always.

Make Love not enemies - life is short.

Sincerely,

Dr. Ayam

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 17:51 | Report Abuse

Arabs hv big money lor ... They want to gv, we take la ... Why cannot ah ... Bukan rompak dia leihh ...

Political donation every leader of ruling party in every government in the world can take leihh ...

Listen to Thorny Phua habis lor ... everything wrong, everything cannot ... klu kasi sama dia sikit baru okay lor ... Podaaah la ...

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 17:59 | Report Abuse

Dreampredator, good on you. Now i realise gut instinct, read magazine is the new 'smart'. You blew everyone out of the water bro, not just Superinvestors but Einstein, Socrates, Marcus Aurelius, Newton etc. What a legend

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 17:59 | Report Abuse

ha ha ha kudos, Tuan Seri Dato DreamPredator.. like!

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:09 | Report Abuse

JTYeo, keeping plenty of spare space in one's head, to let in, process, analyse & synthesise useful & inspiring info is what is more important ...

Instead of continually cluttering it with unending amounts of useless, irrelevant crrap ...

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:11 | Report Abuse

And you missed out Stephen Hawking, JT ...

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 18:16 | Report Abuse

oh wow fck u beat Stephen Hawking too, he havent figure out the theory of everything, u must have beat him to it.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 18:17 | Report Abuse

I dont know bro, i think you can get more crap in your head on forum and magazine then reading a great book though

Posted by Specialist3 > 2015-10-25 18:17 | Report Abuse

Some like big boobies,some like airport,some like one night stand,some like 5 yr relationship..as long as happy by himself,what's the problem?

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:18 | Report Abuse

Tony Blair apologises for Iraq War

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/tony-blair-apologises-iraq-war-mistakes-230814028.html#sR9KTLR

The war that according to BBC Television killed more than 500,000 Iraqis. The majority of them children, women & the elderly. And the war that some dudes reckon was the ultimate cause for the rise of IS.

Now, as an Englishman would say, 'Well, it's bloddy late, ain't it?'

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:20 | Report Abuse

And can you gv us all one example of what to you is a great book then, JT.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 18:24 | Report Abuse

Meditation by Marcus Aurelius is a start. But dont think ull be interested. Written more than 2000 years ago

Posted by Specialist3 > 2015-10-25 18:24 | Report Abuse

Ayam tua please write on "How to be old and stil horny."Wakakakaka.
Make love not quarrels.

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:24 | Report Abuse

like :-)

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:25 |

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:26 | Report Abuse

though our body is getting old everyday
the spirit always renewed everyday.

its never about money per se..
its all about having faith in what you buy.

Dr. Ayam

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:27 | Report Abuse

JT, I prefer real, imperfect life. Meditation is for dudes who prefer to escape into an unreal, perfect world.

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 18:30 |

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 18:32 | Report Abuse

Told you you wont be interested. and by the way, the book writes nothing about meditation.

And while we are on the topic of meditation, there are US soldiers fighting in Iraq that uses meditation to deal with the burden of war and the probability of death at anytime, talk about escaping into unreal perfect world.

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:33 | Report Abuse

i have great respect for old folks trying something new each day
than succumbed to thoughts that they are dying and hopeless..

remember its all about having the right mindset.
not all things abou money money money..
well money can buy happiness and arab women..

but definately cant buy .... what made you - you.

have faith in what you buy while making money
please help those unfortunates.

positive message - nothing but doa for you all to success in life.
got money but having broken families with divorce also no use.

its all about your own unique experience and journey
not everyone created equals in their journey..
some stumble , some falls but some given all luckiness, faith
and perseverance...

will succeed....

dont. give. up. hope.

Posted by Specialist3 > 2015-10-25 18:37 | Report Abuse

Dr Ayam,your EQ is perfect although your investing skills are less than perfect.
Salute!

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:42 | Report Abuse

dont worry bro - even underdog can be come champion!
given the right time and place

moral of story: just be you.

in stock market nothing is guaranteed
even Tony Pua despite everything he said
end of the day - Najib still rules..

do I like Najib? well it depends..
if he put valuecap 20b to

Glotec
AAX
Flonic
xinghe
PUC..

hihihihihi.....

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:44 | Report Abuse

let's do it for living - dont kill the messenger, shall we? :-)

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-25 18:54 | Report Abuse

Now dreampredator, let me explain. Firstly the book written by Marcus Aurelius has totally nothing to do with the meditation youre thinking.

So what just happened? You are bringing preconception and belief, you are making assumption without clarifying, now that is very dangerous when it comes to investing. Preconception is a psychological bias that can harm you in investing.

2nd. You do not seek to understand what is the purpose of meditation and you have already shrug off as something zen-like and only monk would do, or some hippie that wants to escape reality does it. So what just happened? You are carrying your ego into conversation thus you do not bother to ask what is meditation, that is very dangerous in investing. You have to constantly challenging your assumptions to minimize capital loss.

Now Stephen Hawking would be disappointed because considered that your intelligence is way above him. Making this kind of mistake is considered a grade 1 mistake. Scientist always challenge their own assumptions, they are not to be treasured.

Posted by AyamTua > 2015-10-25 18:57 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo has valid points .. thank you.

GGmalaysia

334 posts

Posted by GGmalaysia > 2015-10-25 21:04 | Report Abuse

Hello, please have a look at google. that's is a giant castle in the air and its growing and growing. oh ya, it didnt pay dividend for years and years. isn't it a good share?

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-25 21:40 |

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-25 23:53 | Report Abuse

What if 7% can last 7 years??

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-10-26 04:10 | Report Abuse

nah you dont need to apologize, thats too much to ask

Posted by GlobalValueInvestor > 2015-10-26 04:15 | Report Abuse

@Paperplane2, at cost of acquire or ttm dividend yield? This is very power company man!

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-26 08:31 | Report Abuse

Wow, JT. Your response post has become suddenly drastically briefer. Maybe you're hurting inside huh. Maybe very deeply. Good. LOL

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-26 09:26 | Report Abuse

Since you're such a big fanboy of Marcus Aurelius, JT, I hv decided to gv ya some face by quoting some of his 'meditations', which would rather hv been more rightly termed 'contemplations', or 'ponderings', by my judgement.

And the precise title is, JT, 'Meditations' with an 's', rather than just 'Meditation', hence my initial misjudgement of what it was really all about.

1. “Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”

Which was in essence what I was talking about, mixing work with fun.

2. “You have power over your mind - not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.”

Got no disagreement with that. Been cultivating this thing for quite a while.

3. “The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts.”

This too.

4. “Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.”

Oh yeaaahh. One can say that again. And again. And again. And it includes what everyone - including author KCChongNZ - is saying in this thread.

5. “When you arise in the morning think of what a privilege it is to be alive, to think, to enjoy, to love ...”

Same comment as for Philosophy #2 & Philosophy #3

Good day ya all.

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2015-10-26 09:33 | Report Abuse

I agree that dividend is definitely one angle that you should not miss while making an investment decision

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-26 09:42 | Report Abuse

Ummm ... Ohhh ... Errr ... Welll, a bit of roti canai ain't bad for some chewing. While waiting for the fat, juicy rump steak to cook.

DreamPredator

1,507 posts

Posted by DreamPredator > 2015-10-26 11:35 | Report Abuse

Roti canai ... murah murah ... siapa mau, mari mari, lai lai, vangga vangga ...

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2015-10-26 14:34 | Report Abuse

Its now time to post a comparison of a 'Growth Investing' method (a basket of stocks that 'identify' as growth stock clearing certain ratios), vs Value/Dividend Investing methodology (like Magic Formula) and see which of the two performs better over a 5 year, 10 year, 15 year period etc

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-26 21:16 | Report Abuse

If u buy she 7% div yield without looking into book, this is dangerous! Like jcy!

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-26 21:16 | Report Abuse

Jpbut then jcy hS strong book! Net cash! High div yield, yet its return sucks. Why??

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-26 21:17 | Report Abuse

This is interesting to discuss. I used to likejcy, high div yield, good CFO, good book with no much debts. And saying also automation to safe cost. But....