50 comment(s). Last comment by Jester 2015-12-28 11:03

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-23 12:53 | Report Abuse

Well said.

cptan88

9 posts

Posted by cptan88 > 2015-12-23 13:09 | Report Abuse

Icon, is Keuro a good buy for long term investment? Thanks.

10 Points you should buy KEURO
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/902381349.jsp

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-12-23 13:10 | Report Abuse

To be the best investor, must become a best trader first.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-12-23 13:11 | Report Abuse

Depends on whether u want to be Value Trader or Value Investor loh, right or not ?

cptan88

9 posts

Posted by cptan88 > 2015-12-23 13:12 | Report Abuse

Icon888, do u mean, buy Keuro = Value Investor

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-12-23 13:13 | Report Abuse

If u r a trader, you will not be interested of the long gestation period

If u a value investor, you would like Keuro

Do I make sense ?

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-12-23 13:20 | Report Abuse

Best trader will finally become a best investor.

Internet change the entire world trading method.

A best investor can be simply change to be a trader within few month to collect capital for long term investment.

I'm enjoying the current environment.

cptan88

9 posts

Posted by cptan88 > 2015-12-23 14:03 | Report Abuse

Yes Icon8888, agreed.
Will you consider Keuro as your long term pick?

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2015-12-23 14:08 | Report Abuse

I wonder what is the purpose of this article?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-12-23 14:13 | Report Abuse

That is right, your little brain will not be able to understand the nuances. Stop trying, LOL

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2015-12-23 14:30 | Report Abuse

meaningful article .thumb up....

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2015-12-23 14:35 | Report Abuse

undeniable ,most of us is value trader.
In Malaysia stock market really hard to find a company have moat. If really got, must UMNO crony company.

Posted by winnerzhang > 2015-12-23 14:51 | Report Abuse

Another Food For Thought article. I tend to agree we so-called Value Investors are actually Value Traders. The true Value Investors are the real INVESTORS. In short, we are a step short of being INVESTORS. We are Value Traders since we hop from stock to stock with intrinsic values and cash out when the expiry dates are due (fully valued). INVESTORS, however, hold on to good shares forever for their dividends.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-12-23 16:22 | Report Abuse

I think any intelligent investing is good investing. Doesnt matter what name you call it. Intelligent investing comes down to knowing what you are doing.

And ultimately for me, it is always buying something that worth a dollar for 50 cents. Simple as that.

Some people like to hold great companies with big moat and keep it for decades; while others prefer Benjamin Graham cigar butt style. Some prefer to have concentrated 8-10 stocks; while others prefer 15-30 diversified stocks. Investors that hold great companies has less buy/sell in their portfolio; while Ben Graham style has more trades every year. But that is fine. Think a company with high profit margin/low asset turnover (Big moat/low portfolio activity), another company low profit margin/high asset turnover (Cigar butt/High portfolio activities). In the end both companies have the same ROE return on equity.

But at the end of the day, they are all intelligent investing. Buying something for a lot less than what they are worth.

To win in stock market, you need an edge. I think there are 3 edge you can have:
1. Information - You know something others don't. Insider information, you work in that industry etc.
2. Analytical - Your ability to analyse is higher than average investor. Strong qualitative and quantitative skills.
3. Psychological - Your ability to control emotion and other psychological bias such as overconfident, anchoring etc.

1, I think it is very hard. You might have but unsustainable in long term. 2. You can build this if you work really really hard, but not easy too. However I think if you do start reading, you are already at the top 5% of investors. 3. I think this is the main one where most people can have an edge. Why? Because even the most intelligent investors can fck up on this. And easy said than done

If you can sit there and do nothing, better prepared than anyone when crisis comes, avoid overconfident, be skeptical, think independently, avoid many psychological bias etc, you will be sitting in the top tier of intelligent investors group already.

shellhouse

641 posts

Posted by shellhouse > 2015-12-23 16:24 | Report Abuse

standing ovation. really enjoyed this. wonderful read to start the holidays!

Posted by sahamewah128 > 2015-12-23 16:26 | Report Abuse

keep an eye on TSRCap. this construction and civil engineering company may be small in size now but has the potential to catch up with similar companies like Mitrajaya. recently concluded rights w/Warrants will improve its capital base for future expansion. Perhaps Icon can share your view on this company. Tx

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2015-12-23 16:31 | Report Abuse

JT Yeo, superb line of thought.....

Posted by speedlikecy > 2015-12-23 18:00 | Report Abuse

good to read, thanks :)

imoogi99

1,640 posts

Posted by imoogi99 > 2015-12-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

OTB also use FengShui to pick stock...so how you classify that?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-12-23 18:13 | Report Abuse

Ha ha good point, I also don't know how to answer

connie

37,592 posts

Posted by connie > 2015-12-23 18:29 | Report Abuse

hi icon, be it trader, punter or investor let's use just one lingo to enRICH friendships ... ie HO HO HO MERRY XMAS :)

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-12-23 18:48 | Report Abuse

yes Connie my neighbour, merry Xmas to you !

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2015-12-24 09:04 | Report Abuse

ic...now only i know i am a Value TA Trader. : ) . Sifu icon8888 happy Xmas to u.

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-12-24 09:26 | Report Abuse

when r we going Disney land ?

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-24 09:30 | Report Abuse

U are absolutely right.
But to be Smart & Safer Investor pls spend some time to read Sifu Icon8888 blog spot.

Share the link with u.
http://icon8888.blogspot.my/?m=0

Inside got lots of hidden gem.
Then make decision

Example is PRG- today new high.
Got others hidden Gem. (WTK, EUPE, Century Bond, Tec Guan, COMCORP ...........etc. )
Good luck.

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 09:31 | Report Abuse

Merry xmas sifu icon and soros

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-24 09:34 | Report Abuse

KoonBee3 & Sifu Icon
Merry Christmas!!!!!

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 09:36 | Report Abuse

I have gut feeling comcorp will challenge 0.90 next week

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2015-12-24 09:40 | Report Abuse

I con wahai tak payah panjang lebah abt u and me lah.. kan we all tahu who we r? We are all hybrid invest dgn macam macam pattern lah.

Kalau u terror sgt tulis lah about major shareholder yang goring, tulis lah tentang syndicate yang goring.

I tengok u r making the mistake thinking the very high volume the harga melambung ke langit for example Comcorp baru baru ni is due to value trader. I think bukan I think due to syndicate

I con u pergi lah buat research and tulis la about syndicate lah starting wit tu OTB and his group... jgn let me down ya I wait for u.

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-24 09:44 | Report Abuse

KoonBee3,
1. COMCORP got more to come.
2. Every night I go through his blog spot ; indeed all the counters Sifu Wrote will never disappoint u.
3. Please read; don't waste time anymore. Market don't wait for u.
4. And do your own homework.
5. I already tell you the few counters ; just buy and keep. Don't stubborn. Sifu very diasapoint with stubborn person. Normally I won't waste time telling. But seems u asking.

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 09:49 | Report Abuse

Soros okokok...koonbee value capital fund will go into market on monday to sapu comcorp and the rest

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-12-24 09:53 | Report Abuse

sarifah your observation is correct, and interestingly, does not really contradict what I wrote in the article

Comcorp went up could be related to syndicate. But syndicate nowadays are very choosy, like you and me, they like to play stocks with good fundamentals (of course, some still like to play crap stocks).

IN OTHER WORDS, SYNDICATE IS NOW PART OF VALUE TRADERS COMMUNITY.

That is the conclusion I arrived at after many months of observation.

=======
SarifahSelinder I con wahai tak payah panjang lebah abt u and me lah.. kan we all tahu who we r? We are all hybrid invest dgn macam macam pattern lah.

Kalau u terror sgt tulis lah about major shareholder yang goring, tulis lah tentang syndicate yang goring.

I tengok u r making the mistake thinking the very high volume the harga melambung ke langit for example Comcorp baru baru ni is due to value trader. I think bukan I think due to syndicate

I con u pergi lah buat research and tulis la about syndicate lah starting wit tu OTB and his group... jgn let me down ya I wait for u.
24/12/2015 09:40

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2015-12-24 10:03 | Report Abuse

eclectic...
Merry Christmas everybody!

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-12-24 10:10 | Report Abuse

Ok soros peace

Now that u have got the message, I will delete my earlier comment

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 10:11 | Report Abuse

Sifu icon...u sold comcorp ald? I wanna sapu next week

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-12-24 10:12 | Report Abuse

koonbee I DONT DARE to sell

This year I missed many opportunities for selling too early !!!

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-24 10:13 | Report Abuse

KoonBee3, the rules of Sifu ;
1. Normally they won't tell u buy or sell?
2. Because make them in difficult situation.
3. Avoid asking.
4. Like me primitive investor , we can shout here and there.

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 10:13 | Report Abuse

Okok...i look at comcorp holding very well at 72 above...will double or triple in few months

koonbee3

115 posts

Posted by koonbee3 > 2015-12-24 10:15 | Report Abuse

Soros, icon sifu is different from other la...he very sincere and he dont cheat one la...u know who i am refer to ok?

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2015-12-24 10:40 | Report Abuse

KoonBee3 , I love this quote(lesson of the year) from the Comcorp thread.
"Blog: (Icon8888) Comintel - Super Export Play Trading at 3.7x PER. Potential Upside of 170%.
Dec 19, 2015 09:30 PM | Report Abuse

People like kk123 totally got no business sense. I recommend such a good stock, instead of zoom in to study carefully, he nag nag nag non stop and keep harping on negative things.

People like OTB and Alpha Trader are like Hawks. I talk a little bit, they already can smell the money, immeidtely dig out all the info to figure out how to make money

That is the difference between a seasoned investor and a dead wood"

Golden advice.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2015-12-24 11:05 | Report Abuse

As many super investor mentioned before this trick won't work because Malaysia is sentiment based investment center
Any political events will make a typical investor loss their pant.
Value investor didn't work in sentiment based economy, because many business in Malaysia isn't risk frre or well establish, they could either go nut or turn into gem overnight, ifca, myEG, Top Glove, Inari Amerton, they are all very good sentiment example, the company that go nut is most of the heavily discussed many crude oil counter, are they future proof? Most bank is having the same fate

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2015-12-24 11:14 | Report Abuse

Super investor is not your typical investor or trader, they are money making machine no matter what happen to the world they will still milking money like a cash cow.

hwaism

19 posts

Posted by hwaism > 2015-12-24 11:17 | Report Abuse

so who are you icon?

Posted by KitTheungmakmak168 > 2015-12-24 11:31 | Report Abuse

Clash of titan 都走出来,lolz~ medusa, hihihi

Posted by Shaun Wong > 2015-12-24 15:26 | Report Abuse

Didnt know JLo is Ah Kua

joekit

833 posts

Posted by joekit > 2015-12-24 23:17 | Report Abuse

Ya.last time syndicate got ability to goreng counters like kbunai up 20sen in a jiffy!

koonbee6

118 posts

Posted by koonbee6 > 2015-12-24 23:37 | Report Abuse

Posted by koonbee6 > Dec 24, 2015 11:36 PM | Report Abuse X

Calvin tan eng just message me...he said he call buy on mulpha 50 cent years ago, now drop to 50%...he hip hip hoorey because he can add more now

1,927 posts

Posted by 2721 > 2015-12-25 17:11 | Report Abuse

personally hold two stocks for five years and looking to hold for whole life, am i consider investor??haha.. be confident with ur chosen stocks, cheers~~~

Posted by Tom > 2015-12-25 23:58 | Report Abuse

lol,我是投机者

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2015-12-28 11:03 | Report Abuse

Great article bro Icon8888. Nice picture of Perseus with Gorgon's head too. :p

But in all seriousness, thank you for the article and I'm also SHOCKED that I'm in the Value Trader group. But what you said is true. I never was a true investor.

I am still but a learner.. not yet a master. :p