MARA cancelled
Koon also cancelled
2016 bad for study
Everyone leave the school and join MCD

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 18:26 | Report Abuse

My son did Foundation in Sunway.
My daughter did her A levels in Methodist College KL.
Both are excellent choices.

Wish others also have the good fortune to be given the chance.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-02 18:41 | Report Abuse

i had no idea how much good student can be brought with 4 billions USD

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-02-02 18:45 | Report Abuse

It may be enough to reform the education itself
Instead of scholarship it is better to follow the western culture
Make it a private class and learn the required skill instead of making most A's out of all

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-02-02 18:51 | Report Abuse

i just learn a new word MAPA fund. stands for mama and papa funding thier children. we are losing our best & brightest students ( cream of the lots ) to the idiotic funding policy. they are financing Perkasa, Tinju Ali, REd Shirt, whole lots of crabs, cow financing etc

ycbang

468 posts

Posted by ycbang > 2016-02-02 19:21 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon set up vocational school to help poor student..I willing to help.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 20:46 | Report Abuse

Desa ? you want to chip in ?

Posted by niamahbetul > 2016-02-02 20:49 | Report Abuse

how about you chip in first ! simply talk like probability,icon !

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 20:50 | Report Abuse

Desa is Uncle Koon big fan mah, niamah... (not scolding you)

Posted by niamahbetul > 2016-02-02 20:54 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 20:56 | Report Abuse

ah, I know who u r

walao u so scare of Icon until need to change ID kah, optimus ?

wahahahahahaha

Posted by niamahbetul > 2016-02-02 21:02 | Report Abuse

cannot do then shutup la ! optimus what ! ask 1 answer 2 ! simply talk !

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 21:03 | Report Abuse

Optimus don't be angry

Posted by niamahbetul > 2016-02-02 21:05 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 21:06 | Report Abuse

stay cool optimus

Posted by niamahbetul > 2016-02-02 21:20 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 21:25 | Report Abuse

relaxed lah optimus

Coldrisks

66 posts

Posted by Coldrisks > 2016-02-02 21:45 | Report Abuse

aiyo, cny just near the corner, why everywhere people quarrel, no ong, heng and huat already lah...

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:03 | Report Abuse

This one coldrisk, the more u screw this I like to con for 8888, the more you ONG Mali, mcacm tesco one. U need sing and screw him everyday to get more ONG!

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:04 | Report Abuse

Come let's sing ONG Mali ONG Mali, screw icon , screw icon ONG Mali!!!!!

fung9815

41 posts

Posted by fung9815 > 2016-02-03 09:40 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, I don't understand. I thought your scholarship programme is meant to help the poor. Are you implying that the poor should now stay away from getting education, just because the job market is getting competitive?

youlee

762 posts

Posted by youlee > 2016-02-03 09:51 | Report Abuse

Maybe support those who want to study master's degree? financial engineering?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 09:54 | Report Abuse

financial engineering?.....yeah everyone already engineered to poverty.

griezmann

46 posts

Posted by griezmann > 2016-02-03 10:13 | Report Abuse

fung, mr koon is not stopping to help the poor... its just that giving out scholarships may not be the best way abt it... there are more effective and impactful ways... and honestly, the 'traditional' education route is not the best way to secure your future anymore - u can see the trend in western countries and also big MNCs as they modify their recruitment criteria beyond to making having a degree a requirement...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 10:15 | Report Abuse

biggest bang for the buck in CSR in charity is always a difficult question.

fung9815

41 posts

Posted by fung9815 > 2016-02-03 10:57 | Report Abuse

griezmann, I can understand your comment, I actually advocate the 'hiring w/o judging on academic qualification' policy but we can't deny that education is still EXTREMELY important to all of us. Education shaped Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs, just that they didn't care about finishing the course and getting the paper at the graduation ceremony.

To the poor, education always seems like a luxury. They can't even afford to have a computer/iPad to learn from YouTube or Khan Academy.

"there are more effective and impactful ways... ", I hope there are.

fung9815

41 posts

Posted by fung9815 > 2016-02-03 11:17 | Report Abuse

Actually I think Mr Koon is right on one point. For-profit education institutions are destroying the education system. Maybe Mr Koon wanted to stop enriching this bunch of profit-seekers. I hope he would found a not-for-profit school that relies on the returns of endowment fund to sustain operations (since Mr Koon himself is a legend in investing).

Plus, the value of universities and colleges will deteriorate significantly in near term as the E-education is getting viable and, of course, cheaper. Khan Academy is definitely a good example to follow.

Jal 贾彬得

1,563 posts

Posted by Jal 贾彬得 > 2016-02-03 15:47 | Report Abuse

mr.koon open a new university to help in education would help :) NON PROFIT COLLEGE ^^

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2016-02-03 16:56 | Report Abuse

i humbly suggest that Mr. Koon provide scholarship to professional certificates students. This is because professional certs graduates are more likely to be absorbed by the job market. Some of the considerations are:

i) Accounting - ACCA and others
ii) Financial analyst - CFA and others
ii) Computing field - Java, SAP and others

griezmann

46 posts

Posted by griezmann > 2016-02-03 18:05 | Report Abuse

May I humbly suggest we omit CFA from the list. I am a CFA charterholder and I can safely say that it is not much use in Malaysia (and limited overseas - china produces 10,000 CFA holders a year)... Also, the body that gives out this charter is very $$$ minded... Don't get me wrong, it is a good formal finance foundation, but frankly it is too commercialized and you will end up enriching the CFA Institute more than the students... Better use the money to finance ACCA studies or programmers... If you really wanna learn abt finance and investments, better come to this forum than study a CFA (provided u do lots of filtering on what you read)...

Actually, one idea is also to provide honest good small companies grants to hire graduates to give them work experience...

griezmann

46 posts

Posted by griezmann > 2016-02-03 18:13 | Report Abuse

It would be a good idea to see why companies are not hiring graduates in Malaysia and then work backwards... I can understand why Mr. Koon doesn't want to waste precious money in producing more 'useless' graduates that will struggle for unemployment...

Fung, I know what you mean abt what education means to a poor person but we have to move with the times... The days where a degree holder is guaranteed a job is long gone and we can't sit and feel sentimental abt it... It is not the poor ppl's fault but the govt for not implementing the right education framework...

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 18:25 | Report Abuse

who wants to employ a graduate who cannot write a decent application letter , or a decent letter to Kr Koon....you want ah?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 18:46 | Report Abuse

there is no graduate employment problem in Malaysia

there is only the problem of unemployable graduates.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 18:49 | Report Abuse

the problem of local graduates who learned nothing in the few years in university is very very real.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 19:02 | Report Abuse

low quality institutions
low quality candidates

what do you expect?

miracles again?

Posted by Jinggo_Joe > 2016-02-03 19:04 | Report Abuse

I salute KYY for helping and giving back to society....pls do your part if u are not contributing ok

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 19:04 | Report Abuse

when you have high quality institutions
and high quality candidates, motivated candidates

Malaysia produces world beating A levels results and world beating ACCA results.

Posted by Jinggo_Joe > 2016-02-03 19:06 | Report Abuse

W10likes

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 19:13 | Report Abuse

For Mr Koon to sponsor a student, he has to be very careful WHO he sponsors, To Where he sponsors and What course he sponsors.

Posted by Jinggo_Joe > 2016-02-03 19:21 | Report Abuse

He got do that. His wife is the filter mah.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 19:25 | Report Abuse

female instinct. very accurate one.

6182al

305 posts

Posted by 6182al > 2016-02-03 19:37 | Report Abuse

To Mr & Mrs Koon YY firstly, I like to wish you and your Family A Happy And Prosperous Chinese New Year. May THE ALMIGHTY LORD Bless with with the Best of all THINGS in life.For the amount of charity that you have done I only hope that you would extend a line to those HARDWORKING and DESERVING ONES that is OMITTED by the existing Education structure.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 20:13 | Report Abuse

I guess what I am saying is...Don't throw out the baby with the bath water.
Not all is poisoned.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 20:25 | Report Abuse

I got a suggestion.

Perhaps Mr Koon and friends can go to the schools around Ipoh and ask the Headmasters and teachers to nominate students they can sponsor / finance, instead of waiting for applications.

By going to the source, the chances is good that it will be money well spend. Nominated by people who actually know the candidates. Some local boys / girls who deserve help.

Posted by Jinggo_Joe > 2016-02-03 20:30 | Report Abuse

Mr Desa, by going to school, they may not be the best of the best who cannot afford leh

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 20:40 | Report Abuse

By catching them at source, you have the advantage of giving them guidance, encouragement ....people who otherwise do not even have the big dreams.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 20:43 | Report Abuse

To me, that is not even important.
To me charity and CSR is just that...it is charity and CSR. Not a competition, and not just reserved for the best of the best who already have plenty of alternatives.
Charity and CSR is not reserved for the best of the best....it is to promote sharing and upwards mobility of the poorer people.

Jinggo_Joe > Feb 3, 2016 08:30 PM | Report Abuse

Mr Desa, by going to school, they may not be the best of the best who cannot afford leh

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-02-03 21:07 | Report Abuse

If serious want to help the poor. Pls put efforts to find out those really poor and qualified. I see my many uni friends one person get few scholarships.

One, his father salary about 20k myr per month. His mum is accountant, helps to modify his parents pay slip to increase chances of getting scholarship.

Another one, rich background also, get 3 scholarships magnum, Hong leong, and one (can't remember ) , now graduated as doctor and working in sg... now very famous in stomp , what called as lengzai doctor in sg...

Damn Disappointed to malaysia no matter is gov policy, or any system, never have proper planning and implementation

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 21:14 | Report Abuse

that's the reality in Malaysia......plenty of students with multiple scholarships....
they call themselves the best of the best.....the best of the best is pampered by everyone and everyone wants to be associated with the best of the best. But who are these best of the best 10A+ students? In many cases these best of the best students cannot even write proper letters.

Ryan88 > Feb 3, 2016 09:07 PM | Report Abuse

If serious want to help the poor. Pls put efforts to find out those really poor and qualified. I see my many uni friends one person get few scholarships.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 21:16 | Report Abuse

the rich gets richer...the poor shall remain poor to serve the rich.