30 comment(s). Last comment by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ 1 month ago

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-17 10:51 | Report Abuse

Annual report said they have planted 5,000 acres only

If they indeed plan to plant 400,000 acres , there will be huge cash outflow going forward

The best time to buy is after they have completed planting (10 years later?)

Now still early, way too early

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 10:54 | Report Abuse

Haha!

See & think outside the box.

The Lands were bought 3 years ago. The Ghana Franc has appreciated by 25% against the ringgit.

WASEONG Has Been Selling So Many Assets.

SO?

SO JUST SELL THESE OVER 1 MILLION ACRES LANDS FOR A HUGE PROFIT TO ROBERT KUOK, FGV Or Others.

Think OUT SIDE THE BOX Lah!

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-03-17 11:07 | Report Abuse

seriously for planting 400,000 acres ? ( need to check -the standard terms used are hectares NOT acres. ) it's will take a long long time for wah seong to complete planting. IOI , Genting, FGV are doing green fields in Indonesia at the rate of 2,000 - 3,000 hectares ( app 7,000 - 8,000 acres per annum ) This are pure plantation planters. In Congo without sounding like a doctor doom. Wah seong may faced alot of obstacles. The biggest oil palm producers are Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand. combine they produce almost 92% of the global production. Africa is the last unknown frontier. Nigeria are major producer of Cocoa not palm oil. this is my personal view

duncan2

235 posts

Posted by duncan2 > 2016-03-17 11:11 | Report Abuse

calvin, what do you think alam? already hit lowest compare to previous high...i think much worth to collect now to wait for oil to go up....

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 11:21 | Report Abuse

Duncan2

ALAM Got TABUNG HAJI AS TOP NO 2 SHAREHOLDERS.

Just buy up all Alam Martin at current price of 36 cents. Prepare to average down.

This Alam is now part of my portfolio.

CHEERS

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 11:25 | Report Abuse

Jonathan,

Oil Palm trees FIRST ORIGINATED FROM AFRICA.

Industrialization in Malaysia will turn Oil Palm Lands into Houses, Highways, Factories, Resorts, High Rise Condos in Malaysia.

SEE how IOI Turned Puchong into a thriving housing Town?

The bastion for future Oil Palm will move to Papua New Guinea & AFRICA!

duncan2

235 posts

Posted by duncan2 > 2016-03-17 11:27 | Report Abuse

great calvin...i remember you invested property in johor? where are you staying now bro?

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 11:29 | Report Abuse

I stay in Jurong Singapore

duncan2

235 posts

Posted by duncan2 > 2016-03-17 11:47 | Report Abuse

hi calvin...oic i always go to jurong point which is nice mall with lot of nice food choices over there. Bro, any comment on dayang?

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-03-17 11:54 | Report Abuse

Calvin, why not buy the crude oil commodity itself instead of buying a company with many risks

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 11:59 | Report Abuse

Duncan2

Yes, Jurong Point is very well planned with

MRT
Bus Inter Change
2 taxi stands
2 passenger pick up points
Factory bus pick up point.
24 hour food court.

This is my favourite Shopping Mall in Singapore

Dayang is ok. It is in East Malaysia.

The risk and reward turns into my favour as price gets cheaper and VALUE EMERGES

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2016-03-17 12:08 | Report Abuse

this guys should be banned for spamming

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-03-17 12:15 | Report Abuse

Calvin,
waseong revenue is not improving, worst still the earning is drooping and going into red. In your opinion, what factor or factors that will make waseong turn around and the share price will go up again?

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 12:21 | Report Abuse

These are the FACTORS:

1) Crude Oil Crashed in 2007/8 Waseong Crashed to a low of 96 cts.

In year 200 Crude Oil rebounded Waseong Surged to a high of Rm2.77 (Up 200%)

Since Oil is Cyclical anything can happen

2) Shale Oil Rigs have gone bankrupt by 60%. So Crude Should have found a floor

3) Waseong still get jobs.

4) Waseong can dispose Assets and book them as Profits

5) Waseong can also follow Hap Seng, Eg, Seacera, Fiamma and REVALUE ASSETS AND BOOK THEM AS PROFITS. That's how Icon8888 chase their shares

6) Waseong could be taken private like KULIM. Last time one fund kept selling Kulim shares below Rm2.50. Then JCORP Took it private at Rm4.10 (Up 60%)

7) Any unknown reason it can go up DUE TO GREAT VALUE!

lux88

148 posts

Posted by lux88 > 2016-03-17 12:26 | Report Abuse

Calvin, if Waseong drops below RM0.5, u will cut loss or buy more?

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 12:28 | Report Abuse

Lux88

From now I will BUY ALL THE WAY DOWN TO EVEN 10 CENTS!

lux88

148 posts

Posted by lux88 > 2016-03-17 12:30 | Report Abuse

Calvin so confident, even Alam and Armada you cut loss, but Waseong u plan to buy even RM0.1 Hard to believe.

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 12:32 | Report Abuse

Lux88

I JUST BOUGHT ALAM AGAIN!

I AM ALSO LOOKING TO BUY ARMADA.

The fundamental for Crude Oil is turning on 2 counters

1) VEGE OIL REBOUMDING

2) SHALE OIL COWBOYS & US BANKS THAT FINANCED THEM NOW INSOLVEN

Going to Explore BOOMING ISKANDAR NOW

See you later.

jilohhuat

177 posts

Posted by jilohhuat > 2016-03-17 12:35 | Report Abuse

I wait at below 20 cents

duncan2

235 posts

Posted by duncan2 > 2016-03-17 15:35 | Report Abuse

calvin...beside jurong point mall any other nice food court around that area which is not far from jurong point?As i'm not familiar jurong everytime just eat inside the mall when i go there so was wondering outside the mall is any nice food court or hawker food to eat?

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-17 23:06 | Report Abuse

Duncan2

I just arrived in Jurong West, Singapore.

Apart from Jurong Point I like the Food Stall called Azhar Eating House at 7th Mile Bkt Timah. However, parking is a problem there.

But I prefer food in Johor much better as price is only 35% of Singapore. Why pay more in Singapore.

Malaysia Boleh!

bugle

293 posts

Posted by bugle > 2016-03-18 01:10 | Report Abuse

Don't like to say too much negative things on others' articles. Just my humble opinion. like your other articles, but not this one, reason: bias and not convincing. I'm in doubt about your investment approach now. Perhaps you're thinking in the contrarian way, able to spot the one that is with relatively low price, and have built up some interest in it, but your article is basically one-sided points. The other sides: 1) why the share price dropped, 2) why someone keep selling recently, 3) why the recent financial results worsen, 4) why debts have increased so much?

I have no intention to spend my precious time here with the purpose to criticize you. But if you could spent some times to think about the reasons for the other sides, you might have better understanding, which I believe would value-added in your decision-making, and for others as well.

24 posts

Posted by 20012015 > 2016-03-18 09:57 | Report Abuse

#7 wrong. Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Company Sdn. Bhd. owns Goldis NOT Wah Seong Corp Bhd. Any gain or loss of Goldis has no impact to Wah Seong Corp Bhd at all!!

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-18 10:07 | Report Abuse

Wah Seong takes up the challenge where few dare to venture PDF Print E-mail
(Article by P.Y. Chin, New Sunday Times, 30 June 2002)

WAH Seong Corporation, the big boys of pipe-coating in Malaysia whose shares are soon to be listed on the KLSE Main Board, is into thinking big. Though the sky is the limit, the board of directors at Wah Seong has to play strictly by company rules.

BIG is the buzz word in world business these days but for Wah Seong, it must not be with abandon and to the cost of the shareholders in the future.

As Wah Seong managing director and CEO Chan Cheu Leong explains, "I have structured the company''s memorandum and articles of association (M&A) such that there is a cap on the borrowing limit.

"Borrowing is limited to 2.5 times the shareholders'' fund. This is to protect the company.

"Some of the directors and people outside the company have asked me why would I would want to tie our hands. My answer was simple:

"I told them that you cannot assume that all of us would be running the company for life. The company is an on-going entity.

"We must have a good management system that can protect shareholders'' interests, a system that limits the risks."

While the cap on borrowing is self-inflicted, so to speak, it no way inhibits Wah Seong going big in their own responsible way.

Chan recently gave a presentation on the company to a group of analysts as a prelude to the company''s shares being listed on the Main Board.

The presentation started with a scene of the sea showing the sun rising above the horizon. Words were splashed across the scene: "A new chapter for Wah Seong Corporation - towards realising its vision as a major Asian industrial group" and "A consistent performer as consistent as sunrise everyday".

The bottomline, of course, came at the end.

"Why invest in Wah Seong shares?" Three reasons were forwarded:
· cheap entry to Asia/global oil and gas service infrastructure company with excellent growth potential;
· fundamentally good mix of business; and,
· stable and committed management team.

Good mix of business, stable, committed management team. Mere words describing a company seeking listing?

Wah Seong is no new corporate kid coming onto the KLSE block.

Indeed, Wah Seong has been around for 47 years. The Tan brothers, Datuk Chin Nam and Datuk Kim Yeow, of Tan & Tan fame, founded the family company, Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Co Sdn Bhd, in 1955, to deal mainly in essential commodities.

Known as "a small family trading outfit", the Wah Seong of today, which is being listed as Wah Seong Corporation, is into a business few Malaysians dare venture into - oil and gas.

But it is not the oil and gas business as many would understand it to be, which is exploring and drilling, or refining, or the retail petroleum business.

Wah Seong is into the highly specialised pipe-coating and the manufacturing and fabricating of steel pipes for the oil and gas industry at home and abroad.

As Chan says, "In Asia we are one of the top two players in the pipe-coating business, and worldwide we have established ourselves as one of the top three."

In Malaysia, Wah Seong has already established a strong market presence - they have captured a 60 per cent share.

"Actually," says Chan, "there are not many players in this business," There are, according to him, about 10 players worldwide.

Why the small number?

Chan gives four reasons:
· it is a very regulated industry: there are only two players in Malaysia, one of which is Wah Seong;
· the technology content is very high: you need the technological know-how to set up the business;
· you must have a track record, track record and track record, just like in the property business where location, location and location are the three most important factors; and,
· the business is capital-intensive, requiring heavy capital expenditure to build up an infrastructure to operate profitably.

Back

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-18 10:12 | Report Abuse

THIRTY (30) LARGEST RCPS HOLDERS
No. Name No. of RCPS Held %
1 CIMSEC Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 71,946,030 15.79
CIMB for Wang Tak Majujaya Sdn Bhd
2 Tan Chin Nam Sdn Bhd 68,399,471 15.01
3 Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Co. Sdn Bhd 59,643,500 13.09
4 Tan Kim Yeow Sdn Bhd 36,423,327 7.99
5 HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd 30,374,892 6.67
Exempt an for The HongKong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
6 HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd 30,066,800 6.60
Exempt an for Bank Julius Baer & Co. Ltd
7 Tan Chin Nam Sdn Bhd 12,423,919 2.73
8 Maybank Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd 11,448,768 2.51
DBS Bank for Ripley Services Limited
9 Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Co. Sdn Bhd 10,346,260 2.27
Analysis Of Shareholdings As At 31 March 2015 (cont’d)
Annual Report | 2014 161
No. Name No. of RCPS Held %
10 Maybank Securities Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 9,217,197 2.02
Maybank Kim Eng Securities Pte Ltd for Tan Kim Yeow Sdn Bhd
11 Wah Seong Enterprises Sdn Bhd 8,440,019 1.85

12 BBL Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 7,923,498 1.74
Pledged securities account for Dato’ Tan Chin Nam
13 Maybank Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd 7,062,390 1.55
DBS Bank for Timbarra Services Limited
14 Tan Lei Cheng 6,674,738 1.46

15 Dato’ Tan Chin Nam 6,298,761 1.38

16 Amanahraya Trustees Berhad 4,648,000 1.02
Public Smallcap Fund
17 Dato’ Tan Chin Nam 4,627,561 1.02

18 Scanstell Sdn Bhd 4,592,038 1.01

19 Amanahraya Trustees Berhad 4,384,100 0.96
Public Strategic Smallcap Fund
20 Public Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 4,125,000 0.91
Pledged securities account for Tan Chin Nam Sdn Bhd
21 BBL Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 3,834,843 0.84
Pledged securities account for Tan Chin Nam Sdn Bhd
22 HSBC Nominees (Asing) Sdn Bhd 3,781,700 0.83
Exempt an for Credit Suisse
23 Classlant Sdn Bhd 3,748,956 0.82

24 Tentang Emas Sdn Bhd 3,650,655 0.80

25 Wah Seong Enterprises Sdn Bhd 2,988,405 0.66

26 BBL Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd
Pledged securities account for Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Co. Sdn Bhd 2,896,875 0.64

27 Dasar Mutiara (M) Sdn Bhd 2,881,713 0.63

28 Tan Boon Lee 2,848,998 0.63

29 Maybank Nominees (Tempatan) Sdn Bhd 2,685,402 0.59
Pledged securities account for Wah Seong (Malaya) Trading Co. Sdn Bhd
30 Tan Kim Yeow Sdn Bhd 2

24 posts

Posted by 20012015 > 2016-03-18 12:49 | Report Abuse

Calvin, just to highlight that Wah Seong Corp Bhd does not hold substantial share in Goldis. The major shareholder of Goldis is Wah Seong (M) Trading Co Sdn Bhd, which is also major shareholder of Wah Seong Corp Bhd.
Wah Seong (M) Trading Co Sdn Bhd is common shareholder of both Goldis and Wah Seong Corp Bhd.
Your #7 statement is misleading, WASEONG IS TOP 2 HOLDERS OF GOLDIS & GOLDIS IS TOP HOLDERS OF IGB. Here WASEONG= Wah Seong (M) Trading Co Sdn Bhd ≠ Wah Seong Corp Bhd

24 posts

Posted by 20012015 > 2016-03-18 12:51 | Report Abuse

Anyway, I do agree with Calvin Wah Seong Corp share price now is attractive and their management is good.

Posted by Wonderkid88 > 2016-03-19 03:21 | Report Abuse

here stated 400,000ha, not acres.. indeed a very long term period.

http://atamaplantation.com/site/index.php?cat=7

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-03-19 08:24 | Report Abuse

Top 10 List of Properties
as at 31 December 2014
Title/Location
Description/
existing use
Approximate
age of the
building
Approximate
land/built-up
area Tenure
Audited NBV
as at
RM
Federal Territory of Cuvette & Sangha
Republic of the Congo
Oil palm plantation land
& infrastructures
N/A 470,000 hectares Leasehold 60 years expiring
on 17 May 2069

PLEASE NOTE!!
470,000 HECTARES = 470,000 x 2.471 (convert to acres) = 1,161,370 ACRES Or 1 MILLION ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTY ONE THOUSAND & THREE HENDRED SEVENTY ACRES!

1.161 ACRES OF PLANTATION LANDS WERE PURCHASED FOR RM101 MILLIONS WHEN RINGGIT WAS STILL STRONG. NOW RINGGIT HAS CRASHED BY 25% AGAINST CONGO FRANC. SO CONVERTED BACK COST WOULD BE 101 Millions x 25% = RM126.25 MILLIONS WORTH NOW.

GOOD PLANTABLE LANDS ARE 180,000 ACRES = 180,000 x 444,780 ACRES.

WASEONG HAS BEEN DISPOSING ASSETS FROM TIME TO TIME!!
IT IS POSSIBLE THAT WASEONG COULD SEEK TO SELL THESE PRECIOUS LANDS TO FGV OR WILMAR!

EPF SELLING WASEONG SHARES PRESENT A WONDERFUL OPPORTUNITY CHEAP WASEONG SHARES LIKE BUYING AJIYA AT RM1.00 WHEN EPF SOLD DOWN LAST TIME. THOSE WHO BOUGHT AJIYA AT RM1.00 MADE 500% PROFIT LATER!!
KKIP Timor, Industrial Zone 13
General Industrial Zone
Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park
Mile 15 Jalan Telipok, Telipok
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Industrial land
with factory and
office building
7 years 22 acres
(Land)
232,956 sq ft
(Building)