50 comment(s). Last comment by Sales 2016-10-14 09:48

Posted by murali > 2016-05-21 23:17 | Report Abuse

Wah,ah boon u love the old man more than I do....

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-21 23:25 | Report Abuse

Preventing this old man of giving non-sense tips such as encourage people to take margin financing just to enrich him more. Beware newbies.

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-05-22 00:04 | Report Abuse

Haha...thumb up...nice article

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-22 00:07 | Report Abuse

KLSE Screener

Abismail

651 posts

Posted by Abismail > 2016-05-22 00:33 | Report Abuse

Please include liihen....he also recommend that stock....

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-05-22 01:09 | Report Abuse

Monday show time......

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2016-05-22 06:53 | Report Abuse

As what I wrote over the weekend, if you never include the forex gain previously, the result is satisfactory. I dont know what is going to happen tomorrow. But that's just the sentiment of the herd that swing left and right following MYR. The company still producing plywood, and it will continue to export plywood.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-22 07:11 | Report Abuse

Taking out forex gains and losses only takes out a portion of the fluctuations.......it is an attempt at smoothening the curves.........

They call it core earnings.

What people don't know is that it is not the whole story......that is why people are surprised at the recent results.

Even the so called core earnings are greatly distorted by fluctuations in exchange rates.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-05-22 07:24 | Report Abuse

Ricky is right, would you sell FLBHD knowing full well next quarter will see a forex boost since ringgit has weakened 5% against USD since 31/3/16? If forex is your thing, then maybe playing forex directly is better than jumping in and out of stocks and paying brokerage everytime you do so. Excluding forex, core eps is around 6.7 cents, not great, not terrible either.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2016-05-22 07:33 | Report Abuse

I know cash and other investment grow from 60+ mil to 88 mil in 3 months hehe

Posted by MuscleBluechip > 2016-05-22 09:08 |

rainbowyen

363 posts

Posted by rainbowyen > 2016-05-22 10:13 | Report Abuse

ah_boon, keep it up !!!... it is better to know now than not knowing anything…. Your articles will greatly help a lot of peoples….even those experienced investor like us. Your articles will help prevent another disaster waiting to happen causes by our very own famous prominent tycoon.

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-05-22 10:16 | Report Abuse

This 84 years old man dont have intregrity

Posted by chiongster1234 > 2016-05-22 10:19 | Report Abuse

Hahahah good play

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2016-05-22 10:21 | Report Abuse

加油,@ah_boon.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-05-22 12:16 | Report Abuse

should fall below RM2.00 in the medium term.not worth so much. just that ah koon cannot dispose off cos he got a lot and keep supporting. he been selling 20 lots buy 10 lots tactic to support.if he sold off all,fl will be like geshen

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-05-22 12:16 | Report Abuse

sell before it's too late

2016v

310 posts

Posted by 2016v > 2016-05-22 12:31 | Report Abuse

agree

Posted by Apollo Ang > May 22, 2016 12:16 PM | Report Abuse

sell before it's too late

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-22 13:06 | Report Abuse

you don't expect prominent investor to tell you when he sells....do you?

why so childish one, you all.

everyone same same.

You tell everyone after you buy some thing
you keep quiet while you are selling some thing.

Posted by MuscleBluechip > 2016-05-22 13:28 |

coolinvestor

1,227 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-05-22 13:40 | Report Abuse

I believe i need to say something as well.

Shareholders with large holdings CAN unduly influnce share price when they buy or sell. This is a known fact.

To sell big amount of shares u need high liquidity. U need many ppl buying n selling hence a bigger volume to better dispose of shares.

If u can promote your stocks n ask ppl to buy, wats wrong with telling ppl to sell? Since u ask ppl to buy firsthand u have a moral obligation to tell them vice versa

Even Investment anaylsts issue buy n sell calls.

coolinvestor

1,227 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-05-22 13:42 | Report Abuse

So far i see evidence n posts by others ALL points to the other side of integrity.

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2016-05-22 13:49 | Report Abuse

USD-RM
31 Dec 2015 = 4.29
31 Mar 2016 = 3.89
22 May 2016 = 4.07
Expect forex gain for 2nd quarter if exchange rate is higher than 3.89
FL Has no debt . NeT cash increased from 75m to 88m or 85c per share.
Strong free cash flow. The forex gain or loss is due to trade receivables and cash in foreign currency.
My 2c opinion. Plz dont scold.

532 posts

Posted by 1901 > 2016-05-22 15:12 | Report Abuse

eyesight: ok, status: blind, action: follow others lor

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-05-22 16:28 | Report Abuse

you don't expect people to harm themselves while helping you, do you?

GGmalaysia

334 posts

Posted by GGmalaysia > 2016-05-22 17:32 | Report Abuse

actually hor... FLBHD got good dividend mar... even you stuck at rm2.40, you still have 5% yield if they give 12 sen this year...

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2016-05-22 21:51 | Report Abuse

Pls go and sue all the research and stockbroking companies. They recommend stocks to buy everyday. Why you don't scold them. Hypocrite.

chyokh

158 posts

Posted by chyokh > 2016-05-22 21:57 | Report Abuse

Also please scold all the i3 bloggers who everyday say buy this buy that. Why just pick on one. Did anyone point a gun to your head and force you to buy. Please grow up.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-05-22 22:06 | Report Abuse

Taan is different
Other than timber, it also have oil palm plantation and others
Focus lumber is just on timber furniture

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-22 22:28 | Report Abuse

As a substantial shareholder, better to keep quiet and don't try to influence market on the share price.

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-22 22:28 | Report Abuse

Since this investor promote heavily, so he is trying to bring more benefits for himself. And he has a reputation, so newbies especially will be more convinced to follow his advice which not all is correct. Its different with stock brokering companies as they have licence and have full report on why they recommend buy or sell and they may and may not have holding of those shares. Stock brokering are many but not many prominent investor come out openly to disclose which shares they are buying. Guess which one able to convince newbies more.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-05-22 23:39 | Report Abuse

Please refer to page 6 of quarter report as at 31 March 2016, B2, you can see that on last sentences. "This was because the double tax deduction benefit granted on freight charges had been revoked effectively from 1 January 2016"

It mean the company profit margin will not ever go back as high as last year as the double tax deduction had gone.

It is the main reason why the profit drop. If you ignore the forex effect, flbhd only earning 6sen for this quarter.

Yes it might be good in next quarter due to forex gain. But the main point is profit margin go down so much due to the remove of double tax deduction. Hence in my opinion it is not a good investment anymore.

Using simple PE10 test, 6sen x 4quarter x PE10 = RM2.40. Currently RM2.34. Good? Nope. Fully valued already.

RAIDER COMMENT: THE DOUBLE DEDUCTION ON FREIGHT IS JUST A SMALL COMPONENT OF THE OVERALL PROFIT.
WITHOUT IT WOULD NOT IMPACT MUCH ON THE OVERALL PROFIT MARGIN MAH....!!

Posted by stockraider > 2016-05-22 23:44 | Report Abuse

RAIDER SAY SHOULD THERE BE A SELLDOWN....JUMP IN & BUY LOH...!!

WHY ?
FOCUS LUMBER IS A WELL MANAGE COMPANY.
THERE WILL BE STRONG EARNING RECOVERY IN JUNE 2016.
THE CURRENT CASHFLOW IS STRONG GENERATING CASHFLOW EXCEEDING RM 0.06 FOR THE QUARTER.
DIVIDEND YIELD IS MORE THAN 6% PA A HAVEN FOR YIELD INVESTOR LOH....!!

SHOULD ACCUMULATE LOH....!!

henry0420

35 posts

Posted by henry0420 > 2016-05-23 10:25 | Report Abuse

Max value of FLBHD actually is RM2. Feel sad for those FLBHD holder.

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-23 11:46 | Report Abuse

Many still catching falling knife. Until now about 4.5 million shares changing hand. Still have another estimated 5-6 millions shares not traded today yet. Lets see whether RM2.00 will hold in the afternoon session.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-05-23 12:02 | Report Abuse

Reasonable post and assessments by @ah_boon here. He is only telling things as they are. The call to be cautious is all the more relevant given the developments over the past few months. Especially in newbies and me-too investors who hero-worship some prominent big guns too much, only to see their capital depreciating significantly when they weren't aware the latter were cashing out. So, ah_boon has very pertinent points here and it is childish and immature to attack the messenger.

And that's the main lesson - yes, read what prominent investors and analysts say. But do our own research and evaluation too, because it will be our money at risk.

Mohd Iqbal

266 posts

Posted by Mohd Iqbal > 2016-05-23 12:07 | Report Abuse

kudos for remarkably precise prediction. last year was the best for export furniture counter. this year is different

rainbowyen

363 posts

Posted by rainbowyen > 2016-05-23 12:31 | Report Abuse

Prominent tycoon aka prominent investor…..will be very happy with the performance result today....History repeats itself and that's just how it goes….
ah_boon, your articles greatly help us gain some knowledge on market manipulation… thanks….

HowAh

963 posts

Posted by HowAh > 2016-05-23 13:12 | Report Abuse

Ah boon give you 10 likes

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-23 13:25 | Report Abuse

Another share that people should watch out is Canone. If you noticed, it's dropping during the last few days and broke the RM4.00 level. Financial result announcement anytime soon. It may not be good as seen from lower than expected Kian Joo contribution.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2016-05-23 14:10 | Report Abuse

My comment, by the way, doesn't mean that I'm saying "Don't buy FLB". In fact, at the support level, I'm thinking of a punt. But with a stop loss set. The thing is, make our own decisions. Not blindly follow anyone.

ah_boon

249 posts

Posted by ah_boon > 2016-05-23 14:23 | Report Abuse

Buying at reasonable price is always a good strategy. Buying when already being push up so high is a disaster.

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-05-23 18:13 | Report Abuse

Be careful of Harryt30 too...he is link to KYY...can refer back how he promote FLB

ppginvest

1,591 posts

Posted by ppginvest > 2016-05-23 19:01 | Report Abuse

ahboon the best, this post could have saved some lucky folks, thankyou.

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-05-23 19:22 | Report Abuse

Kyy is an old fox..

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-05-23 19:26 | Report Abuse

When they say that they buy - u shld start selling

Ryan Chong

1,603 posts

Posted by Ryan Chong > 2016-05-23 22:42 | Report Abuse

i dont think kyy can foresee better than those fund manager, a lot of fund manager get the insider news about the forex , the next quarter report, thats why they dump once the kyy buy, although the chart is quite good and the fundamental is good, they will never win those fund manager

Ryan Chong

1,603 posts

Posted by Ryan Chong > 2016-05-23 22:42 | Report Abuse

if the myr still getting stronger, it will kill kyy anytime

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2016-08-14 20:33 | Report Abuse

Kcchong also sold flhbhd dy lor.. kikiki

Sales

3,194 posts

Posted by Sales > 2016-10-14 09:48 | Report Abuse

Ah boon hope you can give good advice for us as a newbie. I like your comment.