15 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 2016-06-09 21:59

jonatlau79

419 posts

Posted by jonatlau79 > 2016-06-08 09:31 | Report Abuse

Keep Feeding Milk Like Baby, Like MAS ... No Turnaround Even After 1,000 Years ...

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-06-08 09:35 | Report Abuse

technology enhancement and volume is the key to survival. sadly Proton has neither of this edges against the giants in the global car industry. Being a local entity plus limitation in the R&D means Proton can end up only doing rebadgeing jobs. Malaysia whether we like it or not are they living in a state of self denial

Blacksails

762 posts

Posted by Blacksails > 2016-06-08 12:03 | Report Abuse

Sell to china car co. and let them rebrand proton and together sell their own brands made locally or for export as well. This way can keep jobs in here.

Bruce88

Posted by Bruce88 > 2016-06-08 12:18 | Report Abuse

Better close it down.Cancel cells had reached its final phase.

winston1

526 posts

Posted by winston1 > 2016-06-08 12:22 | Report Abuse

The best is to close shop if not performing

4,304 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-06-08 12:32 | Report Abuse

Future prospect of Proton is rather bleak. many car manufacturers have ventured into cell car business. This is the megatrend and yet our Proton still keep dreaming...wanted be a Kampung champion again. Better close shop fast to stop bleeding.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2016-06-08 12:37 | Report Abuse

If not for this kid, the car industry would not have gone to Thailand and Indonesia. We would have many jobs for the people now. But just because of one rotten apple, this dunmo have threw the whole basket of apples.

Posted by WaKaLuGong > 2016-06-08 16:01 | Report Abuse

Too Big To Die

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2016-06-08 16:27 | Report Abuse

thailand is bigger car manufacturer than malaysia, but never has it's own national car...as DRB is also is assembling the honda car in malaysia, so I suggest proton stop producing own car to save tax payers money because MAS case will be repeated once again..goverment kept on billing out MAS without succes....suggestion...put the proton logos on all honda cars assembled by DRB as they did to honda accord cars used as goverment official cars.....

55,056 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-06-09 21:13 | Report Abuse

Actually I bought and used 3 new cars in Malaysia

1) 1992. I bought Proton 1.3 12V for Rm28,000. I sold it in 1994 at Rm24,000 for a lost of only Rm4,000 or Rm2,000 per year. Real economy!

2) In 1994 I bought my 2nd New Car Proton Wira 1.6(A) for Rm56,000. I sold it after 6 months for Rm52,000 for a lost of only Rm4,000

3) In 1995 I bought my 3rd New Car - Proton 1.8 Wira (A) Abs Brake (Auto Cruise) for Rm72,000. I sold it after many years later.

Then I migrated to Singapore.

In Singapore I bought my First Nissan Sentra 1.5 (New) For S$92,000. After using for 4 years I sold it for S$43,000 for a lost of S$49,000 (or in today's exchange rate = Rm147,000 lost of value in 4 years)

I bought a Suzuki Swift & lost 40% after 2 years. I bought another Nissan Sentra later. Also lost 50%.

My Last New MPV in Singapore was a Kia Caren 2.0 2005 A) which cost me S$72,000 or RM216,000 in Ringgit.

This One I used for 10 years & then it got scrapped for S$8,300

So S$72,000 - S$8,300 = S$63,700 or Rm191,100

So you guys are complaining about what?

You are all very lucky in Malaysia!!

Malaysia Boleh!!

987 posts

Posted by Koon Bee > 2016-06-09 21:22 | Report Abuse

Kaneh Calvin...u love malaysia so much why migrate to spore?? Diu!!

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-06-09 21:33 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng: In singapore need to buy car meh? Public transport so good. why u buy car?

4,304 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-06-09 21:37 | Report Abuse

Our government can only pump but cannot dump. It's almost like a black hole.

55,056 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-06-09 21:39 | Report Abuse

Posted by Fortunebullx > Jun 9, 2016 09:28 PM | Report Abuse

Mr Koon conveniently omitted Mahathir role in Proton! Mr Koon also conveniently omitted the fact that Najib's Perodua is doig fine for decades! In fact almost all of Mahathir pet projects are very wasteful! I wonder what makes Mr Koon become Mahathir apologist! Is it because Mahathir is now Amanah de factor leader!

Actually Proton is a rebadged Mitsubishi Lancer F

And Perodua is a mix of Toyota & Daihatsu

When I was in Japan years back I saw Daihatsu MOVE - highly popular!

Daihatsu Move is then rebadged as Perodua MyVi

Our Protons & Peroduas beat the Indian Suzuki Maruti anytime!

So Malaysia, like India, follows the path of import substitution.

Monies remain in Malaysia although Proton suffers losses. Or else monies will be drained out to Japan. See how Japan is now drowning in depression? ALL BECAUSE MALAYSIA STOPPED MONIES FLOWING INTO JAPAN?

IN INDIA THEY ALSO WANT TO STOP MONEY FLOWING TO USA - SO THEY BANNED COCACOLA & INVENTED THE INDIA'S VERSION OF COCA COLA CALLED "THUMB'S UP"

THUMB'S UP IS ACTUALLY QUITE A NICE DRINK IN INDIA. ANOTHER ONE I LIKED IS LIMKA

55,056 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-06-09 21:59 | Report Abuse

JN88 calvintaneng: In singapore need to buy car meh? Public transport so good. why u buy car?
09/06/2016 21:33

YES IF I ONLY STAY IN SINGAPORE. NO NEED CAR. BUT I LOVE ISKANDAR!!

SO I NEED A CAR TO GO INTO ISKANDAR MOST OF THE TIME.

ISKANDAR IS A BOOMING REGION NOW IN TRANSFORMATION RIGHT BEFORE MY EYES.