25 comment(s). Last comment by Apollo Ang 2017-01-01 22:36

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-31 17:47 | Report Abuse

Didn't our Pm promise us to have defence kuat kuat during election speak few year back at Rm vs Usd $0.360 meh ?
I took it with a huge scope of salt during he said so.
COORUPTERS YANG HARUS DIHAPUSKAN DULU bukan slogan slogan cantik umpama menipu sendiri dan seluruh rakyat Malaysia.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-31 17:48 | Report Abuse

The pass Pm has failed us, will our existing Pm will worsening the situation ?

Zul Zd

4 posts

Posted by Zul Zd > 2016-12-31 18:29 | Report Abuse

The chart done to perform cup just waiting to complete handle... Then we will suffering with weakening rm

rikki

2,019 posts

Posted by rikki > 2016-12-31 18:58 | Report Abuse

USD is expected to appreciate 10 % if they implement 5 % tariff on imports. On the bright side, our exports will still be 5 % cheaper after the tax.

rikki

2,019 posts

Posted by rikki > 2016-12-31 19:11 | Report Abuse

Furniture Exporters

1) Liihen - Net Cash RM82.9M
2) Hevea - Net Cash RM94.6M
3) Pohuat - Net Cash RM42.6M
4) Latitude - Net Cash RM139.8M ( Includes Investment Securities Of RM46.4M )

21,543 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-31 19:34 | Report Abuse

Very likely. Pick some export stocks

rikki

2,019 posts

Posted by rikki > 2016-12-31 20:33 | Report Abuse

Paperplane being one of the top 20 Stock Pick winner has 1 week advantage bcoz his closing date for 2017 contest is 6/1/2017 whereas others was 30/12/2016. Salute to Icon8888 & Luvluv for picking their stocks on 30/12/16 eventhough they are also top 20 winners.

21,543 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-31 20:36 | Report Abuse

Rikki, I have make my picks. Think won't change.....I try avoid AirAsia, Bjcorp next year due to high debts. Initially thinking to add EG, but also drop due to high debts.
Yet I still have some high debts pick like MMCCorp.

rikki

2,019 posts

Posted by rikki > 2016-12-31 20:50 | Report Abuse

Paperplane, salute you if you have submitted your picks to Mr Tan KW. You are at the same level playing field with the rest. Taday alone there are more than 15 picks by IBs/Newspapers & many more will be called by analyst the next few days.

21,543 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-31 21:33 | Report Abuse

Is it. I hope next year will not be bad....next year real challenging.

25,124 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-12-31 23:08 | Report Abuse

our share market really overvalued.
in 1997 when US$1 = RM4, maybank was only rm3+
today US$1 = RM4.50, maybank still rm8.20!!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-31 23:13 | Report Abuse

I believe even if it touches 5, it won't last long

25,124 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-12-31 23:16 | Report Abuse

maybank should be trading at rm2.50 now (but unfortunately EPF, Khazanah, PNB, LTH are all supporting the price from falling in our smart retailer's hands)

gohku

373 posts

Posted by gohku > 2016-12-31 23:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by speakup > Dec 31, 2016 11:08 PM | Report Abuse

our share market really overvalued.

Mr Speakup, when i am doing my financial study in the University, the professor told us they is the issue of compounding of interest and business retaining earnings, which are the 2 major point driving up the earnings of companies.

That he say, in long run, you will see the share price of good company will always go up.

I still remember the lecture the respected professor deliver to us, a few years back.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-31 23:21 | Report Abuse

What killed the market in 98 was not the weak Ringgit, it was the high interest rate, which was a wrong policy by the Anwar led Ministry of Finance (mahathir accused him of purposely doing that to destabilize economy)

The government has learned the lesson, so this round they just let the RM falls without increasing interest rate

And it turns out everything is fine.

21,543 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-01-01 00:33 | Report Abuse

Nope. Icon. What kill us is some stupid idiots go and use our money to defend MYR and play fired thinking they are smart. Those stupid idiots never learn, just like tht old man....they are living in own world.

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-01-01 11:27 | Report Abuse

Presumably, high interest rate is a component to defend the RM

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-01-01 11:40 | Report Abuse

Planeplane, Latitude seems to be a better choice, since a major part of their exports are sourced in Vietnam is produces much better rubber wood than Malaysia besides cheaper production environment and possibly more cordial look by Trumpet...

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2017-01-01 11:42 | Report Abuse

1 to 5....... waiting for that day........all will cook in a pot yahooo

Posted by Ming Jong Tey > 2017-01-01 11:51 | Report Abuse

So far, the extreme measure like to force exporters to convert 75% of their proceeds into Ringgit, did not act as a catalyst to strengthen RM. The strong oil price (above 50) also does not help much.

Should Bank Negara raise the interest rate to catch up with the FED, this will at least flatten the up-trending curve if not having a solid pull back.

One thing to look for is whether Yellen will change her hawkish tone during the FOMC from targeted 3 times rate hike in 2017 to "Due to unforeseen global risk, we are not in a hurry to raise the rate, etc..." Then we might see a meaningful retracement of the USD.

Abismail

651 posts

Posted by Abismail > 2017-01-01 12:01 | Report Abuse

If bank negara hike rate the domestic market will doom and if cut another rate food price will up ( inflation ) and ringgit will weaken..

Posted by hilmanyong > 2017-01-01 13:39 | Report Abuse

Compare USD/MYR chart with Malaysia Exports figure/chart from the link below, and you will see how co-related it has becomes. Meaning, to achieve higher Exports, MYR needs to be weaken. http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/exports

Posted by Ming Jong Tey > 2017-01-01 14:06 | Report Abuse

@twobits, the target price of 5 is based solely on USD/MYR. DXY is on its uptrend to test 106 and 112.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-01-01 22:34 | Report Abuse

speakup is right,bursa now really overvalue,maybank should be below RM 3,yet at RM 8.20 now is after a few times of bonus issues and the price should be more than RM 20 including dividends since 1998.the present govt scared to raise interest rate because many big govt bodies are tied to stocks. only interest rates can cause the downfall of bursa

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2017-01-01 22:36 | Report Abuse

in 1998 interest rate shot up till 13% and the govt bigshots mostly hit hard not like nowdays only retails are hit hard.