6 people like this.

12 comment(s). Last comment by KenaTipu_ 2018-10-04 21:58

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-07-14 07:37 | Report Abuse

Boring.This guy keep churning out his old glory days to boast. Sort of like liverpool fc who kept talking about the trophies they won in the 1980s but nothing in the last 20+ years.

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-07-14 09:29 | Report Abuse

sapu dolphin~ vivocom~

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-07-14 18:19 | Report Abuse

Posted by Flintstones > Jul 14, 2017 07:37 AM | Report Abuse Boring.This guy keep churning out his old glory days to boast. Sort of like liverpool fc who kept talking about the trophies they won in the 1980s but nothing in the last 20+ years.

This post is about sharing of a successful investing strategy which worked and continues to work consistently. Obviously it has to have some established long-enough record to show personal experience that it truly works.

If you also have a successful strategy that works, and show us your record that it works, we would love to read too.

So appreciate your unselfish sharing too, please.

weijun

Posted by weijun > 2017-07-16 22:02 | Report Abuse

Hi,Mr Chong. May I know how you calculate Enterprise Value (EV)? Thank you in advance.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-07-16 22:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockraider > Jul 16, 2017 09:39 PM | Report Abuse X

The above KC comment is shallow and miss some very important facts of PE investing loh...!!

Also KC comment of HEAD i wins and tail i don lose is highly misleading on users or PE investor loh...!!

KC cited counters like Xinguan, Msports agst Pe investment....but raider like to highlight if u take the test of xinguan on magic formula, Graham net net cash invesment and net net tangible assets...u also get the same positive results of positive buy loh...!!

Thus it is not a fair comment if u say Pe investor fail to detect a lemon when other value matrix also fail loh...!!

Why raider refute KC leh ??

Bcos this type comment...is very damaging to Ben Graham value investment theory of taking advantage of Mr market loh..!!

3672 posts

Posted by stockraider > Jul 16, 2017 09:52 PM | Report Abuse X

Yes Pe investment has its drawback...but it has its advantage too loh....!!

Raider like says....the caution point is never never use...PE as a single basis of measurement loh...!!

U must supplement investment beside with Pe, cashflow, balance sheet, corporate governance etc loh...!!

Why china redchips stocks passed with flying colors on almost all fundamental test leh ??

Raider says if u faced with blatant extreme fraud and misrepresentation of the management who ignore any convention corporate governance and accounting & reporting standard and do not follow basic principle of ethic and law, how can u use any fundamental measurement like PE leh ??

The raider only see major fundamental investors did not buy into Xinguan, it is bcos of corporate governance and the company not consistently paying regular dividend despite of huge cash holding loh..!!

3672 posts

Posted by stockraider > Jul 16, 2017 09:58 PM | Report Abuse X

In summary raider wants to reiterate PE is a good way of fundamental analysis, but it always read with other matrix including potential corporate governance.

In addition u also need to adjust the earnings to take into account of its exceptional and extraordinary items in order to derive its sustainable earnings mah...!!

Without normalising into sustainable earnings...u sometime get shock sendiri....wrong information loh...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2017-07-16 22:09 | Report Abuse

Even if u put Xinguan to the magic formula or ebit test...u still get the same result of positive buy loh...!!Why china redchips stocks passed with flying colors on almost all fundamental test leh ??

Raider says if u faced with blatant extreme fraud and misrepresentation of the management who ignore any convention corporate governance and accounting & reporting standard and do not follow basic principle of ethic and law, how can u use any fundamental measurement like PE leh ??

raider only see major fundamental investors did not buy into Xinguan, it is bcos of corporate governance and the company not consistently paying regular dividend despite of huge cash holding loh..!!

Posted by probability > 2017-07-16 22:15 | Report Abuse

raider...guess we need to check & ensure that the way the cash flow is reported in their financial statements make sense to the business model.

The best verification (litmus test) is the understanding of its business itself - nothing beats this.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2017-07-16 22:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by weijun > Jul 16, 2017 10:02 PM | Report Abuse
Hi,Mr Chong. May I know how you calculate Enterprise Value (EV)? Thank you in advance.

EV = market cap + MV of total debt + MV of minority interest - excess cash - non-operating assets

Posted by stockraider > 2017-07-16 22:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by probability > Jul 16, 2017 10:15 PM | Report Abuse

raider...guess we need to check & ensure that the way the cash flow is reported in their financial statements make sense to the business model.

The best verification (litmus test) is the understanding of its business itself - nothing beats this.

RAIDER AGREE ...UNDERSTANDING THE BUSINESS IS IMPORTANT LOH...!!

BUT WHAT IF EVERYTHING...U READ IS FRAUD...READER HAD MANY FRIEND WHO INVEST IN THE COMPANY WHICH EMPLOY THEM...BUT THE COMPANY ALSO FAIL LOH...!!

WHAT CAUSE INSIDER T0 LOSE MONIES ??
IT IS DUE TO OVER OPTIMISM LOH....!!
OPTIMISM DUE TO PERCEIVE UNDERSTANDING OF BUSINESS LOH..!!

THATS WHY RAIDER ALWAYS RECOMMEND SOME FORM OF DIVERSIFICATION...NEVER PUT MORE THAN 10% OF YOUR NETWORTH IN EACH COMPANY THAT U INVEST ON LOH...!!

JUST IN CASE U MAKE MISTAKE...DUE TO BAD LUCK...U STILL CAN MAKE A COMBACK LOH...!!

375 posts

Posted by 5354 > 2018-10-04 21:38 | Report Abuse

Ptaras left 2.39 how to make money bought 5 years ago at 4.99?

53,314 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-04 21:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by 5354 > Oct 4, 2018 09:38 PM | Report Abuse

Ptaras left 2.39 how to make money bought 5 years ago at 4.99?

Why 5354 chase high?

Calvin & Johor Sifu bought Ptaras Jaya at Rm1.40 more than 10 years ago

After bonus & split Ptaras only 40 sen cost lah

SO YOU MUST ALWAYS BUY "LOW"

KenaTipu_

47 posts

Posted by KenaTipu_ > 2018-10-04 21:58 | Report Abuse

Fair comment. Perhaps MU more suitable you should say this year.

Flintstones Boring.This guy keep churning out his old glory days to boast. Sort of like liverpool fc who kept talking about the trophies they won in the 1980s but nothing in the last 20+ years.
14/07/2017 07:37