75 comment(s). Last comment by Linus Kt 2018-10-16 00:08

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-18 22:39 | Report Abuse

DURING THE GREAT DEPRESSION OF 1929 TO 1939 JOHN MAYNARD KEYNES WAS FULLY INVESTED AND GOT CAUGHT.

HOWEVER, HE BOUGHT INTO DEFENSIVE UTILITY STOCKS WHICH PAY GOOD DIVIDENDS THROUGHOUT THE DEPRESSION YEAR PERIOD. SO HE CAME OUT OK FINALLY
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Maynard_Keynes

I GOT HIS BOOK CALLED

KEYNES WAY TO WEALTH
https://www.amazon.com/Keyness-Way-Wealth-Investment-Economist/dp/0071815473

SO WE CAN LEARN SOMETHING FROM THIS GUY WHO WENT THROUGH HELL AND SURVIVED

AND J. MAYNARD KEYNES WAS THE ONE WHO INVENTED THE KEYNESIAN ECONOMIC THEORY OF WHICH BEN BERNANKE & PAUL KRUGMAN ARE AVID FOLLOWERS

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-07-18 22:41 | Report Abuse

calvin, i picked up ur suggestion to read graham...adui ancient english took me sometimes.....

i find that graham always insist on safety first, (margin of safety), then adequate return second....i also read lynch, but find that lynch choose to sacrifice safety for growth....

so....can i do this? now still bull, i go for growth investing (value)....then bear comes, i go for value investing (graham)...

i saw your stockpicks....mostly graham style....though may not win this year, but long term macam yes

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-18 22:46 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvin Boss,
Is it safe to say that stock market crash is always caused by bank troubles?
1997 Asian financial crisis - Failure of Thai central bank
2008 Financial Crisis - Failure of banks' subprime lending

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-18 23:00 | Report Abuse

Alex Foo calvin, i picked up ur suggestion to read graham...adui ancient english took me sometimes.....

i find that graham always insist on safety first, (margin of safety), then adequate return second....i also read lynch, but find that lynch choose to sacrifice safety for growth....

so....can i do this? now still bull, i go for growth investing (value)....then bear comes, i go for value investing (graham)...

i saw your stockpicks....mostly graham style....though may not win this year, but long term macam yes
18/07/2017 22:41

YES, WE BEGIN WITH BEN GRAHAM FOR ITS FOUNDATION. THEN MOVE TO LYNCH, FISHER, BUFFET, MUNGER AND OTHERS.

LIFE IS NOT STATIC. LIFE IS EVER GROWING. AND WE LEARN NEW THINGS ALL THE TIME. BEN GRAHAM WOULD NEVER HAVE THOUGHT OF QE OR MONEY PRINTING IN HIS TIME.

SO THINGS DO CHANGE.

THAT'S WHY THROUGH HUMAN INTERVENTION A CRASH COULD BE AVERTED. AND CANS CAN BE KICKED DOWN THE ROAD IN STEAD OF KICKING THE CAN (OR DIE) SO TO SAY.

SEE HOW PEOPLE IN JAPAN GROW FRUITS AND VEGETABLES IN WINTER HOT GREEN HOUSE?

SO MEN HAVE CONQUERED THE ELEMENTS AND DO THE IMPOSSIBLE.

WITH TRUMP MAYBE MARKET WILL STILL BOOM FOR SOME TIME.

SINCE WE DON'T KNOW THE FUTURE FOR A CERTAINTY WE SHOULD JUST INVEST DEFENSIVELY WITH OUR EYES OPEN.

AND KEEPING PURE CASH IN BANK ALSO NOT AN OPTION FOR 2 REASONS

1) 3% fd RATE CANNOT COVER INFLATION. 3% FD RATE IF TREATED AS ANOTHER FORM OF INVESTMENT HAS A P/E RATIO OF 33.3 SO IT WILL TAKE 33.3 YEARS TO DOUBLE OUR MONEY

2) IF BAD TIMES SHOULD COME HOW SAFE IS THE BANKS WE PUT CASH IN? IN USA GREAT DEPRESSION 10,000 BANKS COLLAPSED. SO CASH IN BANKS ALSO NOT 100% SAFE
https://econproph.com/2009/10/26/fdic-managing-the-crisis-the-fdic-and-rtc-experience/

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-18 23:02 | Report Abuse

leno Tumpang lalu ..... KAKAKAKAKAKAKAK ... sekian, terima kasih.
18/07/2017 21:55

YES LENO IS HERE

YOU ARE OK AS YOU ONLY INVEST IN CASH/ASSET RICH COMPANIES WITH HUGE MARGIN OF SAFETY

firehawk

4,772 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2017-07-18 23:03 | Report Abuse

Ha Ha, Daim is Daim, I never blame him, so, I won't ask him Diam :D

My later realization was, his comment was only an excuse for a overvalued market to make correction. At that time, many unreasonable signs emerged, that puzzled young investors, like me, very much. Later, i realized that, market /crowd can go crazy to an so unbelievable level .....

Come back to current situation ... last week, saw an old friend, he said he had sold all his holdings 3 months ago, and when to china to spend his holiday and come back. He asked,"market still not crash woh! how?" I replied,"i also want to ask u, how?"

My feeling is, nowadays market seemed like not as vulnerable as before, and center banks, like Fed, provides cheap money to support ... but, i think nobody can say it for sure, although Yallen said it won't happen in her lifetime :)

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-18 23:10 | Report Abuse

Unicorn Hi Calvin Boss,
Is it safe to say that stock market crash is always caused by bank troubles?
1997 Asian financial crisis - Failure of Thai central bank
2008 Financial Crisis - Failure of banks' subprime lending
18/07/2017 22:46

UNICORN,

THAT IS A GOOD QUESTION

"MARKET CRASH ALWAYS CAUSED BY BANK TROUBLES?"

FOR 1997/8 BUSINESSES OVER BORROWED WITH LEVERAGE. BORROWING US DOLLARS WITH LOW INTEREST RATES TO INVEST IN RINGGIT WITH HIGH INTEREST RATES?

SO THE BLAME DOES NOT LIE SOLELY ON BANKS ALONE. IT WAS THE SENTIMENT AND EUPHORIA OF THOSE GO GO YEARS.

YES, I SAW THIS ADVERT IN THE 1990S.

"YOU CAN USE MARGIN UP TO 90% FOR STOCKS". WITH 10% DOWN AND 90% ON BORROWED MONIES SMELLED LIKE WALL STREET IN 1929.

SO BANKS ARE PARTLY TO BE BLAMED.

BUT THE BAD TIMES OF 1985 TO 1985 WERE CAUSED BY TIN AND RUBBER COLLAPSE.

DR. M WANTED TO CORNER THE LONDON TIN TRADE. BUT HE DIDN'T KNOW THAT THE AMERICANS GOT LOTS OF TIN IN RESERVE WHICH THEY STARTED DUMPING.

SO IT WAS MORE HUMAN MISTAKE THEN

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2017-07-19 20:20 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing good article. Just my doubt. your Last paragraph "If you cannot - then better keep Cash"... keep cash in the bank or Keep physical cash under pillow? I wonder are we allow to withdraw any cash from bank?

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-20 19:37 | Report Abuse

Simple man,
All deposits up to Rm200,000 per account is insured, i think. So just divide up to each bank accordingly.
Can also by into Z Spore Govt Bond

However, cash as an investment is a no no. Cash should be kept like Warren Buffet while awaiting next investment opportunity

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-20 23:19 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvin Boss, how do you see this?

May 8, 2017 - Brexit process will expose basic weakness in European banking
(https://twitter.com/patrickjenkins_/status/861541702410153984)

20 Jul 2017 - Deutsche Bank Preparing for Hard Brexit, CEO Cryan Tells Employees (https://twitter.com/Brexit/status/887973738704187392)

20 Jul 2017 - Nordea postpones HQ decision and misses quarterly forecasts
(http://www.forexrepository.com/news/nordea-postpones-hq-decision-and-misses-quarterly-forecasts.htm)

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-20 23:25 | Report Abuse

Will the banks problem in EU has a financial contagion effect on the whole world and cause a major market crash? Hmmm...

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-07-21 00:19 | Report Abuse

Unicorn,

Both Europe and US are in long term descend.
The future has moved to Asia.
Right now both Europe and US have little or no growth.

Their economies are kept alive by artificial support.

But the main danger might emanate from China. China today is like the gogo years of Us in 1920s which later ended in the Great Depression

Posted by apolloang > 2017-07-21 01:03 | Report Abuse

talking about the financial crisis,how many stocks do u have now datuk calvin? how to avoid a crash or a crisis if u have a lot of counters?

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-21 01:09 | Report Abuse

The number of stocks holding has no relationship with the effects suffered from a probable crisis. It is how much money of your net worth that you put in stock market that matters to your life and death..

Posted by apolloang > 2017-07-21 01:15 | Report Abuse

the more counters 1 is holding and mostly everyday volumeless,how to sell when there is a crash? wanna cut loss also cannot

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-21 01:16 | Report Abuse

Ah how I wish I can predict a financial crisis and capitalize on that. G9

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-07-21 01:19 | Report Abuse

A good counter will not be illiquid. So reorganize your portfolio in this good time..

Posted by apolloang > 2017-07-21 01:21 | Report Abuse

datuk calvin kwantas,harnlen,texchem,mhc,mpcorp how to sell?

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-13 19:16 | Report Abuse

VERY SOON NOW

IMF MEANS TO ANWAR IBRAHIM

I AM FLOURISHING!!!

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-13 21:00 |

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-13 22:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by calvintaneng > Oct 12, 2018 07:30 AM | Report Abuse X

There are many stocks up 100% to 300% more than cover the losses

1. Pm Corp up 100%
2. Ajiya up 100%
3. Super Enterprize up 200%
4. Pohuat or power huat up 200%
5. Drb up 200%
6. Padini up 200%
7. Opcom up 200%
8. Ipmuda limit up more than 100%
9. Silk up 200%
10. Prestar or Pre-Star. Buy it before it turns into a Star....up 200%
11. RceCap up 100%
12. GSB up 100%

So many chun chun jackpots more than cover losses

Many others up 30% to 80% like kheesan, masteel, kpscb, dutaland, Tambun, Maju Perak, Focus Lumber, Ekson and others

Remember the maximum loss of a single share is 100%.

See. So many up 100% to 200% already. And the only 2 near total loss are Perisai and Mp Corp. Yet none delisted yet. For Mp Corp the latest report though suspended still made good monies by asset disposal. So is anticonman a liarman?

22696 posts
Posted by calvintaneng > Oct 12, 2018 07:32 AM | Report Abuse X

YES JAKS WAS 40 SEN ON DECEMBER 16 2014

WHEN JAKS UP 200% CALVIN CALLED FOR A SELL.

53,458 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-10-13 23:07 | Report Abuse

Yes better SELL QES & REACH

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-14 22:06 | Report Abuse

always go counter to what bodoh coward calvintaneng says and u will be safe.

btw, stop reporting my posts as abuse.

if u dont want me to call u a bodoh coward, then dont behave like a bodoh coward.

lol...........

Linus Kt

114 posts

Posted by Linus Kt > 2018-10-16 00:08 | Report Abuse

So how’s the MPCorp??? Waiting for money burnoff ???