Wow. Thank

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-10-21 22:41 | Report Abuse

tq. great sharing

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2017-10-22 06:25 | Report Abuse

Part 1 sums up a point: The incremental gain of an additional piece of information is approaching zero, possibly negative value when factor in time loss, overconfidence and risk taking that are normally associated with investors that acquire a lot of information (which are 99% noise) compare to those that don't.

chrisyap

615 posts

Posted by chrisyap > 2017-10-22 08:46 | Report Abuse

DY stocks like magnum, bjtoto, cbip are atrractive now ..

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2017-10-22 10:17 | Report Abuse

数据控来的

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-10-22 14:19 | Report Abuse

Very sound philosophy and strategy. Has been guided by Dynaquest for decades. Thanks for sharing.

Posted by Pedestrian > 2017-10-22 21:16 | Report Abuse

Great sharing, Thanks.

Posted by Pedestrian > 2017-10-22 21:34 | Report Abuse

How the Dynaquest subscription could benefit us as potential investors?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-10-22 22:40 | Report Abuse

Too bad.
Dr. Neo is late to the party
The next decade will be crypto or Bitcoin age where ico/kick starter crowdfunding flood the market.
And currency will no longer valid because everyone can make their own currency, the end of banking industry and Rothschild's wealth.

53,307 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-23 10:30 | Report Abuse

Grand Master Champion Sifu Dr. Neoh has laid down very sound foundations for True Investments.

By following the Legendary Benjamin Graham of Old Dr. Neoh himself is the embodiment of Malaysia's Ben Graham today!

ALL HAIL TO VALUE INVESTING!!!

THIS IS THE WAY!!

THE ONLY WAY TO REAL LONG TERM SOLID & LASTING SUCCESS IN INVESTMENTS!!

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-10-23 10:36 | Report Abuse

ya. investing wise, Dr Neoh is correct. Fit with Graham's adequate return philosophy.

But Fisher is against dividend approach. He does not pay too much attention to it. Instead, he focuses on companies that will potentially grow at above-average return for an extended period of time. Hence growth investing is incompatible with dividend investing approach.

Posted by Hengyuan: SEXY BABE RM21! > 2017-10-23 10:45 | Report Abuse

wow, Dr. Neoh website down . the respond is overwhelming I think

53,307 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-23 10:55 | Report Abuse

Yes Alex,

Fisher is good at scuttlebutting - visiting Companies first hand to see for himself its operations. And Fisher did pretty well for the most part. Except in his final last few years when he kept trimming & trimming his portfolio until he has less than 5 stocks left. And he didn't perform that well in the end.

You can read that in "Common Stocks Uncommon Profits" By Fisher

Posted by stockraider > 2017-10-23 10:59 | Report Abuse

Dr Neoh,

Never believe in visiting co, essentially he just concentrate on desk research loh...!!

He told me, div is a test of co financial ability...if they cannot pay...minus marks loh...!!

Of course, growth co, can gain back marks with its growth, that it provided they still can grow loh...!!

53,307 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-10-23 12:07 | Report Abuse

Yes Great Raider,

One funny thing happened. Last time Dr. Neoh recommended RUBHD at Rm1.20, I think.

RUBHD has a P/E around 3 or 4. NTA over Rm3.00. Only problem was RUBHD didn't pay any dividend.

Because RUBHD paid no dividend my Johor SIFU (the faithful disciple of Dr. Neoh) did not buy any RUBHD & he missed it when RUBHD was taken private around Rm3.00

I think RUBHD was the only exception.

And regarding Desk Research - Walter Schloss did the same.

However, Peter Lynch followed Fisher by visiting many companies. That's why Peter Lynch Magellan Fund at 39% did better than Warren at 25% for several years.

But the stress & hardwork was too much for Peter and his hair turned white. And he was smart to retire after that.

For Warren there is less stress. So is Dr. Neoh. Surprisingly he still look quite youthful.

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-10-23 14:54 | Report Abuse

ya Calvin. I read Fisher's Uncommon Profit book, and love his 15 points stuff, what to buy, when to buy, what to sell chapters.

He also mentioned about diversification. I guess I learned a lot from him especially on the need to have an extra bit of patience, and stuff concerning market timing.

I love his high school friends investment illustration. Made me missed vitrox.

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-10-23 14:58 | Report Abuse

thank you for sharing. We need more dialog on this to keep me sane at times.

Btw, what makes you favor value investing over growth investing? Actually, Fisher does comment on value investing, and he still thinks that growth investing is the best way. It's mentioned in the same book.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-10-23 16:09 |

Micht

85 posts

Posted by Micht > 2017-10-23 16:22 | Report Abuse

I can't seem to click in the link. Anyone care to share the PDF file content here or mind to send me

Micht

85 posts

Posted by Micht > 2017-10-23 17:31 | Report Abuse

Thanks Tan KW. Always love to read articles you shared. May I ask if you guys have more reading materials from Dr Neoh? I tried hard to find his book but to no avail.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-10-23 23:11 | Report Abuse

October 23, 2017 17:44 pm MYT
FBM KLCI lifted by bargain hunting ahead of Malaysia's Budget 2018

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/fbm-klci-lifted-bargain-hunting-ahead-malaysias-budget-2018