53 comment(s). Last comment by dragonofdark 2018-02-06 11:47

Solomon7

370 posts

Posted by Solomon7 > 2018-02-03 17:06 | Report Abuse

Agreed, due to election factor. Let see whether the bear or the bull will take charge on Monday.

My observation is local institutions are selling because lack of liquidity in local front. This is required for the so called foreign fund to buy up. After all, this is a 'closed" market

Posted by ScrewDriver > 2018-02-03 17:08 | Report Abuse

high five ahahaha

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2018-02-03 18:04 | Report Abuse

Most Benefit? Look past history what happend to our bursa when dji down 500-600

Posted by FortuneTeller2018 > 2018-02-03 18:09 | Report Abuse

Monday he is the first to run

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2018-02-03 18:14 | Report Abuse

Yup. First person q sell

ChloeTai

1,064 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2018-02-03 18:17 | Report Abuse

In my opinion from past experience, when the laggards start to wake up and do catching up, it is the end of the bull run. Our own KLCI is the most laggard share market in the whole world and now it is now moving. This may indicate the end of the global bull run.

emil

1,428 posts

Posted by emil > 2018-02-03 18:28 | Report Abuse

No major war, no natural disaster, no major terror.....this 665 drop due to US interest rate hikes means US economy is very healthy......means more US funds will flow into Malaysia.....next week Bursa CNY goreng starts.

ChloeTai

1,064 posts

Posted by ChloeTai > 2018-02-03 18:33 | Report Abuse

Can any old timers remember there were three 'office space rental' stocks which were the last to rally just before Daim Zainuddin press statements and Bank Negara intervention caused the 1993 FBMKLCI super bull rally come to an end.

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2018-02-03 18:36 | Report Abuse

Idris,Granite?It came down because Tun Daim said something can't really remember though

Junichiro

2,036 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2018-02-03 18:47 | Report Abuse

Those were the days when we were labelled one of the 'tiger economies'. But those times are already long gone. Now the structure of KLSE is that the dominant force are the local institutions eg. EPF .... which are active daily with a small portion of retail players and foreign funds.
The KLCI managed to move up due to foreign buying. But the market breadth is negative! It is not like those days prior to 1997.

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2018-02-03 18:48 | Report Abuse

In malaysia stock market,how many of those 2nd/3rd liners which were pushed aggressively still exist today? Just a handful practically most of them got delisted.Hence always be vigilant and mindful that the syndicates could be pushing those non fundamental stock to dizzling heights to distribute as much as they can as they know it possibly can't make it and would get delisted.It's ironic people will bargain hunt when a rubbish stock that was pushed came down but people won't buy a fundamental stock no matter how low or cheap it is.Hence the syndicate pushed to distribute as they can find buyers if they push.

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2018-02-03 18:50 | Report Abuse

Those days,as long as KLSE is up,you will make even if you close your eyes to buy any stock but not anymore.Nowadays,you have to be selective even index link stocks.

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2018-02-03 18:52 | Report Abuse

oh ahp.ya even $1 loan stock went well above $1.

Junichiro

2,036 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2018-02-03 18:52 | Report Abuse

The theme conjured up by those foreign funds then include: "Pacific century", "tiger economies" .. which resulted in the super bull of 1993.
Krugman was quoted saying SEA economies are built on quicksand. He was right.
While those foreign funds were busy buying, the Japanese were busy selling. The Japanese are smart.

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2018-02-03 19:02 | Report Abuse

Structured warrants started it's maiden trading in 2005/2006.I did benefit a lot from these instruments.Those days commission 1% also easy to make money ,now have to be very selective though comm is 10% only of those days.In our stockmarket,normally second/third liners will top out when the volume surged extraordinary just like a few wks ago when volume hit 5-6 million.All these yrs,it has never changed! I wonder what sector can perform decently this yr!

Posted by Bystander123 > 2018-02-03 19:58 | Report Abuse

ChloeTai Can any old timers remember there were three 'office space rental' stocks which were the last to rally just before Daim Zainuddin press statements and Bank Negara intervention caused the 1993 FBMKLCI super bull rally come to an end.
03/02/2018 18:33

wow ! to have such vivid recall of events back 25 yrs, ago,

were u in the stock broking business n or made your 1st millions back then ?

hahaha

Posted by Bystander123 > 2018-02-03 20:03 | Report Abuse

Yes, see many seasoned veterans here, a good day to learn from your sharing !

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-02-03 22:12 | Report Abuse

Dow up from 18,000 points to 26,000 points is 44% Up

Dropping 665 points only 2.54%?

DID KLSE GO UP BY 44%?

SO WHY PANIC NOW WHEN DOW ONLY CORRECTED A LITTLE?

Posted by apolloang > 2018-02-03 22:17 | Report Abuse

see dow Monday 1st.....most crash happen on mon. if mon rebound then is ok.

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-02-03 23:38 | Report Abuse

My Say: Economists should not make forecasts | http://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/338305

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2018-02-03 23:39 | Report Abuse

this edge mabuk already.
the article dated 3rd march 2018

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2018-02-03 23:54 | Report Abuse

The beginning of the end

traderman

7,854 posts

Posted by traderman > 2018-02-04 08:10 | Report Abuse

haha ask this question. condirmt klci open -20 at least. all stocks will sink 5-10%

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-02-04 08:19 | Report Abuse

I read a document published by CME group. The title is Asian Stock Index Correlations.

The correlation between KLCI and the Dow is only 0.351 from January, 2007 thru March 14, 2014.

The correlation between KLCI and Nikkei 225 is 0.666 from January, 2007 thru March 14, 2014.

The correlation between KLCI and Hang Seng is only 0.612 from January, 2007 thru March 14, 2014.

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-02-04 08:46 | Report Abuse

The Dow was down 2.54% on Friday, but

1. the correlation between KLCI and the Dow is low.
2. KLCI did not go up greatly from 2017 onwards compared to the Dow.

I forecast KLCI will end up being down only 0.1% - 0.6%

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-02-04 11:21 | Report Abuse

This chart shows what tends to happen to markets after a big plunge in the Dow like this

This has occurred 17 times in the last 25 years, not including Friday's decline.
The findings show benchmark market indexes tend to rebound the next day and the next week following such big drops.
https://www.cnbc.com/2018/02/02/the-dow-is-plunging-more-than-500-points-what-happens-next.html

Rukawa

126 posts

Posted by Rukawa > 2018-02-04 12:18 | Report Abuse

For those who worry about the last Friday US market big drop, here are my view and advices:

1. First you need to understand the reason of that correction, US stock markets have surged significantly after election without even a minor correction, and this kind of minor correction (weekly 3.9%) is long waited by most of the analysts. As you know healthy correction is key to fuel the longer bull run. Never in the history any bull run without any correction along the way.
2. US economy is getting stronger as expected. Job market looks promising, wages continue to go up, that will eventually result in economy expansion. Never in the history crisis happened during this kind of economy booming.
3. Someone might worry about the bonds yield, if you check the bonds history, current yield level is still very low, it's not going to cause any real impact to economy, overall borrowing cost is still low, EU and JP still in QE, we are still "very far" from monetary tightening. US inflation is not even stay at 2%, JP still struggling to achieve their inflation goal. In short, cheap money still in glut.
4. The recent drop is mainly due to repositioning. Fund managers are getting out from bond market and get into stock, commodities markets. This is very common during economy booming cycle. Check the history, any market expansion will make bonds look less attractive and strong momentum in stocks and commodities.
5. The last time Dow dropped more than 600 points (and that's 3.4%) is during Brexit in Jun 2016, and the turbulence from Brexit is much bigger than current situation. What happened next? Dow bounced back strongly the next days, the next week. And what's the real impact from that big drop? If you are panic selling during Brexit time you will missed all the strong rally after that.
6. Most importantly, ask yourself before panic selling. Do you borrow money to buy stocks? Do you expect to get margin call? If you are real value investor and having adequate holding power, there's nothing to worry about. The only thing you may concern is where to get more money to buy stocks during such a great Sales time. Look back my post in 2weeks time from now and you will understand how ridiculous people react towards market turbulence.

SureGood

95 posts

Posted by SureGood > 2018-02-04 12:22 | Report Abuse

Goods,,,thank u,,sir.

henry888

2,247 posts

Posted by henry888 > 2018-02-04 12:23 | Report Abuse

Big sell...Big buy....Big Bull

Rukawa

126 posts

Posted by Rukawa > 2018-02-04 12:23 | Report Abuse

投資之神Peter Lynch:

在過去70多年曆史上發生的40次股市暴跌中,即使其中39次我提前預測到,而且在暴跌前賣掉了所有的股票,我最後也會後悔萬分的。因為即使是跌幅最大的那次股災,股價最終也漲回來了,而且漲得更高。股市下跌沒什麼好驚訝的,這種事情總是一次又一次發生,就像明尼蘇達州的寒冬一次又一次來臨一樣,只不過是很平常的事情而已。如果你生活在氣候寒冷的地帶,你早就習以為常,事先早就預計到會有氣下降到能結冰的時候,那麼當室外度降到低於零度時,你肯定不會恐慌地認為下一個冰河時代就要來了。而你會穿上皮大衣,在人行道上撒些鹽,防止結冰,就一切搞定了,你會這樣安慰自己—冬天來了,夏季還會遠嗎?到那時天氣又會暖和起來的!成功的選股者和股市下跌的關係,就像明尼蘇達州的居民和寒冷天氣的關係一樣。你知道股市大跌總會發生,也為安然度過股市大跌事前做好了準備。如果你看好的隨其他股票一起大跌了,你就會迅速抓住機會趁低更多地買入。1987年股市暴跌之後,道瓊斯指數曾經一天之內下跌了508點,那些投資專家們異口同聲地預測股市要崩潰了,但是事後證明,儘管道瓊斯指數暴跌1000點之多(從8月份指數最高點計算跌幅高達33%),也沒有像人們預料的那樣股市末日來臨。這只不過是一次正常的股市調整而已,儘管調整幅度非常大,但也只不過是20世紀13次跌幅超過33%的股市調整中的最近一次而已。從此之後,雖然又發生過一次跌幅超過10%的股市大跌,也不過是歷史上第41次而已,或者這樣説,即使這次是一次跌幅超過33%的股市大跌,也不過是歷史上第14次而已,沒有什麼好大驚小怪的。在麥哲倫基金年報中,我經常提醒投資者,這種股市回調不可避免,總會發生的,千萬不要恐慌。每當股市大跌,我對未來憂慮之時,我就會回憶過去歷史上發生過40次股市大跌這一事實,來安撫自己那顆有些恐懼的心,我告訴自己,股市大跌其實是好事,讓我們又有一次好機會,以很低的價格買入那些很優秀的公司股票.

Posted by coldinvestor > 2018-02-04 12:35 | Report Abuse

希望能趁这一次的大调整买进心仪股。

Posted by Bystander123 > 2018-02-04 14:12 | Report Abuse

latest BURSA Malaysia share trading statistics for Jan. 2018 :

% activity (Billion RM Nett Buy/Sell (in Billions RM)
Local Institutions (41.84%) - 2.9
Local Nominees (18.78%) - 0.5
Local PDT (5.73%) 0
Local Retail (21.71%) 0.1
------
subtotal - 3.3 billion (RM)

Foreign Institutions (18.78%) +3.4 billion (RM)
Foreign retail (0.35%) - 0.1 billion (RM)
------
subtotal - 3.3 billion (RM)

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/misc/system/equity_market_statistics/securities_equities_trading_participation_investor2012.pdf

For Jan. 2018, local institutions/nominees are nett sellers to the tune of rm3.4 billion, while local retailers added rm0.1 billion to their holdings.

If u view smart money as the local institutions/nominees, what should local retailers be thinking about now ? Should we be buying more or taking profit ?

Even though KLCI index have been heading higher, the overall market breadth has been negative, with more shares down than up, for the past 2 weeks

Will the new week bring another round of selldown or will the Bulls come out tops ? at least in KLCI component stocks.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2018-02-04 14:13 | Report Abuse

BEWARE, ALL MONEY PULL OUT FROM US WILL FLOW INTO KLSE!!! this is why drop 666 point!!!!

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2018-02-04 14:13 | Report Abuse

Monday KLCI UP 4 %

Posted by Bystander123 > 2018-02-04 14:17 | Report Abuse

it is obvious that the optimal solution for over commited/all in investors is different from investors with adequate cash reserves in the kitty ..hihi

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-02-04 14:26 | Report Abuse

Extract from MRCB Forum

Posted by calvintaneng > Feb 4, 2018 11:51 AM | Report Abuse X

Winner?

Yes tomorrow 99% of the people will be in panic selling.

ONLY 1% WHO DARE TO BUY WILL BE THE WINNER.

I HOPE I AM BRAVE ENOUGH TO BUY EVEN MORE WHEN PEOPLE ARE PANIC STRICKEN IN ABJECT FEAR!!!

WHAT IS WRONG WITH CALVIN?

INSTEAD OF FEELING FEARFUL HOW COME I AM FEARLESS? AND SO HAPPY IN CRISIS?

AHA

CRISIS IS OPPORTUNITY TO MEET DANGER WITH PREPARATION

I AM HAPPILY WAITING WITH

((( OPERASI TONG SAMPAH)))

FOR NOW GO SEE

WWW.CHICK.COM

Posted by cheshirecat > Feb 4, 2018 01:53 PM | Report Abuse

Yes auntie aso waiting for tong sampah operasi! Auntie big cat fierce grows wilder after i hv knw calvin in i3 forum n read calvin way of investmt approach !

CALVIN KNOWS MORE THAN 80% OF THE PEOPLE ARE IN TOTAL PANIC TOMORROW!!!

BUT DON"T WORRY AT ALL

DOW GONE UP FROM 18,000 TO 26,000 POINTS IN LESS THAN 1 YEAR

THAT'S UP 44%

NOW ONLY DOWN 665 POINTS WHICH IS A MERE 2.54% DROP?

SO THE PANIC IS OVERDONE!!!

SO TOMORROW IS OUR GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO BUY ON WEAKNESS!!!
04/02/2018 14:24

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2018-02-04 14:27 | Report Abuse

Extract from MRCB Forum

Posted by calvintaneng > Feb 4, 2018 11:51 AM | Report Abuse X

Winner?

Yes tomorrow 99% of the people will be in panic selling.

I HOPE I AM BRAVE ENOUGH TO BUY EVEN MORE WHEN PEOPLE ARE PANIC STRICKEN IN ABJECT FEAR!!!

WHAT IS WRONG WITH CALVIN?

INSTEAD OF FEELING FEARFUL HOW COME I AM FEARLESS? AND SO HAPPY IN CRISIS?

AHA

CRISIS IS OPPORTUNITY TO MEET DANGER WITH PREPARATION

I AM HAPPILY WAITING WITH

((( OPERASI TONG SAMPAH)))

FOR NOW GO SEE

WWW.CHICK.COM

Posted by cheshirecat > Feb 4, 2018 01:53 PM | Report Abuse

Yes auntie aso waiting for tong sampah operasi! Auntie big cat fierce grows wilder after i hv knw calvin in i3 forum n read calvin way of investmt approach !

CALVIN KNOWS MORE THAN 80% OF THE PEOPLE ARE IN TOTAL PANIC TOMORROW!!!

BUT DON"T WORRY AT ALL

DOW GONE UP FROM 18,000 TO 26,000 POINTS IN LESS THAN 1 YEAR

THAT'S UP 44%

NOW ONLY DOWN 665 POINTS WHICH IS A MERE 2.54% DROP?

SO THE PANIC IS OVERDONE!!!

SO TOMORROW IS OUR GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO BUY ON WEAKNESS!!!
04/02/2018 14:24

Posted by Bystander123 > 2018-02-04 15:11 | Report Abuse

Hoe Weng :

" In the other side, what will be the impact on Malaysia FBMKLCI?
My opinion, Malaysia market will be benefited the most.
In short, I foresee our KLCI likely to break new high in near term."

Can see tht FBMKLCI 30 component stks have done v.well in Jan.2018, with FBMKLCI up 4.8%, Sime Darby up 37.83%, Nestle up 12.06%, YTL up 14.17%, CIMB up 11.53%, n banking stks outperforming.

If, as u expect,KLCI break new high in near term, whc component stks , shd have better prospects to outperform the index ?

thks. in advance

Hoe Weng

214 posts

Posted by Hoe Weng > 2018-02-04 15:42 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the sharing, all sifus here. Appreciate that ;)

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2018-02-04 17:58 | Report Abuse

friday down 666
monday down 999

Max2838

459 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2018-02-04 19:48 | Report Abuse

Daim Zainuddin did mentioned that he only dabbled in stock market for golfing money...

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by dragonofdark > 2018-02-05 01:01 | Report Abuse

"Yes tomorrow 99% of the people will be in panic selling.

I HOPE I AM BRAVE ENOUGH TO BUY EVEN MORE WHEN PEOPLE ARE PANIC STRICKEN IN ABJECT FEAR!!! "

Really really funny to see all the response from those sozai in share market. Yes, only 1% who dare to buy will be the winner, but not from those who rush in to buy on first day, those are the 1% who died first ... hahaha laugh die me ady !!!

Foreign fund weapon all fully loaded with bullets and canon after few weeks of buying, now just wait our clever retail investor to bring their bottle, scissor, knife, stick or whatever to rush to them. These clever investor please get ready to get sapu all sekaligus ~ haha >.<"

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2018-02-05 09:31 | Report Abuse

Who bought @ 9 can sell @ 5. Good job!

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2018-02-05 09:59 | Report Abuse

Actually it is a good thing for US to raise interest rate. Looking at the bad loans from banks have risen significantly, it is time to tighten lending to prevent another 2008 financial crisis due to banks' failure to collect back money.

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2018-02-05 10:02 | Report Abuse

Though the interest rate raise will stunt the economy growth a bit thus the market must pull back a bit until a certain level. A little pull back to prevent a big crash is definitely worth it.

Posted by stockswizard > 2018-02-05 17:03 | Report Abuse

Don't care about the market or KLCI. My stock pick here will outperform others!
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/$awc$/146430.jsp

UnicornP

2,748 posts

Posted by UnicornP > 2018-02-05 17:23 | Report Abuse

Because we are already such excellent stock pickers, nothing to do mai 88 the market lo.

Posted by dragonofdark > 2018-02-06 02:38 | Report Abuse

second day of slaughtering is coming ~ teng teng teng ~ sozhai investors VS fully loaded armored foreign fund! Close the gate! release the retail investors! xD