18 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2018-03-30 18:05

Hotrod

730 posts

Posted by Hotrod > 2018-03-28 14:28 | Report Abuse

this company is another Felda in the making. Sure got alot corruption inside.

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2018-03-28 14:55 | Report Abuse

hahaha............when politics mixed with business sure go to hell everything no matter how good you managed it.

kingcobra

2,772 posts

Posted by kingcobra > 2018-03-28 15:46 | Report Abuse

gone case...

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-28 22:16 | Report Abuse

you good

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-28 22:19 | Report Abuse

my concern is also....Company says impairment is non cash item...Good for future earnings......tell people to buy for future earnings.....

got work or no work? If got work why need to impair? Company playing with accountants and analysts?

RVI123

660 posts

Posted by RVI123 > 2018-03-29 22:33 | Report Abuse

Sapura Energy is in technology based oil and gas business. Looking at the current diminishing situation, the morale and the efficiency of the company will definitely be affected. Just look at the once market leader, Seadrill and its fate.

newbie2018

150 posts

Posted by newbie2018 > 2018-03-30 04:51 | Report Abuse

sifus why Omighty must pick SAP to study? Why not study on other counters as well? Pls reply as I am newbie.

4,754 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-03-30 07:05 | Report Abuse

Dear qqq3,
In accounting term depreciation is addition cash flow as any fixed asset (depending on class of asset) is allowed to charge depreciation cost over a given fixed period of year. Since TAX is charge on taxable income (Earning after depreciation and interest expense) thus yours Tax payable will be less.
Fixed asset can only be write off if you have accident (Fire , Flood, Earthquake or any man-make/natural disaster) causing your asset unable to perform as intend (scrap). So what is this asset impairment mean in accounting term and how can this improve your future earning when without depreciation cost your taxable income will be higher and you have to pay more tax.
Hope your accounting professional knowledge will enlighten us.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 08:06 | Report Abuse

Depreciation is accounting stuffs.....In tax terms it is called capital allowances..computed separately and independent of each other.
whatever it is , impairment is also purely accounting stuffs...no impact on operations and cashflows....so analysts are trained to ignore impairments.

lots of questions....bottom line is...investors should not reward companies for playing games with accountants and analysts. If there is large impairments, means the companies have blundered ....don't reward them.

4,754 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-03-30 08:09 | Report Abuse

Dear qqq3,
Point taken.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 08:18 | Report Abuse

but I do hope somebody takes up the issue with the MIA, MICPA, SC, MSWG....................if the journalists don't do it.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/qqq3/152156.jsp

analysts are not going to do it...analysts love impairments....after the share have fallen the way Sapura did...it gives the share an excuse to go up.

4,754 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-03-30 09:12 | Report Abuse

Dear qqq3,
Just google the internet;
https://www.hasilnet.org.my/capital-allowance-types-rates/
“Capital allowances consist of an initial allowance and annual allowance. Initial allowance is fixed at the rate of 20% based on the original cost of the asset at the time when the capital expenditure is incurred.
While annual allowance is a flat rate given every year based on the original cost of the asset. The annual allowance is given for each year until the capital expenditure has been fully written off, unless the fixed asset is sold, scrapped or disposed, in which case a balancing allowance or balancing charge will be calculated.”

Does capital impairment qualify as Capital allowance to be used in the subsequent financial accounting year as tax credit?

angelol

688 posts

Posted by angelol > 2018-03-30 10:36 | Report Abuse

Whether your depreciation high or low, it will not affect your tax payable for income tax, because depreciation is a non-deductible item in corporation tax. However, the impairment of asset, will affect the "deferred tax liability", it will definitely reduce your deferred tax liability. Just basic accounting knowledge.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 10:42 | Report Abuse

Does capital impairment qualify as Capital allowance to be used in the subsequent financial accounting year as tax credit?
=====================

its possible....all the qualifying sums not claimed previously can be claimed immediately if the asset is scraped.....

angelol

688 posts

Posted by angelol > 2018-03-30 11:03 | Report Abuse

Yes, impairment is not scrapped, scrapped means "written off".

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 11:12 | Report Abuse

angelol > Mar 30, 2018 11:03 AM | Report Abuse

Yes, impairment is not scrapped, scrapped means "written off".
==================================

you also right lol

its like provision for bad debts vs bad debts written off.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 11:17 | Report Abuse

the accounting profession need an accounting standard for impairments................

In this case, they delay the impairment until the share price hits 50 sen , in the meantime, the Directors most likely already know about it at least 12 months ago when the share price is much higher.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-30 18:05 | Report Abuse

pain has been changed into joy because analysts love impairments on a share that have drop from $ 4.00 to 50 sen.......

that is why share market follows its own laws......