53 comment(s). Last comment by Ricky Yeo 2018-10-16 20:08

Posted by apolloang > 2018-10-16 00:08 | Report Abuse

why I dare not touch parkson,
1)post hefty losses
2)excessive speculation drop from RM 10.
from the past we seen repco,cp bhd,union paper,kpsd and many more excessive speculation stocks from heroes become zeros

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 00:11 | Report Abuse

my logic is even simpler, bro apollo.

parkson is unable to compete against e-commerce or brick-and-mortar chinese malls.

now with this us-china trade war, chinese consumption on non-essentials will be cut.

so where is the growth for parkson????

Posted by apolloang > Oct 16, 2018 12:08 AM | Report Abuse

why I dare not touch parkson,
1)post hefty losses
2)excessive speculation drop from RM 10.
from the past we seen repco,cp bhd,union paper,kpsd and many more excessive speculation stocks from heroes become zeros

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 01:13 | Report Abuse

they call themselves value investors...its just marketing...in reality, its hang pig head sell dog meat.

I like people who goes for quality, focus on quality stuffs. ....like buying Rolex watches, a bit more expensive, its ok....or buying quality paintings, a bit more expensive, never mind one.....one day will trade higher.....

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 08:10 |

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 10:15 | Report Abuse

look at the business/product/service first. management second. any other thing third

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 10:17 | Report Abuse

look at your tests...if u find one that meets the tests, it is not likely to be a famous company.....not likely to be a quality company....not likely to be company that has a good reputation.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 10:24 | Report Abuse

B Graham lives in the ancient world, we live in the internet age....

B Graham lives in a world 100 meters Olympic champion is 15 seconds...Our Olympic champions run below 10 seconds.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 10:33 | Report Abuse

Buffett's Value Orientation Was Stood on Its Head

Buffet began as a student of Benjamin Graham, who taught an emphasis on buying cheap stocks relative to net assets and book value, holding them until their intrinsic values were reflected in market price, and then selling the stocks before moving on to other stocks with similar characteristics. The influence of Buffett's partner, Charlie Munger, tossed this mindset to the side and Berkshire Hathaway's portfolio has never been the same.

tossed aside by their hero yet people still think their value investing is to the way to go......

Read more: 3 Misconceptions about Warren Buffett | Investopedia https://www.investopedia.com/articles/investing/021316/3-misconceptions-about-warren-buffett.asp#ixzz5U3cWT2FK
Follow us: Investopedia on Facebook

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 10:47 | Report Abuse

Invert.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 10:50 | Report Abuse

tossed aside already.....still don't know.

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 11:02 | Report Abuse

i give up on ppl still advocating in value investing, qqq3.

my logic is very simple.

if value investing really works, then why did icap's ttb making 95% losses in parkson or why warren buffet missed out on fang.

lol..........

Posted by qqq3 > Oct 16, 2018 10:50 AM | Report Abuse

tossed aside already.....still don't know.

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 11:04 | Report Abuse

If Parkson view true why not Padini and Aeon also true?

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 11:09 | Report Abuse

You haven't answered my question. Why call me stupid?

25,147 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-10-16 11:10 | Report Abuse

The once mighty Sears of USA just filed for bankruptcy
Parkson next?

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 11:11 |

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 11:13 | Report Abuse

Why Aeon, Padini can escape from E-Commerce? Pls provide answer.

joetay2 my logic is even simpler, bro apollo.

parkson is unable to compete against e-commerce or brick-and-mortar chinese malls.

now with this us-china trade war, chinese consumption on non-essentials will be cut.

so where is the growth for parkson????

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-16 11:15 | Report Abuse

Sears USA use be a giant few decade ago already bankrupt....this is bad news for retail and bad news for parkson loh....!!

25,147 posts

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 11:20 | Report Abuse

Posted by speakup > Oct 16, 2018 11:10 AM | Report Abuse

The once mighty Sears of USA just filed for bankruptcy
Parkson next?
===============

yes.....

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 11:20 | Report Abuse

In my many years of investing, my long term returns have been mainly from growth investing rather than value investing.

As I have mentioned before, growth and value investing are 2 sides of the same coin of value investing.

In value investing, you are foraging in the rubbish dump looking for gems. Sometime you are lucky.

In growth investing, you are looking for great companies with long term growth prospects of many years into the future. Your risk is you made mistakes in projecting their growth too high and overpaying to own them.

Over the long years of my investing growth investing has rewarded me hugely. The compounding in the later years is truly big.

Also, you can hold these great companies for a long time, selling only rarely.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 11:25 | Report Abuse

Posted by joetay2 > Oct 16, 2018 11:02 AM | Report Abuse

i give up on ppl still advocating in value investing, qqq3.

my logic is very simple.

if value investing really works, then why did icap's ttb making 95% losses in parkson or why warren buffet missed out on fang.

in the end what matters is the business making money. so always look at the business first. if u want asset. go buy real estate not stock

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 11:25 | Report Abuse

Sears? I never heard before. What they sell? Is it Rolex watch? I cannot afford to buy.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 11:28 | Report Abuse

if u buy stock for its asset. when will your money materialize.

could be 10 years, 20 years. it could be forever.
your asset could be growing in value but you couldnt materialize your equity.
or your asset could be depreciating until nothing is left like in parkson case.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-10-16 11:28 | Report Abuse

msian never heard of sears,americans also never heard of parkson.they tot is Korean park's son.....hahaha

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 11:31 | Report Abuse

What is wrong with Parkson today?

Parkson dominates the Malaysian retail malls in the 80s and 90s..

It was an early mover in the China “virgin” market 2 decades ago.

The retail sector and the business of the malls are facing a lot of challenges.

These challenges are well known to us all and come from many fronts.

Essentially the business of Parkson has changed and deteriorated over the last decade.

Can a phoenix rise up from the ashes?

Or will Parkson be a gruesome company going forward for many years to come?

It is also a capital intensive business.

Well, what should a smart investor do?

Value investors may think that Parkson at its present price is undervalued. They become perplexed when it becomes more “undervalued”.

Remember, turnarounds rarely turns successfully; and it can take a very long time. Sears was mentioned in this forum already. There are also many other examples: Woolworth etc.

Maybe Parkson is worth more dead than alive today, given its price is at a steep discount to its NTA. But when will the investor be able to realised this return. What are your exit strategies in holding or buying Parkson today?

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 11:35 | Report Abuse

parkson so called nta is what? leaselands? lease buildings? what else?
to me its just toxic asset

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 11:35 | Report Abuse

The biggest gain in ttb’s icap portfolio to date is his investment in Padini.

He is not immune to losses. There are many too.

So far, his gains >> losses.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 11:38 | Report Abuse

padini has a particular niche in the market. it has nothing to do with value investing. in the end it still goes back to the business

25,147 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-10-16 11:45 | Report Abuse

many uncles & aunties follow TTB buy Parkson.... all die!

Posted by callmeSugarDaddy > 2018-10-16 11:45 | Report Abuse

This article contribute zero value to the community.

joetay is still better than qqq3. qqq3 is the most idiotic empty loud talker in i3, always twist here & there.

Posted by apolloang > 2018-10-16 11:48 | Report Abuse

now TTB already diam diam.he told people to short dow jones and buy china stocks.now dow jones up so much and china new low

Posted by callmeSugarDaddy > 2018-10-16 11:49 | Report Abuse

At beginning, joetay is doing fine, but don't know why, joetay keep having disputes & argument with others lately, why? Not worth it lah.

If people want to fly holland, just let it lah, why stop them?

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-16 11:49 | Report Abuse

Remember today top gainer will be tomorrow top loser, just look at parkson, u understand what i say loh.....!!

Posted by 3iii > Oct 16, 2018 11:35 AM | Report Abuse

The biggest gain in ttb’s icap portfolio to date is his investment in Padini.

He is not immune to losses. There are many too.

So far, his gains >> losses.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 11:52 |

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 11:52 | Report Abuse

thats why ttb is a very good contra-indicator.

any stock he buy, better stay away.

any stock he sell, better buy.

i think he sold petgas and petdag at very cheap price in 2013 and load up further on parkson.

lol...........

Posted by apolloang > Oct 16, 2018 11:48 AM | Report Abuse

now TTB already diam diam.he told people to short dow jones and buy china stocks.now dow jones up so much and china new low

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 11:55 | Report Abuse

Posted by apolloang > Oct 16, 2018 11:48 AM | Report Abuse

got source haha

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 11:55 | Report Abuse

padini was smart in selling off its manufacturing and concentrating on the design plus retail capability.

all their clothes r designed here and contracted to chinese makers.

if u talk to the management of padini and well-versed with the industry, why not????

Posted by 3iii > Oct 16, 2018 11:52 AM | Report Abuse

Padini

Padini was known by another name before. The apparel business suffered greatly with the emergence of China in the 80s and 90s. It closed down its manufacturing arm and turned itself into a trading company sourcing its products cheaply from China and now from other neighbouring countries too.

Padini is homegrown and interestingly has captured a good share of its market locally. It faces a lot challenges expanding overseas which so far has been lacklustre bordering on unimpressive.

Its concept stores are able to compete with the bigger retailers so far. It carries some of its own grown popular brands and is able to price its products competitively.

Introducing the Brand outlets was a brilliant move by the management. With its concept stores and the Brand outlets , Padini have been able to penetrate our local markets quite effectively and successfully.

Growth comes from scaling their stores to the other towns in Malaysia.

It’s balance sheet is excellent and it is growing organically.

Did you identify Padini during its early growth phases?

:-)

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-10-16 12:01 | Report Abuse

investing dynamics has changed. you cannot just use buy and hold strategy. look at Bonia , Jerasia all hit by high mall rentals and stiff internet competition.

China home grow " tao bao " is rank number one favourite among China's consumers ( not counting new malls and centres in all their suburbs ) . PRG facing margins on all fronts. this is no longer 80's or 90's period

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 12:01 | Report Abuse

If Padini is smart why not Parkson follow? Can hire their staffs to be smarter perhaps?

newbe8888

29 posts

Posted by newbe8888 > 2018-10-16 12:02 | Report Abuse

Can ask TTB merge Padini and Parkson?

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 12:03 | Report Abuse

but luckily many still think like in the 80s and 90s, jonathan

or else how to sell them dead stocks like parkson or bonia????

lol..........

Posted by Jonathan Keung > Oct 16, 2018 12:01 PM | Report Abuse

investing dynamics has changed. you cannot just use buy and hold strategy. look at Bonia , Jerasia all hit by high mall rentals and stiff internet competition.

China home grow " tao bao " is rank number one favourite among China's consumers ( not counting new malls and centres in all their suburbs ) . PRG facing margins on all fronts. this is no longer 80's or 90's period

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 12:04 | Report Abuse

parkson asset toxic la.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-10-16 12:05 | Report Abuse

Posted by Jonathan Keung > Oct 16, 2018 12:01 PM | Report Abuse

China home grow " tao bao " is rank number one favourite among China's consumers ( not counting new malls and centres in all their suburbs ) . PRG facing margins on all fronts. this is no longer 80's or 90's peri

u can hold as long u are the best in the niche. once u are not the best. then its time to sell

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-16 12:19 | Report Abuse

http://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2010/06/padini-versus-hing-yiap.html
Growth investing (Padini) beats Value investing (Hing Yiap) in this comparison.
Warren Buffett says: It is better to buy a wonderful company at t good price than to buy a good company at a wonderful price.

http://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2012/04/6.html
Padini versus Dutch Lady (Comparative study)
Stay with quality.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 12:23 | Report Abuse

FA and TA for sugar Daddy?

Die enough or not?

and this is not even end of trade wars yet....

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-10-16 12:24 | Report Abuse

without prejudice - just my personal take. Padini and PRG in different fields. Padini more focus on fashion brand whereas PRG still working on big mall concepts.
Both are hit by rising rentals but Padini is home based unlike PRG on China. China rentals has spiral upwards hitting PRG bottom lines. easier to shut the smaller stores ( if they are not performing ) unlike having signing up big floor space at Malls

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-16 13:17 | Report Abuse

the professional term will be anchor tenant for parkson instead of using the term big mall concept. big mall concept is used for mall owners and parkson is not a mall operator/owner.

my take is slightly different from u.

parkson is still operating like a 1980s departmental store, thats why it is unable to compete. so where/what is parkson's niche????

aeon is into mall management, giant focuses on being a hypermart grocer while isetan is reowned for its high quality merchandise and groceries.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > Oct 16, 2018 12:24 PM | Report Abuse

without prejudice - just my personal take. Padini and PRG in different fields. Padini more focus on fashion brand whereas PRG still working on big mall concepts.
Both are hit by rising rentals but Padini is home based unlike PRG on China. China rentals has spiral upwards hitting PRG bottom lines. easier to shut the smaller stores ( if they are not performing ) unlike having signing up big floor space at Malls

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-10-16 15:41 | Report Abuse

parkson is still operating like a 1980s departmental store....agreed , sure die like Sears

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-10-16 20:08 | Report Abuse

MY god, argument about value investing again. About to become the longest war in history