16 comment(s). Last comment by Junichiro 2018-12-07 15:03

25,147 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-12-07 11:57 | Report Abuse

why dont Lynas just shut down Kuantan plant? Obviously Lynas is not wanted here anymore

25,147 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-12-07 13:20 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/455119
stupid flip-flop PH govt!

QQmoon

21 posts

Posted by QQmoon > 2018-12-07 13:24 | Report Abuse

A simple request to export all its waste back to Australia can cause so much problem to the management, surely they are hiding something so hideous that it is impossible to comply with this simple request.

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 13:36 | Report Abuse

i tot malaysia wanna invest in electric cars n renewable energy? buy rare earth from china is it...got own plant prodduce rare earth dun wan..wanna buy from china? who china producing rare earth suplying whole world for renewaable energy...producing electric car use rare earth..i tot national car buidling electric car also use rare earth..contradicting

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 13:38 | Report Abuse

who say australia government oppose building rare earth plant.....australia also got other rare earth plant...whole china also lots of rare earth plant...y so special like building nucluer plant...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 13:41 | Report Abuse

u think all those residue cannot be found in malaysia soil....those mining gold or tin or other mining activities contain all those residue...lucky no one picks on them...there are so many indutial plant out there producing toxic n radioactive materials but public dunno..

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 13:43 | Report Abuse

they shld not hav plan the plant in malaysia..stupid move they shld hav stick to their original plan in australia...if china buy over them n fund them..i bet they will move bak to australia to build their plant...the only problem for them is they are out of fund to move their operation bak..

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-12-07 13:58 | Report Abuse

Australia got other rare earth plant? Have you been following the news ah? Lynas is the only rare earth plant outside of China, understand? China's rare earth plants are located deep inland in the north, near baotou/mongolia area, the whole area is horribly polluted. And don't think Lynas didn't think about doing it in Australia. They did, and that was when Lynas was called Ashton. Let me tell you the environmental conditions to do it in Australia is much stricter. Here's proof:

http://www.nkkhoo.com/2012/03/26/lets-de-politicise-the-lynas-issue-by-stop-lynas-coalition-and-its-reply-by-dr-looi-in-the-sunday-daily/

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-12-07 14:03 | Report Abuse

Of course there are instances of pollution in Malaysia. But then, Malaysia reaps the benefit of the sale of products through taxes. In contrast, Lynas pays no tax. All products are exported. And most of Lynas shareholders are foreigners. The real benefit of Lynas is just the 600 jobs Lynas generated. Seriously, that's as dumb a deal as it gets, compliments of the corrupt BN gomen. Do you think diluting and spreading their radioactive waste throughout Malaysia, which is what Lynas is proposing, is an acceptable exchange for 30 millions Malaysias for 600 jobs in Gebeng?

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 14:23 | Report Abuse

i hav to say theres rare earth plant in australia..they are now planning to contruct one..the past few hav failed due to low rare earth earth price n too costly to build...only lynas succeeded becoz of low cost...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 14:25 | Report Abuse

i hav to say building a rare earth plant in malaysia is really not a sound decision...if the rare earth price is as high as it was when they design the pplant..there will be many raare earth plant in australia...but due to china pressing down of price..no0 one can succeed outside china...

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 14:34 | Report Abuse

no one ever wonder why theres no plant outside china except lynas ..its not becoz of its radioactive waste..its becoz of cost...no profit to make..its control by china...rare earth is the strategic resource of china...china dun wan other country to make rare earth...lynas is funded by japanese to counter china claim on rare earth..if not it will gone bankrupt long ago..

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-12-07 14:35 | Report Abuse

And... low cost comes from poor environmental standards, Lynas can just let the waste pile up for 7 years with full agreement from the previous government. If they need to spend money to clean up the waste you think they can still be so profitable meh? We are cheap, that's why.

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 14:37 | Report Abuse

there are rare earth all over the world..even in malaysia soil there is rare earth...jus concentration...when they mine gold ..there is also small element of it..but why no one does it except china...becoz china can do it vbery cheaply..they dun care about pollution thats why no one can beat them...if china producce rare earth so stringently like lynas...the price of rare earth will shoot up more than 100 x already...lol

freetospeak

5,883 posts

Posted by freetospeak > 2018-12-07 14:39 | Report Abuse

so u must thanks china for making that electric car battery so cheaply..all the renewable energy becum viable...the iphone u use n so many product can be produced...all the world becomes greener becoz china takes the massive polution ...thank u china for making the world a greater place...

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2018-12-07 15:03 | Report Abuse

Posted by QQmoon > Dec 7, 2018 01:24 PM | Report Abuse

A simple request to export all its waste back to Australia can cause so much problem to the management, surely they are hiding something so hideous that it is impossible to comply with this simple request.

That is right.