20 comment(s). Last comment by Flintstones 2019-01-23 07:28

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-22 16:04 | Report Abuse

having said that, never ever buy into an IPO. It is still for idiots. It listed for 24 USD, and I bought it at 19. Go figure.

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-22 16:09 | Report Abuse

Also note that for financial systems, the system is easily replicable, but the government approvals and funding requirments are not. Best business to be in.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-22 16:16 | Report Abuse

For So long Mr Long trying to equate stoneco to QL....i thought it is same type of business...but now it is found out totally irrelevant loh...!!

One QL with pe 50x is old type of commodities business another is payment system platform settlement PE 24x Stoneco loh...!!

I m wondering What QL got to do with stoneco, other than Mr long bought n own both of it loh...???

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-01-22 16:31 | Report Abuse

Yeah, i bought some stone as well. Its pretty cheap.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-22 16:40 | Report Abuse

So you have approximately 12m invested in Stone Co then?

How much is your net worth?

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-22 16:49 | Report Abuse

I buy cheap durable business I can easily understand AFTER it has reached vertical integration, making it much harder to disrupt. You try to disrupt QL business model see? tell me 1 company doing same thing as QL in bursa and doing it better. Or tell me one company similar to QL in bursa with better ROE.

I bought into topglove after it held a 18% share of the WORLD MARKET in gloves.

I bought into PBB after my wife told me so. Always listen to the wife. Oh it also has the best ROE in the market, for big banks.

I bought Yinson fully after it had pivoted from a lousy transportation company into a fully FPSO charter company, now 6th biggest FPSO in the world with 99% utilization rates, unheard of in the fpso market. just ask bumi armada.

For stoneco, I decided to buy it after reading that it has received merchant aquiring institution by the central bank of brazil. I wouldn't expect you to know what it means, except that it is now a full merchant bank entity with all the perks and access to the high table.

All i bought and held since 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

And now in 2019, I have 5 stocks in my portfolio. Stoneco is a small portion, around 200K shares done at USD19.

What have you done lately?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-22 17:10 | Report Abuse

raid...it is not about QL...it is about a connected world....opportunities every where for those with the skill set.

now playing in the oceans not just small pond.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-22 17:23 | Report Abuse

What so special of buying into stoneco leh ??

U mean Warren Buffet give a call to Mr long & says koh kohchai i m buy into stoneco ah....!!

I read Warren Buffet buying into Petrolchina long time ago, what happen to petrolchina now leh ??

Do not be a follower loh, better learn to invest independently....copying other people....when the originator change course....U will not know loh...!!

Posted by qqq3 > Jan 22, 2019 05:10 PM | Report Abuse

raid...it is not about QL...it is about a connected world....opportunities every where for those with the skill set.

now playing in the oceans not just small pond.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-22 17:31 | Report Abuse

Temasek bought into GDex....Gdex becomes PE 100 stock for years and years....until recently when earnings disappoint.

Anybody with that Bufalo and Temasek as shareholder sure adds to its reputation la....until / unless they disappoint.

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-22 17:34 | Report Abuse

Yes loh....this is precisely how greater fool theory works loh...!!

If u follow margin of safety principle disciplinary u will never buy gdex at PE 100x mah....!!

Posted by qqq3 > Jan 22, 2019 05:30 PM | Report Abuse

Temasek bought into GDex....Gdex becomes PE 100 stock for years and years....until recently when earnings disappoint.

Anybody with that Bufalo and Temasek as shareholder sure adds to its reputation la....until they disappoint.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-22 17:41 | Report Abuse

from 2010 to 2016, Gdex shareholders already harvested multiple baggers....

Business world....reputation and a good story to tell is worth a lot of money......

Posted by stockraider > 2019-01-22 17:43 | Report Abuse

Did termasek manage to lari kuat kuat or not leh ??

Posted by qqq3 > Jan 22, 2019 05:41 PM | Report Abuse

from 2010 to 2016, Gdex shareholders already harvested multiple baggers....

Business world....reputation and a good story to tell is worth a lot of money......

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2019-01-22 17:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Jan 22, 2019 05:31 PM | Report Abuse

Anybody with that Bufalo and Temasek as shareholder sure adds to its reputation la....until / unless they disappoint.

Will that happen to my SAM??? Hahahaha

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-22 17:45 | Report Abuse

even at today price, Temasek is still above water....

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-22 17:50 | Report Abuse

@10154899906070843

So your net worth is approximately 150m-200m then?

Oh me? Nothing much. Still living with my parents, the occasional sex, the occasional movie, I go to the gym and walk my dogs. Not much really.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-01-22 17:52 | Report Abuse

Fabien Extraordinaire > Jan 22, 2019 05:45 PM | Report Abuse

Will that happen to my SAM??? Hahahaha
=========

I doubt it....GDEX had a good story to tell...from 2010 to 2016 with ecommerce explosion. Gdex is led by private sector...

Is Sam a state enterprise or a private sector, I also not sure....anyway...how to give the best to Malaysia when Singapore has their own sector to protect? Singapore Technologies will still get the prize.....

Posted by 10154899906070843 > 2019-01-22 21:59 | Report Abuse

Hi Fabien, for SAM or any other company you need to understand where your growth is coming from, how much revenue they can generate, and most importantly what they will do with that growth. As 50% of their business is aerospace, its a very predictable and easily measured growth ( you can just compare how many planes are in the pipeline from Boeing and Airbus). The growth trigger is what they do with the other 50% of revenue, which is in sam precision and meerkat. I'd monitor my quarterly reports closely on the performance of those business units. If they dont grow well, I'd say you would reach terminal value pretty soon. you can have a pretty clear idea of the growth prospects of the aerospace portion of A320 neo,
the jigs manufacturing part, I dont know.

Posted by Flintstones > 2019-01-23 07:21 | Report Abuse

Long numbers guy, wonderful article as always. Do consider starting a blog away from i3. I will be among your first follower!

Posted by Flintstones > 2019-01-23 07:25 | Report Abuse

What long numbers guy suggested in his earlier comments was buying into a company that has attained critical mass. The appropriate size of the company where they are small enough to grow further and big enough to kill the market competitive force with whatever moat they built.

Posted by Flintstones > 2019-01-23 07:28 | Report Abuse

How to spot a company that has attained critical mass? We look for company with first signs of above average return on equity way beyond the cost of capital.