6 people like this.

34 comment(s). Last comment by Lk036 2019-05-31 23:36

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2019-05-27 21:14 | Report Abuse

Quote 1 : I figure that we need about a monthly income of RM8k in retirement

Quote 2 : We have RM1.8m money in our EPF

Let's do some calculation.
RM 1,800,000 x 6% (Assumption of EPF declaring 6% dividend) = RM 108,000 per year
That is RM 9,000 per month.

RM 1,800,000 x 5.5% (Recent ASM rate) = RM 99,000 per year
That is RM 8.250 per month

RM 1,800,000 x 5% (i think this consideration bad enough) = Rm 90,000 per year
That is RM 7,500 per month

Just an amateur point of view.

CFTrader

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 21:17 | Report Abuse

by CFTrader > May 27, 2019 9:14 PM | Report Abuse

Quote 1 : I figure that we need about a monthly income of RM8k in retirement
========

u want to travel the world every day meh?

kong73

2,042 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2019-05-27 21:22 | Report Abuse

Take into account your medical coverage in case of poor health after retirement

Posted by cheoky > 2019-05-27 21:29 | Report Abuse

This time is a good advise by kc.

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2019-05-27 21:35 | Report Abuse

Old man , don't greedy ! Spend more time to do your hobbies or travel !

sbg3106

359 posts

Posted by sbg3106 > 2019-05-27 21:37 | Report Abuse

big thumb up to kcchongnz with his trustworthy background to safeguard your hard earned money

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-27 21:47 | Report Abuse

I think kcchongz is right this time. It is not how much you make that is important, it is the risk you take in making the money that is important.
What is risk? The lowest and safest guaranteed return is fixed deposit at 4%. This is followed by EPF at 6%. before you consider paying someone money to invest in stock market for you, you need to ask if that fund manager is able to guarantee a 10 year return minimum of 4% with guarantee protection of capital.

If the fund manager is unwilling to guarantee capital protection with guarantee interest yield, but is willing to balance that increase risk with increased return beyond 4%, then you need to look at his long term portfolio returns, as well as the long term performance of the stocks he holds, buys and sells.

If in the long run the returns of the fund manager is low and very volatile compared to just holding EPF or fixed deposit, then you are better off doing passive investing in EPF and fixed income instead.

Simple and no headache. Why climb 30 feet poles when jumping over 1 foot poles is doable?

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2019-05-27 23:16 | Report Abuse

In my opinion , KCC 's advice is right . Better keep the money in EPF and work with EPF to have a monthly withdrawal plan of 8 k . Since he has RM 1.8 million , the interest of this 1.8 million is sufficient to pay him 8k a month assuming an average of 5.33 %. I think EPF can deliver this return based on past few years record .

Posted by paperplane > 2019-05-27 23:33 | Report Abuse

No right and wrong.

Posted by jonbaby1234 > 2019-05-27 23:43 | Report Abuse

Just put in epf la....share how many can eaen consistently and with good night sleep? Most can talk cock only....

Jhau65

66 posts

Posted by Jhau65 > 2019-05-27 23:48 | Report Abuse

Even kc 2019 stock pick roi also negative now...how he can help u?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-27 23:48 | Report Abuse

kong73 > May 27, 2019 9:22 PM | Report Abuse

Take into account your medical coverage in case of poor health after retirement
========

doctors have ways to ssss money from people.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2019-05-27 23:53 | Report Abuse

I agree that sequence of return risk is very relevant for someone who is in "decumulation" (ie retirement) compared to someone who in accumulation mode (working). While John is retired, he may still have decades of investing ahead of him and stocks provide a good way for him to keep up with inflation. If John can comfortable live off 6% of his EPF assets then yes this is the easiest and safest route to go.

However, if he thinks it is not enough and perhaps he may need more due to potential medical inflation or desire to leave a legacy, there could be other options. One would be to put aside about 3 years of living expenses away in a safe instrument say bond fund/EPF and invest the rest in good undervalued stocks. This 3 year buffer can be drawn upon when the market is not so good so that he doesn't end up selling his stocks at the low point of a bear market. If the market continues to go up, then he should replenish this 3 year "bucket" with proceeds from dividends/capital gains.

wlchew

30 posts

Posted by wlchew > 2019-05-28 04:43 | Report Abuse

just consider migrating to au or nz where people are more honest and reliable. There is no such thing as Religion Race or Royalty. Once you don't face the 3 R's you will live happier and make better decisions

wlchew

30 posts

Posted by wlchew > 2019-05-28 04:45 | Report Abuse

personal safety clean air and water and no one tell you "cina balik tongsan""

5354_

4,506 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-05-28 04:55 | Report Abuse

Why want invest EPF money in stock market? EPF return not stable and high?

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2019-05-28 08:16 | Report Abuse

EPF dividends betw 5-6% per annum farbetter than bank rate & inflation. with 2 million { your EPf returns app 220K amounting to around $ 10 -12 per month } why take the risk when you have retired.

BoPoint

154 posts

Posted by BoPoint > 2019-05-28 09:49 | Report Abuse

Well agreed. If the returns of EPF is higher than 8k a month (or any needed monthly maintenance expenses), feel free to use them in risky tools like stock investment. Another alternative of investing in bonds and dividend play will be great if you know well for the credit market and role of interest in income play. This alternative is safer than pure stock investment but need rather high skill. All in all, EPF or Amanah Saham (the fixed price ones) are among the safest havens you can find in Malaysia.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-28 15:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by wlchew > May 28, 2019 4:43 AM | Report Abuse
just consider migrating to au or nz where people are more honest and reliable. There is no such thing as Religion Race or Royalty. Once you don't face the 3 R's you will live happier and make better decisions

The quality of life one can get from RM2.0m saving will be much lower than if he stays in Malaysia.

Everything is almost dollar-to-dollar. Unless one earns there and live there.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-05-29 00:31 | Report Abuse

I would consider taking out 25 to 30% to buy Singaporean reits. And maybe another 10% for China index.

2,152 posts

Posted by 7300 > 2019-05-29 00:53 | Report Abuse

Also dont forget to do donations to those needy around you within your capability.Everyone got sin without realising it.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-29 04:10 | Report Abuse

Posted by ks55 > May 29, 2019 12:26 AM | Report Abuse

ks55, thanks for your comments. Valuable from one who has been there done that. Just a comment on your point no.3 below,

3. Take out your money from EPF and put into a few selected Reits. Some Reits command 6 to 10% yield at present price, and they are way below net tangible asset to serve as safety of margin. You will enjoy both recurrent income and capital appreciation.

Reits, like any other stock, are subject to market risk. for example, the performance of Malaysian REITs was uninspiring through most of 2018. Bursa’s REIT Index finished at 928.81 points on Dec 31, 2018, translating into a decline of 12.2% from 1,057.35 points on Dec 29, 2017, under-performing the benchmark FBM KLCI by nearly twice as much.

I also have other reservation of reits as in the link below,

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/171201.jsp

Posted by kcchongnz > 2019-05-29 04:17 | Report Abuse

Posted by Choivo Capital > May 29, 2019 12:31 AM | Report Abuse
I would consider taking out 25 to 30% to buy Singaporean reits. And maybe another 10% for China index.

It depends on individual risk profile. This article is written for those who are risk averse. The aim is the saving must meet the basic requirements for the estimated number of years in retirement. He must be able to sleep well without having to worry he outlives his saving too soon due to events which are not controllable.

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-29 05:00 | Report Abuse

This method is so risky I shudder.

I have yet to find a Singaporean REITs with high yields where the constant recapitalization of the reit is not required. At least with epf the shares are always par rm1. With REITs I find majority of them give you 6-10% dividends on the uptake, but on the downswing asking you to buy the rights issue, share split etc is very inefficient in the long run.

As for china index... I only advise it for those who do not know how to analyze risk and have many years more to recoup their losses.

It is sad but true, epf is most likely the best for of investing for many individuals as the profits are guaranteed by government ( in spirit if not in name). The forced savings and growing population ensures that future generations will be paying for the older ones, with or without portfolio gains.

1982 1983 to 1987 1988 to 1994 1995 1996 1997 to 1998 1999
2.50% 4.00% 5.00% 5.25% 5.50% 5.75% 5.80% 5.85% 6.60% 7.00% 7.25% 8.0% 8.5% 8.0% 7.5% 7.7% 6.7% 6.84%

2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
6.00% 5.00% 4.25% 4.50% 4.75% 5.00% 5.15% 5.80% 4.50% 5.65% 5.80% 6.00% 6.15% 6.35% 6.75% 6.40% 5.70% 6.90% 6.15%

Consider this, with an average of 6%, 30+ years of UNBROKEN profits, guaranteed withdrawals, no rights issue or dilution or transactional fees, if you start comparing, there is almost nothing like it in terms of return versus capital risk.

This is the best money game there is. Government funded and enforced.

>>>>>>>>

Posted by Choivo Capital > May 29, 2019 12:31 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-29 05:04 | Report Abuse

In fact, I myself will be leaving my EPF returns exactly where it is and doing the same negotiation when I retire in the next few years.

The only way epf will not work is when Malaysia collapses.

I find that highly unlikely.

ochai

350 posts

Posted by ochai > 2019-05-29 05:44 | Report Abuse

correct me if im wrong.. isn't EPF pay dividend for up to max (ceiling) RM1M only?

Posted by (US/CHN trade war doesn't matter) Philip > 2019-05-29 05:50 | Report Abuse

Where did you find that? Maybe you can consider reading up on the kwsp or calling them directly to find out more detailed information.

ochai

350 posts

Posted by ochai > 2019-05-29 06:02 | Report Abuse

can read them on their website tho.. thats why EPF give option to those who have savings more than RM1M to withdraw... dont think they so generous to pay dividend to

ochai

350 posts

Posted by ochai > 2019-05-29 06:05 | Report Abuse

yeah, better call them to clarify.. dont waste that 800k juz for nothing....haha

anticonman

533 posts

Posted by anticonman > 2019-05-31 23:26 | Report Abuse

If you buy Reits at wrong price still suffer loss. Eg Hektar bought at 1.55 left 1.11 losing 44 sen. How can sure 1.11 cannot drop below 1?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-31 23:28 | Report Abuse

not if you buy only very high quality REITS.....

there is over supply of malls and office space so naturally have to select only the best of the best.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-05-31 23:31 | Report Abuse

off hand should be the best.....

anticonman

533 posts

Posted by anticonman > 2019-05-31 23:32 | Report Abuse

Pav Reit, Sun Reit, IGB Reit the best? DY <6% EPF return.

Lk036

929 posts

Posted by Lk036 > 2019-05-31 23:36 | Report Abuse

Beside reit, it is a good choice to invest in bursa or maybank since its dividend also not bad.?