101 comment(s). Last comment by stockraider 2021-07-16 16:11

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 16:23 | Report Abuse

China expected its Sinopharm vaccines to be the lynchpin of the country’s vaccine diplomacy programme – an easily transported dose that would protect not just Chinese citizens but also much of the developing world. In a bid to win goodwill, China has donated 13.3 million Sinopharm doses to other countries, according to Bridge Beijing, a consultancy that tracks China’s impact on global health.

Instead, the company, which has made two varieties of coronavirus vaccines, is facing mounting questions about the inoculations. First, there was the lack of transparency with its late-stage trial data. Now, Seychelles, the world’s most vaccinated nation, has had a surge in cases despite much of its population being inoculated with Sinopharm.

For the 56 countries counting on the Sinopharm shot to help them halt the pandemic, the news is a setback. For months, public health experts had focused on trying to close the access gap between rich and poorer nations. Now, scientists are warning that developing nations that choose to use the Chinese vaccines, with their relatively weaker efficacy rates, could end up lagging behind countries that choose vaccines made by Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna. That gap could allow the pandemic to continue in countries that have fewer resources to fight it.

Economic benefit

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre, who heads the biosecurity programme at the Kirby Institute of the University of New South Wales in Sydney. “The choice of vaccine matters.”

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 16:23 | Report Abuse

“The choice of vaccine matters.”

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 16:28 | Report Abuse

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:40 | Report Abuse

Ask yourself if without the sinopharm vaccine, could the situation in Seychelles would be even worse leh ??

Do not let the western media manipulate us loh!

If the western country so concern, why they did not donate pfizer & moderna vaccine to Seychelles in the 1st place leh ?

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:03 PM | Report Abuse

Seychelles

China expected its Sinopharm vaccines to be the lynchpin of the country’s vaccine diplomacy programme – an easily transported dose that would protect not just Chinese citizens but also much of the developing world. In a bid to win goodwill, China has donated 13.3 million Sinopharm doses to other countries, according to Bridge Beijing, a consultancy that tracks China’s impact on global health.

Instead, the company, which has made two varieties of coronavirus vaccines, is facing mounting questions about the inoculations. First, there was the lack of transparency with its late-stage trial data. Now, Seychelles, the world’s most vaccinated nation, has had a surge in cases despite much of its population being inoculated with Sinopharm.

For the 56 countries counting on the Sinopharm shot to help them halt the pandemic, the news is a setback. For months, public health experts had focused on trying to close the access gap between rich and poorer nations. Now, scientists are warning that developing nations that choose to use the Chinese vaccines, with their relatively weaker efficacy rates, could end up lagging behind countries that choose vaccines made by Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna. That gap could allow the pandemic to continue in countries that have fewer resources to fight it.

Economic benefit

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre, who heads the biosecurity programme at the Kirby Institute of the University of New South Wales in Sydney. “The choice of vaccine matters.”

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:40 | Report Abuse

Ya high efficacy so what leh ??

It was never make available to all the 3rd world country like Seychelles mah!

If the western country so concern, why they did not donate pfizer & moderna vaccine to Seychelles in the 1st place leh ?

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:11 PM | Report Abuse

“You really need to use high-efficacy vaccines to get that economic benefit because otherwise they’re going to be living with the disease long-term,” said Raina MacIntyre,

you dont want to end up as breeding ground for new variants...

do it right when you have choice - Malaysia should go all out for Pfizer , else they are wasting resources and letting them self be experimented

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:41 | Report Abuse

I m telling u, some of the western info get been manipulated mah!

Just imagine if seychelles get pfizers in the 1st place, R u really sure that covid19 will not infect the island leh ??

They are no evidence that pfizer can do the job in the island bcos they are facing dangerous Indian variant in seychelles mah!

It just that western media always twist & want to bad mouthed China good deeds mah!

Ask yourself if without the sinopharm vaccine, could the situation in Seychelles would be even worse leh ??

Do not let the western media manipulate us loh!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:15 PM | Report Abuse

raider i am not comparing china with west / U.S...i am telling what Malaysia should be doing...

you can keep your ego boosting to yourself

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:42 | Report Abuse

I thought this figure is something like 20k infection & 2k death loh!

To my surprise the death rate of 28 is even less than USA in term of % mah!

Must interpret the figure properly lah!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:23 PM | Report Abuse

Numbers dont lie...

Seychelles

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/seychelles/

compare Israel with Pfizer

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/israel/

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 17:43 | Report Abuse

dont let Malaysia suffer another 2 years...or even longer

get all vaccinated with Pfizer

else it will be a breeding ground for new variants which are more resistant to the vaccine

the best way to make it stronger is to challenge but not eliminating it

5,060 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-05-13 17:45 | Report Abuse

Mexico plans to start a late-stage clinical trial this month for a COVID-19 vaccine candidate developed by China using similar technology to shots from Moderna (MRNA.O) and Pfizer (PFE.N), foreign minister Marcelo Ebrard said on Tuesday.

The phase III trial for the shot from China's Walvax Biotechnology (300142.SZ) using messenger RNA (mRNA) technology will start on May 30 and involve 6,000 volunteers, Ebrard said in a Tweet.

Walvax is working with the Academy of Military Science (AMS) and Suzhou Abogen Biosciences to jointly develop the shot known as ARCoV or ARCoVax, China's first mRNA vaccine to enter Phase III trials.

The shot could be stored at 2-8 degrees Celsius for six months, a much less stringent temperature requirement than shots from western rivals, an AMS researcher leading the vaccine project said in April during a presentation at a vaccine event.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 17:49 | Report Abuse

Big dream lah!

U think pfize willr give so many allocations to msia meh ?

Msia should get their hand into any vaccine that are available & start vaccination quickly loh!

Having vaccinated is much better than not having vaccinated at all mah!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:43 PM | Report Abuse

dont let Malaysia suffer another 2 years...or even longer

get all vaccinated with Pfizer

else it will be a breeding ground for new variants which are more resistant to the vaccine

the best way to make it stronger is to challenge but not eliminating it

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:03 |

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-13 18:23 | Report Abuse

Stop being idealistic & let be practical mah!

can u get 64m dose of pfizer or not for msia or not leh ?

Even europe they r still scrambling for pfizer vaccine mah!

Are msia prepare to wait until 2024 to be fully vaccinated meh ?

Be practical lah, take up whatever vaccine available 1st...u may think off...how to chose the best vaccine in 2 to 3 yrs time...when u r prepare to pay for your own vaccine loh!

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:03 PM | Report Abuse

malaysia with such a small population, can afford and should not compromise...

they should for get about pleasing china for diplomatic ties

Israel can procure for the whole nation, Malaysia should f**king damn do it

they should stop prostituting them self

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:06 PM | Report Abuse

raider & uncle Koon, i suggest you all go for China's vaccine (due to your blood patriotism & ego)...and give chance for others in Malaysia for Pfizer

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:08 PM | Report Abuse

now that the data is available, it would be pure stup**ty to go for china vaccines

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 6:14 PM | Report Abuse

or even astrazeneca or any other having lesser efficacy...avoid it...

every drop of efficacy matters a lot on this battle

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 18:26 | Report Abuse

let us not waste malaysian time leh...you are wasting another year

what Israel has Malaysia cannot afford? you can buy 10m but you cannot another 20M?

stop wasting people's time and make a mess

qqq3333

2,263 posts

Posted by qqq3333 > 2021-05-13 19:36 | Report Abuse

seychelles such a small country statistics can swing wildly. also large use of Indian vaccines.

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 20:30 | Report Abuse

see the recent case counts...its rising rapidly...hitting 300 per day... israel is below 50...

former 100k population....latter is 10milliom

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:31 | Report Abuse

Posted by probability > May 13, 2021 5:23 PM | Report Abuse

Numbers dont lie...

Seychelles

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/seychelles/

compare Israel with Pfizer

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/israel/

If you compare the deaths/cases ratios for seychelles vs israel, then, assuming the data is accurate ...

israel ==> 0.8% fatality rate
seychelles ==> 0.34% fatality rate

So, seychelles better than israel in terms of covid fatality rate

Yep, just like you pointed out, numbers don't lie

Someone pls correct me if I'm wrong

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 20:32 | Report Abuse

no point using israel numbers before vaccination

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:33 | Report Abuse

maybe it takes some time for the surge to flatten, post-vaccination

it was also still surging in israel, immediately post-vaccination

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 20:34 | Report Abuse

that time vaccination is still ongoing

Posted by RiverOfSilver > May 13, 2021 8:33 PM | Report Abuse

maybe it takes some time for the surge to flatten, post-vaccination

it was also still surging in israel, immediately post-vaccination

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:34 | Report Abuse

well, we shall all see more clearly in time

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:36 | Report Abuse

I hear them Indonesians seem to be quite happy with sinovac

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 20:37 | Report Abuse

hope u dont want malaysia to be like indonesia... i think china certainly does not want

afif95

70 posts

Posted by afif95 > 2021-05-13 20:41 | Report Abuse

stockraider 24hrs on this forum. gila weh nothing else to do

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:46 | Report Abuse

Isn't china using sinovac?

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:47 | Report Abuse

Don't kira indonesian data for pre-vaccination time la

RiverOfSilver

2,833 posts

Posted by RiverOfSilver > 2021-05-13 20:50 | Report Abuse

Becos we now comparing & analysing impact of vaccination only

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-05-13 20:57 | Report Abuse

Every country has to try to get to their herd immunity or at least somewhere close to that fast, by whichever route, rather than wasting time just hanging around waiting for the best most ideal most perfect vaccine

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-05-13 20:58 | Report Abuse

So the 'best' vaccine might just be the one you could get the fastest

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-05-13 20:59 | Report Abuse

Well, at least that is what some guys are saying now

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 21:02 | Report Abuse

then take astrazeneca lor...many countries refused to take....you keep taking lor...sapu whatever u can get from garabage

allow it to make a new strain...

and the later inject with pfizer lor..cause no longer immune

by then pfizer sold out to other countries

u wait another 2 years for reopening economy

Posted by BountyOfTheBourse > 2021-05-13 21:03 | Report Abuse

Israel & some other rich countries different situation la, they got both the funds & the networking, so they can even afford to reject astrazeneca vaccine completely now

But we can't

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 21:06 | Report Abuse

i am not saying reject what you already have....i am advocating for the govn to make conscious all out effort to buy pfizer for the whole malaysian population NOW...

i want govn to realize that - and it damn urgent and important

cause waiting for other vaccine to work is stup**ty ..a waste of time

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-13 21:08 | Report Abuse

do whatever damn possible to secure Pfizer for the whole nation

do not be complacent having procured other low efficacy vaccines - you wont win this war with these

Posted by THINKING MAN > 2021-05-14 11:05 | Report Abuse

Well, at the present moment, we are "on the way" to better understand how these various vaccines work. TIME WILL TELL AND GIVE US A MORE ACCURATE PICTURE when vaccinations involve MORE SAMPLES (PEOPLE). So far, we can get quite a number of early success (effectiveness, efficiency) rates, however these rates are just "first-hand understanding" of the vaccines. For the wider population, the data is NOT FIXED or STATIC - and IT CAN CHANGE FROM TIME TO TIME. There are MANY FACTORS THAT NEED TO BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN COMPARING THE VACCINES. The various reports need to be properly "peer-reviewed" for confirmation. Though we can compare the results on the "surface level," it is not a straightforward or direct (apple-to-apple) comparison since various vaccines are used in different covid-19 situations - giving different levels of risks.

Posted by THINKING MAN > 2021-05-14 11:10 | Report Abuse

A vaccine might work less in one country while it might work effectively in another country. One can read up the news online and see for himself. People just get vaccines that are available to them, however covid protection (awareness) must still be exercised. The previous clinical trials (the same could apply to other vaccines) only serve as a "surface, early, rough check or guideline" - and it is not something absolute or final (which is applicable to everyone). The initial number (data) doesn't lie, however the data is only applicable in its own limited setting (samples) and environment. The data can change (either up or down) in different situations when more vaccinated population (samples) are observed - this process is still on-going.

Posted by THINKING MAN > 2021-05-14 11:20 | Report Abuse

The way the data is understood - for example "the meaning of effectiveness or efficacy rate" could be different in different research interpretations. One needs to look up at the "more detailed reports of these figures."

The same vaccine could respond differently to different covid risks, environments, variants and human factors. It would be good if those who are involved in research can come out with a table showing "the different vaccine types BETTER OR BEST SUITING for a particular covid variant, environment, country and/or type (group) of people.

This would make vaccinations more effective, efficient and helpful. It would take some time to come to this position. We just hope everything will recover soon.....

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 11:24 | Report Abuse

you can see clearly a vaccine that has proven itself in israel...its dumb if govn do not procure this for the whole nation

Posted by AlsvinChangan > 2021-05-14 11:29 | Report Abuse

pfizer maybe good but USA is hoarding and not selling to other country

small potato country caanot afford pfizer

Best inject communist developed vaccine sheap and effective

communist developed vaccine is best in the world

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 11:32 |

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 11:33 | Report Abuse

no one is waiting la...but many stup*d people will think economy will recover in years time with this stup*d vaccine la...

that we dont want

they need to be prepared for second vaccination with pfizer lo

THIS IS MANDATORY - NO WAY OUT LO!!!

and govn must buy now...

Pfizer producing 2.5 Billion doses...its a shame if Malaysia cannot get this by 2021 and innoculate all!!!!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 11:40 | Report Abuse

Correctloh even if u r one of the stupi.d person vaccinated using pfizer u still not really protected mah!

U still need to becareful perhaps still continue wear mask & practise social distancing until we can gert herd immunity loh!

So whether if u use pfizer, sinopharm, sinovac, astra the best practise still need to be supplemented by good safety practise mah!

Posted by probability > May 14, 2021 11:33 AM | Report Abuse

no one is waiting la...but many stup*d people will think economy will recover in years time with this stup*d vaccine la...

that we dont want

they need to be prepared for second vaccination with pfizer lo

THIS IS MANDATORY - NO WAY OUT LO!!!

and govn must buy now...

Pfizer producing 2.5 Billion doses...its a shame if Malaysia cannot get this by 2021 and innoculate all!!!!

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 11:44 | Report Abuse

Israel has proven it works without any restriction now with Pfizer...dont take chances and waste time any longer lor!!

we need to buy pfizer now lorr!!

its very very urgent lor...

GrowingRich

2,647 posts

Posted by GrowingRich > 2021-05-14 12:06 | Report Abuse

Israel probing link between Pfizer jab & heart problem in men under 30

https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-said-probing-link-between-pfizer-shot-and-heart-problem-in-men-under-30/

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:07 | Report Abuse

people like you discouraging people with unfounded fear lor...the odds are very small... you can see israel a nation with 10million, deaths counts is very small lor....

Posted by GrowingRich > May 14, 2021 12:02 PM | Report Abuse

https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-said-probing-link-between-pfizer-...

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:08 | Report Abuse

Lets be fair there are also down side in pfizer as in all other vaccine mah!

Do u want the truth or not ah ?

Posted by probability > May 14, 2021 12:04 PM | Report Abuse

people like you discouraging people with unfounded fear lor...the odds are very small... you can see israel a nation with 10million, deaths counts is very small lor....

Posted by GrowingRich > May 14, 2021 12:02 PM | Report Abuse

https://www.timesofisrael.com/israel-said-probing-link-between-pfizer-...

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2021-05-14 12:09 | Report Abuse

i see you have issues western vaccine superior than china lor...that looks like the main issue here....LOL!

Posted by stockraider > 2021-05-14 12:16 |