7 comment(s). Last comment by Sslee 2021-11-27 10:12

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-21 12:01 | Report Abuse

Opportunity long term investment mah!

simon2020

441 posts

Posted by simon2020 > 2021-11-22 13:48 | Report Abuse

Its good to have a foreign point of view. There should be also some coverage on BJLand which is BJCorp's 80% owned subsidiary. The key to unlocking BJCorp's real worth should be through taking over BJLand's assets such as 40% shares in BJToto, extensive landbank in Selangor, Penang, Pahang etc. and also converting BJLand's money making 5 stars hotel assets such as 100% in Icelandair Hotels, Iceland, Berjaya Eden Park Hotel UK, FS Kyoto & FS Okinawa (construction started end 2020) into a Hospitality REIT as proposed by Jalil in BJcorp's recent Turnaround Plan.
https://www.nst.com.my/property/2021/07/708651/berjaya-corp-set-hospitality-reit-comprising-only-five-star-hotels-it-owns
https://www.nst.com.my/property/2021/11/743437/berjaya-group-set-open-more-hotels-iceland-including-four-seasons-brand

bulldog

12,157 posts

Posted by bulldog > 2021-11-22 21:12 | Report Abuse

Accumulations in progress

Huat chaiii

Posted by gregorythe2 > 2021-11-24 15:44 | Report Abuse

Thanks for that simon2020 I will have a deeper look at that. I really like hospitality going forward. I'm long "real world" and short "metaverse".

simon2020

441 posts

Posted by simon2020 > 2021-11-25 14:00 | Report Abuse

Try this links too for your research too. See whether you can put 2 & 2 together?...I believe Lena Tan & New World Capital Advisers will play a great role with BJCorp/7Eleven (after successful privatisation of Caring) to initiate the next course of actions for Berjaya's Rejunevation?
https://www.edgeprop.my/content/1455824/vincent-tan-restructure-his-business-empire
https://focusmalaysia.my/maiden-acid-test-awaits-jalil-presumably-as-bcorp-expands-into-financial-management/
https://www.wsj.com/market-data/quotes/MY/XKLS/5250/company-people/executive-profile/73877224

Posted by gregorythe2 > 2021-11-27 08:44 | Report Abuse

Very interesting. Some very valuable businesses, and Mr.Tan has the patience and experience to make the most of them. Looks complicated at first but I bet he's aware of all the moving pieces and it's a lot simpler than it looks. A lot of my optimism is based on his capital allocation, treating the businesses like assets and trading them effectively, but like i say, that comes with some downside (failure to run the businesses with consistent excellence). I hope I am not missing a cultural element; I do not know what the average malaysian thinks of starbucks, or sportstoto, or cosway. I just assume that they feel similar to how I feel. Most of the time, people are the same everywhere.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-11-27 10:12 | Report Abuse

Ceo Jalil started to implement his vision to dispose non core assets. More to come.