8 comment(s). Last comment by KooSan 2022-08-08 16:03

3,472 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2022-08-07 18:20 | Report Abuse

Should you work until 70? 65? 60?
How many years you wish to enjoy before your body still good enough?
Not to forget many people retired at 55 15 years ago and enjoy life at 70 today.
If you retire at 60, the most you can have able body till 70.
If you work until 70, you will hardly have any chance to enjoy life.

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-08-07 18:29 | Report Abuse

The question, can you afford to retire early?

Look at today cost of education how much you need to spend for your children education.
My colleague daughter is doing medical in UK and the cost is more than RM one million

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2022-08-08 07:49 | Report Abuse

speakup can retire already if wan to. work now is just for extras

4,571 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-08-08 09:14 | Report Abuse

I continues working past my retirement age because I am now at peak earning power and feel sorry for my children pay which my one month pay equal to their many months pay.

So I intend to work for some more year to help my children to buy their dream home.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-08-08 15:32 | Report Abuse

SsLee! Your daughter's friend should consider working in UK after she graduate! It's not worth for medical doctor to study in UK and work here! Unless she is specialist where the salary should be reasonable! There are glut of general doctors in Malaysia! What is needed are specialists!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-08-08 15:36 | Report Abuse

Those who consider to retire early are those who already made it big and already made a fortune! Like those in tech industry where talents can earn big money but also tends to burnout early as well!
But for those who work in 9 to 5 industry earning barely enough, i say you should work as long as you can! You don't have a choice! Can you afford to retire when your EPF can even support you for a year!

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2022-08-08 15:43 | Report Abuse

Only soohchais like Leno retire at 30s loh!

As long as u can make money....continue working mah!

It is healthy loh!

KooSan

364 posts

Posted by KooSan > 2022-08-08 16:03 | Report Abuse

I have a friend who wants to retire in his 40s thinking that he can make a living from the market. Boleh ka?