MALAYSIA BUILDING SOCIETY BHD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

-0.005 (0.63%)

0.78 - 0.795

28 people like this.

22,172 comment(s). Last comment by HugoUPUPUP 8 hours ago

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-21 17:05 | Report Abuse

Eps for FY222 is 8.85¢
Dividend 8.5¢ is less than full year Eps

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-21 17:07 | Report Abuse

Ok lah maybe they kasi another 0.35¢ as final dividend lah for FY2022. Happy?

chokra

57 posts

Posted by chokra > 2023-03-21 17:48 | Report Abuse

Should I be happy with this dividend? Obviously if I had bought it this year, then the payout is fantastic but because I am holding it for 7 years and still losing a fair bit of initial capital outlay, I am not celebrating. If only there is an uptrend in the share price to above Rm1.00 then I can heave a sign of relieve. Even now, with this good dividend payout, why is it the share price never went up like a rocket. At 13% dividend yield, why is the price still below 0.66 sen? The price should be much much higher. Maybe smarter people can let us know the reason. I do not want to say much more.

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-21 18:22 | Report Abuse

Now I understand. Sorry to hear that. Was wondering why on earth would someone not be happy with a company so generous with dividend

kllee

170 posts

Posted by kllee > 2023-03-21 23:00 | Report Abuse

Total agree with chokra .

Posted by wilsonchan87 > 2023-03-22 10:49 | Report Abuse

why so excited on 8 dividend? dividend also come from stock price. but stock price drop from previous RM1+

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-22 11:44 | Report Abuse

Aiyoyo. Look at mbsb thread before this week when mbsb kasi no dividend, semua complain complain complain no dividend. Now mbsb so generous kasi almost all FY2022 profits as dividend, now ppl say why so excited? So unappreciative lah.
If I were mbsb, this type of investors ah better just kasi 1¢ dividend cukup

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-22 13:18 | Report Abuse

More to come I guess, because epf need money but I don't think share price gonna go up more because of it PE,it PE is higher than abmb

YouWin

248 posts

Posted by YouWin > 2023-03-22 13:39 | Report Abuse

Vote for us, we'll let you withdraw EPF is the new political tactics, EPF gonna be pressing for more dividend from it holding company

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-22 15:36 | Report Abuse

If on board , why complaint ? Given RM0.085 !!! Unless missed boat . No worry, start collecting now. It has to been kept long long. Not buy today , sell tomorrow. Even if you collected at RM0.70 , 3 years ago , you still gain, base on DIV pay out , especially if you did some average down

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-03-22 16:55 | Report Abuse

The cheapest bank stock to hold for the long term, especially during the series of banks going under in the states. How low can MBSB go? If 40 sen, can sapu a few hundred lots.

M55555

If on board , why complaint ? Given RM0.085 !!! Unless missed boat . No worry, start collecting now. It has to been kept long long. Not buy today , sell tomorrow. Even if you collected at RM0.70 , 3 years ago , you still gain, base on DIV pay out , especially if you did some average down

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2023-03-23 05:23 | Report Abuse

This dividend is to provide epf with cash flow. Its called interim so that it can be paid out fast without agm approval.

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-23 10:21 | Report Abuse

Same time also provide us the retailer cash flow , to collect other shaken down counter.

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-03-23 10:28 | Report Abuse

US and the world markets are now in a precarious situation, recession in those parts of the world is imminent, how much will it affect Malaysia is unknown, do not be overly optimistic, save your bullets and keep whatever you already had, chasing up the market is extremely dangerous now.

3,504 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2023-03-23 17:00 | Report Abuse

Worst is already over for Malaysian market. We are now having political stability for next 5 years. If you go to any shopping malls (forget about those sick ones), you will see crowd coming back to pre-covid level. Things can only be getting better even if Dow Jones is down for another 1000 points.

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-23 18:14 | Report Abuse

This bank due for rerating.

Bblue77

Posted by Bblue77 > 2023-03-24 12:20 | Report Abuse

curious. why there are ppl promoting to buy this counter just because of dividend 0.08? can enlighten me pls.

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-03-24 15:09 | Report Abuse

Ex Divi date price will be adjusted by the market. However, hope to have good news on MIDF buy. In terms of profit MBSB towers over MIDF, post acquisition the management MBSB should be more active in exploiting and expanding the available business opportunities in MIDF products.
Yippy68
agree to you @Alenac. buy now still enjoy 8,5 sen tax free dividend. it will go up to 75 sen on 30/3 just my 2 cents.

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-03-26 09:22 | Report Abuse

Are we prepared for a recession? Looks like our politicians are not. Meanwhile, can we expect funds from the US will flow into our stock market? But our interest rates are not as attractive as the USA. Will our BNM allow the RM to depreciate further to attract some USD300 bill to swing the KLSE up and down for the next 2 years?

This kind of positioning is among the reasons stock markets will test new lows in the next thee to six months, Bank of America analysts led by Michael Hartnett wrote in a note Friday.

More evidence is found in factor models, where money managers are avoiding companies with high levels of leverage and equity volatility. They also are ditching shares that screen highly for dividends and buybacks, a clear sign investors expect companies to preserve cash going forward rather then blasting it out to shareholders.

Meanwhile, gold briefly traded above $2,000 as investors seek out safe harbors to weather any oncoming storm. Money market funds also attracted their largest inflows since March 2020 in the week through March 22, with more than $300 billion moving into cash over the course of the past month, according to a Bank of America note that cites EPFR Global data.
https://www.bnnbloomberg.ca/traders-flight-to-safety-is-about-the-next-recession-not-banks-1.1900263

1 minute ago

investor77

743 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2023-03-26 16:17 | Report Abuse

Believe that after Ex, price will adjust. However, after the initial going down for a few days, slowly it will recover back to its price b4 the 8.5 cents div, that is around 60 cents. So if one buys at less than 68.5 cents, then can profit a bit . Look at FGV, after 11 cents div announced, went up by 10 cents, then after a few days , went up another 10 cents as Ex dividend date nears. Hope this is the case for MBSB also.

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-28 23:21 | Report Abuse

If after ex-date go lower than get a chance to collect again. The lower the better.

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-03-30 14:01 | Report Abuse

sell sell.

Bursino

190 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2023-03-30 16:11 | Report Abuse

Sell. Any reason to sell?

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-30 16:29 | Report Abuse

DJ future look very strong now . Tomorrow ex date , susah dapat chance collect cheap cheap. try luck to parking@ 0.55

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-30 20:16 | Report Abuse

No reason to sell.
Reason to buy : midf

Ron90

3,769 posts

Posted by Ron90 > 2023-03-31 00:50 | Report Abuse

no reason to buy or sell also.. buy now, tomorrow after dividend, back to 58 cents. owner big brother purposely push up the price to get free dividend. short 10 days only to syphone out money to big brother coffer. Price should be drop to 50 cents, not stay at 58. Big time manipulation.

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-31 07:50 | Report Abuse

your thinking koyak lah!
if a shirt costs rm50, and Raya Sale u get rm10 discount. Your cost is rm40, not rm50.
what u are saying is if u buy mbsb 67sen, your cost is still 67sen! wrong! u must count dividend.

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-31 07:55 | Report Abuse

some high dividend stocks give very high dividend, but share price hardly move up or down

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-03-31 10:51 | Report Abuse

Few weeks ago before DIV announcement also 58 to 59 cents . Now nett earning RM0.085... Waiting to top up lower... But look like no chance. Market very strong

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-31 18:46 | Report Abuse

Speakup will collect almost rm7k cash dividen

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-01 11:40 | Report Abuse

Wait for further drops, weak holders are disappointed. By May will probably be at the bottom.

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-04-01 16:21 | Report Abuse

who disappointed? mbsb already kasi almost 100% of their FY22 profits as dividend, still got disappointed meh? should be happy instead

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-04-01 21:14 | Report Abuse

Everybody waiting for her to drop...hahahaha . better drop all the way till 17th Apr. So everyone collected DIV can top up

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-04-01 22:17 | Report Abuse

Mr Market is discounting Mbsb on possibility merger with Midf may not go thru

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2023-04-02 11:23 | Report Abuse

The merger is a done thing.

david1988

21 posts

Posted by david1988 > 2023-04-03 17:44 | Report Abuse

EPF LOAN FINANCING BANK...MBSB AND BSN ONLY!!! THIS TIME HUAT LIAO

david1988

21 posts

Posted by david1988 > 2023-04-03 18:02 | Report Abuse

RISK FREE FINANCING....HAHAHA

Posted by jasmywatcher > 2023-04-04 10:55 | Report Abuse

time to move up

allan88

95 posts

Posted by allan88 > 2023-04-04 13:00 | Report Abuse

it is pretty much a new risk free business for MBSB.

M55555

954 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-04-04 17:06 | Report Abuse

EPF own over 60% of MBSB . EPF guaranteed bank loan. Loan financing by MBSB.. hahahaha...

Posted by Stock beginner > 2023-04-04 19:30 | Report Abuse

nice move by EPF. left hand out, right hand in. money never leave their pocket

25,165 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-04-04 21:15 | Report Abuse

Market is not pricing in EPF loan financing. Aneh!

Posted by ismetulamraja > 2023-04-06 10:21 | Report Abuse

opportunity to buy as much as we can

Posted by TonsilBasher > 2023-04-06 10:38 | Report Abuse

According to Stock Guru Harry - MBSB going to be blue chip in 5 years time

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-06 16:13 | Report Abuse

Yes if with the right management. Tomorrow, they are lending to EPF low-end borrowers at 4 to 5% interest rate. Social service at best but many will not pay back and what will happen to the bad loans? MBSB has not addressed this issue. Market borrowing rates are not going to decline, for all you know by next year they may be up to 8%. When that happens, the return from EPF yearly divi cannot cover interest costs from loans. We may be creating another Silicon Valley bank in Malaysia.
TonsilBasher
According to Stock Guru Harry - MBSB going to be blue chip in 5 years time

5 hours ago

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-07 09:03 | Report Abuse

Good morning, yeah the bank sector valuation is cheap but jitters in Wall Street are restraining the price movement upwards. Hope the sentiments improve further with no bad news of corporate failure.

Posted by Stock beginner > 2023-04-07 11:13 | Report Abuse

@alenac: My understanding is that when someone failed to repay the loan, when they reach age of retirement. EPF will pay back the bank first before sending the remaining balance (if any) back to the account owner.

As for increase of interest rate, i think banker will anticipate and calculate based on the max profit that Islamic loan rate which is around 10% to determine how much they willing to loan out.

For an investor point of view, this is great business opportunity.
But for social standpoint, this is not a great move as it defeat the purpose of mandatory retirement fund. If age of 40 can use they fund as they like, then why age of 30, 20 cannot?

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-07 14:03 | Report Abuse

No issue with your understanding of banks giving loans, but the majority of the low-end borrowers will just take out the EPF through loans and leave the labour force. Without consistent contributions in the future, the loans not paid will become bad. There must be a mechanism where if the collateral such as the balance of the contribution is lower than the outstanding loans plus interest balance, the bank got the right to set off with the contribution.

@alenac: My understanding is that when someone failed to repay the loan, when they reach age of retirement. EPF will pay back the bank first before sending the remaining balance (if any) back to the account owner.

As for increase of interest rate, i think banker will anticipate and calculate based on the max profit that Islamic loan rate which is around 10% to determine how much they willing to loan out.

For an investor point of view, this is great business opportunity.
But for social standpoint, this is not a great move as it defeat the purpose of mandatory retirement fund. If age of 40 can use they fund as they like, then why age of 30, 20 cannot?

2 hours ago