MALAYSIA BUILDING SOCIETY BHD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

+0.005 (0.64%)

0.785 - 0.795

28 people like this.

22,177 comment(s). Last comment by Yippy68 1 hour ago

ckwee168

25 posts

Posted by ckwee168 > 2023-06-09 21:59 | Report Abuse

or should we say that MBSB share price has been all the while heavily discounted by the market and the on-going fair valuation of MBSB-MIDF asset will bring to light the true value of MBSB share ... can't wait to see the reaction of the market on the coming Monday :)

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-09 22:03 | Report Abuse

MBSB was trading at 0.5 PB which is insane in my opinion, but that's the market wisdom...but now with MIDF revenue and profit taking into considerations, even if it is still traded and value at 0.5 PB, the price would have to be higher, cannot be 63sen anymore....u see my point?

ckwee168

25 posts

Posted by ckwee168 > 2023-06-09 22:14 | Report Abuse

i fully agree with ur views @Loy Loy Cheong and i do hope market will come to appreciate what we see too ya :) Any guess on what the final dividend payment will look like post MIDF completion?

Bursino

190 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2023-06-09 23:46 | Report Abuse

Ultimately EPF & PNB will own MBSB 70% , the two of them will crave for high dividends? Should be for better times ahead. 😁

Orson Chin

2,013 posts

Posted by Orson Chin > 2023-06-10 13:56 | Report Abuse

Nx dividend should be 10cts around ….

25,190 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-10 14:51 | Report Abuse

PNB majority owns Maybank. EPF majority owns Rhb.
in the future, PNB might force Maybank to acquire Mbsb, or EPF might force RHB to acquire Rhb

alenac

2,620 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-06-10 16:17 | Report Abuse

Time to sell LLC management not good?
Loy Loy Cheong

Still the same story, incompetent management.

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2023-06-11 20:25 | Report Abuse

Will MBSB be rerated tomorrow? What's its fair value?

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-12 09:22 | Report Abuse

The market has spoken today, fair value for me is 85sen at the current juncture

25,190 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-12 14:25 | Report Abuse

Up 4%. Not bad but can be better

hhhiii123

709 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-06-12 16:23 | Report Abuse

Will it declare 20 cen dividend?

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2023-06-12 23:01 | Report Abuse

No harm dreaming. Maybe your dream may come through.

Posted by RichardM > 2023-06-13 08:35 | Report Abuse

will reach 0.75 next week

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2023-06-13 10:51 | Report Abuse

What is happening?

icedvestor

125 posts

Posted by icedvestor > 2023-06-13 10:58 | Report Abuse

Profit taking is happening. Chill bro.

chokra

57 posts

Posted by chokra > 2023-06-13 10:59 | Report Abuse

Looking at MBSB share price, it looks the response from the market is lukewarm only. The incoming MBSB Group Ceo (Ex CIMB Senior Guy) has a lot in his plate to create value for the enlarged group. Good luck to him. Meanwhile, I will just wait patiently and see what rabbit he can pull out from his magic hat when he comes aboard.

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2023-06-13 12:34 | Report Abuse

I am not too keen on the banking sector especially with the rising interest rates. With the high cost of living and high inflation rates, an increase in interest rates would result in more defaults.

Could the lukewarm response be due to what the market is seeing for the latest numbers? Looking at MBSB's Q1 2023 analyst report, their impaired financing has risen to 6.98%. Profit before tax is down to RM84 million and Financing Loss Coverage seems to have dropped to 57% from over 100% 2 years ago. Have they been reversing provisions to boosts profits in past quarters? Does this make sense when impaired financing is rising (4.6% 2 years ago to 6.98% now).

Most banks are now trading at P/B of below 1.00.

25,190 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-13 13:00 | Report Abuse

Good news also drop? You're gotta be kidding

chokra

57 posts

Posted by chokra > 2023-06-13 13:24 | Report Abuse

Apart from concerns about MBSB's financial performance, I have to conceed EPF's total holdings currently is a big drawback too. EPF after merger will hold 58% of MBSB Group, I hope EPF can dilute their total holdings to allow a bigger float in the market. Let us hope EPF can sell some of their holdings at the right price. No need to hold 58% interest to be the controlling stakeholder. Let more participants have stakes in MBSB.

Posted by Kstraders > 2023-06-13 15:44 | Report Abuse

isn't it good for EPF to hold a larger share as they will push the confidence in the market @chokra? I'm a newbie in fundamental analysis

icedvestor

125 posts

Posted by icedvestor > 2023-06-13 16:17 | Report Abuse

bigger float vs bigger dividends... guess EPF chose which one

chokra

57 posts

Posted by chokra > 2023-06-13 16:55 | Report Abuse

Kstraders, if the percentage of holdings is too high, the stock is illiquid. Some investors will not want to hold such stocks because when it is time to sell, too few interested buyers and the price might not escalate much. There is an element of gambling when we pick stocks and no one wants to hold stocks that cannot gain in value but instead goes down 50% in six years. Of course with EPF as the majority controlling stake, MBSB will not go bust. There was a time in the 80s when shares of MBSB was priced above Rm4.00. We can only hope that MBSB is a growth stock and we will be rewarded in due course. Keep our fingers crossed.

Posted by FinanceInRealLife > 2023-06-13 18:19 |

CYChong

14 posts

Posted by CYChong > 2023-06-14 19:53 | Report Abuse

Another view on MBSB's RM 1 bil acquisition https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyYX8nPN1Mk

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-15 08:56 | Report Abuse

At this juncture, trade MBSB on facts and not sentiments.
1. Before acquisition of MIDF MBSB is already trading at PB of 0.5 (or lesser), the most discounted bank in Malaysia, so based on this fact, it has limited down side but huge upside potential.
2. After acquisition of MIDF, earnings increases, revenue increases, based on this facts, the price if continue trading at this level means it is probably 0.3 PB value which to me is senseless to remain at the this price level, it is only a matter of time the market wisdom will sets in to move the price higher as the quarter progress.
3. MBSB already said there is another post merger dividend, when this is finalize and announce, you think you can get MBSB at 65sen?
4. If banks in Malaysia continue its fine run, there is even the possibility of another interim dividend.
5. MBSB is emerging as the biggest or 2nd biggest Islamic bank in Malaysia.
6. High possibility of adding MBSB as an KLCI Index stock in the very near future.
To me, this is the best time to invest in MBSB, not for short term punting but as a mid term investment.

alenac

2,620 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-06-15 09:20 | Report Abuse

Wow LLC, change of mind, thought you said MBSB has got a bunch of incompetent people managing the bank?
Loy Loy Cheong
At this juncture, trade MBSB on facts and not sentiments.
1. Before acquisition of MIDF MBSB is already trading at PB of 0.5 (or lesser), the most discounted bank in Malaysia, so based on this fact, it has limited down side but huge upside potential.
2. After acquisition of MIDF, earnings increases, revenue increases, based on this facts, the price if continue trading at this level means it is probably 0.3 PB value which to me is senseless to remain at the this price level, it is only a matter of time the market wisdom will sets in to move the price higher as the quarter progress.
3. MBSB already said there is another post merger dividend, when this is finalize and announce, you think you can get MBSB at 65sen?
4. If banks in Malaysia continue its fine run, there is even the possibility of another interim dividend.
5. MBSB is emerging as the biggest or 2nd biggest Islamic bank in Malaysia.
6. High possibility of adding MBSB as an KLCI Index stock in the very near future.
To me, this is the best time to invest in MBSB, not for short term punting but as a mid term investment.

19 minutes ago

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-15 09:30 | Report Abuse

I did not change my mind about the people, still incompetent brunch, otherwise it will not be trading at 50% discount not? I invest in the company but still wish there are better people managing it.

alenac

2,620 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-06-15 09:42 | Report Abuse

Nothing significant in the comment just it is reasonable, going forward once the acquisition is finalised, will MBSB management be able to create value from the acquisition? And once that is convinced, will MBSB stocks attract external funds to accumulate, requiring a jump in EPS post-acquisition? MBSB exceeded the RM1 bill of NP in 2014 in the last 10 years. So based on LLC comment, the incompetent bunch of people in MBSB will hardly be able to create value. So why are we here buying the shares and expecting another divi?
CYChong
Another view on MBSB's RM 1 bil acquisition https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyYX8nPN1Mk

2 minutes ago

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-15 09:51 | Report Abuse

Even incompetent brunch will have its day, the market has spoken, and from 5 -6 years ago till now, look at what the price of MBSB then and now, what value except disappointment have MBSB bring for their loyal supporters?

chokra

57 posts

Posted by chokra > 2023-06-15 10:23 | Report Abuse

Couldn't agree with you more LLC, the current people managing MBSB are a bunch of losers. I am hoping the new Group CEO from CIMB can kick some backsides of the senior management team and make them realise "having a civil service mentality will mean stagnation and eventual demise". I am sure after the CIMB guy comes in, he will bring in some quality people to help him push MBSB to the next level. The current MBSB senior team is definitely mediocre. Not only retail shareholders lost money but EPF also lost big money putting up with this underperforming MBSB team. The only saving grace was the annual dividends could cover our holding costs of holding on to the stocks until it sees better days.

hhhiii123

709 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-06-17 19:50 | Report Abuse

appointment of new CEO, monday fly?

25,190 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-18 08:07 | Report Abuse

fly macam Batikman last time in bjcorp?

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2023-06-18 08:22 | Report Abuse

I would rather prefer it to be slow and steady. Big jump gonna see massive profit taking.

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-19 16:31 | Report Abuse

Expect the acquisition of MIDF to be completed by 1st July and announcement of post merger dividend, I am really keen to see how market is going to drive the price of MBSB and what is the co-relations of the new issue price of 96sen, something interesting could be developing there.

hhhiii123

709 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-06-21 18:35 | Report Abuse

Strong buy today,Good news coming soon?

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-22 11:10 | Report Abuse

14 million shares traded but still traded down while other banks are mostly on big bull run the last 1 week.

vijay99

46 posts

Posted by vijay99 > 2023-06-22 15:23 | Report Abuse

matter of time before it flies...already all in

Posted by sohaitrader > 2023-06-22 16:47 | Report Abuse

lepas pecah 69 , sure power later on ..

vijay99

46 posts

Posted by vijay99 > 2023-06-22 17:03 | Report Abuse

RM1 at least it reach i believe once got the full banking license

25,190 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-06-29 21:31 | Report Abuse

now 65sen, nobody want to buy
bila rm1, semua rebut beli....... speakup sell to u rm1 lah 😁

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-30 16:16 | Report Abuse

Will the big road block at 66sen suddenly disappear and let MBSB resume its journey towards 75sen?

Posted by Loy Loy Cheong > 2023-06-30 17:42 | Report Abuse

New boss officially on board next Monday, what will he do?

hhhiii123

709 posts

Posted by hhhiii123 > 2023-07-04 18:28 | Report Abuse

Break then pull back, hmm..

M55555

957 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-07-05 11:29 | Report Abuse

relax .. it will not stay 0.65 forever .

Diamond7

2,198 posts

Posted by Diamond7 > 2023-07-05 11:47 | Report Abuse

Vow!
Hidden gem..

67 cents dy..
Going to move up up up..
Broke resistance liao....

M55555

957 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2023-07-05 14:46 | Report Abuse

0.70 coming