BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.01 (0.12%)

8.00 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,618 comment(s). Last comment by BradonOoi 3 hours ago

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-07-30 11:19 | Report Abuse

The beauty is everyone has their point of views,happy return

Minion88

88 posts

Posted by Minion88 > 2020-07-30 11:34 | Report Abuse

BabyAce, you are right. I'm sorry that your BAT dividends cannot cover your capital loss.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-07-30 13:59 | Report Abuse

It’s very painful to know that those who had bought one year or even three years ago,I revisited bat after 30 years,first bought at13.50 30 years back when it limit down due to currency control and foreign funds throwing

WBJS

117 posts

Posted by WBJS > 2020-07-30 15:08 | Report Abuse

Nice Top Gainer

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-07-30 15:12 | Report Abuse

Restructuring your profile any change to bat ,run for existing of gloves counters before it too late

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-07-30 15:14 | Report Abuse

Let see can it break through 11 or not but look likely it’ll

WBJS

117 posts

Posted by WBJS > 2020-07-30 15:23 | Report Abuse

huge resistant after 10.80 if can break through, 11 not a problem. Hopefully

Posted by flyingtomoon2020 > 2020-07-30 18:58 | Report Abuse

Buy buy or bye bye?

lkoky

539 posts

Posted by lkoky > 2020-07-31 15:51 | Report Abuse

BAT’s Experimental Coronavirus Vaccine (2:33 p.m. HK)

British American Tobacco Plc’s experimental vaccine, which uses tobacco plants, could start clinical trials within the next few weeks. The company expects a response on its application from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration “any day now,” Chief Marketing Officer Kingsley Wheaton said in an interview Friday

Posted by Heavenexile > 2020-08-01 12:37 | Report Abuse

Sustainable dividend payout will be dependent on sustainable earnings. Do note that the cigarette industry is plagued by illicit trade. It is so bad that the market share of the illicit cigarette trade accounts for more than 60%. And this didn’t happen overnight, the situation happened over many years which is reflected in BAT’s declining revenue and earnings. This is definitely one counter that investors should shy away from. Plenty of fishes in the sea, why go for one that is about to belly up.

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-08-01 14:16 | Report Abuse

How many Co. in Bursa can give a dividend yield of 9% during Covid Year 2020?..You are F**King
Okay if management don't ask you money. You can count with your fingers how many Co. are giving Dividend in 2Qr. So how can this Heavenexile SoHai said "plenty of fishes in the sea".
Maybe he is fishing Goldfish in his House aquarium...MCO mah

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-08-01 15:04 | Report Abuse

Want to Buy Cheap, just say lah

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-08-01 22:29 | Report Abuse

Latest update - 31/7/2020

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-08-02 11:42 | Report Abuse

Those think Bat cannot maintain 270-300 mil net profit for this year may reduce their investment in Bat but behave like half professional or as fund managers to talk bad about Bat without more solid financial n accounting weaknesses to prove is kind of irrational n arrogant .... The high illicit cigarettes level of these 2-3 years the main reason the profits keep dropping in last 3 years but Bat already at low valuation n if retail investors have faith to Bat , shouldn’t have too low confidence level for BAT profit for this year n next year.....

tstan100

73 posts

Posted by tstan100 > 2020-08-04 16:10 | Report Abuse

SELL of your BAT now and switch to Glove stock and make 10-20% per week.

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-08-04 16:21 | Report Abuse

It should be the other ways around I think for many will get caught at very high if the profit taking setting in while there is big room for bat to go up

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-08-04 16:24 | Report Abuse

History repeats whenever almost all tradings house recommendations it’s time to take profit

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-08-04 21:11 | Report Abuse

HARTA: EPS 6.5 sen, x 4 quarters = 26 sen, I generously add 50% this year to get RM 0.39, share price is RM 19.94, PE ratio: 51
Latest dividend 2.1sen x 4 = 8.4 sen, dividend yield 0.42%

BAT: EPS 19.1 sen, x 4 quarters = 76.4 sen, add 10% for recovery after MCO this year to get RM 0.84, share price is RM 10.58, PE ratio: 13
Latest dividend 18sen x 4 = 72 sen, dividend yield 6.8%

HARTA has a current estimated PE ratio of 51 with a dividend yield much lower than for a FD. I don’t have the guts to go to the glove casino at these valuations and sleep relaxed every night with BAT.

PTL4Ever

99 posts

Posted by PTL4Ever > 2020-08-04 22:50 | Report Abuse

Bat is down but not out. Good for those who has the means to keep it long term.

Junichiro

2,056 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2020-08-05 14:47 | Report Abuse

I have this RJR in the 1990s. Its price did not exceed RM10.00. I held it for dividends until it was taken private by Japan Tobacco. I gain from dividends as well as capital gains when I sold out. If u expect a big recovery n expect a home run, then it may disappoint.

As to Harta, the latest qtr is a glimpse as to whether those bank analyst said is correct. Your generous projection of 0.39cts EPS does indicates that it is largely sentiment driven. As is always, those who play to the last cent will be disappointed.

ngaploh_

18 posts

Posted by ngaploh_ > 2020-08-05 17:31 | Report Abuse

the hardest hit time was from 2010-2014,a packet of premium shot up from $7 to $17 within a space of 4 yrs,& within these 4 years till i left ,volume dropped by half and turn over also only could just maintain,if volume could maintain,turnover should be 150% more,i am just giving a clearer picture of the market situation now,these are our hard earn money,take care all investors.

Simon_khoo

704 posts

Posted by Simon_khoo > 2020-08-05 21:12 | Report Abuse

Humans trial for KBP (BAT wholly owned subsidiary) is progressing well. Expected date of trials completion - 12/2020

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-08-06 19:36 | Report Abuse

Mean vaping is more popular than cigaratte!

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2020-08-07 06:46 | Report Abuse

if next quarter better result, will go up. So no solid proof next quarter will be worse. Let wait and see. If share price keep going down during this period, I will consider to enter.

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-08-07 07:33 | Report Abuse

Remember smoking is addictive meaning smokers will continue smoking. BAT still has fair market share deepite ilkegal cigarette

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-08-07 07:42 | Report Abuse

Harta price overvalue with oly EPS 6.5 which is far beyond expectation and production is maximum..

Posted by Chua Joe Beng > 2020-08-07 08:02 | Report Abuse

no worry, im still keeping BAT, should buy more!

ngaploh_

18 posts

Posted by ngaploh_ > 2020-08-07 09:11 | Report Abuse

i am giving all of u a very clear picture of the cigarette industries in the country,cigarettes are counted in stick
&not revenue if u want to compare it's sales with the last Q,one packet is 20 sticks,one carton is 200 sticks,one case is 10mille,1oo cases is 1 million stick,this is how we calculate our sales ,in yr 2005-6,that was the prime time of the cigarette industries,a premium packet was selling at $4+,then price increased &to $5.5,that was the time sales not moving fast forward,i was in charged of an area with weekly revenue of $1 million with total cigarette volume of 300 cases about 3 million stick per week,by the time i left 3 yrs ago,total volume dropped to 130 cases ,about 1.3 million stick but revenue just dropped slightly to about 900000.00,Bat 2011 quaterly revenue
about 1 billion,price per packet around $7,Q2 ,2020,revenue 546 million with $17 per packet,u calculate how much the total volume has retreated,usually all cigarettes companies will do discount {forward} sales during the last 2 wks of every Q,to push sales up,but 1st Q due to MOC
not doing 2nd Q doing thats why sales better,so friends ,go into it,wish all investors good luck

ngaploh_

18 posts

Posted by ngaploh_ > 2020-08-07 12:49 | Report Abuse

300 cases in yr 2006 could turned revenue into $1m a wk as per case was $3500 then.if volume wont drop it would be 300cases x$8000 as of today's per case value, then revenue would be 2.4 million,but only could get 900,000.00.lost in revenue would be 2.4million- 900,000.=1.5million ,more than 60% lost in revenue,remember this happened in a secondary town in the country & is just for one week sales,there are 52 wks a year,i will not hold long term for this counter,short term hit & run is ok

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-08-07 14:45 | Report Abuse

加强执法及辨识逃税能力 关税局首半年拯救21亿收入
https://www.chinapress.com.my/?p=2144240

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-12 15:39 | Report Abuse

BAT is useless

Gmarc

30 posts

Posted by Gmarc > 2020-08-13 09:25 | Report Abuse

“Malaysia currently has the highest penetration of illegal cigarettes in the world at 62 per cent of the market, with more than 12 billion sticks sold annually.
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2020/08/13/how-the-malaysian-tobacco-black-market-impacts-international-relations/1893463

SinGor

4,782 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-08-13 17:09 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/538499

Illegal Cigs coming to a end soon

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-08-13 17:24 | Report Abuse

wait to drop to below RM10 to buy

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-08-13 17:24 | Report Abuse

Illegal cigs end soon in Msia ?

Jangan mimpi la

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-08-13 20:04 | Report Abuse

BAT performing well during MCO, look at Heineken result and compare.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-08-13 21:26 | Report Abuse

going to below 5

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-08-14 12:08 | Report Abuse

It wouldn’t repeat history this time and is building up from here for the Q3 up coming,my opinion is it is well maintained at this level and will not break 10,I wish I can buy more the yield is so attractive

williamh

851 posts

Posted by williamh > 2020-08-14 12:11 | Report Abuse

Nothing is impossible it’s real this time it the end of the illegal cigarettes

WBJS

117 posts

Posted by WBJS > 2020-08-14 12:44 | Report Abuse

Buying sentiment still weak....Need more positive illicit cigarettes news to build up the investors confidence

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-08-14 17:17 | Report Abuse

Illicit cigarettes would not solved as too big to fight

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-08-15 18:55 | Report Abuse

Agreed with illicit cigarettes, company still giving 18 cents dividend equivalent to 6.6% which is among the best if not the best yield. FD below 2%..

tan81

86 posts

Posted by tan81 > 2020-08-16 00:29 | Report Abuse

Smuggler reveal there is shortage of contraband cigaratte due to border control.

https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/videos/522216208454216/

tan81

86 posts

Posted by tan81 > 2020-08-17 15:22 | Report Abuse

Hi william, u can take photo or make simple video like Asri Janggut ( sg buloh rokok haram acheh )and send to bat email as below

info@stoptheblackmarket.com.my

Reward is waiting for anyone who able to report illegal cigarette activity.

Let bring all those corrupted officer to court.

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-08-17 22:41 | Report Abuse

Below 10 lia

Posted by Johnng8882020 > 2020-08-17 23:59 | Report Abuse

10+good price. Sure good return in future 1 year