BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.03 (0.37%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 1 hour ago

BATFLY

722 posts

Posted by BATFLY > 2020-06-29 21:04 | Report Abuse

Obviously this is a good dividend stock.. 9.6% dividend yield and 90% dividend policy.. Goldbaby

Gmarc

30 posts

Posted by Gmarc > 2020-06-29 21:36 | Report Abuse

Looking at the present FD rates, BAT is definitely an option to consider.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-06-30 08:45 | Report Abuse

2nd Qr Ended. Compare with 1st Qr----It is going to be a surprise up side

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-06-30 15:47 | Report Abuse

Lol, next qr will be worst. How come surprise upside?

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-06-30 15:47 | Report Abuse

Sell before next qr announce, hopefully can rebound back as much as possible before the qr announce

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-06-30 16:30 | Report Abuse

this counter is garbage

arthur8756

146 posts

Posted by arthur8756 > 2020-06-30 20:08 | Report Abuse

Kena con by secretinvestor8888, say will 13.5 last 2 week ago, end up my cash stuck in this counter. Want sapu airasia also cannot

Posted by goldbabymilk > 2020-06-30 21:02 | Report Abuse

relax bois.. BAT long term yield is good :D

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-07-01 09:28 | Report Abuse

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/coronavirus-surge-doctor-deaths-193439614.html

My remisier said alot USA Foreign fund will be moving out of USA cos' US cannot control Covid.
How can US economy grow in even in short term ?

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-07-01 10:12 | Report Abuse

BAT looks like in RIP stage

ivanlau

1,359 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2020-07-02 19:24 | Report Abuse

this is golden summit sochai chong stockpick, by call at rm 19 and now drop till below rm 11...... really sochai fb guru....

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-07-02 19:33 | Report Abuse

all just see dividend

nobody see BAT prospect

Posted by SpartanFury > 2020-07-02 19:54 | Report Abuse

Just out of curiosity.. is the only basis for investing in BAT the high dividend yield of 9.5%?

Becuase that does not really make sense to me if it is. I mean sure the 9% yield is great and all but what's the point in buying a dividend stock if it's not meant to be held long term... I mean I saw the chart and BAT was around RM 60 in 2015... every year since then I saw a RM 10 decrease is share value.

So if I assume they pay 10% (for ease of calulation).. with 1 share of BAT,
I would get RM6 RM 5 RM 4 RM 3 Rm 2 RM 1 = total RM 21.

But I lost RM 50 in share value..for that RM 21.

Am I missing something in the way dividends work? Shouldnt share value increase over time so that even if the div yield is low it will still grow as it follows the share value

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-07-02 22:47 | Report Abuse

Yes. Price is lower than before mco time. Generally other already higher after mco

Posted by flyingtomoon2020 > 2020-07-02 23:01 | Report Abuse

Buy buy or bye bye?

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-07-03 10:35 | Report Abuse

We can only hope after Covid crisis BAT will be back in the 13-15 range. I believe it will. You must understand it's business is not only affected by illegal cigarettes but the channels that can't fully operate and lower sales consumption during this pandemic which similarly affected the beer industry as well. It's share price is painful to watch so I'm treating it as FD in the bank until this bloody Covid crisis is over. I don't think it will drop any lower than 10 during this crisis, hopefully I'm not wrong.

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-07-03 10:54 | Report Abuse

cut lost @ 10.72 sold, bye bye

inv3sto

Posted by inv3sto > 2020-07-03 16:43 | Report Abuse

BAT & PMis facing two main problem Illegal cigarette and vape/pod 50% of youth have switched to these type of smokes .

In the 90s and Early 2000s BAT was a premium cigarette brand it’s value has declined tremendously and even with their NEO it’s not going to make a comeback unless the do a major overhaul .

It’s a very risky stock to keep for the long haul . But short term I think can goreng I might be wrong lah !!

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-07-03 17:34 | Report Abuse

I don't feel "illegal Cigs" and Vape" are really taking Biz from BAT. It is constant health promotion
that is killing BAT revenue. Illegal Cigs and Vap are "Outside" Bat biz scope ( not even Bat product
Line---how can they impact BAT bottom line ) Illegal Cigs are cheap product with little fragrant and
extremely "light weight in tobacco quality"

In order to deflect complaint about falling revenue, management just push problems to illegal Cigs.
However Economy has a profound on effect Cigs consumption, once things are rosy again,
demand pick-up naturally-----"Cig is till Death do we part "

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-07-03 17:40 | Report Abuse

We have about 4 million (Illegal + Legal )Workers----Cheap Cigs are here to stay. BAT has more
expertise then anyone else to produce Cheap Cigs ( sources of Cheap Tobacco are everywhere )...
But profit margin is very Thin ( waste management time )

Posted by mfbulleyes > 2020-07-04 17:18 | Report Abuse

i am smoking for 35 years. 90% of my surrounded friends are smoking iqos now.

Posted by mfbulleyes > 2020-07-04 17:21 | Report Abuse

the chinese group are now most smoking Iqos whereas the malay groups most are with e-cigs now.

Posted by mfbulleyes > 2020-07-04 17:22 | Report Abuse

only the foreign workers are most with illegal cigs.

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-07-04 18:08 | Report Abuse

Marlboro MAN----Billions spend on this Icon, now Bat cannot used it.

rogers123

4,017 posts

Posted by rogers123 > 2020-07-04 18:28 | Report Abuse

JJchan: U r here to boost again?

rogers123

4,017 posts

Posted by rogers123 > 2020-07-04 18:28 | Report Abuse

Today topic shark cornering?

JJchan

7,182 posts

Posted by JJchan > 2020-07-05 10:58 | Report Abuse

Roger 123----Searching all over Bursa to see what stock i am investing----hahaha
Go back to your Puncak, Smtrack, Ekovest ( con-stock meets con-man )

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-07-05 13:13 | Report Abuse

Bat’s con stock now. Useless

PTL4Ever

99 posts

Posted by PTL4Ever > 2020-07-05 23:52 | Report Abuse

Your loss is other people's gain. Mid to long term prospect will still be good

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-07-06 22:00 | Report Abuse

I just read the above article, my call is, its going to incline in certain time frame. The rule is that always do the opposite of what bankers say.

azee

78 posts

Posted by azee > 2020-07-07 07:53 | Report Abuse

Company fined for selling tobacco products online

azee

78 posts

A company was fined RM2,500 at the Magistrates’ Court here for selling tobacco products online in violation of Rule 10A (1) of the Control of Tobacco Products Regulations 2004.

azee

78 posts

The court imposed the fine on Redframe Management & Resources, on July 1 (2020), or a one year jail term for the owner of the company.

azee

78 posts

Posted by azee > 2020-07-07 07:54 | Report Abuse

Health director-general Datuk Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah in a statement today said monitoring and investigation by the Health Ministry found that the company had been selling various brands of tobacco products online for as low as RM20.

azee

78 posts

Selling online is not only against the regulations, but it has thwarted the government's intention to restrict the availability of tobacco products, especially among the youth under 18

azee

78 posts

Regulation 10A (1) states that, “No person shall sell or offer for sale any tobacco products online

azee

78 posts

Dr Noor Hisham said the selling of tobacco products online should be controlled so that the public, especially teenagers, cannot buy or possess tobacco products easily and make room for cigarette availability which makes smoking prevalent among adolescents.
The Health Ministry views this matter seriously and will continue to take stern action

Juniper

63 posts

Posted by Juniper > 2020-07-07 09:14 | Report Abuse

Share price continue to drop.

nokidding

129 posts

Posted by nokidding > 2020-07-08 12:20 | Report Abuse

really no hope?

Juniper

63 posts

Posted by Juniper > 2020-07-08 12:39 | Report Abuse

nokidding looks like it

SinGor

4,783 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-07-08 16:12 | Report Abuse

when suddenly AffinHwang give Tp.....it means they are collecting. BAT is a illiquid stock, most
Security Houses avoid this counter unless it is very cheap

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-07-08 19:55 | Report Abuse

Yes........ 2moro sure up up up

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-07-09 10:01 | Report Abuse

I agree that 2Qr should be improved as all retailer stock up cigarattee after resume business

SinGor

4,783 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2020-07-09 10:11 | Report Abuse

JJchan. I know AffinHwang tactics. First management buys, then they write internal report to their
stockbroker clients. When 200--300clients buy, sure price goes up, immediately cemented their correct recommendation. 9yrs account in AffinHwang

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-07-09 20:40 | Report Abuse

Road to Rm9

Juniper

63 posts

Posted by Juniper > 2020-07-10 10:15 | Report Abuse

QR must be no good. The price dropped to RM10.40 this morning.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-07-10 10:16 | Report Abuse

Could be it a signal. There many other counter go up except this one

Juniper

63 posts

Posted by Juniper > 2020-07-10 10:40 | Report Abuse

This counter green for one day and then red for two days.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-07-10 23:37 | Report Abuse

bat no hope liao