BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.01 (0.12%)

8.00 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,618 comment(s). Last comment by BradonOoi 3 hours ago

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2020-08-18 00:23 | Report Abuse

Bat shareholder should do more reporting on illegal shop selling cheap cigarette.

For corrrupted officer....take.their photo and post in social media.

Let.public be judge.

Posted by flyingtomoon2020 > 2020-08-18 08:04 | Report Abuse

Buy buy or bye bye?

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2020-08-18 10:24 | Report Abuse

Some datuk and vvip is behind the mastermind for the illegal smuggling. Take their photo n post in social media.

IronShirt

3,178 posts

Posted by IronShirt > 2020-08-18 12:09 | Report Abuse

BinTai jumps 50% by just announcing JV to make vaccine...BAT mother is going to made Vaccine
price still lepak here and there

tan81

86 posts

Posted by tan81 > 2020-08-18 12:50 | Report Abuse

Those datuk n vvip even we report to authority also x much help.
Money can settle anything in bolehland.
Best way is post in social media and cc to bat malaysia.
Like the asri janggut case.

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2020-08-18 14:20 | Report Abuse

ironshirt
any update from BAT vaccine?

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-18 17:13 | Report Abuse

Last minute increment indicates that there will be a big fall tomorrow. Same old trend for this counter. One day before dividen is paid it will increase and the next day boom

WBJS

117 posts

Posted by WBJS > 2020-08-18 17:13 | Report Abuse

@JC1425.below RM10? you must be a joker

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2020-08-18 17:30 | Report Abuse

Vaccine on the way.

Dave92

154 posts

Posted by Dave92 > 2020-08-18 20:16 | Report Abuse

I just reported my house nearby got illegal cigarette shop. Hope bat can give me good reward for reporting.

Dave92

154 posts

Posted by Dave92 > 2020-08-18 20:34 | Report Abuse

If all make report like tis with proof.

Soon most illegal cigarette shop gg.

If aft report...close for 2 days only...then re-open again due to corruption.

Then make report again.

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-18 20:50 | Report Abuse

WBJS i am not a joker. Holding this share since march. Go check out for yourself whether what I said is true or false. I will be more happy if it remains intact or increases. Dont just call ppl joker okay

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-18 20:53 | Report Abuse

@Williamho I really hope you are right and I am wrong. Please increase, I have waited too long. The biggest mistake that I did was I did not sell at RM13.30 few months back

Dave92

154 posts

Posted by Dave92 > 2020-08-18 21:31 | Report Abuse

Jc1425, why nt u help report illegal activity to bat and cc to bukit aman/pdrm?

Dave92

154 posts

Posted by Dave92 > 2020-08-18 21:31 | Report Abuse

Keep complain share drop...wont help..
Try helping around.

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-19 09:17 | Report Abuse

Well see I told u guys. Dropped 16cents at the moment

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-08-19 10:06 | Report Abuse

BAT must improve their product quality , sales and productivity in order to increase their profit margin. Even our neighbor country (a tiny island republic) cant even stop contraband cigarettes.. With such a huge coastal line like Malaysia, how to stop illegal cigarettes? Another point is the prices between them is more than half and Bat cigarettes taste is almost the same like those contraband type ! Just Imagine, who ever want to pay more for the same taste ? They must improve their quality! By comparing with the product in the island republic, Bat has no where to stand.

JC1425

325 posts

Posted by JC1425 > 2020-08-19 10:25 | Report Abuse

I think BAT share price would not go up anytime soon. They are actually doing very bad

Posted by Williamho > 2020-08-19 10:48 | Report Abuse

The only way is to hold for at least a year, it's not suitable for short term the volatility is just too big, this is dividen stock worthy at this level

Posted by Heavenexile > 2020-08-19 17:14 | Report Abuse

Like I mentioned, I will shy away from a company such as BAT which has been consistently registering declining revenue and earnings.

Investing cannot be done solely based on dividend yield. One will have to question on the sustainability of those dividend. Dividend payout will trail the earnings of the company as earnings is the source of dividend declaration. As a matter of fact, the yearly decline in dividend declaration by BAT is in line with BAT's decline in earnings.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Posted by SinGor > Aug 1, 2020 2:16 PM | Report Abuse
How many Co. in Bursa can give a dividend yield of 9% during Covid Year 2020?..You are F**King
Okay if management don't ask you money. You can count with your fingers how many Co. are giving Dividend in 2Qr. So how can this Heavenexile SoHai said "plenty of fishes in the sea".
Maybe he is fishing Goldfish in his House aquarium...MCO mah

ivanlau

1,359 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2020-08-19 22:53 | Report Abuse

------------ quote ------------
Stock: [BAT]: BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO MALAYSIA BHD

Jun 11, 2020 9:04 PM | Report Abuse

market sentiment no good, afraid BAT will further drop till 10.50...........
-------- unquote ------

Pls refer to my message dated 11 June ... good luck bat

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-08-20 17:58 | Report Abuse

Dividend in the bank is REAL. Happy investing :)
Will keep holding this GEM until it shinning toward 20. My average price now 15.7. Any long term shareholder here? As a shareholder or Malaysian, we should do our part to report any illicit cigarette or illegible alcohol activities to increase our government tax revenue at this crucial time. I think the black market activities can be reduce. Just stick with management if any latest update.

Posted by Williamho > 2020-08-20 21:24 | Report Abuse

My average price is 12,big room to go up as bonus, dividen already in, positioning yourself before it turns around one the f funds return

28,402 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-08-20 21:25 |

Posted by Williamho > 2020-08-20 21:26 | Report Abuse

My lower colleced price was 9.50

PTL4Ever

99 posts

Posted by PTL4Ever > 2020-08-21 01:29 | Report Abuse

Good stock for those who can wait for medium to longer term. But surely it will rise again

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-08-21 10:07 | Report Abuse

My lowest collected price was 10.50. Now price movement is sideway, will wait to see the movement trend before my final buying portion.

Posted by Williamho > 2020-08-21 10:32 | Report Abuse

Sideways signalling building up for next upturn normally

Posted by Williamho > 2020-08-21 10:45 | Report Abuse

You can get the illegal cigarette every corner everywhere in Malaysia, people don't feel it's an offence to own,they care about the big gap of the price,it Shawn the a forcing is compromised

Posted by Heavenexile > 2020-08-22 11:49 | Report Abuse

Investing in dividend yielding companies is a valid strategy. Having said that, there are so many other high dividend paying companies that is not plagued by pessimistic operating environment. Why not take some time to take a look at the rest.

There is a blog called dividend magic. It chronicles the investing journey of an investor investing in dividend paying companies listed on bursa.

https://dividendmagic.com.my/portfolio-freedom-fund/

DreamKaiser

1,249 posts

Posted by DreamKaiser > 2020-08-22 11:50 | Report Abuse

volume so small

DreamKaiser

1,249 posts

Posted by DreamKaiser > 2020-08-22 11:50 | Report Abuse

how to play like this

DreamKaiser

1,249 posts

Posted by DreamKaiser > 2020-08-22 11:51 | Report Abuse

susah sikit la

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2020-08-23 09:34 | Report Abuse

During the quarter, consumer shifted from general trade to convenience stores. Notably, market share for convenience stores for Dunhill increased by 1.1ppt while Rothmans was up by 0.7ppt qoq. We are hopeful that this may be an early sign of an improving trend going forward

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2020-08-23 09:36 | Report Abuse

The illicit cigarettes volume share remains high at close to 70%. That said, the legal market seemed to have stabilised with unchanged industry domestic shipment volume recorded compared to a year ago.

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-08-24 12:04 | Report Abuse

@newbie911, mind to share your source from where the data showing latest illicit cigarettes?

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-08-25 19:27 | Report Abuse

Every day RED

bahai4453

2,297 posts

Posted by bahai4453 > 2020-08-26 11:06 | Report Abuse

williamh, what sort of surprise ? The only surprise I get from BAT is that they made "jambang " cigarettes.

Slc1

855 posts

Posted by Slc1 > 2020-08-26 11:17 | Report Abuse

RM2 is impossible.

hipster

211 posts

Posted by hipster > 2020-08-26 11:45 | Report Abuse

seems like it's going to consolidate at around $10

troy88

2,915 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2020-08-26 16:33 | Report Abuse

Seems like BAT forever remain undervalued. Wonder when it will get out of this rut.

Posted by Chua Joe Beng > 2020-08-27 07:06 | Report Abuse

JOHOR BAHRU (Aug 26): Police seized 2,593 packs and 692 cartons of contraband cigarettes estimated at RM9.37 million during a raid on 29 grocery stores around Johor Bahru from Aug 1 to 25.

Posted by Moneyking888 > 2020-08-27 19:11 | Report Abuse

Up up

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-08-27 20:29 | Report Abuse

It may take time, but it will recover. Maybank latest company not to declare dividend while BAT still paying out every 3 months. I can hold this counter for years if they keep paying like this.

Posted by Above60percent > 2020-08-27 20:36 | Report Abuse

Beer counters keep dropping more and more as this covid situation affects sales significantly while BAT is relatively less affected. You can compare the quarter ending in June for each.

moneycashrich

2,101 posts

Posted by moneycashrich > 2020-08-28 06:52 | Report Abuse

still a BAT supporter....no reason to ditch this stock at low price. Grab more if it turn lower.

888GOGO

128 posts

Posted by 888GOGO > 2020-08-28 17:37 | Report Abuse

I am still holding tight.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-08-29 00:05 | Report Abuse

Next Q just as usual. Hope for dividend increase to 20 cent. Recently news indicate that a lot of illict cigarates caught. But take time longer to see result