PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.10 (3.08%)

3.23 - 3.43

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 2 days ago

kokojerry

269 posts

Posted by kokojerry > 2017-08-26 14:47 | Report Abuse

Prepared for Monday Gap up!!! ;)

Chess

50 posts

Posted by Chess > 2017-08-26 15:56 | Report Abuse

I am quite agree with apolloang. The result and price increased are very much different. It takes time for result to catch up the price. Always becareful. Don't catch at high price.

apolloang what!!!! profit increase less than 10% this quarter,whole year increase less than 20%,but since dec the price up more than 80%....price up not in tandem with the results.
25/08/2017 21:14

Tan CK

25 posts

Posted by Tan CK > 2017-08-26 23:44 | Report Abuse

despite the history high in revenue for padini, gross profit margin dropped due to the inventories written off and rise in the material cost...Anyway it still report the better quarter compare to Q3 result. that y Q1 2018 MOST likely not a good quarter due too much sales to clean the old inventories..

Tan CK

25 posts

Posted by Tan CK > 2017-08-26 23:45 | Report Abuse

Please read the report the reason behind the dropped in net income ....TQ

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-08-27 10:57 | Report Abuse

drop at least 10 sen tmr.dump at first mrning,i wil .tq

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-08-27 12:51 | Report Abuse

Is it now Padini now is at the peak ?

Coming quarter will down and down ?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-08-27 12:52 | Report Abuse

Actually sales go up , just because the write off of stock then reduce the profit

For me will keep another 1 quarter see how but for share price , I think it is t the peak already

yang88

133 posts

Posted by yang88 > 2017-08-27 14:54 | Report Abuse

To my understanding, stocks written off doesn't mean that the goods disappeared or has no more value. It's just out fashion or out dated apparels . If there are put for cheap or promotional sales in future, it has almost zero cost, the profit will be huge in the quarter . Am I right?

magus

397 posts

Posted by magus > 2017-08-27 18:17 | Report Abuse

GP margin fell badly yoy and qoq. Based on full year unaudited results, PE is already in the high teens. Approach with caution. Selling stocks that are written off will also incur selling and other incidental expenses and the main purpose is just to recover some of the original costs.

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-08-28 06:53 | Report Abuse

I expect some profit taking activities to occur today on Padini based on the recent run. But government fund buying should be able to support the price from going down.

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-08-28 14:17 | Report Abuse

yes!dun buy first,wil drop til 4.03today.

cynachen

134 posts

Posted by cynachen > 2017-08-28 17:03 | Report Abuse

Top up some, next target buy 3.90.

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-08-29 07:33 | Report Abuse

Many investment banks initiate a higher TP of RM 4.60 ( KENANGA / TA / JF APEX)

beta_apha

16 posts

Posted by beta_apha > 2017-08-29 10:50 | Report Abuse

wow!!voon sifu is great!must earn a lot!

ginvin

206 posts

Posted by ginvin > 2017-08-29 11:57 | Report Abuse

good bargain today! hope volume up next week after long holiday

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-08-29 12:04 | Report Abuse

test under 3.90later

yang88

133 posts

Posted by yang88 > 2017-08-29 12:27 | Report Abuse

Big players in action..

magus

397 posts

Posted by magus > 2017-08-29 13:03 | Report Abuse

network expansion already bringing in diminishing returns and diseconomies of scale. GP margin down to 34% this June qr. Even tho' caused by stock write-offs, this is not a one-off event. Padini's revenues already >rm1 billion and to sustain this kind of revenues and to support the large network of stores, purchases will have to be high and since you cannot always sell all stocks at the first prices, markdowns and write-offs are part and parcel of the retail trade and will get increasingly larger in time to come.

yang88

133 posts

Posted by yang88 > 2017-08-29 14:44 | Report Abuse

26 million of inventories was written off which is 10 times higher than the previous quarter, it is just unbelievable.

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-08-29 15:14 | Report Abuse

VERY BIG SALE

hipster

211 posts

Posted by hipster > 2017-08-29 16:03 | Report Abuse

how low do you guys think it will reach? 3.75?-)

cynachen

134 posts

Posted by cynachen > 2017-08-29 16:40 | Report Abuse

@hipster, I sure hope so, top up some if really get to that level :D

hipster

211 posts

Posted by hipster > 2017-08-29 17:00 | Report Abuse

if those IB TP is true this would be a bargain, but we don't know what's at play here?-)

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2017-08-29 17:00 | Report Abuse

TA Securities
Padini Holdings Berhad
TP: RM4.67 (+10.4%)
4QFY17 Earnings Boosted by Raya and Storewide Sales Last Traded: RM4.23
THIS REPORT IS STRICTLY FOR INTERNAL CIRCULATION ONLY* BUY

Review
 Padini Holdings Berhad’s (Padini) FY17 adjusted net profit came in within
our full-year forecast and consensus estimates of 105% and 99%
respectively.
 FY17 adjusted PBT increased by 16.7% YoY to RM210.1mn in tandem with
the increase in revenue of 20.7% YoY to RM1.6bn. The increase in profit can
be attributed to i) positive same-stores-sales growth of 8%, and ii) opening of
14 new stores in FY17 (i.e. six Padini Concept Stores, seven Brands Outlets
and one free standing store), which contributed to 4.5% of FY17 revenue.
However, the profit was partly offset by reduction in gross profit margin due
to i) competitive pricing strategy, and ii) rise in costs of sales.
 4QFY17 adjusted PBT increased by 24.1% QoQ to RM54.3mn, in line with the
increase in revenue of 23.2% QoQ to RM460.5mn. This was largely
contributed by Aidilfitri festival sales and four-day special sales promotion
during the quarter (i.e. Padini Concept Store Storewide Sale) as expected.
 The board has paid a single tier fourth interim dividend of 2.5sen/share and
single tier special dividend of 1.5sen/share on 30 June 2017 which
cumulatively came to a gross dividend paid of 11.5sen/share for FY17. The
board also declared a single tier first interim dividend of 2.5sen/share for
FY18 on 25 August 2017.
Impact
 We increase our earnings forecasts for FY18 and FY19 by 9.2% and 12.8%
respectively after imputing FY17 results and factoring in i) higher sales
growth, i.e.: double-digit for FY18-19 and ii) strengthening of Ringgit to
reduce costs of sales.
Outlook
 Recently Padini announced that the group has completed the registration of
Padini (Cambodia) Co Ltd in Cambodia on 2 August 2017 for a cash
consideration of 20mn Riehls (USD5k) with 100% shareholdings. We expect
Padini to open a standalone store in Phnom Penh rather than operating
through licensing of Vincci brand with a partner. We believe this new
approach would drive overseas sales to higher than the current 5% level
moving forward.
 We expect Ringgit to recover to MYR4.15/USD in CY18 from MYR4.25/USD in
CY17 which would help to reduce costs of sales for FY18, especially those
products imported from China.
Valuation
 Maintain BUY on Padini with higher target price of RM4.67/share
(RM4.10/share previously) based on unchanged 16x CY18. We continue to
like Padini given its i) strong brand name in Malaysia; and ii) active store
management efforts and marketing initiatives.

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-30 09:32 | Report Abuse

ib sapu alot padini d, then release report =)

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-08-30 13:50 | Report Abuse

lucky not sell
padini limit up some
i think is time to free my padini cash
good job

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-08-30 13:55 | Report Abuse

Padini really scary, I wonder who sold down the price yesterday to RM 3.79 and then shoot up to RM 4.10 today

Beng Beng

174 posts

Posted by Beng Beng > 2017-08-30 14:08 | Report Abuse

long term never scare la. hold tight tight 1 day hope to become magni.

cynachen

134 posts

Posted by cynachen > 2017-08-30 14:09 | Report Abuse

Only able to top up some, oh well, top up again when there's another drop. =/

omgimnoob

514 posts

Posted by omgimnoob > 2017-08-30 14:50 | Report Abuse

Waiting to split now?

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-08-30 16:02 | Report Abuse

wow

ginvin

206 posts

Posted by ginvin > 2017-08-30 16:04 | Report Abuse

padini is a rebound king, whenever it drop significantly, is a great signal to enter.... hahaha

elter

7 posts

Posted by elter > 2017-08-30 16:13 | Report Abuse

big merdeka present...

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-08-30 23:29 | Report Abuse

Thinking of selling off Padini and realise my profit of more than 100%

Luckily still have trust on Padini and hold.on ....today strongly rebound back ..well done Padini !!!

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-09-02 14:13 | Report Abuse

I love you Padini

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-09-02 14:19 | Report Abuse

I trust on the continue opening of new stores of Padini and will continue hold

Hope Padini don't let all the investors disappointed

kokojerry

269 posts

Posted by kokojerry > 2017-09-02 23:57 | Report Abuse

Malaysian ZARA in the making!!! We won be disappointed.....

Posted by sharinginfoz > 2017-09-07 10:00 | Report Abuse

Malaysia's Padini Plans To Invest MYR20 Mln In Cambodia, Open Up To 4 Stores - Official

By Gho Chee Yuan
Nikkei Markets
KUALA LUMPUR (Sep 05) -- Padini Holdings, a Malaysian apparel retailer, plans to invest up to 20 million ringgit ($4.66 million) to expand its footprint in Cambodia amid tepid consumer sentiment at home market, its chief financial officer said.

The company aims to maintain same-store sales growth of least 8% in the current fiscal year to Jun. 30, Sharon Sung told Nikkei Markets. Padini also hopes to maintain a gross profit margin of about 38% this fiscal year, she said.

"In the first phase, we planned to open two to four stores in the next 12 months [in Cambodia]," Sung said. "We hope to see positive contribution after one year."

Padini's regional expansion comes at a time when Malaysian consumers continue to trim discretionary spending and delay purchases of big ticket items to weather a rising cost of living.

Consumer Sentiment Index rose to 80.7 points in the second quarter, but still below the optimism threshold of 100 points, according to Malaysian Institute of Economic Research.

In Malaysia, Padini has set aside about 10 million ringgit to open 12 more stores, said Sung. "We will continue our current marketing strategy and will have more efficient processes to reduce lead time for the time being," she added.

Padini, currently operates 126 stores, which consists of 42 Padini Concept Stores, 47 Brands Outlet Stores, and 37 stand-alone stores.

For the fiscal year 2016, Padini's net profit grew 71.30% on year to 137.39 million ringgit from 80.22 million ringgit a year ago as sales volume grew faster than operating expenses. Revenue rose 33.10% to 1.30 billion ringgit.

Shares of Padini, which have gained 44.23% over the past year, are currently trading 0.24% lower at 4.14 ringgit apiece, while the benchmark FTSE Bursa Malaysia KLCI is down 0.4%.

voon1900

714 posts

Posted by voon1900 > 2017-09-07 10:20 | Report Abuse

geng!

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2017-09-07 10:25 | Report Abuse

Approaching close to its TP.

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2017-09-07 13:05 | Report Abuse

Padini is really crazy! !!!!

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2017-09-07 14:58 | Report Abuse

Ya soon hv to say bye2 to you folks.

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2017-09-07 15:58 | Report Abuse

Bye2 folks hv reached my destination. Wish all of you hv a further enriching ride.

林俊松

6,919 posts

Posted by 林俊松 > 2017-09-07 16:40 | Report Abuse

Why so strong?

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-09-07 17:36 | Report Abuse

yes limit up.
new highest record
padini keep limited up

Posted by charliemunger > 2017-09-07 17:45 | Report Abuse

very good company and continue to deliver!TP 6....and soon will share spilt!Padini yes! if you haven't go to a padini store to watch, pls do so ...coz everytime I go to the store, is full of people !

kokojerry

269 posts

Posted by kokojerry > 2017-09-07 18:25 | Report Abuse

Support all the way!!!

Posted by DisCiPline > 2017-09-07 18:49 | Report Abuse

amazing, i cant believe i havent sell padini, 100% gain ady

Ohyea

278 posts

Posted by Ohyea > 2017-09-07 18:53 | Report Abuse

Ez buy ... tao Bao ..... qOo10 Wil Hav impact on them soon ... let's see