SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

centrio88

137 posts

Posted by centrio88 > 2017-07-17 20:33 | Report Abuse

Oil price up

zackboy

243 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2017-07-19 14:59 | Report Abuse

Is Scomi still a good buy?

winmal

1,128 posts

Posted by winmal > 2017-07-20 10:47 | Report Abuse

IJM bought & converted bond at 0.365 ...

tiennhieu

719 posts

Posted by tiennhieu > 2017-07-20 15:43 | Report Abuse

up up up ,,,,,,

winmal

1,128 posts

Posted by winmal > 2017-07-20 15:59 | Report Abuse

today scomi very active

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-07-20 17:22 | Report Abuse

Wat nws......!??

gelong

1,737 posts

Posted by gelong > 2017-07-23 12:37 | Report Abuse

well no.3 almost done, after this wait FPSO arrival then first oil, aku mu late

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-07-25 12:19 | Report Abuse

An article appeared in Free Malaysia Today titled - Can Scomi Engineering keep going ? KPMG cast doubt as to whether SEB can continue as a going concern. Is going to drag down the entire group.

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-07-25 17:57 | Report Abuse

Writing is on the wall for this one.....No cash, Very little work, No investors, failing stock prices and a court case looming up that cant be won, let alone the poor press that will follow and further hurt them.
They cant pay off staff to reduce overheads as there is no cash for redundancies.
selling the three vessels they have and calling it profit will only (sorry the pun) keep them floating for a short while - but that would take time and i just dont see them having it to hand......

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-07-26 07:47 | Report Abuse

In a very precarious situation indeed. Should have some feel of it come Monday, 31st July.

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-07-26 12:55 | Report Abuse

July 31st and Aug 28th will be dates to watch for indeed, no doubt we will see some attempt at positive spin on it and current business from Scomi but with the cash flow problems, negative margins and no new work....... cant see it making much difference.
I think only their ME operations have any margins but nowhere enough to keep them floating... a big sell off???? maybe to little to late???
They desperately need to win in court but they have made so many screw-ups and are so far behind and all of their own doing - best they can hope to get out of it is another extension.
My thoughts are that they will loose the contract as lets face it enough is enough, then go to appeal which will just drag out everything even longer and waste a heap of cash trying.... then spend all their time trying to recover the outstanding... in the mean time the company is still sinking and getting into further debt and with all this negative publicity no one will go near them to invest or cash injection from those that havent already run for the hills... maybe a good time for a takeover???? surly would be a cheap buy :)

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-07-26 17:52 | Report Abuse

Saw lots of activity today trying to prop the price up....... still managed to drop another 4.35%
Same again tomorrow???

centrio88

137 posts

Posted by centrio88 > 2017-07-26 18:23 | Report Abuse

Can buy ?

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-07-27 08:07 | Report Abuse

Not now, but wait till q report sure u can get 0.08 c.........!

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-07-27 08:08 | Report Abuse

Even 0.06c.....

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-07-27 08:53 | Report Abuse

Agree with longvalley. Aug qtr result in all likelihood will shake the entire group further. Scomien is hanging by the thread. Monorail in Brazil still ongoing but no news on its progress. Prehaps no news is good news. In Mumbai, India, missing dateline after dateline, so says the news. Hardly hear of any new monorail or transportation job awarded thus far, except that continuous effort are made to tender for projects. On the O&G business, activities in marine vessel utilisation and waste management services and drilling rig are not helping as per previous qtr announcement. Likewise, not heard of any new jobs award for quite sometime for Scomies. The only bright spots currently is Ophir and PPA with TNB. Scomi Group holds around 70 % (if my memory serves me correct) of Scomien. Imagine if Scomien will to fold, I cannot imagine the consequence to Scomi Group going forward. All said, the outcome now hinges on the outstanding settlement with Pasaranan. Hopefully a win-win situation can come out of it.

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-07-27 12:35 | Report Abuse

Ophir oil field is being developed by Ophir Production, a joint venture of field operator Octanex with a 50% interest, Scomi Energy Services (30%) and Vestigo Petroleum (20%)

tiennhieu

719 posts

Posted by tiennhieu > 2017-07-27 16:53 | Report Abuse

drop back again.....

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-07-27 19:04 | Report Abuse

Hopefully ophir production wd contribute around 8-12 m 4 nt qr.....!

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2017-07-29 04:56 | Report Abuse

all de sing investors chabuted de now in JB going after foreign gogo girls :(

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-07-29 12:44 | Report Abuse

News n no news almost bad news for tis counter........my 2 c ide.........!!!!!!!!!!

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-07-31 18:47 | Report Abuse

Prices down again...
Any news on the court???
No new work, no sales, marine vessel utilisation 0, Indian Monorail imposing fines etc etc etc
Ophir will inject cash when???????
Next qtr report due this coming month and can only guess that the losses have sustained or increased - regardless of Ophir and its potential no group as a whole can sustain this trend and massive losses
Settlement??? with Pasaranan will only increase the fall or marginally slow it down and thats if all went well and for Scomi - just cant see it myself, how can you fail so many times and be thrown yet another olive branch - enough is enough!!!!
A once fine and proud company that is and has been bled from the top !......

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-01 07:24 | Report Abuse

Jala7777, sounds like doom, gloom and follow by boom.

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-08-01 13:23 | Report Abuse

Did you happen to get a copy of the Scomi FY 2017 annual report that was published yesterday?
If you follow the trend from the last 2 years the QoQ losses is increasing at an exponential rate - last qtr was really bad which ever way you look at it, next Qtr report due this month will be horrendous.........

nippy65 - doom, gloom and follow by boom yes indeed - if it all goes wrong with Pasaranan it will be KA-BOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-01 16:27 | Report Abuse

JaJa, yes I do follow the qtr report. I forsee huge impairment to come. From the Hollies - The road is long, with many turns, that leads us to who knows where ... and the rest of the lyrics encourages us to remain steadfast. Prove us wrong Scomi !

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-08-02 09:38 | Report Abuse

Nearest 2 0.08c.....just waiting........hee.....!!!?

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-08-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

Hopefully gd nws soon.............!!!!!!

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-08-16 01:44 | Report Abuse

Any news on the court case..??? yet another case coming up this month in malaysia and India pushing hard for fines for none completion and supply.
Quarterly report due out this month too and i dont see anything looking good on the horizon so far...
Share prices are going to take yet another hard hit before the month end

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-17 15:03 | Report Abuse

All three counters suspended. Good news or bad news ? Restructuring exercise ? If it is just selling a stake in Scomien to China, Scomies should not be suspended. Looks to be something major leaning to something not so pleasant

tiennhieu

719 posts

Posted by tiennhieu > 2017-08-17 15:21 | Report Abuse

suspended!!! what is going on?? No announcement also.

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-17 15:32 | Report Abuse

Announcement will be made for sure. Should know by this evening or tomorrow.

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-17 16:22 | Report Abuse

Suspension till Mon 5 p.m. Serious stuff ?

synergyCT

21 posts

Posted by synergyCT > 2017-08-17 17:09 | Report Abuse

anyone heard anything about it?

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-08-17 17:29 | Report Abuse

Good to be hearing that there is some news coming through.... been too quiet for too long.
It is certainly going to be a busy month.
Moving a chunk of ES over to the Chinese will be a good move short term and it is by far the most potential of regions...but how much impact will that have on the group??? too little too late???

Posted by Joon Khong Chang > 2017-08-17 17:47 | Report Abuse

Not sure if it's true. Bought scomien this morning and got suspended in the afternoon. Hope it's a good news lah been dropping so long.

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2017-08-17 20:04 | Report Abuse

Consolidation of all 3 units into one long over-due to save directors fee, etc. and achieve cost synergy....23 directors, crazy fees perks/ benefits. directors high fee, management fee eat up all the profit leaving banana for us only. wakaka

Ahead1268

768 posts

Posted by Ahead1268 > 2017-08-17 23:48 | Report Abuse

Better sell if hit limit up

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-18 10:35 | Report Abuse

Will be sure to have multiple proposals. Will not auger well should there be rights, warrant, loan stock or capital reduction thrown in. Don't sounds like selling any stake to China. No matter how they shift and re-structure, the bottom line is still winning jobs and more jobs without which is tough going.

nippy65

197 posts

Posted by nippy65 > 2017-08-18 14:04 | Report Abuse

I concur with you gushan. Issue more share to swap ? If so, it will be so so so diluted.

Ahead1268

768 posts

Posted by Ahead1268 > 2017-08-18 20:00 | Report Abuse

Maybe capital reduction n right issue. Reach hollang liao

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-08-20 00:13 | Report Abuse

I dn't think so.........!

Posted by hollandking > 2017-08-20 11:27 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/08/19/scomi-to-build-shareholder-value/
Share consolidation from 2 billion to 1 billion, a Reverse Split. Reverse split very taboo in stock market, so no use this word. No pay cash, pay merger by shares and warrants. Both scomi energy n engineering will be given more than 20% premium(more) over their share price.. So means at expense of scomi group(parent) shareholders. No sure if R/S if after or before merger. Could be issue share first for merger , then R/S, or R/S first, then issue share for merger. You guys into this, especially newbies, know what you doing. So you guys sure lose one if you get this one, only one perhaps gainer r scomi engin n energy BUT not necessary energy and engineering can get the cream bcoz u need buyers, if no buyers or not enough buyers, you can't dispose, so price go down too. BUT tell you guys, I no recommend this counter. I no share n no buy this counter, just to give you another side of the story because i can see many here newbies or old foxes to dupe ppl. I predict this one will go down even lower.

longvalley

2,287 posts

Posted by longvalley > 2017-08-20 18:56 | Report Abuse

We dn't know all................!!!!!?

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-08-21 13:34 | Report Abuse

I just see delays to the inevitable bad news......
Dilution is not the solution - devaluing something that is already worthless!!!??

There will be lots of propaganda and press releases from Scomi stating how well they are doing and various opportunities that are all weighted in their favour - monorail contracts for example, Thailand - nope, Middle east - nope, India - well that's all gone very wrong and India have imposed fines which will no doubt end up in court or just cancel and look elsewhere, Turkey - already won by the competition. not to mention anything that is happing on home soil....
And China keeps popping up????
Just wait for the next qtr reports to come out - if they ever do - or is this whole delay exercise going to delay and HIDE that too.........?

Totally agree with Hollandking - this will go down down down and unlikely to come back up if at all..
Chinaman - also correct, read the agenda notes for the AGM... should be happening this Friday 25th although after the last few weeks i think they will have more to talk about than just releasing more shares and paying directors fees.....

Posted by hollandking > 2017-08-21 17:41 | Report Abuse

agreed, there will be propaganda, newbies believe, but old timers know what this is about. I only believe this one will turn around if the ceo is sacked and changed of management, Maybe if acquire by IJM, they i may consider, if not, i won't

JaJa7777

90 posts

Posted by JaJa7777 > 2017-08-21 20:36 | Report Abuse

And as if by magic here you go......
Propaganda at its best

https://asia.nikkei.com/Markets/Nikkei-Markets/Malaysia-s-Scomi-Group-To-Delist-Unit-Scomi-Energy-Services-Scomi-Engineering-CEO

Not an honest word spoken - all Bull ----!!
The company plans to complete the restructuring exercise by March 2018 - unless they can drag it out even further!!!
Lets see what happens in court and what happens to the release of the quarterly report???? no doubt severely delayed...

Read carefuly and then go do some reaserch.... Assets? Indian settlments?? renewable energy business (JV Partner - no inputs means no outputs regardless of the size of PO..)

The only true word spoken was - "project delays in its transport solutions unit" ahmmm is that not what caused the court case in the first place and all down to complete inefficiency’s from with-in.

Lets see what tomorrow brings..

freeman

429 posts

Posted by freeman > 2017-08-22 11:03 | Report Abuse

Updates from scomies AGM

1.bod of scomies have not receive any proposal from SGB regarding consolidation, BOD refuse to comment further regarding the matter. Thus trading as usual tomorrow
2. Marine business in indonesia in good shape with around 79% utilization rate
3. First flow of oil from ophir is expected to be in end sept.
The result would depend on rate of oil flow from the rig.
Scomies expects to receive around 130mil usd profit from ophir in 3 years.
4. If u notice from financial statement the gp and cash flow pf scomies are +, the only culprit is one off impairment of assets i.e 4 osv vessel that remain idle out of 5. Positive thing is that these vessel are not under financing or leasing but wholly owned
5. Chemical / oil gas business business activity -the industry now moving into/ focusing on land rigs over open sea rigs. With regard of griwing shale oil rigs from US. Scomies planning to enter the US market in the near term.
6. Scomies itself, irrelevant of Sgb or seb. With low gearing, positive operating cash flow, positive gross profit. There is no going concern issue. Scomies can go through this slow time of ong business.