ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

-0.005 (1.92%)

0.255 - 0.26

20 people like this.

8,240 comment(s). Last comment by i7investors 5 days ago

Mamat_Win

69 posts

Posted by Mamat_Win > 2019-01-18 15:50 | Report Abuse

how is astro doing?

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-19 16:07 | Report Abuse

Netflix, YouTube and many more sites offering free contents. Which idiot wants to pay subscription fee to watch "moral policed, butchered and holier than thou" programs in Astro?

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2019-01-24 16:05 | Report Abuse

Most people just resign to the notion that cable tv is a sunset biz but fail to recognize that Astro evolves with the challenges befallen n tackle them head on. Glad to see Astro price surge today after a period of consolidation in the 1.45 to 1.50 range. Even at 2 ringgit, assuming a dividend of 10 cents, that would still give a rewarding yield of 5 percent.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-24 21:49 | Report Abuse

Totally agreed!!!

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2019-01-25 09:45 | Report Abuse

singh1 I would expect to see it testing 1.65 followed by 1.75 once Templeton (for epf) complete with its exit or profit taking, whichshould be done by mid nextweek. Though most retailers are not with us, we certainly can take comfort knowing that big funds like EPF n HwangAffin are on our side. That's good enough for now!

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-25 20:01 | Report Abuse

Wa lao eh!! somo1 Your 1.65 call was almost realized. Now hoping for 1.75 already. Afternoon sessions are becoming interesting after a slow start in the morning. Though I don't quite get what you mean by: ((Templeton (for epf) complete with its exit or profit taking, which should be done by mid next week)). I see epf holding 8%, so what is meant by their exit??

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2019-01-25 20:55 | Report Abuse

Singh1, EPF assigns external fund managers to manage part of its funds. In this case, beside EPF internal manager directly invested in Astro, its external managers that have invested in this stock are HwangAffin and Templeton Funds. From the latest lagged Bursa's filing, you can see that it still held about 1.5 million Astro shares as at Jan 22 following consecutive days of selling. With strong surge in Astro price today, it's highly likely that Templeton has completed selling all its Astro holdings which it managed for EPF. The 8%+ EPF holdings is an aggregate number of Astro shares held by both EPF internal and external managers.
With substantial seller out of the picture for now, hopefully it's smooth selling ahead. Barring adverse development in external markets like the Dow, yeah 1.75 may just come true. It'll fantastic if it can, at a much later date, claw back to 1.88 and the eventual 2.00. At current level (1.64), despite the recent rebound, it's still a little over half of its 3.00 IPO price only. Notwithstanding, take one step at a time, let's just hope that 1.75 is attained by the end of CNY on Chap Goh Mei.
Gong Xi Fa Cai!

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-25 21:32 | Report Abuse

LOL, dreamers! After CNY it will be back down. People with inside information "preaches" as if they are great investors. Without insiders, they are hopeless. The core business of Astro is farked up.

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2019-01-25 22:21 | Report Abuse

Prospect not really good. Now it all depends on whether this new CEO can revive the $$$ every quarter.

VSS must have cost a lot. Ad biz not good. The superhero hog mascot not selling good...

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-25 23:37 | Report Abuse

The prospect of a business lies in it's future. I see good stuff coming. Hope Jasin trial run, bundling of broadband via fibre optics and astro is well taken. This is the main catalyst for future growth. Who knows maybe to further expand usage of home or fixed line broadband to achieve wide scale use of technology, the PH gov't may offer some incentives. I see TM and Astro both spiking.

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-28 12:18 |

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2019-01-29 09:51 | Report Abuse

PETALING JAYA: In view of Singapore’s proposal to ban the sale of media streaming boxes in the country, analysts say Astro Malaysia Holdings
image: https://cdn.thestar.com.my/Themes/img/chart.png

Bhd may reap benefits if Malaysia follows suit.

Earlier this month, Singapore’s Law Ministry said it was proposing a ban on the sale of set-top boxes or media streaming boxes with services that allow consumers access to pirated content.

According to reports, this is among proposed changes to the country’s Copyright Act, to be tabled in Parliament this year.

The amendments are the result of a three-year review and follows consultation with Singapore’s Intellectual Property Office, content providers, Pay-TV operators, and the public; and will introduce civil and criminal liabilities.

“If Malaysia passes similar legislation, we believe that it would be a huge catalyst for Astro,” the research house said.

The research house has maintained its earnings estimates, “buy” call on the counter and target price of RM1.95.

“We continue to like Astro for its high dividend yields of over 6%, attractive valuations and potential as an merger and acquisition or privatisation candidate,” it said.

In November 2018, the Singapore High Court ordered Internet service providers to cut Internet access to Android TV boxes.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/01/29/astro-to-gain-if-android-tv-boxes-banned/#8OvwhmCPX2pYS6Yp.99

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-29 11:32 | Report Abuse

Set-top box?? Who cares!! Internet is already streaming free content. We get to see PORN and whatever we like and not what the censored board decides. Don't jaga tepi kain orang ye.

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2019-01-29 12:13 | Report Abuse

If government bans tv box, people will say Harapan and Astro pakat already like before.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-29 17:52 | Report Abuse

singapore and usa also banned tv box, do they pakat with harapan as well?

Netflix - the blacklist 5th series
Astro is having 6th series now

Netflix - hawaii five o till 6th series
Astro is having 9th series now

and etc. youtube wont be able to put the show unless alter to small screen and change to chipmunks sound.

free stream and tv box are taking others people hardwork and get profit out of it. if we all allow such action, next time don't complain if people scan our credit card and steal our money coz that replica credit card machine is available and i believe it is not so expensive if want to find and modify as long as you know some unethical insider with professional knowlwdge. technology is great, tv box and replica credit card machine are the same. steal copyright and steal money is still steal. humanity is questionable.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2019-01-29 18:25 | Report Abuse

Agreed. Say it as it is, cyber theft!

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-29 20:44 | Report Abuse

Consumers are not stupid. Don't use big words like unethical theft etc to justify your farked up products. Companies are bigger crooks compared to layman consumer. Copyright, patent are greedy people's wish in which they want income flowing like river for generations without any work.

Technology is not your father's property to claim proprietary. As long as, youtube or internet can provide some kind of desired free content, that is what matters most to consumers. Burn with hate.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2019-01-29 20:55 | Report Abuse

if sick go see a doctor, or in need of anger management, see a shrink. this is NOT a platform for that!

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-29 21:24 | Report Abuse

Our country has become one big pirate ship. Everyone is looking for free stuff, no one wants to pay if they can avoid it. Cannot go on forever like that.

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-29 21:37 | Report Abuse

Bigger pirates are those educated with all kinds of paper qualification. They are educated to be THIEVES and they label it as being smart. One example is the people involved in 1MDB.

Singh1, no one is begging for free stuff but when there is an option to get it legally from the internet why poke a hole in the wallet to pay subscriptions? Whether we get it at chipmunk quality or ear bursting sound, who cares, as long as the content is same. Consumers care less about flashing.

Astro reruns shows, censored, highly butchered and farked up shows. Who wants to waste money on such "you must see what I show you" kind of shows?

Smart asses always write off others as having issues when they have no answer. Stop being in denial, Money today, gone tomorrow.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-30 00:10 | Report Abuse

What is coming in malaysia the next couple of months may be similar to this in canada.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/android-box-free-tv-bell-rogers-1.4033741

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-30 09:37 | Report Abuse

@singh1 Restriction cannot control anyone. Even with death penalty, drug dealers are around. History have shown revolution happens when dictator and governments failed to connect with masses. Astro is doomed because of "holier than thou" and useless programmes. Broadcast disrupted during bad weather and there is no rebate for downtime. Ripping of customers with shoddy service.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-30 14:20 | Report Abuse

drug dealers and buyer are around not because they don't scare death penalty but simple economy rule. There is demand, there is supply. (just they are short sight does not mean they not scared of death) same to TV box. Both are poison, one to body and one to mind.
Drug to eliminate low self control people in the world. less human less competition for food and opportunity. Do you think a strong self control people will take drug unless there is any health related issue ie. for marijuana treatment.
TV box to encourage people the concept that stealing is not a big deal, copyright is non of my business and etc. This community (not everyone) tends to commit crime or allowing it to happen.
A man that like to watch free prom vs paid prom, will you grab a woman/man from the street for free service since they don't like to poke a hole in the wallet to pay subscriptions for a wife/hubby.
Since stealing is not a big issue than our 1MDB issue is not an issue anymore. How to teach our younger generation that we cannot steal when we allow ourselves supporting jail break version of entertainment.
As an investor and a daughter/wife/mommy, i have demand for good quality life and therefore, i have demand for better quality of vision and sound. I have demand for my partner at least i won't simply choose one since he is free and i definitely won't invest in a company that conduct illegal act. Money depreciate daily so we have to learn how to invest and let the money making money.
(fd, stocks, reits, property, active income, passive income, living minimalist and etc.) Watching jail break entertainment tv box won't make you rich. Watching legal TV box like Astro, Hypptv or Netflix won't make you go bankrupt too. Your monthly subscription go for their staff income, the producer and actors' income, the country's income (taxes) and more quality good movies. Country got income will beneficial the whole nation, school, highway, hospital, public transport, BRIM and etc.
By supporting illegal TV box ahem we are supporting china. All RM become RM+B. Good Job!
As bad weather issue, i stream my astro online so raining is not an issue. Monthly points accumulate can be redeem a discount for next bill or exchange for another movie and etc. I do subscript to Netflix as well. Both their content are different. I am looking forward for their latest internet package as well. (No offense to TV box user as this stage, TV box is not official illegal in Malaysia yet.)

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-30 14:36 | Report Abuse

All the loose moral talk like imam or priest will not sway strong willed people from doing what they want. It is about personal preference over mandatory choking. We have freewill and have choice to ignore detractors who wants to impose their values. To you it maybe stealing but to someone else it is advancement in technology which enables it. The world's resource is free until someone decided to build perimeter and annex it as territory. This began the imbalance in human life. Who gave you the right to cordon and claim ownership? There was no government until men decided to selfishly protect their interest. I am not a robot to be remote controlled. Regulation and laws are created by men to control their profits. It is legalizing extortion by using a pool of pirates called government.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-30 15:07 | Report Abuse

holy mama mia, money and stock exchange also created by men....u r damn right, i am a free thinker no religious only got moral. You definitely have free will to use drug, watch free prom and watching jail break version of tv box. No harm to me coz at the end, men create jail break will go in back jail. That's called karma. no matter jail break 1.0 or jail break 9.0, the technology will outgrown it. We shall not misuse technology. A movie is like a children of the parent, how many parent in this world won't protect their children? That come patent law and copy right law. If a man do not wish to pay for a movie, you can try to film yourself. I am happy to pay for it if it is good. Without rules and regulations, they will have many zombies outbreaks ok...hahaha!

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-30 15:36 | Report Abuse

Half past six reasoning like "children, parent" is sissy talk. Those who talks about moral, rules and regulations are they real culprits for they are "busy body" and are jealous of others. If you like to peek under skirts and comment, be prepared to face the KARMA, it's a double-edged sword.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-30 16:04 | Report Abuse

gentleman, happy debating. You are offended coz your interest is challenge. If i am able to pay for the subscriptions don't you think buying a TV box is super affordable to me? This is a principal matter. If you are a tv box seller and you still have few container of tv box to get rid of. you shall consider putting your time promote some advertisements like others on facebook today to target some water fish before the rules and regulations finalized instead of checking whether i am a culprits or will i get karma or not. I don't have time to busy body with you anymore coz i need to fetch my kid to library. Reading is good. If astro subscription is too expensive for you, you can consider to apply a library membership at RM2 per year. Sayonara. Have a great day.

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-30 20:21 | Report Abuse

It may seem like I am offended but that is what you want to believe. You want to portray yourself as the noble one by talking about principle and moral values. Let me tell you, those values are not set on stone and none is obliged to follow. The moment you start to preach and invade on other's and be judgemental, that's when dispute and escalations of unwanted incidents happen. Because you invaded, for their way does not align with yours. There is such thing called TOLERANCE which is strangely absent in this modern era and ironically, it is the educated and smug one are stepping on others' toes.

SHAN1987

16 posts

Posted by SHAN1987 > 2019-01-30 20:21 |

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-30 22:33 | Report Abuse

DickyMe What you say "Restriction cannot control anyone. Even with death penalty, drug dealers are around"
is true. We definitely cannot eradicate and have a purely holy, law abiding society. But law and order needs to be imposed, if not there will be chaos. I rather live in a law abiding country than to live in a country where everything is up for grabs. Some will try to rob you with sharp knives, some with guns and others through cyber theft etc etc and the list goes on and on.
It takes time to change society that has become so used to grab whatever you can, to society that respects other peoples belongings. After all that is what we want others to do with with us as well.
Mutual respect, regardless of rich or poor, Christian or muslim, hindu or sikh, taoist or maoist. Live by the sweat of thy brow, be proud of yourselves and your country and yes walk with our heads held up high, like LIONS!!! Then and only then will the world look at us and say WOW!! Malaysia and it's people are wonderful.

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-31 10:07 |

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-31 10:54 | Report Abuse

Yeah it used to be a border less world. Then some big armies conquered and took large chunks of the world for themselves and put up borders where there were none and travel documents, visas as well to turn a wonderful open world into a world where the privileged live in much higher standards while relegating many into low class 3rd world countries. I agree with that view that there is a lot of discrimination and it is totally illegal. Yet we need to respect copyright and patent rights so that the makers or creators of new technologies etc are paid for their hard work. If others can copy and make contraband stuff then what is the reward for innovation?

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-31 14:54 | Report Abuse

i think it is hard for us to input an antisocial about moral, ethics and integrity. Especially when they want people to tolerate with them for violation of others' copy right. If you actually understand, people live house door open and go off and back with their property intact due to they are very poor. Their house only got 4 walls and nothing for people to steal. For rich one, they have a lots of people guarding their house too. We lock the door nowadays not because of society is intolerant and unforgiving. It is because some people are greedy, they find breaking other house can get more money than they work hard. Takkan we also need to tolerate and forgive those who break into the house and take all money, hurt your families or worst rape/murder? Let me know if you can tolerate and forgiving the theft when they break into your house and hurt your families ya. You really need to stop watching too much movie from your jail break and unlimited access tv box, go find something meaningful thing to do, attend some social activities, meet some friends. I am getting worried with your thinking, you are dangerous. Go watch NCIS Cyber, it helps you understand the concept of CYBER CRIME and how it harm the world. Our society is peaceful, only one small part of community is crime. I am proud to be Malaysian.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-31 15:39 | Report Abuse

Millions of Kodi box users at risk of being hacked by cyber criminals who can use film subtitles to steal personal information and brick telly sets
https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/3639160/millions-of-kodi-box-users-at-risk-of-hackers-who-can-use-film-subtitles-to-steal-personal-information-and-brick-your-telly-sets/

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-01-31 18:09 | Report Abuse

@d mc You talk about KARMA and I suppose you know how it works. You are smug and boast about your wealth. KARMA effects are not only on those who do wrong acts but also befalls on those who are arrogant. You have such characteristics. Money comes and go. When it leaves the door you will be bewildered how it drains out. Ponder on your words. There is no antisocial people, it is just misalign thought and acts. People who do not brown nose and often oppose are viewed as anti social. Again, it is those with self interest who impose their values onto others. This applies to religion too. Those who believe in KARMA does not nag like a customerless whore. KARMA works in mysterious ways and your words denigrating others will bestow the "fruits" to you.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-01-31 22:02 | Report Abuse

your language show your standard. i never said i am rich, i am normal saja. I just mentioned to you i got nothing to jealous especially in your case, the money i pay to subscription annually can afford to purchase a few tv box only. Didn't i mentioned i went to local state library as well like normal people. As for karma, i am not a religious person but i read a lots, i read everything not only Buddha, Guan Yin, Di Zhang Wang, Taoism. I kept a bible with me as well and i listen to priest teaching from youtube. I also read the story about indian god history and so some Islam teaching. As i mentioned before, i am not a believer so even karma come, nor God or Lucifer will accept me as their residence. I am a science based who apply the good teaching from all gods in my life. Leave my karma part to myself. This is the channel for investor and people who want to start invest to share opinions and news. I have no obligation to teach you good manner and how to be a responsible citizen. If this stock is not your preference, there are many more stock option in bursa saham. No use to come here and try to attack the stock. Btw, Astro just upgrade my package to HD from telemarketing with a discount. Thank you Astro.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-31 22:35 | Report Abuse

I hope trial run of bundled service (broadband + Astro’s content offering) in Jasin, Melaka works out really well. The amazing prospects for Astro nationwide may propel this stock to it's IPO price of RM3.00 and beyond. Tenaga should be making an announcement in next couple of months on their role in this new adventure.

Posted by Untungrugi > 2019-01-31 22:36 |

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2019-01-31 22:43 | Report Abuse

short term price fluctuations normal. Look at the long term prospects here............
https://www.bolehcompare.com/articles/better-speeds-better-price-for-jasin/

Money122

982 posts

Posted by Money122 > 2019-02-01 01:20 | Report Abuse

PE for Astro I think still at low level n sale of tv program increasing....maybe still can up higher

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-02-01 11:35 | Report Abuse

d mc "your language show your standard." There, you just can't help being judgemental, aren't you? There is no difference in language, no such thing as polite or harsh words. Words form sentences which ultimately form a language. The words I used come from the same language you spoke. If you have mentally decided some words are inappropriate, it's your problem. You have set yourself a political correctness attitude. Not everyone will have to agree with you. The problem is, you cannot tolerate people who have opposing views.

This is an open forum to share pro and cons about a stock. I am sure it's not your website and I don't think i need your permission to post my views. You must be a fool to think that by me stating opposing remarks, it will negatively impact share price, which seems to be your insinuation. I am against Astro's way of rendering their services by dishing out rerun, disruption, no rebate and collecting subscription fees for thrashy shows.

There are many FREE alternatives enabled by technology with FREE copyright licence. So, I am not the problem to ASTRO but technology is. Here, many subscription based services have substandard quality from engineering, technical and customer service. Their only goal is to collect monthly subscription. It is akin to gangsters collecting protection money. Pirates! Astro is doomed in a couple of years.

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2019-02-01 14:40 | Report Abuse

It was RM2.70 before Harapan put Astro into GE14 manifesto. Imagine that.

d mc

16 posts

Posted by d mc > 2019-02-01 20:02 | Report Abuse

dear dicky, if sick go see a doctor ya, email hbuk@moh.gov.my for help.
I wouldn't mad with you because you are a patient. Get well soon and have a great life ya.

If you don't like Astro, you can go Netflix, iflix, dimsum, google play movie, Amazon, GSC, TGV and etc. Astro didn't point a gun and force you to sign up their package if you hate their package.
Cannot watch jail break tv box won't die, get a life man. The End!

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2019-02-02 10:09 | Report Abuse

The dismal price was just a victim of political rife. Period.

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2019-02-07 10:51 | Report Abuse

1.80 soon !

Posted by Steven Chan > 2019-02-07 11:38 | Report Abuse

2.00 by Jun?

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2019-02-07 11:43 | Report Abuse

It depends on the next earnings which is due at the end of March.

Shinnzaii

3,114 posts

Posted by Shinnzaii > 2019-02-08 15:12 | Report Abuse

I don’t think so clamp down android tv box would boost Astro earning...as now you got internet you can just download and plug in hdmi connect to tv and enjoy it...hmmm

14,830 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-02-08 18:43 | Report Abuse

Companies should learn to be competitive and independent instead of hiding behind protection. Protectionism to shoddy, expensive products and half past six services which is rampant in Malaysia is not good for consumers.