Home improvement retailer Mr. D.I.Y eyeing RM1.5b IPO

Publish date: Thu, 03 Jan 2019, 08:08 PM
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s biggest home improvement retailer Mr. D.I.Y. is exploring an initial public offering to raise around RM1.5 billion (US$362 million), two sources familiar with the matter said on Thursday.

Brahmal Vasudevan, chief executive of Mr. D.I.Y.’s private equity backer Creador, confirmed plans for a potential IPO and said Malaysia and Hong Kong were being considered as locations for the listing. He did not comment on how much money could be raised.

Mr. D.I.Y. did not respond to a request for comment.

The two sources did not want to be identified as the discussions were private.

Bloomberg first reported on the IPO plans, citing sources familiar with the matter as saying a listing could happen later this year and value the company at about 10 billion ringgit.

Mr. D.I.Y., which sells household, hardware and electrical products at affordable prices, has around 400 stores in Malaysia, according to its website. It also has stores in Thailand, Indonesia and Brunei.

Creador invested in the company in 2016.

Other Malaysian firms exploring IPOs include QSR Brands, the country’s largest fast-food operator, and poultry producer Leong Hup International Sdn Bhd.

- Reuters

Be the first to like this. Showing 9 of 9 comments

500 stores only worth 10 bil? 1 store= 20 mil?

2019-01-04 20:57

bagan

I value only 200k per store, these creador is in business of selling business, so they're really going to cook the book for ipo hahaha after the listing only 100 stores will be operational hahaha

2019-01-07 08:31

bagan

Technically they're not raining fund for DIY, but creador is cashing out

2019-01-07 09:20

jguy

initial ipo may be good, just get ready to get out in a week or a month. then things will start rolling

2019-11-04 22:40

Mr D.I.Y sells poor quality stuffs. It is similar to Mydin which sells rejected goods at low price.

2019-11-04 22:44

Not true

Their products quite ok

Good value for money , I will say

2019-11-04 22:57

zhen wei & JP

Stay tuned few more well known business to be listed.
Partners & family business shareholder.

2019-11-04 23:01

enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

not another LHI eh?

2019-11-04 23:14

King7

The model of Mr. DIY is doing not even 7Eleven can compete in term of coverage and business longevity, the only business model that can leap toward greater reach and sustainable for all level of peoples in every corner of the map where there are human living community. They are online and offline model , so don't value them in old thinking of kedai runcit. they are selling all kind of stuff that can make profit. I believe sought east asia no one can compete these range of product. They are robust simply because the network and logistics that they build is ready to serve. supply chain is fantastic can act as a small gudang. This company can be the next giant in term of retails businesses and essential spot for outskied and sub urban. Indonesia 2017-2020 opened 102 outlet, Time will tell.

2020-10-23 10:18