59 comment(s). Last comment by ValueInvestor888 3 days ago

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-11 13:22 | Report Abuse

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4478467-alibaba-the-deal-of-the-decade

Bought Alibaba and Tencent around HK$ 125 and HK$430. Both are value buy after sharp drop and it is bottom

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-11 13:47 | Report Abuse

@value_seeker, i have some value stock like Harta, Genting, Inno as mentioned above. These stocks are paying dividends regularly as such i lazy to adjust portfolio...if not adjust it will look ugly... As such i only include this high growth or undervalued small cap stocks as portpolio for sharing and I have allocated about 50% of my funds in this portfolio for Msian stocks.

I have some financial stocks like CIMB when i bought last year at around RM 3.20 but i have sold it around RM 4.80-4.90. Generally i do not like Msia big cap stocks like Maybank due to its little room for growth unless they are selling at distress price like that of last year March 2020-May 2020.

There are currently a lot of value stocks in HK and China. In addition to Alibaba and Tencent which have dropped between 30%-50%. i also bought big on HK Tech ETF.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-12 18:01 | Report Abuse

Technical Tracker - DNEX: Up Up and Away
Author: HLInvest | Publish date: Mon, 3 Jan 2022, 9:34 AM

Transforming into a global and resilient business. Starting with 3 original main clusters (System Integration & Consultancy, Trade Facilitation, and Telco), DNEX had completed its strategic investment in SilTerra and Ping Petroleum in FY21 to venture into the energy and the technology sectors. To recap, the two new divisions contributed 84% of the group revenue in 1QFY22.

Buoyant technology outlook. With semiconductors shortage showing no signs of abating, SilTerra’s wafer per mask layers (WPML) ASP surged 23% YoY from USD16.8 in 1QFY21 to USD20.8 in 1QFY22. Going into FY2022, WPML ASP is expected to stay buoyant, with a high possibility to increase by another 25% to USD25 per mask layer on the back of robust demand, which bodes well to SilTerra’s bottom line. On the other hand, the group initiative on improving productivity will drive its short-term growth prospects. Note that, SilTerra’s wafer Fabout performance has been improving from 91,045 units in 2QFY21 to a record high of 96,141 units in 1QFY22 under this initiative. Apart from its core products, DNEX will allocate ~20% of its wafer capacity to produce new emerging technology platforms such as Silicon Photonics, Life Science, and MEMS in FY23 for the application of Data Science & AI, RF Filters for 5G, and DNA Sequencing, where the ASP is 3x higher than their core products.

Anticipate a robust 2Q and beyond. To recap, with just 2 months of contribution from SilTerra, DNEX posted a core PATAMI of RM41.3m in its 1QFY22 result. Moving forward, DNEX is envisaged to register stronger QoQ results underpinned by (1) full contribution from SilTerra amid higher WPML ASP and better wafer Fabout performance; (2) higher production from Ping Petroleum; (3) trade facilitation division (via regional expansion, deeper B2B offerings and expand into non-National Single Window stakeholders); (4) submarine cable installation arising from growing regional telecommunication connectivity and (5) tapping the RM70bn digital transformation investment plan by 2025.

Range bound. Technically, DNEX is trading within its consolidation area of RM0.735- 0.865, with indicators showing uptick bias. A successful breakout above RM0.785 will lift the prices toward RM0.830-0.880 territories. Cut lost at RM0.715

Source: Hong Leong Investment Bank Research - 3 Jan 2022

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-14 15:22 | Report Abuse

Bought back some Wong again at RM 0.615 @ 100,000 shares

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-17 11:46 | Report Abuse

Bought 20,000 MPI at RM 40.

Sold 100,000 Armada at 52sen

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-17 11:51 | Report Abuse

Sold Wong to take profit at 64.5sen and found a better bet ie MPI after this sell down.

11,011 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-01-17 11:53 | Report Abuse

Very good performance in 2022.
I salute you.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-17 12:26 | Report Abuse

Thank you Sifu OTB.

It is difficult to make money in year 2022 and looks can like only buy low sell high.
In international mkt, we have concern in inflation and US rate. In local mkt, we have political uncertainties and election is coming.

Cash is king...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-17 14:08 | Report Abuse

sold 50% shares of MPI bought just now at 42.80-4.94 to take some profit. Will hold balance and will buy if drops below RM 40 again.

I am still bullish on MPI . I believe it is a major correction but not game over yet. MPI has corrected over 20% from RM 50 to today's morning price about RM 40.

Citadel123

352 posts

Posted by Citadel123 > 2022-01-17 14:14 | Report Abuse

good work

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-19 10:50 | Report Abuse

took profit on Dnex at 91sen. In this kind of mkt, sometimes will have to lock in profit first.

To buy back latter...

6,041 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-01-19 10:51 | Report Abuse

I also think so lah.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-19 14:20 | Report Abuse

Sold balance MPI at RM 40.72 for small profit to increase the cash position. To buy back when US mkt stablise...

Bought some Airport as it is bottom and safer bet...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-21 10:48 | Report Abuse

Switched Hiaptek to Ann Joo. Ann Joo looks better.

Reasons:
1. Ann Joo has direct control over upstream steel making
2. Hiaptek owned less than 30% in Eastern Steel after recent dilution. Profit mere accounting profit unless ES pays dividend which is unlikely in next few years.
3. Fund managers favour Ann Joo more than Hiaptek. Dillution is a concern for Hiaptek as the company does not seem to have control in ES

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-21 16:07 | Report Abuse

after dropping 25% from RM 50 to 37.50, MPI stock price looks attractive...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-24 10:46 | Report Abuse

Despite very bad market worldwide, my small cap growth stock portfolio still gains about 5% thanks to the right picks of Dnex, Armada, PMB tech and some timely profit takings.

Should i take profit on the balance of Armada (sold 50% earlier to take profit?

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-24 10:52 | Report Abuse

Despite very bad market worldwide, my small cap growth stock portfolio still gains about 5% thanks to the right picks of Dnex, Armada, PMB tech and some timely profit takings.

Should i take profit on the balance of Armada (sold 50% earlier to take profit?

A good article to think...

U.S. Stocks Historically Deliver Strong Gains in Fed Hike Cycles

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/u-stocks-historically-deliver-strong-140000367.html

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-25 17:32 | Report Abuse

Bought Harta @ RM 5.25 (God give fair price) and sold all (cut loss) QES at 56sen. Mkt is bad and has to be defensive.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-26 11:51 | Report Abuse

“My main concern is: What will be the normalised Silicon ASP when the supply demand dynamics eventually normalizes?”

Your question suggests the current environment is abnormal. Whereas I think existing supply and demand is here to stay – reasons I’ve explained previously, so I’m incline to think that current environment is already normal.

Meanwhile your concern on the Silicon price is valid. Hence my follow up research been surrounding on structural factors that could possibly tilt the pricing balance.

You have correctly pointed out the restriction free in glove capacity expansion. That’s the key. Moreover, glove’s parabolic demand surge is unsustainable. Energy reform on a global scale is not seasonal and it comes with a fairly long gestation period.

In the law of business/economics, higher price/margin would naturally encourage competition. Silicon is no exception. Except this time around, China has purportedly slow down energy intensive industries' capacity expansion.

China has and will continue to tighten the grip on new setups for energy intensive industries. Only plants with favorable energy mix/control/emission gets approval to expand. There are news article saying certain local council only approves new capacity if only it comes with its own clean energy power plant. Imagine the kind of capital one needs to do that, and would return justify? China energy costs for industries have been up for around 30%

China’s flexi-rate energy cost structure is not a temporary adjustment. Old and/or inefficient capacities will retire eventually further eliminates supply. Additionally, the US silicon import ban helps tame China export pressure and temptation to setup more Silicon plants.

Why the supply restriction, you may wonder. I think when one is poor, one couldn’t care less if a job is dirty. But when one possesses the option to choose (i.e. risen from poverty), it is only natural to demand for a healthier/cleaner environment. Why are there increasingly more Chinese-own paper mills setup in Malaysia? Remember the plastic waste containers docked in Malaysia ports?

I have no idea how US intends to address the immediate lack of Silicon supply until their local capacity sprouts up – eventually it will, incentivized by the current US$8K price.

But then, it will take a while for capacity to accumulate and reverse the current dynamic…

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-26 12:02 | Report Abuse

The latest PMB net profit margin = 13%. Margin is expected to increase due to sky high silicon price in the 4th quarter

- China prices remains at USD3000 levels per MT
- US prices moved abit more to at all time high at USD4.01 per pound or USD 8840 levels per MT
- Europe prices in slow downtrend but consolidating at USD4300 levels per MT
- India prices (China silicon metal in India ports), like European prices in slow downtrend but consolidating at USD3.9 per kg or USD3900 levels per MT

A very simple average from 4 main global prices is USD5000

USD 5000 x 72,000/4 x RM 4.2 x 15% net profit margin = at least RM 56m net profit for quarter ended 31 Dec 2021

If 20% net profit margin = RM 75.6 million

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-01-26 12:09 | Report Abuse

PMB Tech ...some good writeup from other forum

1) Access to cheap and clean source of power / energy.
- The main cost component in producing silicon metal is not quartz, it's energy / power. Samalaju, SESCO, Bakun dam provides clean source of energy (unlike China based peers having energy from coal plants) at competitive price, making PMBTECH one of the lowest cost quartile producer of silicon.

2) China was already the market leader.
- PMBTECH is a newcomer who's slowly taking market share. Unlike glovemakers - who came from position of market leadership losing market share due to change of supply dynamics from China, China is already the incumbent with 70% of market share in global silicon production. US or Europe players may come in, but again - coming back to point number (1), do they have access to ample clean energy in the short / medium term?

3) Management calibre.
- There's a certain "valuation premium" that can be given to those who's deemed as quality management in the context of local market. PMETAL has that prestige. Why not PMBTECH?

4) The Institutions are not yet in the game.
Looking at fund flows to PMBTECH, as well as reading PMETAL reports, the "smart" money is not yet in the know. Once they caught a glimpse (I suspect could be from Q4 or Q1 results) of PMBTECH from associate profit column in $PMETAL / 8869 (PRESS METAL ALUMINIUM HOLDINGS BERHAD), as well as the reduction of earnings mu

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-04 11:11 | Report Abuse

Took profit on MPI yesterday. Will relook it after nasdaq selloff is over. Likely after fed starts to increase interest rate. Also took profit on Harta as the strategy is to buy low and sell high for glove stock.

PMB is doing extremely well lately. Funds are moving out from tech to O&G and Metal. Bought back some Armada from the proceed of MPI as earlier batch was sold too early despite good profit

6,041 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-02-04 11:13 | Report Abuse

Game over for U ?

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-04 18:10 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/02/04/tsmc-intel-ramp-up-spending-as-semiconductor-demand-booms.html

Tech will not be over( just correction is not over yet, in my view), as tech will always be relevant in our day to day life from computers and hp we used to logistics, communication, agricultural, manufacturing, EV etc. i still maintain Scope.

Just my view...tech correction of local and US will only be over when fed started to increase the rate. I will start invest in more tech stocks when time is right. I have big position in HS Tech etf which i bought aggressively after it drops over 40%...

Investment is 50% emotions, 40% research, 10% luck

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-08 10:08 | Report Abuse

Sold small qtt of PMB at RM 16.48 to lock in profit.
PMB is still the largest holding in my small cap portpolio

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-11 10:57 | Report Abuse

Took some profit on Dnex and PMB Tech(small qtt) again...

Bought some Harta again...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-11 11:36 | Report Abuse

Portpolio gain 17.8% this year. It is time to take some profit to protect capital first. Sold all Airport as achieve target.

Bought small qtt of Toyoven as bet against its power plant.

Hate to cut loss but some time has to face reality. Sold some Scope during rebound. Now portpolio has over 36% cash..

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-15 15:47 | Report Abuse

Bought some Bplant, one of the most undervalued plantation stocks.

Continued to take some profit on PMB Tech. Foreign funds still favour PMetal and PMB Tech. My contact said they have been accumulating PMB Tech, one of the best green silicon producers in term of costs

Funds sold tech stocks and is buying metal and O&G stocks. Oil include palm oil...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-16 11:03 | Report Abuse

DNEX gained 38% in just a month. Really cannot believe it

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-16 11:37 | Report Abuse

CGS-CIMB starts coverage on Dagang NeXchange, target price RM1.60

Surin Murugiah

theedgemarkets.com

February 16, 2022 08:10 am +08

CGS-CIMB starts coverage on Dagang NeXchange, target price RM1.60
-A+A
KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 16): CGS-CIMB Research has initiated coverage on Dagang NeXchange Bhd (DNeX) at RM1.13 with an “Add” rating and target price of RM1.60.

In a note Wednesday (Feb 16), the research house said DNeX is well positioned to benefit from SilTerra’s turnaround, underpinned by on-going semi chips shortages and structural shift towards More-than-Moore (MtM) devices.

The research house said it is projecting SilTerra to invest over RM900 million capex in FY22-24F.

“The group plans to increase its mask layer (ML) capacity by 20% to 10m ML/annum by CY23F.

“We expect SilTerra to secure two new long term agreements (LTAs) in 1HCY22F that will take up 80% of its capacity,”it said.

CGS-CIMB projects DNeX to post a 3-year core EPS CAGR of 453% (FY21-24F) driven by 1) higher wafers ASP, 2) higher wafers production volume on the back of new capacity expansion, 3) higher average crude oil prices for Ping Petroleum Limited (Ping), and 4) higher production volume at Ping on the back of its new capex programme.

“DNeX also enjoys a lower effective tax rate given that SilTerra has over RM12 billion as of Jul-21 in unrecognised deferred tax assets that could be offset against its future profits.

“Note that we have yet to account for: 1) contributions from emerging technology platforms like silicon photonics that command premium ASP, and 2) commercialisation of Ping’s Avalon oilfield,” it said.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-16 15:16 | Report Abuse

about time to take profit on balance shares of Dnex as right issue or private placement is coming for its expansion plan...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-02-22 14:17 | Report Abuse

Bought some MSC as hedge against inflation and war... like its recent quarterly results also

Now portpolio have palm oil and metal namely PMB Tech and MSC as hedge against inflation.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-03-03 16:22 | Report Abuse

Bought Airport, sold some BPlant which has almost reached my target price with over 40% gain in less than 1 month

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-10 15:18 | Report Abuse

bet some Hengyuan for short term play as portpolio cash position is still high...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-13 12:17 | Report Abuse

Time to put cash into good use after this selldown...Bought MSC and Pmetal at good megasale price

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-30 14:53 | Report Abuse

Forgot to update timely. Below is my i3 thread in respective stock forum.

Add some HY during big selldown. Sold MSC... most commodities not so se xy except for O&G section still ok for short term bet. Take profit on Pmetal as well

--------------------------------

Stock: [HENGYUAN]: HENGYUAN REFINING CO BHD

May 26, 2022 2:31 PM | Report Abuse

so good to chase low again today below RM 6.20

---------------------------

Stock: [MSC]: MALAYSIA SMELTING CORP BHD

May 19, 2022 1:59 PM | Report Abuse

Good investor must know when to buy and when to take profit...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-30 15:04 | Report Abuse

Buffett’s Energy Investments

Buffett has been doubling down on his energy investments while trimming his banking holdings despite oil and gas stocks being at multi-year high valuations.

To wit, the legendary investor has added new shares in red-hot E&P companies Occidental Petroleum Corp. (NYSE:OXY) and Chevron Inc. (NYSE:CVX) despite both currently trading at multi-year highs.

According to Berkshire’s latest 13F filing, the company bought 118.3M OXY shares in multiple transactions from March 12 to March 16, bringing its stake in OXY to 136.4M shares, or ~14.6% of its shares outstanding. Berkshire also owns OXY warrants granting the right to acquire some 83.9M additional common shares at about $59.62 each plus another 100,000 OXY preferred shares.

Earlier, Berkshire revealed that it purchased about 9.4 million shares of oil titan Chevron in the fourth quarter, boosting its stake to 38 million shares currently worth $6.2 billion.

OXY has more than doubled over the past 12 months, while CVX is up 50%, with both stocks trading near multi-year highs. But, obviously, Buffet thinks they still have plenty of upside judging by the huge positions opened by his investment conglomerate.

Buffett is hardly alone.

Related: How 3D Printers Could Transform The Energy Industry

OXY CEO Vicki Hollub has snapped up OXY shares in the open market, even as shares trade near three-year highs. According to an SEC filing, Hollub paid $798K on March 28 for 14,191 OXY shares at an average price of $56.24, raising her holdings to 467,282 shares and an additional 23,390 shares through a savings plan. Hollub last bought OXY shares on the open market nearly three years ago, when she paid $1.8M for 37,460 shares at an average $48.15/share on June 10, 2019.

Wall Street is enthralled by OXY, too.

Raymond James analyst John Freeman recently raised his OXY price target to $85 from $60, setting a new Wall Street high. That’s good for nearly 50% upside.

OXY has 9 Strong Buy ratings; 2 Buy, 13 Hold, 1 Sell and 1 String Sell ratings on Wall Street.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-30 15:05 | Report Abuse

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/buffett-betting-big-oil-gas-000000803.html

Buffett Is Betting Big On Oil And Gas Stocks

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-05-30 15:20 | Report Abuse

taking clue from Warren B who is betting big on O&G. He feels O&G bull will last longer due to under investment and various geographical issues...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-06-14 10:23 | Report Abuse

bottom fished henyuan and petron yesterday and this morning...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-07-18 12:31 | Report Abuse

Bought toyoven after achieving financial close while price is still very cheap.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-08-01 18:41 | Report Abuse

portpolio back to gain over 10% after recent rebound. Stay invested to reap big gain after the bear ended...

6,041 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-08-01 19:13 | Report Abuse

The bear is now dead n gone ?

6,041 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-08-01 19:15 | Report Abuse

Just go in n enjoy the game !

6,041 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-09-05 16:43 | Report Abuse

The bear is now back. No play play ?

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-09-06 16:47 | Report Abuse

take some profit from PMBTech, big winning stock this year...

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-12-30 14:05 | Report Abuse

take some profit from Toyo, the rest of the shares are free shares after up 100%.

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

today is MSCI rebalancing. Good time to do my portpolio rebalancing as well.
Bought KGB-WB, Jtiasa, PBA during big drop today. Take profit on Pchem, Armada and cut loss on Tguan

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

solarvest is one of my best pick last year for growth stock...add solarvest wa for extra leverage.
take profit on MSC, which is also one of my best pick last year, besides YTLP, YTL and KGB