30 comment(s). Last comment by Shane My 2013-01-15 17:31

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-23 13:47 | Report Abuse

Certainly! I have received Explanatory Statement & Notice of Meeting his morning from AMB. Same thought, Think alike. Thanks.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-23 13:47 | Report Abuse

Certainly! I have received Explanatory Statement & Notice of Meeting this morning from AMB. Same thought, Think alike. Thanks.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2012-05-23 16:35 | Report Abuse

Wise diversification?

Over the past few months, my unit trusts has lost more than 10% while my own direct stock investment has gained more than 40 %. I only invested in 3 stocks.

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-23 16:40 | Report Abuse

tptan. Your investment results show that direct share investment beats unit trust investment hands down. There are still nuts with bird's brain out there who still think that unit trust investment is better.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2012-05-23 16:50 | Report Abuse

It certainly does and I am just a beginner. I find that the greatest enemy is myself.

Wak Jono

94 posts

Posted by Wak Jono > 2012-05-23 17:40 | Report Abuse

Ya, i believed with the stock that can give u higher return and loss as well, i did't deny it. We cannot compare u.trust return n stock return over short period exm 3 months. Make it around 3-5 yrs period, then u realised what i mean "slow and steady' growth in u.trust. Invest in stock is good provided u have enough time and knowledge to monitor, plus lucky some more. Eventhough i myself invest in stock i still invest in u.trust for longterm. One more thing investment is time horizon..

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2012-05-23 18:01 | Report Abuse

unit trust investment is suitable for those with long term views ( minimum 3-5 years) the only complaint is the high sales charge imposed by the unit trust companies. in Malaysia(between 4% -6%). in singapore or US the sales charge is only 1% - 2%.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-23 18:28 | Report Abuse

Jonathan Keung has a good point; sales charge is the stumbling block, however eagleis nuts with bird's brain statements has an ugly point in making a comments for a comparison between an apple to orange philosophy.

arebear

86 posts

Posted by arebear > 2012-05-23 20:50 | Report Abuse

I agree with JK, unit trust in malaysia put so much fee which in a way higher than the fixed deposit itself just for the fee plus annual managemetn fee.

Posted by Fredwong > 2012-05-23 21:57 | Report Abuse

Guys cant compare unit trust with shares or shares with currency, futures or property. Sorry have to disagree with most. My experience is unit trust is a much easier investing instruement than shares! Another common negative abt unit trust is return is slow. Unless you say 150% return in 5 years is slow. High charges? 150% return is net of charges. Like they say in stock market high can go higher and low can go lower. Really it's not the charges it's the RETURN right?

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-23 22:20 | Report Abuse

I fully agree that my outrageous words like nuts and bird's brain are too much and they hurt. I'm sorry for those hurtful words. I know of a unit trust company which charges 6.5% as initial fee and 1.5% as annual management fee for the fund. If the fund's performance is flat, then RM100,000 will become RM92,000 after one year. I want my friends to retire comfortably and I always remind them money is hard to come by. Spread your money in excellent counters and wait for say 5 years, I'm pretty sure own investment is better than unit trust investment.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-24 18:42 | Report Abuse

Thank you very much eagleis, you have a good heart. OK, let's revealed the truth: Every end Quarter(End of Q1, Q2, Q3 & Q4) some unit trust reduce their management fees etc from 5% to 3%, some reduce 2%. Grab it! Right Place Right Time formula. Agreed wth Fredwong tht we cant compare Orange to Apple in term of shape and its composite or texture. Have many baskets and filled with good eggs. Gold Basket, Property Basket, U.Trust Basket, Share Market Basket. No harm for you to start with 1, then 2, 3 and so on.

Shin

28 posts

Posted by Shin > 2012-05-24 18:59 | Report Abuse

If investor is busy to study on individual stocks; of course the option would be unit trust. But never with those with 5% or 6% service charge, go to fundsupermart or enunittrust instead. Go tell everyone!!!

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-25 09:48 | Report Abuse

Shin, do they have website for reference? Thanks in advance Bro.

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-25 10:44 | Report Abuse

Put some investment into oil palm plantation scheme (approved by SSM) which can give min 8 - 9% yearly returns. The trick is to spread your risks by not putting all eggs into one basket.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2012-05-25 11:09 | Report Abuse

By spreading our investments and diversification, aren't we increasing our risk of making bad investments?

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-25 11:27 | Report Abuse

Jake, if you don't mind, please share with us the name of the oil palm stakeholder (SSM approved). Thanks Jake.

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-25 11:48 | Report Abuse

US has been printing about 4 trillion USD to save her ass. The abundant liquidity, the near zero interest rate and the low value of the USD spur worldwide frenzy of commodity and equity trading. The rally or the upswing in the prices of commodity and equity will come to an end not too far in the future when interest rate is pushed up by the FOMC and the USD gains in strength. When there's a capital flight back to the US, all hell breaks loose, commodity and equity prices will take a nosedive. Everybody will be running for cover.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2012-05-25 12:23 | Report Abuse

the investment betw. unit trust and individual stock is a different ball game. when you invest in unit trust, you cannot expect any return for the 1st-2nd year. you only (hope)for their cash distributions or unit split.

individual stocks, (if) you pick the right counters you can trade & ride on the momentum and make some (quick) money from the counter. fast money and savings is entirely different.

individual unit trusts cannot be switch and profit from the any market uptrend. the profit is entirely taken up by the initial high sales charges (imposed upfront). Malaysia got the highest (loaded) upfront charges of between 5% -7%

ASM or ASB is the better choice if compared to unit trusts. guarantee income and stable distribution if you are from the point of savings. share trading is a risk we need to address ourselves.

eric29

141 posts

Posted by eric29 > 2012-05-25 20:25 | Report Abuse

If we buy any unit trust y we dun buy shares at ourselves dun let them earn rite

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2012-05-25 20:54 | Report Abuse

You are absolutely right Eric. It is impossible to predict if any particular unit trust will do well in future. But however we can do our homework and predict with reasonable accuracy if a particular stock will do well in future.

eric29

141 posts

Posted by eric29 > 2012-05-26 17:24 | Report Abuse

Tks tptanks

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-27 02:00 | Report Abuse

Namoyaki...sori late reply. The 1st was Country Heights but its all sold out and doing well. Now there are 2 others, namely Golden Palm Growers (plantation in Kelantan) and East West One (plantation in Sabah). Both can offer reasonably good (guaranteed) annual dividends.

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-27 02:29 | Report Abuse

Jake, no need to sleep???

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-27 13:20 | Report Abuse

Sleep is for those who are sleepy mah! Preparing for "all nighters" for upcoming Euro 2012 live telecasts

Shin

28 posts

Posted by Shin > 2012-05-28 19:24 | Report Abuse

http://www.fundsupermart.com/ and http://www.eUnittrust.com.my

The service charge of FSM currently at 0.88% until 31 May 2012. And BTW I am not an agent and not associated to these two.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-05-28 19:40 | Report Abuse

FUNDSUPERMART IS ALMOST FULL UNDERDOG FUND=ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK=PLAY HOT STOCK
2 or 3 that is relieable..in my opinion
better go AMB VALUE TRUST now want to diversification into Accumlate or Distribution...
Even FDI also invited to his unit trust bcoz its A-CLASS FUND...
;0

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-05-28 19:40 | Report Abuse

FUNDSUPERMART IS ALMOST FULL UNDERDOG FUND=ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK=PLAY HOT STOCK
2 or 3 that is relieable..in my opinion
better go AMB VALUE TRUST now want to diversification into Accumlate or Distribution...
Even FDI also invited to his unit trust bcoz its A-CLASS FUND...
;0

Shane My

60 posts

Posted by Shane My > 2013-01-15 17:31 | Report Abuse

Top 10 Best Performing Unit Trust Funds As of 15th Jan 2013

http://invest-made-easy.blogspot.com/2013/01/top-10-best-performing-unit-trust-funds_15.html

Shane My

60 posts

Posted by Shane My > 2013-01-15 17:31 | Report Abuse

Top 10 Best Performing Unit Trust Funds As of 15th Jan 2013

http://invest-made-easy.blogspot.com/2013/01/top-10-best-performing-unit-trust-funds_15.html